DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Borisov et al. (US Pub. 20230221570, Borisov).
As per claim 1, Borisov teaches (in figures 2-3 and 5A-9) a waveguide comprising: an incoupler (in-coupling diffractive element X) configured to: receive display light representative of an image for display (paragraph 170); and direct a first portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 3 of diffractive elements comprising the second quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) to propagate within the waveguide along a first optical path (along the direction of vector K1 see paragraphs 119, 126 and 203-206) and a second portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 4 of diffractive elements comprising the third quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) to propagate within the waveguide along a second optical path (along direction of vector K2 see paragraphs 119, 126, 129, and 208-210), wherein the first optical path and the second optical path have substantially non-overlapping propagation angles; and an outcoupler (out-coupling diffractive element Z) configured to combine the first portion of the display light and the second portion of the display light to display the final representation of the image (comprises full FOV for red, blue, and green light) wherein the final representation has a spatial resolution that is greater than that of a first representation of the image conveyed by the first portion (light which propagates through set 3 of diffractive elements comprising the second quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) of the display light and greater than that of a second representation of the image conveyed by the second portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 4 of diffractive elements comprising the third quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) (paragraphs 171-173).
As per claim 2, Borisov teaches (in figures 2-3 and 5A-9) that the first portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 3 of diffractive elements comprising the second quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) corresponds to a first spatial portion of the image (upper middle of the vertical field of view see figure 7), and wherein the second portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 4 of diffractive elements comprising the third quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) corresponds to a second spatial portion of the image (lower middle of the vertical field of view see figure 7) (paragraph 191).
As per claim 3, Borisov teaches (in figures 2-3 and 5A-9) that the first spatial portion of the image and the second spatial portion of the image partially overlap (paragraph 182).
As per claim 4, Borisov teaches (in figures 2-6 and 8) a waveguide comprising: an incoupler (in-coupling diffractive element X) configured to: receive display light representative of an image for display (paragraph 170); and direct a first portion of the display light (light which propagates through sets 1 and set 2 of diffractive elements and comprises the full blue FOV and the left half of the green FOV) to propagate within the waveguide along a first optical path (along the direction of vector K6 see paragraphs 117-118, 126 and 131-136) and a second portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 3 of diffractive elements comprising the upper half of the red FOV and the upper right quarter of the green FOV) to propagate within the waveguide along a second optical path (along direction of vector K2 see paragraphs 119, 126, 129, and 137-139), wherein the first optical path and the second optical path have substantially non-overlapping propagation angles; and an outcoupler (out-coupling diffractive element Z) configured to combine the first portion of the display light and the second portion of the display light to display a final representation of the image (comprises full FOV for red, blue, and green light) (paragraph 171), wherein the final representation has a spatial resolution that is greater than that of a first representation of the image conveyed by the first portion (light which propagates through sets 1 and set 2 of diffractive elements and comprises the full blue FOV and the left half of the green FOV) of the display light and greater than that of a second representation of the image conveyed by the second portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 3 of diffractive elements comprising the upper half of the red FOV and the upper right quarter of the green FOV) (paragraph 171) wherein the first portion of the display light (light which propagates through sets 1 and set 2 of diffractive elements and comprises the full blue FOV and the left half of the green FOV) comprises a first set of wavelengths (blue and green), and wherein the second portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 3 of diffractive elements comprising the upper half of the red FOV and the upper right quarter of the green FOV) comprises a second set of wavelengths (green and red) that is distinct from the first set (see figure 4 and paragraph 131-138).
As per claim 5, Borisov teaches (in figures 2-3 and 5A-9) that the waveguide comprises: a first exit pupil expander (first multiplying diffractive element Y) disposed in the first optical path and configured to redirect the first portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 3 of diffractive elements comprising the second quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) toward the outcoupler (out-coupling diffractive element Z) (paragraphs 203-206); and a second exit pupil expander (second multiplying diffractive element Y) disposed in the second optical path and configured to redirect the second portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 4 of diffractive elements comprising the third quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) toward the outcoupler (out-coupling diffractive element Z) (paragraphs 207-210).
As per claim 7, Borisov teaches (in figures 2-3 and 5A-9) that the incoupler (in-coupling diffractive element X) is further configured to: receive the display light from an optical engine (projector 2); divide the display light into at least the first portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 3 of diffractive elements comprising the second quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) and the second portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 4 of diffractive elements comprising the third quarter of the vertical FOV from the top); redirect the first portion of the display light to propagate within the waveguide along the first optical path (along the direction of vector K1 see paragraphs 119, 126 and 203-206); and redirect the second portion of the display light to propagate within the waveguide along the second optical path (along direction of vector K2 see paragraphs 119, 126, 129, and 208-210).
