DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muneda et al. (EP 3421860 A1) in view of Shamoto et al. (WO 2021106891 A1; herein English machine translation used for all citations) as evidenced by Ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer (Ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer, 2026, Chemical Book) and What's the Difference between LDPE, LLDPE, MDPE, HDPE, XLDPE, and UHMW sheeting (What's the Difference between LDPE, LLDPE, MDPE, HDPE, XLDPE, and UHMW sheeting, 2026, United States Plastic Corp., Pages 1-3).
Regarding claim 1, Muneda teaches a gas barrier laminate (10) comprising: a first resin layer (protection film, 5), a vapor-deposited layer (barrier layer, 4), a second resin layer (resin substrate, 3), and a thermally weldable film (1) in this order (Muneda, Abstract, Par. 0072, 0080-0082, 0129, and Fig. 4a). Muneda teaches a dimensional change percentage in a CD direction of a dimension under conditions of 70°C and 90% RH in relation to conditions of 25°C and 0% RH is 0.8% or less (Muneda, Abstract, Par. 0008, 0027-0029, 0044, 0049, and 0054-0055). Muneda also shows an example having a dimensional change rate of less than 0.2% at 40°C and 90%RH (Muneda, Fig. 8B). Muneda’s range is the same as the instant invention and therefore satisfies the claimed range. Furthermore, although Muneda measures dimensional change with a method that is different from the claimed method, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that differences between the two different methods would yield minor and obvious differences, and that if Muneda’s gas barrier laminate were also measured with the claimed method, it would still yield a dimensional change rate that renders obvious the claimed range (see MPEP 2143).
Muneda is silent regarding a paper base material.
Shamoto teaches a gas barrier laminate comprising an outermost paper layer (Shamoto, Par. 0001-0002, 0009).
Muneda and Shamoto are analogous art as they both teach gas barrier laminates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the paper layer of Shamoto in the gas barrier laminate of Muneda. This would allow for a barrier paper-based material with excellent environmental impact reduction, recyclability, and ease of disposal (Shamoto, Par. 0014). This would further result in a paper layer on the first resin layer of Muneda.
Regarding the density of the gas barrier laminate, modified Muneda teaches the gas barrier laminate comprises the paper layer with a density of 0.6-1.2 g/cm3 (Shamoto, Par. 0022), the first resin layer which comprises ethylene vinyl acetate (Muneda, Par. 0138) which has a density of 0.948 g/cm3 as evidenced by Ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer (Ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer, Pages 1-2), the vapor-deposited layer, the second resin layer which comprises ethylene-vinyl acetate (Muneda, Par. , Par. 0082) which has a density of 0.948 g/cm2 as evidenced by Ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer (Ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer, Pages 1-2), and the thermally weldable film which comprises LLDPE (Muneda, Par. 0131-0132) which has a density of 0.91-0.94 g/cm3 as evidenced by What's the Difference between LDPE, LLDPE, MDPE, HDPE, XLDPE, and UHMW sheeting (What's the Difference between LDPE, LLDPE, MDPE, HDPE, XLDPE, and UHMW sheeting, Page 1). All of the layers of modified Muneda thus have a density that lies within or overlaps the claimed range of 0.9 - 1.5 g/cm3 except for the vapor-deposition layer. However, the vapor deposition layer has a thickness as low as 5 nm (Muneda, Par. 0078) and would thus not substantially contribute to changing the density of the overall laminate. Therefore, the gas barrier laminate of modified Muneda would have exhibited a density that overlaps the claimed range and thus establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 3, modified Muneda teaches the second resin layer contains a polyolefin having a polar group (ethylene vinyl acetate) (Muneda, Par. 0082).
Regarding claim 4, modified Muneda teaches the second resin layer has a thickness of 6-200 µm (Muneda, Par. 0087), which overlaps the claimed range of 2-10 µm and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 5, modified Muneda teaches the vapor deposited layer has a thickness of 5-200 nm (Muneda, Par. 0078), which overlaps the claimed range of 30-100 nm and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 6, modified Muneda teaches the gas barrier laminate comprises the paper layer which has a thickness of 5-75 µm (Shamoto, Par. 0021), the first resin layer which has a thickness of 5-80 µm (Muneda, Par. 0142), the vapor deposited layer which has a thickness of 5-200 nm (Muneda, Par. 0078), the second resin layer which has a thickness of 6-200 µm, and the thermally weldable film which has a thickness of 15-80 µm (Muneda, Par. 0136). This results in an overall thickness as low as 31 µm and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range of 20-100 µm, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claims 20-21, modified Muneda teaches a packaging bag comprising the gas barrier laminate according to claim 1 having a folded portion (Muneda, Abstract, Par. 0003, and Fig. 2).
