Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 6, 8, 10, 15, 18, 20, 21, 24, 25, 27, 30, 31, 36, 41, 42, 43, 45, 53, 63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Danel (US PG Pub 2025/0249436), in view of Strathmann (US PG Pub 2020/0155885).
With respect to claims 1, 43, 63 Danel teaches reduction of contaminants in water for effluent and a method for regenerating adsorbent medium and a fluid treatment method implementing the regeneration method, comprising a solution comprising sodium hydroxide, using filtration and/or adsorption by a bed of granular activated carbon (GAC) (abstract, 0001-0011, 0020, a method of removing a contaminant from an aqueous mixture, and regenerating a carbon bed), passing fluid through the bed (0027, flowing a contaminated aqueous mixture comprising one or more ionic contaminants through a vessel that houses a carbon bed), adsorbing pollutants (0068, contaminants are retained by the carbon bed), contacting the medium with a solution comprising water and sodium hydroxide, (0011, contacting the one or more ionic contaminants retained by the carbon bed with a hydroxide and/or a peroxide, provided in an aqueous liquid), activated carbon removes long-chain PFAS and can be biochar, the biochar may comprise a powder or a metal salt including iron, aluminum, calcium, magnesium, manganese, zinc, copper, or a combination thereof, and in some examples, the metal salt comprises ferrous or ferric cations, ferrate anions, or a combination thereof (one or more cations selected from Ca2+, Mg2+, Zn2+, Sr2+, A13+, B3+, and Fe3+), the regeneration solution can be a reused regeneration solution (0086, such that the salts would be dissolved in the aqueous solution, the one or more cations are provided in an aqueous liquid);
Danel teaches at the end of regeneration, regenerating solution can be drained toward a discharge Rj (F), or directed to a storage tank 7 for subsequent reuse (0167-178, a contaminant phase), and that the carbon can remove PFAS, but does not teach forming an aggregate; and isolating the aggregate contaminant phase).
Examiner notes with respect to the limitation of forming an aggregate "Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed. A “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003); MPEP §2111.04). Where a reference discloses the terms of the recited method steps, and such steps necessarily result in the desired and recited effect, the fact that the reference does not describe the recited effect in haec verba is of no significance because the reference meets the claim under the doctrine of inherency." Absent clarification of what steps are performed to form an aggregate, this forming an aggregate is considered inherent.
Strathmann teaches treating waste substances containing perfluoro- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) comprising combining the PFAS with an amendment in a reactor (abstract), treatment of PFAS-contaminated liquid wastes including a wide range of waste concentrates generated as byproducts of PFAS water treatment (e.g., ion exchange regenerant waste) (0044-0046), the amendment is one or more of HCl, H2SO4, or HNO3, NaOH, Ca(OH)2, KOH, NH4OH, Mg(OH)2, or Na2CO3, K2FeO4, KMnO4, K2CrO, NaClO4, NaClO3, NaClO, H2O2, NaBH4, Na2SO3, Na2S2O3, Na2S2O4, Na2S2O5, Na2S2O5, Na2HSO5, KI, FeSO4, NaNO3, FeCL3, NiCl2, ZnCl2, NaH2PO4, Na2HPO4, NaF, D2O, octanoic acid, ammonium acetate, ammonium hydroxide, methanol, isopropanol, sulfite, or water. In preferred embodiments, the amendment is NaOH, Ca(OH)2, NH4OH, KOH, and/or Mg(OH)2 (0014), and F− forms insoluble precipitates with Ca ions (0055, 0071), and separation of PFAS using filtration (0039, 0116).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Danel’s taught method to include isolation and disposal of the contaminant in discharged regeneration solution after the regeneration, as shown by Strathmann, , and that either Danel’s salts or Strathmann’s amendment would provide forming an aggregate or precipitate as Danel teaches salts including calcium and iron and Strathmann teaches amendments including calcium and iron and in order to provide destruction of the PFAS.
With respect to claim 2, the method of claim 1, is taught above. As noted above, the formation of aggregate appears to be inherent, absent clarification of steps to be performed, additionally, Strathmann teaches precipitation of solids as discussed above the aggregate contaminant phase is formed by precipitation, micelle formation, agglomeration, flocculation, flotation, or breaking an emulsion.
With respect to claim 3, the method of claim 1, is taught above. Danel teaches sodium hydroxide (abstract), (a) hydroxide and/or peroxide comprises sodium hydroxide, hydrogen peroxide, and/or sodium peroxide.
With respect to claim 6, the method of claim 1, is taught above. Danel teaches salts including Calcium, Strathmann teaches one or more cations comprises Ca2+ (0055).
With respect to claim 8, the method of claim 1, is taught above. Danel teaches aluminum salts (0059), wherein the (b) one or more cations comprises A13+ .
With respect to claim 10 the method of claim 1, is taught above. Danel teaches reuse of the regeneration fluid which would comprise dissolved salts and the introduction of a hydroxide solution as discussed above, the (a) hydroxide and/or peroxide are provided in a first aqueous liquid; and wherein the (b) one or more cations are provided in a second aqueous liquid.
