DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed 06/14/2024 amended claims 3-9, 11, 13, 15, 17, 19-20, 24, and 26-28.
Claims 1-29 are pending.
Priority
This application claims the following priority:
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, the compounds and compositions thereof, and:
as the species of instant Formula (I), in the reply filed on 08/12/2026, is acknowledged.
The species is allowable over the prior art.
The examination of the Markush claim has been extended. If a Markush grouping as set forth in a claim is proper and election of species has been required, the examiner must continue to search the species of the claim unless the claim has been found to be unpatentable over prior art. MPEP 803.02.
As detailed in the following prior art rejections, the generic claim encompassing the elected species was not found patentable. Therefore, the provisional election of species is given effect, the examination is restricted to the elected species only and claims not reading on the elected species are held withdrawn. MPEP 803.02; Ex parte Ohsaka, 2 USPQ2d 1460, 1461 (Bd. Pat. App. lnt. 1987).
Should applicant, in response to this rejection of the Markush-type claim, overcome the rejection through amendment, the amended Markush-type claim will be reexamined to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush-type claim. See MPEP 803.02.
Claims 25 and 27-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
It is noted that many of the species of instant claim 26 are outside the scope of instant Formula (I).
Claims 1-24 and 26 are examined on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-20, 24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2022/166844 to Dai (effectively filed 02/05/2021, IDS of 06/14/2024).
Regarding claims 1-2, Dai teaches the following compounds:
(pg. 42);
(pg. 44; claim 20).
Regarding claims 1-7, 9-20, and 24, compound 156 meets the limitations of instant Formula (I) when:
A is a 6-membered heteroaryl with 1 nitrogen heteroatom, i.e., pyridinyl
R1 is the halo Cl and -NR2aR2b, wherein R2a and R2b are H
x is 2
y is 0
z is 1
L is S
R4 is H
X is CR3aR3b, wherein R3a and R3b are H, i.e., CH2
B is a fused phenyl
R7 is cyano, CN.
Specifically, regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted as if R5 is present, then these limitations apply. Since y is 0, the limitations of claims 14 are considered met.
Specifically, regarding claim 20, compound 156 meets the limitations of instant formula (IIIc).
Specifically, regarding claim 24, compound 156 meets the limitations of instant formula (IVb).
Regarding claim 26, Dai teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising its compounds and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (pg. 232, claim 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/166844 to Dai (effectively filed 02/05/2021, IDS of 06/14/2024).
Dai is applied to claims 1-7, 9-20, 24 and 26, as discussed above and incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 8, compound 156 of Dai,
, does not exemplify the instant L position as a bond.
Dai teaches that the L position of its compounds can be absent, i.e., a bond; S; O; or NH (pg. 198, claim 1). Dai specifically teaches L as absent (claim 13) or L as absent or S (claims 14-16) and exemplifies compounds wherein L is absent or S (claim 20).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute the -S- of
, with a bond, to arrive at instant claim 8. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Dai teaches that its “L” position can preferably be S or absent (i.e., a bond) and exemplifies such species (claim 20 of Dai).
As such, an ordinary skill artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution, to predictably arrive at structurally and functionally similar compound, which is effective to inhibit SHP2 activity (pg. 232, claim 22).
Regarding claim 21, modified compound 156 of Dai,
, does not exemplify the instant B position as a pyridine ring.
Dai teaches that the B position of its compounds can be a benzene ring or a pyridine ring (pg. 198, claim 1).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute the phenyl ring of
, with a pyridine ring, to arrive at instant claim 21. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Dai teaches that its “B” position can be benzene or pyridine, and exemplifies such species.
As such, an ordinary skill artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution, to predictably arrive at structurally and functionally similar compound, which is effective to inhibit SHP2 activity (pg. 232, claim 22).
Regarding claims 22-23, while Dai teaches a compound of instant formula (IIa-1), it differs from that of instant claims 22-23, in that it does not teach R4 as -CH3.
Dai exemplifies compounds with CH3 at the 2-position of the pyrazolopyridine ring (pgs. 219, 224, #’s 117, 180) and Dai teaches its Cy1, which is the instant pyrazolopyridine ring, as optionally substituted with -CH3 (pgs. 198-198, 201, claims 1, 9-11, 14).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute the hydrogen in the instant R4 position of claim 21, with a -CH3, to arrive at instant claims 22-23. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Dai teaches that its central pyrazolopyridine ring can be substituted with -CH3 at the 2-position, and exemplifies such species.
As such, an ordinary skill artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution, to predictably arrive at structurally and functionally similar compound, which is effective to inhibit SHP2 activity (pg. 232, claim 22).
Conclusion
Claims 1-24, and 26 are rejected.
Claims 25 and 27-29 are withdrawn from consideration.
/LAUREN WELLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622