Claim Objections
Claims 6, 7, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites “the apparent density of component of the representative gas” which should read “components” for consistency with the preceding “components of the representative gas.”
Claims 7 and 15 each recite “an interative computation,” which should read “an iterative computation.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, 8, 13, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5, 6, and 8 depend from claim 3, and claims 13, 14, and 16 depend from claim 11, each reciting the phrase “determining the linear attenuation coefficient[s] for [the] components of the gas.” Claims 3 and 11 recite two different gases, “a gas mixture” whose composition is being determined and “a representative gas of known composition” in which the coefficients are measured. The phrase “the gas” lacks antecedent basis in the claims and it cannot be determined which gas is referenced. For the purposes of examination, the phrase will be interpreted as the “reference gas”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ATKINSON (US 20070144268 A1) in view of PINGUET et al. (US 20100140496 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17, ATKINSON discloses a method, comprising:
measuring attenuation of gamma photons in a gas mixture (densitometer 120 with a radioactive source 121 generating a low-energy beam with a peak energy at 30 keV and high-energy beam at 356 keV and a receiver 122 that measures attenuation of the beams as an oil/gas fluid mixture flows through the pipe; [0010, 0023-0024, 0030]); and
determining composition of the gas mixture using the measured attenuation and determined linear attenuation coefficients (the mass attenuation coefficient is a composition sensitive method comprising solving for component fractions; [0024, 0030, 0036-0042, 0049]).
ATKINSON discloses the mixture containing oil, water, in addition to hydrocarbon gas and H2S. ATKINSON discloses that the model accommodates any number of additional components by adding energies ([0053]), but does not specify the mixture further consisting of CO2, or measuring the temperature and pressure of the gas and using them in the determination step.
Fig. 3 of ATKINSON
In the same field of endeavor, PINGUET discloses a method of multi-energy gamma fraction metering for well fluid ([0006, 0032]), comprising measuring pressure and temperature to determine gas density ([0006]), and identifying CO2 as a heavy-atom component of that a same gamma attenuation measurement detects ([0078]). The application of a known technique (composition analysis through multi-energy gamma fractioning) to a known fluid (well fluid) with predictable results, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing.
Fig. 4 of PINGUET
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 18, ATKINSON discloses photons at two energy levels (30 and 356 KeV; [0024, 0050]).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, ATKINSON discloses determining linear attenuation coefficients for components of the gas by measuring attenuation of the gamma photons at two energy levels ([0024, 0050]). ATKINSON does not disclose the calibration measurement is made in a representative gas of known composition consisting essentially of hydrocarbons, CO2, and H2S. PINGUET discloses that gamma fraction measurements are set at the beginning with the introduction of the mass attenuation of each component expected to flow through the fraction meter which can be done manually based on the composition of each fluid known a prior of the measurement ([0008]), and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the reasons set forth in claims 1 and 9 above.
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 19, ATKINSON discloses that n energies resolve n+1 components ([0053]), so that a mixture of 2 unknown fractions summing to one is resolved with one energy ([0035]).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, ATKINSON requires a single phase densities as input ([0038]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to compute the hydrocarbon density in the representative gas from the measurement temperature and pressure using an equation of state as a conventional means of obtaining a gas density from temperature and pressure that PINQUET’s teachings calls for, with predictable results.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, ATKINSON discloses that the attenuation at each energy is A = D v p ([0030]) with v available from NIST tables for a component of known composition ([0032]), so that given a measured attenuation of a calibration fluid and its density, the density term for each component follows from the measured attenuation, the fluid density, and the tabulated mass attenuation coefficients. PINQUET teaches obtaining the fluid density from pressure and temperature ([0006]). It would have been obvious to determine the component densities of the representative gas in this way for the reasons given above regarding claims 3 and 5.
Regarding claims 8 and 16, ATKINSON discloses treating the hydrocarbon gas as a single component with single mass attenuation coefficient and fraction ([0033, 0037]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 15 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other steps, wherein the method further comprises determining the apparent density of component of the representative gas is performed using an iterative computation.
Conclusion
CASEY BRYANT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/CASEY BRYANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884