DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 8 – 12, 14 – 19 and newly added claims 20 – 24 are pending.
Claims 1, 8 – 12 and 14 – 17 are rejected.
Claims 18 – 24 are withdrawn.
Election/ Restriction
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1, 8 – 12 and 14 – 17) in the reply filed on August 28, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 2 – 7 and 13 have been cancelled. The traversal is on the grounds that the prior art Fuilong CN 111837172 A does not disclose a solid granule formulation having the claimed low concentrations of bifenthrin and chlorantraniliprole and the claimed solid carrier, as recited in the amended claims. On page 6, lines 18-23, Applicant note that Embodiment 3 of Fuilong is the “only disclosed composition comprising an amount of bifenthrin within the range in presently amended claim 1 but the amount of chlorantraniliprole in this embodiment (0.6 wt%) is higher, while also containing less solid carrier, than the range in presently amended claim 1. On page 6, lines 24-28, Applicant further state the benefits of the compositions in the present application towards environmental sustainability, while displaying excellent pesticidal activity. Thus, the solid granule formulation in the instant application makes a contribution over the teachings of Fuilong.
This is not found persuasive because Embodiment Example 3 teaches 0.4% by weight of bifenthrin, which falls within the range of concentration as disclosed in the instant claims. Further, Example 3 also teaches 0.6% by weight of chlorantraniliprole, which is slightly outside the range of concentration as disclosed in the instant claims. Thus, the technical feature of the solid composition comprising low concentrations of bifenthrin and chlorantraniliprole is not considered a special technical feature in view of the teachings of Fuilong.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
New claims 20 – 24 are directed to processes for preparing a solid pesticidal composition comprising bifenthrin and a diamide insecticide. The scope of this invention was not previously presented and the claims are directed to a new invention. Thus, claims 20 – 24 are restricted under new Group III.
Further, Applicant has specifically elected chlorantraniliprole as the diamide insecticide.
Examination: Claims 1, 8 – 12 and 14 – 17 read on the elected invention/ species. The elected invention is not allowable over the prior art. Claims 18 – 24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 14, 2024 and May 19, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 – 10 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9, page 2 line 31: The limitation “about 0.40 %wt. bifenthrin, and” is grammatically incorrect because it improperly recites the term “and”. The term “and” should only be recited between the last two limitations. See, page 3, line 3. In order to overcome the objection, Applicant may amend to delete the term “and”.
Claim 10, lines 2 – 6. The limitation “… drying agent selected from the group consisting of calcium silicate, calcium carbonate, … microcrystalline cellulose, attapulgite clay, and combinations of any of the foregoing” is grammatically incorrect because it does not recite proper Markush group language and singular form for the group of alternatives. The term “combinations” should not be included as part of the Markush group language and refers to the drying agent, which is in a singular form. In order to overcome the objection, Applicant may amend the limitation as follows: “… drying agent selected from the group consisting of calcium silicate, calcium carbonate, … microcrystalline cellulose, and attapulgite clay, or a combination
Claim 12, lines 2 – 5. The limitation “one sticking agent selected from the group consisting of polyvinyl alcohols, polyvinyl acetates, acrylic acids, polyacryclic acid, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, polyethylene oxide, copolymers of acrylic acid, salts thereof, and combinations of any of the foregoing” is grammatically incorrect because it does not recite proper Markush group language and singular form for the group of alternatives. In order to overcome the objection, Applicant may amend the limitation as follows: “one sticking agent selected from the group consisting of polyvinyl alcohol acetate acid and copolymers of acrylic acid, a salt or a combination.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8 – 12 and 14 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuilong CN 111837172 A, cited in IDS dated June 14, 2024, as evidenced by English translation of CN 111837172 A, https://worldwide.espacenet.com/publicationDetails/description? CC=CN&NR=111838172A&KC=A&FT=D&ND=3&date=20201030&DB=EPODOC&locale=en_EP, Accessed on September 28, 2026.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Fuilong teaches a compound insecticide (pesticidal composition in the instant claims) comprising bifenthrin, chlorantraniliprole and excipients (adjuvant in the instant claims). See attached English translation, paragraph [0007]. The insecticide is prepared into granules by granulation. See, paragraph [0013]. Specifically, Fuilong teaches an insecticide comprising 0.4% by weight of bifenthrin, 0.6% by weight of chlorantraniliprole and excipients. The excipients contains of 3% by weight of binder, 3% by weight of surfactant, and a balance filler. Granules of the insecticide are prepared using a coating method. See, e.g., paragraph [0033].
