Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 29 recites the limitation “the multiple local-oscillator frequencies” in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim(s) 30 is/are also considered to be indefinite since it/they depend(s) from the indefinite parent claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 18, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jin US20210302579.
Regarding independent claim 1, Jin discloses, in prior art Figure 1,
A method (Jin; prior art Fig. 1) for light detection and ranging (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] lidar), the method comprising:
generating signal radiation at multiple signal frequencies with an optical signal source (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] FMCW signal generator 10 generates multiple signal frequencies), wherein the signal radiation exhibits random signal modulations (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] “FMCW generator preferably creates low phase noise, which is a type of random (unpredictable) phase modulation in the CW signal or FMCW signal”);
splitting the signal radiation (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] splitter 20 creates 2 signal branches) into a target radiation part (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; the splitter 20 output line that is directed to the Tx path) and a reference radiation part (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; the splitter 20 output line that is directed to the mixer 70);
directing the target radiation part towards a target (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] “The light wave carries the CW or FMCW signal in its amplitude over space towards objects under detection (not shown in drawing)”);
detecting a target signal, wherein the target signal is associated with a reflected portion of the target radiation part being reflected from the target (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; low noise optical detector/photodetector 50; [0027] “and bounces back to receiving optical components”);
detecting a reference signal, wherein the reference signal is associated with the reference radiation part (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; the splitter 20 output line that is directed to the mixer 70), and
deriving at least one ranging information parameter from the target signal and the reference signal (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] “Doppler/frequency shifts of interests”).
Regarding claim 2, Jin discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the random signal modulations are at least one of random amplitude modulations or random phase modulations (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] “FMCW generator preferably creates low phase noise, which is a type of random (unpredictable) phase modulation in the CW signal or FMCW signal”).
Regarding claim 3, Jin discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein at least one of: the signal radiation exhibits the random signal modulations at each of the multiple signal frequencies (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] “FMCW generator preferably creates low phase noise, which is a type of random (unpredictable) phase modulation in the CW signal or FMCW signal”), or wherein the signal frequencies are at least one of: discrete and spaced by an essentially constant signal frequency spacing.
Regarding claim 4, Jin discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein deriving the at least one ranging information parameter comprises: cross-correlating the target signal and the reference signal to obtain a cross-correlation time signal, and inferring the at least one ranging information parameter from the cross-correlation time signal (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] “Doppler/frequency shifts of interests”; [0029] “moving objects and moving speed thereof can be detected and derived when CW signal is used in modulating the light wave at 30”).
Regarding independent claim 18, Jin disclose the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to independent claim 1, and
A setup (Jin; prior art Fig. 1) for light detection and ranging comprising:
A method (Jin; prior art Fig. 1) for light detection and ranging (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] lidar), the method comprising:
generating signal radiation at multiple signal frequencies with an optical signal source (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] FMCW signal generator 10 generates multiple signal frequencies), wherein the signal radiation exhibits random signal modulations (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] “FMCW generator preferably creates low phase noise, which is a type of random (unpredictable) phase modulation in the CW signal or FMCW signal”);
splitting the signal radiation (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] splitter 20 creates 2 signal branches) into a target radiation part (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; the splitter 20 output line that is directed to the Tx path) and a reference radiation part (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; the splitter 20 output line that is directed to the mixer 70);
directing the target radiation part towards a target (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] “The light wave carries the CW or FMCW signal in its amplitude over space towards objects under detection (not shown in drawing)”);
detecting a target signal, wherein the target signal is associated with a reflected portion of the target radiation part being reflected from the target (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; low noise optical detector/photodetector 50; [0027] “and bounces back to receiving optical components”);
detecting a reference signal, wherein the reference signal is associated with the reference radiation part (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; the splitter 20 output line that is directed to the mixer 70), and
deriving at least one ranging information parameter from the target signal and the reference signal (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] “Doppler/frequency shifts of interests”);
at least one detection arrangement (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; low noise optical detector/photodetector 50; [0027] “and bounces back to receiving optical components”) (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; the splitter 20 output line that is directed to the mixer 70);
at least one evaluation arrangement (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] “Doppler/frequency shifts of interests”).
