DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11 March 2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“pressure equalization device” in Claim 6 (generic placeholder: “device,” functional language: “pressure equalization”), associated with ventilation opening, lines, valve (Specification, pp. 18-19).
“return device for returning fluid” in Claims 9-10 (generic placeholder: “device,” functional language: “for returning fluid”), associated with a tank or pump (Specification, p. 21).
“energy recovery device” in Claims 9-10 (generic placeholder: “device,” functional language: “energy recovery”), associated with a turbine (Specification, p. 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to require the limitation “configured to completely receive the workpieces therein.” The limitation is indefinite as ambiguous, because it is not clear whether it requires the chamber to receive a single workpiece (e.g. “workpieces” (pl.) one at a time) or to receive all of the antecedent workpieces together (i.e. completely receive all of the antecedent workpieces). Examiner considers the ambiguous limitation to include either interpretation.
Claim 3 recites a combination of limitations, including “a plurality of treatment levels . . . wherein at least one treatment station of the plurality of treatment stations is arranged on each of the treatment levels, and wherein the treatment chambers of the treatment stations arranged together on one of the treatment levels are connected . . . .” The limitation is indefinite, because it is not clear what is required on a treatment level. For example, since Claim 3 permits at minimum one treatment station on each level of a plurality of treatment levels and each station includes a treatment container which surrounds a treatment chamber (from Claim 1), it is not clear what is meant by “treatment chambers arranged together on one of the treatment levels.” That treatment chambers to be arranged together on one of the treatment levels would seem to imply more than one treatment chamber on a level, but Claim 3 also seems to require only one treatment chamber, associated with a treatment station, on a level. Therefore, it is not clear whether the claim actually requires “at least one treatment station” per level as it recites or whether it actually requires more than one treatment station per level for chambers (plural) of multiple treatment stations to be arranged on a single level. In order to reconcile the potential conflict and for the goal of compact prosecution, Examiner considers Claim 3 to require at least one treatment station arranged on each of the treatment levels and to require that in a case (i.e. “if”) there are multiple stations arranged together on one treatment level, they are connected by the fluid guide to one another or to at least one other treatment chamber of another treatment station on at least one other treatment level; in other words, the fluid guide connection is not required in the case of only one treatment station on a level.
Claims 2-13 and 17-19 are rejected as depending from rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rives (US 2018/0195191).
Regarding Claim 1, Rives (US’191) teaches a treatment system for treating workpieces, optionally for cleaning and/or coating vehicle bodies, the treatment system comprising: a) a plurality of treatment stations each including a treatment container (102a,102b) which surrounds a treatment chamber (the “treatment chamber,” as described in Applicant’s specification, is the cavity (the interior) of the container, see description of “treatment chamber 108” and Fig. 2) configured to completely receive the workpieces therein (Abstract; Figs. 1-2; [0057]); b) one or more fluid tanks 18-21 for receiving a fluid (Figs. 1-2; [0056]; and c) a fluid guide (“supply circuit” pipes) (Figs. 1-2; [0059-0060]), by which the fluid i) can be guided from the one or more fluid tanks into the at least one treatment chamber to flood at least one of the treatment chambers and/or ii) from the at least one treatment chamber into the one or more fluid tanks to empty the at least one treatment chamber. The term “workpiece” is broad and not a structure of the claimed apparatus and thus not given patentable weight for the claimed apparatus. Additionally, a workpiece is capable of being introduced attached to a jig (also not a feature of the claimed apparatus) and thereby introduced completely into the treatment chamber configured to (i.e. without modification) completely receive a workpiece therein.
Alternatively, US’191 teaches a treatment system for treating workpieces, optionally for cleaning and/or coating vehicle bodies, the treatment system comprising: a) a plurality of treatment stations each including a treatment container (18,19,20,21) which surrounds a treatment chamber (the “treatment chamber,” as described in Applicant’s specification, is the cavity (the interior) of the container, see description of “treatment chamber 108” and Fig. 2) capable of receiving the workpieces (Abstract; Figs. 1-2; [0056,0059));b) one or more fluid tanks 102a,b for receiving a fluid [0057]; and c) a fluid guide (“supply circuit” pipes) (Figs. 1-2; [0059-0060], by which the fluid i) can be guided from the one or more fluid tanks into the at least one treatment chamber to flood at least one of the treatment chambers and/or ii) from the at least one treatment chamber into the one or more fluid tanks to empty the at least one treatment chamber. NOTE: Examiner interprets “container” to include enclosing structures (e.g. walls) around a volume of space, and “chamber” to mean the volume of space; see, for example reference numbers 108, which indicates a space inside enclosure 110 in Fig. 1 and p. 26 of Applicant’s specification.