As per claim 8, Borisov teaches (in figures 2-3 and 5A-9) that the incoupler (in-coupling diffractive element X) is further configured to divide the display light into a third portion of the display light (light which propagates through sets 1 and 2 of diffractive elements comprising the upper and lower quarters of the vertical FOV), and to direct the third portion of the display light to propagate along a third optical path (along the direction of vector K6 see paragraphs 117-118, 126, and 195-202) that is distinct from the first optical path and the second optical path.
As per claim 9, Borisov teaches (in figures 2-3 and 5A-9) that the final representation is a combination of the first representation of the image (light which propagates through set 3 of diffractive elements comprising the second quarter of the vertical FOV from the top), the second representation of the image (light which propagates through set 4 of diffractive elements comprising the third quarter of the vertical FOV from the top), and a third representation of the image conveyed by the third portion of the display light (light which propagates through sets 1 and 2 of diffractive elements comprising the upper and lower quarters of the vertical FOV) (see figure 7 and paragraphs 171-174) .
As per claim 10, Borisov teaches (in figures 2-3 and 5A-9) a method comprising: receiving display light representative of an image for display (at in-coupling diffractive element X see paragraph 170); directing a first portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 3 of diffractive elements comprising the second quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) to propagate within a waveguide along a first optical path (along the direction of vector K1 see paragraphs 119, 126 and 203-206) and a second portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 4 of diffractive elements comprising the third quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) to propagate within the waveguide along a second optical path (along direction of vector K2 see paragraphs 119, 126, 129, and 208-210), wherein the first optical path and the second optical path have substantially non-overlapping propagation angles; and combining the first portion of the display light and the second portion of the display light to display a final representation of the image (comprises full FOV for red, blue, and green light) having a spatial resolution that is greater than that of a first representation of the image conveyed by the first portion (light which propagates through set 3 of diffractive elements comprising the second quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) of the display light and greater than that of a second representation of the image conveyed by the second portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 4 of diffractive elements comprising the third quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) (paragraphs 171-173)..
As per claim 11, Borisov teaches (in figures 2-3 and 5A-9) that the first portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 3 of diffractive elements comprising the second quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) convays a first spatial portion of the image (upper middle of the vertical field of view see figure 7), and wherein the second portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 4 of diffractive elements comprising the third quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) conveys a second spatial portion of the image (lower middle of the vertical field of view see figure 7) (paragraph 191).
As per claim 12, Borisov teaches (in figures 2-3 and 5A-9) that the first spatial portion of the image and the second spatial portion of the image partially overlap (paragraph 182).
As per claim 13, Borisov teaches (in figures 2-6 and 8) a method comprising: receiving display light representative of an image for display (at in-coupling diffractive element X see paragraph 170); directing a first portion of the display light (light which propagates through sets 1 and set 2 of diffractive elements and comprises the full blue FOV and the left half of the green FOV) to propagate within the waveguide along a first optical path (along the direction of vector K6 see paragraphs 117-118, 126 and 131-136) and a second portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 3 of diffractive elements comprising the upper half of the red FOV and the upper right quarter of the green FOV) to propagate within the waveguide along a second optical path (along direction of vector K2 see paragraphs 119, 126, 129, and 137-139), wherein the first optical path and the second optical path have substantially non-overlapping propagation angles; and combining the first portion of the display light and the second portion of the display light to display a final representation of the image (comprises full FOV for red, blue, and green light) (paragraph 171) having a spatial resolution that is greater than that of a first representation of the image conveyed by the first portion (light which propagates through sets 1 and set 2 of diffractive elements and comprises the full blue FOV and the left half of the green FOV) of the display light and greater than that of a second representation of the image conveyed by the second portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 3 of diffractive elements comprising the upper half of the red FOV and the upper right quarter of the green FOV) (paragraph 171) wherein the first portion of the display light (light which propagates through sets 1 and set 2 of diffractive elements and comprises the full blue FOV and the left half of the green FOV) comprises a first set of wavelengths (blue and green), and wherein the second portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 3 of diffractive elements comprising the upper half of the red FOV and the upper right quarter of the green FOV) comprises a second set of wavelengths (green and red) that is distinct from the first set (see figure 4 and paragraph 131-138).