With respect to claim 15, the method of claim 1, is taught above. Danel teaches at the end of contact with the regeneration solution, the adsorbent medium is rinsed using an acidic rinsing solution (0088-0089), rinsing the carbon bed with an acidic aqueous solution by flowing the acidic aqueous solution through the vessel.
With respect to claim 18, the method of claim 1, Danel teaches at the end of contact with the regeneration solution, the adsorbent medium is rinsed using water (0088-0089) rinsing the carbon bed with water by flowing water through the vessel.
With respect to claim 20, the method of claim 1, is taught above. Danel teaches circulating through the medium in a circuit (0083-0090, Fig. 1), repeating one or more times the steps of (i) contacting the ionic contaminants with the (a) hydroxide and/or peroxide and (ii) contacting the ionic contaminants with the (b) one or more cations.
With respect to claim 21, the method of claim 1, is taught above. Danel teaches continous operation and salts in the carbon, while Danel does not explicitly teach pretreating the carbon bed by contacting the carbon bed with (a) a hydroxide and/or a peroxide, pre-wetting of carbon sorbents would be an obvious engineering choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to displace water in the pores of the sorbent.
With respect to claims 24 and 25, the method of claim 1, is taught above. Danel teaches PFAS, Strathmann teaches polyfluoroalkyl substances (0073-0082), the ionic contaminant is selected from the group consisting of a polyfluoroalkyl ion, a borate, a phosphate, a polyphosphate, a sulfate, an organic acid, a fatty acid, a humic substance, a short chain PFAS, a water-soluble medication, a detergent, a water-soluble insecticide, a water-soluble fungicide, a water-soluble germicide, and any combination thereof, a polyfluoroalkyl ion.
With respect to claim 27, the method of claim 1, is taught above. Danel teaches powder/granular forms, or fibers, and biochar (0058-0059, the carbon bed comprises powder, granules, beads, pellets, cloths, felts, nonwoven fabrics, or composites comprising a material selected from carbon, nitrogen-doped carbon, silicon-doped carbon, boron-doped carbon, charcoal, graphite, biochar, coke, carbon black, or any combination thereof).
With respect to claim 30, the method of claim 1, is taught above. Strathmann teaches filtration as discussed above, isolating the aggregate contaminant phase comprises filtration, nano-filtration, or sedimentation.
With respect to claim 31, the method of claim 1, is taught above. Strathmann teaches combining the PFAS with an amendment in a reactor (abstract), treatment with an amendment, including one or more of HCl, H2SO4, or HNO3, NaOH, Ca(OH)2, KOH, NH4OH, Mg(OH)2, or Na2CO3, K2FeO4, KMnO4, K2CrO, NaClO4, NaClO3, NaClO, H2O2, NaBH4, Na2SO3, Na2S2O3, Na2S2O4, Na2S2O5, Na2S2O5, Na2HSO5, KI, FeSO4, NaNO3, FeCL3, NiCl2, ZnCl2, NaH2PO4, Na2HPO4, NaF, D2O, octanoic acid, ammonium acetate, ammonium hydroxide, methanol, isopropanol, sulfite, or water. In preferred embodiments, the amendment is NaOH, Ca(OH)2, NH4OH, KOH, and/or Mg(OH)2 (0014), and F− forms insoluble precipitates with Ca ions (0055, 0071), and separation of PFAS using filtration (0039, 0116), see instant specification 0018 disclosing surfactants include fatty acids, sulphones, phosphates, polyethers, sulfates, polyols, or any combination thereof, contacting the one or more ionic contaminants with a surfactant.
With respect to claim 36, the method of claim 1, is taught above. Strathmann teaches amendments including octanoic acid as discussed above, examiner notes instant provides agglomerating agents including ethyl octanoate (instant 0115), contacting the one or more ionic contaminants with an agglomerating agent.
With respect to claim 41, the method of claim 1, is taught above. Danel teaches activated carbon (0053-0057) the carbon bed is an activated carbon bed.
With respect to claim 42, the method of claim 1, is taught above. Danel teaches activated carbon that can be produced by pyrolysis and chemical or physical activation steps of precursors (0056-0058) the carbon bed comprises sintered carbon.
With respect to claim 45, the method of claim 36, Strathmann teaches amendments including octanoic acid as discussed above, examiner notes the instant specification provides agglomerating agents including ethyl octanoate (instant 0115), the agglomerating agent comprises an oil, a terpene, a fatty acid ester, or any combination thereof.
With respect to claim 53, the method of claim 1, is taught above. Strathmann teaches amendments can include methanol and isopropanol, each of which can act as an antifreeze agent, contacting the one or more ionic contaminants with an antifreeze agent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kullberg (US 2022/0298029), surfactants, micelles
Holt (US 2021/0380446) similar
DiStefano (US 20200306726), regen carbon
James (US 2020/0306726), carbon
Noack (US 2003/0101866)
/JEANNIE MCDERMOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/BRADLEY R SPIES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776