DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 11-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Ogura (US Pub. 20230120396) teaches (in figures 1-11) an image projection device comprising: an optical element (mirror 140) mounted in a device body (housing 110), projecting image light of an image toward a projection member (windshield 302) of a vehicle (vehicle 300), and tilted by a rotation mechanism (gear member 150), wherein the optical element includes a rotation shaft (shafts 142 and 143) serving as a tilting pivot point (rotary axis AX1), the rotation shaft is rotatably and pivotally supported by a bearing (holders 115 and 116) including a shaft hole (opening in holders 115 and 116) opened in a side wall of the device body (see figure 3 and paragraph 65), and the shaft hole has a configuration in which the rotation shaft to be pivotally supported by the shaft hole is insertable from a direction different from a direction of a hole core of the shaft hole (insertable from the top as shown in figure 3 and discussed in paragraph 89).
Kwak (US Pub. 20150131160) teaches (in figures 1-3) an image projection device comprising: an optical element (plane mirror 210) mounted in a device body (support 240), projecting image light of an image toward a projection member (windshield glass 1) of a vehicle, and tilted by a rotation mechanism (rotating motor 300), wherein the optical element includes a rotation shaft (portions of rotating holder 230 which engage with rotating holes 241) serving as a tilting pivot point (paragraph 31), the rotation shaft is rotatably and pivotally supported by a bearing (rotating holes 241) including a shaft hole opened in a side wall of the device body (see figure 3), and the shaft hole has a configuration in which the rotation shaft to be pivotally supported by the shaft hole is insertable from a direction different from a direction of a hole core of the shaft hole (insertable from the side as shown in figure 3 and discussed in paragraph 31) wherein a bearing (rotating holes 241) includes a first bearing surface portion (portion formed above the slit of rotating holes 241) supporting a half peripheral surface of the rotation shaft about an axis thereof and a second bearing surface portion (portion formed below the slit of rotating holes 241) supporting a remaining half peripheral surface, and the second bearing surface portion is elastically deformable in the direction of the hole core of the shaft hole by a slit provided in the side wall.
Fukushima et al. (JP 2009113639 with reference made to provided machine translation) teaches (in figures 1-7) a rotation shaft (select shaft) serving as a tilting pivot point (paragraph 29), the rotation shaft is rotatably and pivotally supported by a bearing (second support portion 340) including a shaft hole opened in a side wall of a device body (control block 3), and the shaft hole has a configuration in which the rotation shaft to be pivotally supported by the shaft hole is insertable from a direction different from a direction of a hole core of the shaft hole (see figure 6), wherein the bearing includes a first bearing surface portion (341S) supporting a half peripheral surface of the rotation shaft about an axis thereof and a second bearing surface portion (342S) supporting a remaining half peripheral surface, and the first bearing surface portion and the second bearing surface portion are displaced in the direction of the hole core of the shaft hole (see figure 5).
However, the rotation shaft in Fukushima is for a shift lever whereas Ogura and Kwak are directed towards pivoting optical mirrors and as such it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Ogura or Kwak with Fukushima.
As such, the prior art taken alone or in combination fails to teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing an image projection device in which the first bearing surface portion and the second bearing surface portion are displaced in the direction of the hole core of the shaft hole in combination with the other required elements of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Kwak (US Pub. 20150131160) teaches (in figures 1-3) an image projection device comprising: an optical element (plane mirror 210) mounted in a device body (support 240), projecting image light of an image toward a projection member (windshield glass 1) of a vehicle, and tilted by a rotation mechanism (rotating motor 300), wherein the optical element includes a rotation shaft (portions of rotating holder 230 which engage with rotating holes 241) serving as a tilting pivot point (paragraph 31), the rotation shaft is rotatably and pivotally supported by a bearing (rotating holes 241) including a shaft hole opened in a side wall of the device body (see figure 3), and the shaft hole has a configuration in which the rotation shaft to be pivotally supported by the shaft hole is insertable from a direction different from a direction of a hole core of the shaft hole (insertable from the side as shown in figure 3 and discussed in paragraph 31) wherein a bearing (rotating holes 241) includes a first bearing surface portion (portion formed above the slit of rotating holes 241) supporting a half peripheral surface of the rotation shaft about an axis thereof and a second bearing surface portion (portion formed below the slit of rotating holes 241) supporting a remaining half peripheral surface, and the second bearing surface portion is elastically deformable in the direction of the hole core of the shaft hole by a slit provided in the side wall.
However, the prior art taken alone or in combination fails to teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing an image projection device in which the side wall of the device body includes a pair of slits formed upward in boundary portions of the first bearing surface portion and the second bearing surface portion on both side of the boundary portions in combination with the other required elements of claim 3.