Regarding claim 33, Jin discloses The method according to claim 4, wherein the at least one ranging information parameter is at least one of a time delay or a distance (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] lidar).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7-8, 10, 14-15, 20-21, 23, 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin in view of Phillips US5835199.
Regarding claim 5, Jin teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: cross-correlating the target and the reference to obtain a cross-correlation; and extracting a ranging information parameter associated with the target from the cross-correlation time signal (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] “Doppler/frequency shifts of interests”; [0029] “moving objects and moving speed thereof can be detected and derived when CW signal is used in modulating the light wave at 30”).
Jin also teaches Fourier-transforming signal analysis (Jin; [0055] using Fast Fourier Transform FFT to perform spectrum analysis).
Jin is silent regarding Fourier-transforming the target signal to obtain a target spectrum; Fourier-transforming the reference signal to obtain a reference spectrum; cross-correlating the target spectrum and the reference spectrum to obtain a cross-correlation spectrum; extracting a Doppler-frequency shift from the cross-correlation spectrum; calculating a frequency-shifted target signal based on said Doppler-frequency shift; cross-correlating the frequency-shifted target signal with the reference signal to obtain a corrected cross-correlation time signal, and extracting a ranging information parameter associated with the target from the corrected cross-correlation time signal.
Phillips teaches auto-correlation (Phillips; col. 4:14-18 “Auto-correlation is used for maximum range and velocity detection.”) and using FFT to perform matched-filter processing for the purpose of providing efficient processing (Phillips; col. 37:57-60 “The matched-filter processing does not have to be in the frequency domain by fast Fourier transforms (FFT), but, as is well-known in the art, such processing in the frequency domain is much more efficient than in the time domain.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cross-correlating as taught by Jin to include the FFT processing as taught by Phillips for the purpose of providing efficient processing (Phillips; col. 37:57-60 “The matched-filter processing does not have to be in the frequency domain by fast Fourier transforms (FFT), but, as is well-known in the art, such processing in the frequency domain is much more efficient than in the time domain.”).
Regarding claim 7, Jin teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method according to claim 1, wherein the optical signal source comprises a laser oscillator (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] FMCW signal generator 10 is a “crystal oscillator”).
Jin does not teach wherein the optical signal source comprises a laser oscillator configured to emit a frequency comb and a modulator, and wherein generating the signal radiation exhibiting the random signal modulations comprises: running the laser oscillator such that it emits the frequency comb, and randomly modulating said frequency comb using the modulator such that the frequency comb exhibits random modulations.
Phillips teaches a laser oscillator configured to emit a frequency comb and a modulator, and wherein generating the signal radiation exhibiting the random signal modulations comprises: running the laser oscillator such that it emits the frequency comb, and randomly modulating said frequency comb using the modulator such that the frequency comb exhibits random modulations (Phillips; Fig. 8; master oscillator 12 and frequency shifting modulator 25 are used to “create the (cw) broadband light signal 35” with a frequency comb spectrum 35 of the light; col. 16:16-18 frequency comb spectrum 35 for optical loop 20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the optical signal source and the laser oscillator as taught by Jin to comprise a modulator and to emit a frequency comb as taught by Phillips for the purpose of increasing “the frequency of the light pulses that pass through it” which can simulate a Doppler shift in frequency (Phillips; col. 18:10-17 “The frequency shifting modulator 25 is an acousto-optical device that uses acoustic (sound or ultrasound) energy to diffract and increase the frequency of the light pulses that pass through it… Essentially, the acoustic waves function in a manner similar to a moving target to produce a Doppler shift in frequency.”) and for the purpose of “generating a waveform rich in frequency content” (Phillips; col. 4:1-5 “the laser radar (ladar) system according to this invention may comprise a frequency comb generator for generating a waveform rich in frequency content”).
