DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moras, U.S. Patent 6,279,284 in view of White et al., U.S. Patent Application 2014/0325928 and McCarthy, U.S. Patent 8,667,765.
Regarding claim 1, Moras discloses an external wall system comprising: multiple wooden vertical frames (10; col. 2, lines 53-57) arranged at intervals; an outer board (20) provided on outer surfaces of the vertical frames; an outer thermal insulating material provided on an outer surface of the outer board (col. 3, lines 36-38); and an outer wall panel (32) provided on the vertical frames with multiple support members (30) between the outer wall panel and the vertical frames (see Fig. 1), wherein: the support members are fixed to the vertical frames with the outer board between the support members and the vertical frames (see Fig. 1), the outer thermal insulating material is disposed between the support members which are disposed at intervals (col. 3, lines 36-38), and the outer wall panel is disposed so as to extend over the support members (see Fig. 1), and the outer wall panel is supported by fasteners respectively provided on the support members (33, see Fig. 1), but does not disclose the multiple support members are wooden, the support members extending along respective of the vertical frames, nor the outer wall panel is supported by support brackets respectively provided on the support members. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the support members of a wood section, as wood material is already being utilized in the construction, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin,125 USPQ 416. White teaches furring/support elements (66) can be used in both a horizontal and a vertical orientation (see Figs. 6 and 8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to orient the support members vertically as the same results would be produced. The support members will then need to extend along the vertical frame members or studs in order to receive support and to function as intended. McCarthy teaches the use of brackets (100) for supporting an outer wall panel along a supporting member (Fig. 2, generally). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a bracket rather than a screw or nail depending on the weight of the outer wall panel member and the design loads for the application environment. Inner and outer are relative terms in the art and depend on a component/apparatus orientation.
Regarding claim 2, Moras discloses an external wall system further comprising: an inner board (13) provided on inner surfaces of the vertical frames; and an inner thermal insulating material (14) provided between the inner board and the outer board.
Regarding claim 7, Moras discloses a building comprising the outer wall of claim 1 (a residential building; col. 1, lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 8, Moras discloses an external wall system but does not specifically disclose wherein an outer surface of the outer thermal insulating material and outer surfaces of the support members are flat surfaces flush with each other. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to insulate the entirety of the space between furring/support members, thereby having outer surfaces of the support members and outer surfaces of the insulation flush with one another, to provide maximum insulation in the wall system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GISELE D. FORD
Examiner
Art Unit 3633
/GISELE D FORD/Examiner, Art Unit 3633