As per claim 14, Borisov teaches (in figures 2-6 and 8) redirecting the first portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 3 of diffractive elements) toward an outcoupler (out-coupling diffractive element Z) (paragraphs 203-206) of the wave guide with a first exit pupil expander (first multiplying diffractive element Y) in the first optical path; and redirecting the second portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 4 of diffractive elements) toward the outcoupler (out-coupling diffractive element Z) (paragraphs 207-210) with a second exit pupil expander (second multiplying diffractive element Y) disposed in the second optical path.
As per claim 15, Borisov teaches (in figures 2-3 and 5A-9) combining, with the outcoupler (out-coupling diffractive element Z) the first portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 3 of diffractive elements comprising the second quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) and the second portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 4 of diffractive elements comprising the third quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) to display the final representation (paragraph 171).
As per claim 16, Borisov teaches (in figures 2-3 and 5A-9) receiving, with an incoupler (in-coupling diffractive element X) of the waveguide, the display light from an optical engine (projector 2); dividing, by the incoupler, the display light into at least the first portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 3 of diffractive elements comprising the second quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) and the second portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 4 of diffractive elements comprising the third quarter of the vertical FOV from the top); redirecting, by the incoupler, the first portion of the display light to propagate within the waveguide along the first optical path (along the direction of vector K1 see paragraphs 119, 126 and 203-206); and redirecting, by the incoupler, the second portion of the display light to propagate within the waveguide along the second optical path (along direction of vector K2 see paragraphs 119, 126, 129, and 208-210).
As per claim 17, Borisov teaches (in figures 2-3 and 5A-9) dividing the display light into a third portion of the display light (light which propagates through sets 1 and 2 of diffractive elements comprising the upper and lower quarters of the vertical FOV), and directing the third portion of the display light to propagate along a third optical path (along the direction of vector K6 see paragraphs 117-118, 126, and 195-202) that is distinct from the first optical path and the second optical path.
As per claim 18, Borisov teaches (in figures 2-3 and 5A-9) displaying the final representation by combining of the first portion of the display light, the second portion of the display light, and the third portion of the display light (see figure 7 and paragraphs 171-174).
As per claim 19, Borisov teaches (in figures 2-3 and 5A-9) A projection system comprising: an optical engine (projector 2); and a waveguide (waveguide 1) comprising: an incoupler (in-coupling diffractive element X) configured to: receive display light representative of an image for display (paragraph 170); and direct a first portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 3 of diffractive elements comprising the second quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) to propagate within the waveguide along a first optical path (along the direction of vector K1 see paragraphs 119, 126 and 203-206) and a second portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 4 of diffractive elements comprising the third quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) to propagate within the waveguide along a second optical path (along direction of vector K2 see paragraphs 119, 126, 129, and 208-210), wherein the first optical path and the second optical path have respectively non-overlapping propagation angles; and combine the first portion of the display light and the second portion of the display light to display a final representation (comprises full FOV for red, blue, and green light) of the image (with out-coupling diffractive element Z see paragraph 171) wherein the final representation has a spatial resolution that is greater than that of a first representation of the image conveyed by the first portion (light which propagates through set 3 of diffractive elements comprising the second quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) of the display light and greater than that of a second representation of the image conveyed by the second portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 4 of diffractive elements comprising the third quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) (paragraphs 171-173).
As per claim 20, Borisov teaches (in figures 2-6 and 8) that the waveguide is further configured to divide the display light into a third portion (light which propagates through sets 1 and 2 of diffractive elements comprising the upper and lower quarters of the vertical FOV), and to direct the third portion of the display light to propagate along a third optical path (along the direction of vector K6 see paragraphs 117-118, 126, and 195-202) that is distinct from the first optical path and the second optical path.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that the cited reference fails to teach every limitation of the claimed invention. Specifically, applicant argues that Borisov fails to teach “the final representation has a spatial resolution that is greater than that of a first representation of the image conveyed by the first portion of the display light and greater than that of a second representation of the image conveyed by the second portion of the display light”. This argument is unpersuasive. As shown in the rejection above, Borisov teaches (in figure 7) that the final representation (comprises full FOV for red, blue, and green light) has a spatial resolution that is greater than that of a first representation of the image conveyed by the first portion (light which propagates through set 3 of diffractive elements comprising the second quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) of the display light and greater than that of a second representation of the image conveyed by the second portion of the display light (light which propagates through set 4 of diffractive elements comprising the third quarter of the vertical FOV from the top) (paragraphs 171-173), that is the final image output by out-coupling diffractive element Z comprises a larger number of pixels than the first and second portions as the final image is the sum of the pixels in the first, second, and third portions each of which correspond to different spatial regions of the final image as shown in figure 7. Applicant’s argument is therefore unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER P GROSS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871