Regarding claim 8, Jin teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method according to claim 1, wherein the optical signal source comprises a continuous-wave laser (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] FMCW signal generator 10 is a “crystal oscillator”), and wherein generating the signal radiation exhibiting the random signal modulations comprises: generating continuous-wave radiation using the continuous laser (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] “FMCW generator preferably creates low phase noise, which is a type of random (unpredictable) phase modulation in the CW signal or FMCW signal”).
Jin does not teach a modulator, and wherein generating the signal radiation exhibiting the random signal modulations comprises: and generating a randomly modulated frequency comb from said continuous-wave radiation using the modulator.
Phillips teaches a modulator, and wherein generating the signal radiation exhibiting the random signal modulations comprises: and generating a randomly modulated frequency comb from said continuous-wave radiation using the modulator (Phillips; Fig. 8; frequency shifting modulator 25 is used to “create the (cw) broadband light signal 35” with a frequency comb spectrum 35 of the light; col. 16:16-18 frequency comb spectrum 35 for optical loop 20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the optical signal source as taught by Jin to comprise a modulator and generating a randomly modulated frequency comb using the modulator as taught by Phillips for the purpose of increasing “the frequency of the light pulses that pass through it” which can simulate a Doppler shift in frequency (Phillips; col. 18:10-17 “The frequency shifting modulator 25 is an acousto-optical device that uses acoustic (sound or ultrasound) energy to diffract and increase the frequency of the light pulses that pass through it… Essentially, the acoustic waves function in a manner similar to a moving target to produce a Doppler shift in frequency.”) and for the purpose of “generating a waveform rich in frequency content” (Phillips; col. 4:1-5 “the laser radar (ladar) system according to this invention may comprise a frequency comb generator for generating a waveform rich in frequency content”).
Regarding claim 10, Jin teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method according to claim 1.
Jin does not teach further comprising: generating local-oscillator radiation with an optical local-oscillator source, splitting the local-oscillator radiation into a first local-oscillator radiation part and a second local-oscillator radiation part, combining the first local-oscillator radiation part with the reference radiation part and combining the second local-oscillator radiation part with the reflected portion of the target radiation part, and detecting the reference signal and the target signal via coherent detection.
Phillips teaches further comprising: generating local-oscillator radiation with an optical local-oscillator source, splitting the local-oscillator radiation into a first local-oscillator radiation part and a second local-oscillator radiation part, combining the first local-oscillator radiation part with the reference radiation part and combining the second local-oscillator radiation part with the reflected portion of the target radiation part, and detecting the reference signal and the target signal via coherent detection (Phillips; col. 35:3-28 local-oscillator coupler “V1 90” provides heterodyne detection and coherent lidar detection).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as taught by Jin to include an optical local-oscillator source with corresponding splitting and combining as taught by Phillips for the purpose of providing heterodyne detection and coherent lidar detection (Phillips; col. 35:3-28 local-oscillator coupler “V1 90” provides heterodyne detection and coherent lidar detection).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Jin teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, Modified Jin teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 8.
Regarding claim 20, Modified Jin teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 7.
Regarding claim 21, Modified Jin teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 8.
Regarding claim 23, Modified Jin teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 10.
Regarding claim 25, Modified Jin teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 7.
Regarding claim 26, Modified Jin teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 7, and a continuous-wave laser (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] FMCW signal generator 10 generates multiple signal frequencies).
Claim(s) 9, 16, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin in view of Meneely US20100045965.
Claim(s) 27 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin in view of Phillips as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Meneely US20100045965.
Regarding claim 9, Jin teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method according to claim 1, wherein the optical signal source (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] FMCW signal generator 10 generates multiple signal frequencies), laser module is configured to emit randomly modulated radiation (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] “FMCW generator preferably creates low phase noise, which is a type of random (unpredictable) phase modulation in the CW signal or FMCW signal”) at one of the multiple signal frequencies (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] FMCW signal generator 10 generates multiple signal frequencies).