Regarding Claim 6, US’191 teaches a pressure equalization device (i.e. supply lines, valves) by which a plurality of fluid tanks (i.e. at least two) are fluidically connected to one another (Fig. 1; Claim 1; Abstract; [0016]).
Regarding Claim 12, US’191 teaches that at least one or more fluid tanks can be sealed by seals 8 (Fig. 1; [0027-0029, 0058]) and thus capable of performing the recited intended use. The recited intended use is not given patentable weight for the claimed apparatus, capable of performing the recited intended use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5,7,9, 10, 13, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rives (US 2018/0195191).
Regarding Claims 2-3, US’191 teaches that the treatment chambers of the treatment stations are coupled to one another by the fluid guide in such a way that the fluid can be guided from one treatment chamber into the next. US’191 fails to teach expressly that the plurality of the treatment stations are arranged at height levels different from each other. US’191 teaches pumps 33 for conveying fluid to treatment products (Fig. 1; [0050]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the apparatus of US’191 by providing the treatment stations at different height levels (including vertically) as a prima facie obvious change in configuration (including slight changes in height) with a reasonable expectation of success in conveying fluid through the system with pumps. Additionally, it would have been obvious to modify the apparatus to provide the treatment stations at different height levels (including vertically) to permit gravity to aid in flow fluid through the system so that pumps 33 do not have to work as hard and also to save space.
Regarding Claim 4, US’191 teaches more than two treatment stations connected to one another by the fluid guide (pipes) and a control device, capable of partially filling one of the treatment chambers by the fluid guide connecting the treatment chambers to each other so that fluid can be guided from one treatment chamber to another one (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0059-0060]). The arrows in Fig. 1 show that fluid can flow either from a container to a bath enclosure or from the bath enclosure to a container. Therefore, valves and pumps can be controlled to move fluid from one container to another container (102,102b) via 18,19,20, or 21 (or alternatively among containers 18-21 through bath enclosure(s) 102a, b) the fluid guide (system of supply and discharge pipes).
Regarding Claim 5, US’191 teaches at least four containers (18-21). At least one of them can be considered a reservoir or intermediate storage tank from which fluid can selectively be supplied to one of the other three containers. Because it would have been obvious to arrange the tanks vertically to save space (see rejection of Claim 2-3 above), it would have been obvious to have a highest container, which can be considered a reservoir or intermediate storage tank, which is capable of being used as a reservoir or intermediate storage tank in an intended use, not given patentable weight.
Regarding Claim 7, US’191 teaches fluid guide (supply circuit pipes 9a, 9b, for example, [0060]) and also pipes 14-17 which branch off the supply circuit pipes (Fig. 1; [0059]). Even if US’191 does not strictly teach a vertical configuration of tanks, Figure 1 would have suggested a vertical configuration as a possibility. Figure 1 suggests a configuration wherein a main set of supply/discharge pipes (fluid guid) run vertically past some tanks before they feed another tank (e.g. pipe 16). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the apparatus of US’191 with a fluid guide including one or more bypass lines by which fluid can be guided downwards in a vertical direction past one or more fluid tanks and/ or refilled into one or more fluid tanks lower in the vertical direction, because US’191 suggests a set of supply/discharge pipes which branch at lower levels than supply/ discharge pipes (e.g. 9a) to feed containers at lower levels.
Regarding Claims 9, 17, and 19, US’191 teaches a return device (pump 33) capable of returning fluid from a fluid tank 18, which Figure 1 would have suggested is lowermost (can be considered a “counter tank”) in a vertical configuration into a fluid tank which is higher or uppermost (can be considered a “reservoir tank”) in the vertical direction, whether by returning the liquid from 18 to a main line (9a,9b), or through 9c with filter 9c before reinjection back into the system, or via the bath enclosure (Fig. 1; [0059-060]).
Regarding Claim 10, US’191 teaches a pump capable of returning liquid so that the fluid is returned in such a way that fluid is capable of being returned (“approximately continuous” read “not necessarily continuous”). The specific process limitations are an intended use recitation, not given patentable weight for the claimed apparatus, which is capable of performing the intended use.
Regarding Claim 13, US’191 teaches a pump 33 associated with tank 12, which Fig. 1 of US’191 would have suggested is lowermost, but fails to teach any of processing circuit for processing a fluid a lowermost fluid tank located on the lowermost tank, a heat exchanger, or a cleaning device. A heat exchanger and cleaning device (e.g. scraper, brush) are conventional components which would have been obvious modifications of the tank at the time of invention, and it would have been obvious to include fluid processing circuitry of the tank being controlled on the tank being controlled (in this case what Fig. 1 suggests is lowermost). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify a tank, including what US’191 suggests is lowermost, with conventional accessories for heat exchange (to control the process temperature) and cleaning as well as control circuitry for controlling flow of fluids into and out of that tank.