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Compared to claims 1 and 8 – 9, Fuilong does not explicitly teach:
The concentration of diamide insecticide is from 0.19 wt.% to 0.31 wt.% (specifically, about 0.25 wt.% claimed in claim 9) of total weight of the composition,
The solid carrier is present at a concentration of at least 95.0 wt.% (specifically, at least 97 wt.% in claim 9) of the total weight of the composition,
About 0.05 wt.% to about 0.35 wt.% (specifically, 0.10 wt.% to about 0.30 wt.% in claim 9) of a drying agent,
About 0.15 wt.% to about 0.50 wt.% (specifically, 0.20 wt.% to about 0.40 wt.% in claim 9) of a solvent, and
About 0.05 wt.% to about 0.25 wt.% (specifically, 0.10 wt.% to about 0.20 wt.% in claim 9) of a sticking agent.
Rationale for a prima face case of obviousness
According to MPEP §2141(III), two of the rationales in the KSR decision states “(E)
“Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a
reasonable expectation of success… (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention”. KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. While Fuilong does not specifically teach the exact concentrations of chlorantraniliprole, solid carrier, drying agent, solvent and sticking agent, it does teach that the weight ratio of bifenthrin to chlorantraniliprole can be selected from the range of 0.1–10 : 0.01–5.0, and the total weight of bifenthrin and chlorantraniliprole can also be adjusted in the range of 0.11 – 15% of the total weight of the composition, and the remaining weight is excipients. See, e.g., paragraph [0007]. Further, Fuilong teaches chlorantraniliprole has strong penetrability, and its activity is 10-100 times higher than other products against target pests, which can cause mating disorders in insects and moths. See, e.g., paragraph [0041]. MPEP §2144.05(II)(A) states:
“Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform routine experimentation, such as optimization of the concentrations of chlorantraniliprole, solid carrier, drying agent, solvent and sticking agent and preparation protocol of the solid pesticidal composition. The purpose of the routine experimentation would have been to determine which concentrations of chlorantraniliprole, solid carrier, drying agent, solvent and sticking agent would be optimal to prepare the granular compositions and successfully provide the best insecticidal properties in combination with bifenthrin.
With respect to claims 10 – 12, Fuilong teaches that the excipients comprise binder, surfactant and balance filler. Fuilong teaches that the balance filler is light calcium carbonate (drying agent in the instant claim). See, e.g., paragraph [0011]. Surfactant can be paraffin in any proportion. See, e.g., paragraph [0033]. Paraffin qualifies as a hydrotreated light petroleum distillate (according to Official Notice). The binder (sticking agent in the instant claim) is selected from one or mixture of corn starch, flour, and maltodextrin. See, e.g., paragraph [0035].
With respect to claims 14 – 17, please note the limitation “for protecting an organism from an invertebrate parasitic pest” is intended use limitations as governed by MPEP §2111.02(II). Intended use limitations are interpreted based on the structural limitations they impart to the invention. In this case, the intended use only requires the solid pesticidal composition for protecting an organism from an invertebrate parasitic pest, but does not impart any specific limitations to the structure. Based on the teachings of Fuilong, the effective amount of the composition is capable for oral administration and protecting an organism from an invertebrate parasistic pest.
Conclusion
/Sagar Patel/Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/KAMAL A SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626