Jin does not teach wherein the optical signal source comprises multiple single-frequency laser modules, wherein each single-frequency laser module is configured to emit randomly modulated radiation at one of the multiple signal frequencies, and wherein generating the signal radiation exhibiting the random signal modulations comprises: generating randomly modulated radiation with each single-frequency laser module at one of the multiple signal frequencies, and combining the randomly modulated radiation of each single-frequency laser module to create the signal radiation.
Meneely teaches wherein the optical signal source comprises multiple single-frequency laser modules, wherein each single-frequency laser module is configured to emit randomly modulated radiation at one of the multiple signal frequencies, and wherein generating the signal radiation exhibiting the random signal modulations comprises: generating randomly modulated radiation with each single-frequency laser module at one of the multiple signal frequencies, and combining the randomly modulated radiation of each single-frequency laser module to create the signal radiation (Meneely; Fig. 2; [0025-0027] the combination of splitter 56 with five (5) separate transmission lines/modules 64 with divided light pulses 62 which are then combined at combiner 66 that create an amplitude divided light pulse sequence that represents the transmitted light pulse timing sequence 30 with pseudo-random timing; [0024 and 0026] the respective time delays of the divided light pulses 62 are used to “determine a range to the target 36 as a function of the delay time” that is based on corrections for the differences in the light path lengths).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the optical signal source and randomly modulated radiation as taught by Jin to comprise multiple single-frequency laser modules and combining the radiation of each single-frequency laser module to create the signal radiation as taught by Meneely for the purpose of determining the target range as a function of the delay time (Meneely; [0024 and 0026] the respective time delays of the divided light pulses 62 are used to “determine a range to the target 36 as a function of the delay time” that is based on corrections for the differences in the light path lengths).
Regarding claim 16, Modified Jin teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 9.
Regarding claim 22, Modified Jin teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 9.
Regarding claim 27, Modified Jin teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 9.
Regarding claim 35, Modified Jin teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 9.
Claim(s) 13 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin in view of Phillips as applied to claims 10 and 23 above, and further in view of Jang US20210381819.
Regarding claim 13, Modified Jin teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method according to claim 10, wherein the optical local-oscillator source (Phillips; col. 35:3-28 local-oscillator coupler “V1 90” provides heterodyne detection and coherent lidar detection), a continuous-wave laser (Jin; prior art Fig. 1; [0027] FMCW signal generator 10 generates multiple signal frequencies).
Modified Jin does not teach wherein the optical local-oscillator source comprises a local-oscillator microresonator pumpable by a continuous-wave laser, and wherein generating the local-oscillator radiation comprises operating the local-oscillator microresonator in a soliton regime.
Jang teaches a microresonator operating in a soliton regime (Jang; Fig. 2A; [0049] “a soliton microcomb-based precision dimensional metrology and a setup for the precise dimensional measurement with the soliton microcomb”; title: “Chip-Scale Frequency-Comb Assisted Coherent LIDAR Ranging With Sub-Micrometer Precision”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the optical local-oscillator source as taught by Modified Jin to comprise a microresonator operating in a soliton regime as taught by Jang for the purpose of providing precise dimensional measurement (Jang; Fig. 2A; [0049] “a soliton microcomb-based precision dimensional metrology and a setup for the precise dimensional measurement with the soliton microcomb”; title: “Chip-Scale Frequency-Comb Assisted Coherent LIDAR Ranging With Sub-Micrometer Precision”).
Regarding claim 24, Modified Jin teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 13.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6, 11-12, 17, 19, 28, 31-32, and 34 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 29-30 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 6 and 19, in combination with the other structures required by the base claim and intervening claims, the prior art fails to disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious “operating the signal microresonator in a modulation-instability regime” (emphasis-added).
Regarding claim 11, in combination with the other structures required by the base claim and intervening claims, the prior art fails to disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious “multiple local-oscillator frequencies, wherein the local-oscillator frequencies are at least one of discrete and spaced by an essentially constant local-oscillator frequency spacing”.