Regarding Claim 18, US’191 teaches a tank which is higher than some tanks and lower than other tanks (Fig. 1) and which can be considered an “intermediate storage tank” and used as such in an intended use, not given patentable weight for the claimed apparatus.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stern et al. (US 662,104).
Regarding Claim 1, Stern et al. (US’104) teaches a treatment system for treating workpieces, the treatment system comprising: a) a treatment station, including a treatment container A which surrounds a treatment chamber configured to completely receive the workpieces therein ; b) a fluid tank B for receiving a fluid (Figs. 3-4; p. 1, lines 65-75; p. 2, lines 95-121); and c) a fluid guide (pipes), by which the fluid i) can be guided from the one or more fluid tanks into at least one of the treatment chamber chambers to flood at least one of the treatment chambers (p. 1, lines 79-99).
US’104 fails to teach a plurality of treatment stations each including a treatment container which surrounds a treatment chamber configured to completely receive the workpieces therein; b) one or more fluid tanks for receiving a fluid. The modification of a plurality of treatment stations from one treatment station is a prima facie obvious duplication of parts. MPEP 2144.04. NOTE: Examiner interprets “container” to include enclosing structures (e.g. walls) around a volume of space, and “chamber” to mean the volume of space; see, for example reference numbers 108, which indicates a space inside enclosure 110 in Fig. 1 and p. 26 of Applicant’s specification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that the terms “pressure equalization device,” ”return device for returning fluid,” and “energy recovery device” all “connote structure” and are “structural terms in the art (Remarks, p. 8), the argument is not persuasive, because Applicant’s argument is internally contradictory; Applicant first states that the 112(f) terms are not structural followed by stating that the functional language of the terms can be performed by actual structures, associated with those terms, just as Examiner explained. As explained in the section “Claim interpretation,” the word “device” is a generic placeholder and the terms “pressure equalization,” “for returning fluid,” and “energy recovery” are all functional modifiers of the generic term; these are not “structural” as understood under 35 USC 112(f). Thus, a mere assertion that a term, which is a combination of a generic placeholder and functional language, is in fact structural is not sufficient to overcome the presumption that the term should be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f).
In response to Applicant’s argument that because claims 6,9, and 10 are not means plus function claims, 35 U.S.C. 112(f) does not apply (Remarks, p. 8), the argument is not persuasive for the reasons provided above).
In response to Applicant’s argument that Rives is directed to a local surface treatment of large aerospace parts that cannot be dipped into standard tanks (Remarks, pp. 9-10), the present claims do not require dipping.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Rives cannot teach or suggest the treatment system of Claim 1 because in Rives is not received or enclosed within the chamber (Remarks, p. 10), the argument is not persuasive, because the argument concerns an intended use of the system, where the issue is whether Rives teaches the apparatus of Claim 1, not whether it teaches a process for using the claimed apparatus. US’191 teaches a chamber enclosed by a container (batch enclosure 102a, 102b) which defines a fluid-tight space 26a,26b) (Abstract). A workpiece 1 (Fig. 1; [0055]) is not a structural feature of the claimed apparatus, but rather an aspect of an intended use. Therefore, the argument concerning the configuration of a workpiece during an intended use is not given patentable weight. Furthermore, the apparatus of US’191 is configured (without modification) for the intended use of completely receiving a workpiece therein. For example, a workpiece in an intended use could be attached to a jig on each end of a workpiece so that the jig is held between seals 8 and the workpiece is completely received in the chamber. Admittedly, US191 does not teach such a jig, but neither a jig of a certain type or a workpiece of a certain shape, size, or type is at issue, since the issue is whether US’191 teaches the claimed apparatus, configured to perform the intended use, and Applicant does not show that US’191 does not teach any of the claimed structural features of the claimed apparatus, including a chamber configured to completely receive a workpiece.
In response to Applicant’s argument that US’191 does not teach or suggest a workpiece introduced into other storage containers (e.g. storage containers) (Remarks, p. 10, paragraph 2), in the argument, Applicant disputes an intended use, but does not address whether US’191 fails to teach the apparatus with its structural features or whether the containers are configured to hold workpieces (i.e. whether they are capable without modification of holding workpieces).
In response to Applicant’s argument that arranging stations at different heights can provide savings in space and energy (Remarks, p. 11), the argument is not persuasive, because Applicant has not shown that any benefits would be unexpected or nonobvious. Changing orientation from horizontal to vertical, for example, is prima facie obvious, for example to take advantage of gravity and/ or to fit a space of given dimensions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 11 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 8, US’191 fails to teach more than one treatment station (each including its own treatment container surrounding a treatment chamber) or an intermediate storage tank between at least two treatment stations.
Regarding Claim 11, US’191 fails to teach a turbine.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXANDER M WEDDLE
Examiner
Art Unit 1712
/ALEXANDER M WEDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712