Claims 2 and 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muneda et al. in view of Shamoto et al. and Adur et al. (US 6358576 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Muneda teaches a gas barrier laminate (10) comprising: a first resin layer (protection film, 5), a vapor-deposited layer (barrier layer, 4), a second resin layer (resin substrate, 3), and a thermally weldable film (1) in this order (Muneda, Abstract, Par. 0072, 0080-0082, 0129, and Fig. 4a). Muneda teaches a dimensional change percentage in a CD direction of a dimension under conditions of 70°C and 90% RH in relation to conditions of 25°C and 0% RH is 0.8% or less (Muneda, Abstract, Par. 0008, 0027-0029, 0044, 0049, and 0054-0055). Muneda also shows an example having a dimensional change rate of less than 0.2% at 40°C and 90%RH (Muneda, Fig. 8B). Muneda’s range lies within the claimed range and therefore satisfies the claimed range, see MPEP 2131.03. Furthermore, although Muneda measures dimensional change with a method that is different from the claimed method, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that differences between the two different methods would yield minor and obvious differences, and that if Muneda’s gas barrier laminate were also measured with the claimed method, it would still yield a dimensional change rate that renders obvious the claimed range (see MPEP 2143).
Muneda is silent regarding a paper base material.
Shamoto teaches a gas barrier laminate comprising an outermost paper layer (Shamoto, Par. 0001-0002, 0009).
Muneda and Shamoto are analogous art as they both teach gas barrier laminates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the paper layer of Shamoto in the gas barrier laminate of Muneda. This would allow for a barrier paper-based material with excellent environmental impact reduction, recyclability, and ease of disposal (Shamoto, Par. 0014). This would further result in a paper layer on the first resin layer of Muneda.
Modified Muneda is silent regarding a clay coat layer on the paper base material, wherein the clay coat layer has a thickness of 1.5-15 µm.
Adur teaches a gas barrier laminate comprising a paper layer and a clay coating thereon, wherein the clay coating has a thickness of 3-8 µm (Adur, Abstract, Col. 2 Line 44 – Col. 3 Line 55), which lies within the claimed range and therefore satisfies the claimed range, see MPEP 2131.03.
Modified Muneda and Adur are analogous art as they both teach barrier laminates comprising a paper layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the clay coating of Adur on the paper base material of modified Muneda. This would allow for improved stiffness and gas barrier properties (Adur, Col. 2 Line 44 – Col. 3 Line 55).
Regarding claim 22, modified Muneda teaches the second resin layer contains a polyolefin having a polar group (ethylene vinyl acetate) (Muneda, Par. 0082).
Regarding claim 23, modified Muneda teaches the second resin layer has a thickness of 6-200 µm (Muneda, Par. 0087), which overlaps the claimed range of 2-10 µm and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 24, modified Muneda teaches the vapor deposited layer has a thickness of 5-200 nm (Muneda, Par. 0078), which overlaps the claimed range of 30-100 nm and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 25, modified Muneda teaches the gas barrier laminate comprises the paper layer which has a thickness of 5-75 µm (Shamoto, Par. 0021), the clay coating with a thickness of 3-8 µm (Adur, Col. 2 Line 44 – Col. 3 Line 55), the first resin layer which has a thickness of 5-80 µm (Muneda, Par. 0142), the vapor deposited layer which has a thickness of 5-200 nm (Muneda, Par. 0078), the second resin layer which has a thickness of 6-200 µm, and the thermally weldable film which has a thickness of 15-80 µm (Muneda, Par. 0136). This results in an overall thickness as low as 34 µm and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range of 20-100 µm, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claims 26-27, modified Muneda teaches a packaging bag comprising the gas barrier laminate according to claim 1 having a folded portion (Muneda, Abstract, Par. 0003, and Fig. 2).
Conclusion
/THOMAS J KESSLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1782