Regarding claim 12, in combination with the other structures required by the base claim and intervening claims, the prior art fails to disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious “wherein at least one of: the signal radiation exhibits random signal phase modulations having a signal phase modulation bandwidth and the local-oscillator radiation exhibits random local-oscillator phase modulations having a local-oscillator phase modulation bandwidth being smaller than the signal phase modulation bandwidth or the signal radiation exhibits random signal amplitude modulations having a signal amplitude modulation bandwidth and the local-oscillator radiation exhibits random local-oscillator amplitude modulations having a local-oscillator amplitude modulation bandwidth being smaller than the signal amplitude modulation bandwidth”.
Regarding claim 17, in combination with the other structures required by the base claim and intervening claims, the prior art fails to disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious “further comprising shifting the multiple signal frequencies by a global frequency shift with respect to the multiple local-oscillator frequencies of the local-oscillator radiation to enable a non-zero radio beat signal frequency between the multiple signal frequencies and the multiple local-oscillator frequencies”.
Regarding claim 28, in combination with the other structures required by the base claim and intervening claims, the prior art fails to disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious “wherein the detection arrangement comprises: a target demultiplexing unit comprising multiple target channels, wherein each target channel is configured to comprise one of the multiple signal frequencies; a reference demultiplexing unit comprising multiple reference channels, wherein each reference channel is configured to comprise one of the multiple signal frequencies; multiple target photoreceiver modules, wherein each target photoreceiver module is associated with one target channel; multiple reference photoreceiver modules, wherein each reference photoreceiver module is associated with one reference channel, wherein multiple channel pairs comprising each one target channel and one reference channel are formed, wherein for each channel pair the signal frequency comprised by the target channel and the signal frequency comprised by the reference channel are the same, and wherein the detection arrangement is configured to detect the target signal for the target channel of each channel pair using the target photoreceiver module associated with said target channel and furthermore configured to detect the reference signal for the reference channel of each channel pair using the reference photoreceiver module associated with said reference channel”.
Regarding claim 29, in combination with the other structures required by the base claim and intervening claims, the prior art fails to disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious “wherein the detection arrangement further comprises: a local-oscillator demultiplexing unit comprising multiple local-oscillator channels wherein each local-oscillator channel is configured to comprise one of the multiple local-oscillator frequencies; multiple local-oscillator splitters configured to split the local-oscillator radiation of each local-oscillator channel into at least a first local-oscillator sub-channel and a second local-oscillator sub-channel; wherein each reference photoreceiver module comprises a reference combination device combining said first local-oscillator sub-channel with one of the reference channels, and wherein each target photoreceiver module comprises a target combination device combining said second local-oscillator sub-channel with one of the target channels”.
Regarding claim 30, in combination with the other structures required by the base claim and intervening claims, the prior art fails to disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious “wherein at least one of: the target combination devices are optical hybrids, each target photoreceiver module comprises a first target balanced photodetector and a second target balanced photodetector, the multiple reference combination devices are optical hybrids, or each reference photoreceiver module comprises a first reference balanced photodetector and a second reference balanced photodetector”.
Regarding claim 31, in combination with the other structures required by the base claim and intervening claims, the prior art fails to disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious “wherein at least one of: the setup further comprises a frequency shifter configured to shift the multiple signal frequencies by a global frequency shift with respect to the multiple local-oscillator frequencies or vice versa, each target photoreceiver module comprises a target balanced photodetector, or each reference photoreceiver module comprises a reference balanced photodetector”.
Regarding claim 32, in combination with the other structures required by the base claim and intervening claims, the prior art fails to disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious “wherein the random signal modulations have a modulation bandwidth being smaller than said frequency spacing”.
Regarding claim 34, in combination with the other structures required by the base claim and intervening claims, the prior art fails to disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious “wherein the local-oscillator frequency spacing is essentially equal to a signal frequency spacing of the multiple signal frequencies”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Scheim US20160327646 teaches a pseudorandom binary sequence PRBS and an autocorrelation.
/JONATHAN MALIKASIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 8/13/26