Claims 11-20 are allowable by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ogura (US Pub. 20230120396).
As per claim 1, Ogura teaches (in figures 1-11) an image projection device comprising: an optical element (mirror 140) mounted in a device body (housing 110), projecting image light of an image toward a projection member (windshield 302) of a vehicle (vehicle 300), and tilted by a rotation mechanism (gear member 150), wherein the optical element includes a rotation shaft (shafts 142 and 143) serving as a tilting pivot point (rotary axis AX1), the rotation shaft is rotatably and pivotally supported by a bearing (holders 115 and 116) including a shaft hole (opening in holders 115 and 116) opened in a side wall of the device body (see figure 3 and paragraph 65), and the shaft hole has a configuration in which the rotation shaft to be pivotally supported by the shaft hole is insertable from a direction different from a direction of a hole core of the shaft hole (insertable from the top as shown in figure 3 and discussed in paragraph 89) wherein an entire inner circumference of the shaft hole is enclosed (by the side walls of holders 115 and 116 and the flat plate part 163 of bearing member 160 for holder 115 and the corresponding flat plate part for holder 116 as shown in figures).
As per claim 4, Ogura teaches (in figures 1-11) a tilting bracket (gear member 150) of a rotation mechanism (gear member 150) is coupled to one end portion of the rotation shaft (paragraph 68), and a rotation shaft (shaft 142) provided on the tilting bracket is pivotally supported by the shaft hole (holder 115) of the side wall of the device body (housing 110) (see figure 3).
As per claim 5, Ogura teaches (in figures 1-11) that the device body is provided with a positioning mechanism (gear 191) that positions the optical element in a rotation axis direction (paragraph 85).
As per claim 6, Ogura teaches (in figures 1-11) that a tilting bracket (gear member 150) of a rotation mechanism is coupled to one end portion of the rotation shaft, the rotation shaft of the tilting bracket includes a turning rib (a tooth of gear part 152) protruding in a radial direction of the rotation shaft (shaft 142), and the positioning mechanism (gear 191) includes a positioning rib (two teeth of gear 191) provided on the device body to axially regulate the turning rib (paragraph 85).
As per claim 7, Ogura teaches (in figures 1-11) that the positioning rib (two teeth of gear 191) includes a pair of positioning ribs axially sandwiching the turning rib (a tooth of gear part 152) (see figures 7 and 8 and paragraph 85).
As per claim 8, Ogura teaches (in figures 1-11) that the turning rib (a tooth of gear part 152) is formed as an arc rib (formed along an arc as shown in figures 7 and 8) provided in a required circumferential angular region (end of gear member 150), and is in a state of being sandwiched by a pair of positioning ribs (two teeth of gear 191) when the optical element is at a predetermined tilting position (position shown in figure 7) and is in a state of being separated from the pair of positioning ribs when the optical element is tilted from the predetermined tilting position by a required angle or more (position shown in figure 8).
Claim 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furusawa et al. (US Pub. 20180059417, Furusawa).
As per claim 9, Furusawa teaches (in figures 1-8) an image projection device (HUD device 100) comprising: an optical element (reflection member 40) mounted in a device body (housing 1), projecting image light of an image toward a projection member (windshield 200) of a vehicle, and tilted by a rotation mechanism (reflection part rotating mechanism 5), wherein the optical element includes a rotation shaft (second supported part 8) serving as a tilting pivot point (rotation axis AX), the rotation shaft is rotatably and pivotally supported by a shaft hole (second support portion 90) opened in a side wall of the device body (see figure 2a and paragraph 43), and the shaft hole has a configuration in which the rotation shaft to be pivotally supported by the shaft hole is insertable from a direction different from a direction of a hole core of the shaft hole (insertable from the top as shown in figure 2b) wherein the optical element (reflection member 40) is a concave mirror (paragraph 33), and is tilted such that an angle of a reflecting surface of the optical element is changed with respect to the projection member (paragraph 45).
As per claim 10, Furusawa teaches (in figures 1-8) that the image projection device (HUD device 100) is configured as a head up display of an automobile (paragraph 28), and the projection member (windshield 200) is a windshield or a combiner of the automobile.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/16/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 4-10 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the inner circumference of the shaft hole is enclosed before the rotation shaft is inserted) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In the instant case, and as shown in the rejection above Ogura teaches that the opening in holder 115 is enclosed by the side walls of holder 115 and the flat plate part 163 of bearing member 160 and therefore meet the recited limitation in addition to the other required elements of claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/16/2026 with respect to claims 2, 3, and 11-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections under 35. U.S.C. 102 of claims 2 and 3 have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER P GROSS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871