DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 09/19/2026 of the remarks (pages 9-11) that Although FIG. 1 of YERRAMALLI discloses an access network device and a terminal device, and [0009] of YERRAMALLI recites "Positioning reference signals (PRS) include downlink PRS (DL PRS, often referred to simply as PRS) and uplink PRS (UL PRS)," which discloses the standalone feature of "uplink PRS," YERRAMALLI does not address any content relating to interaction for "information related to validity of an uplink PRS".
The Office Action alleges that paragraphs [0008], [0010], [0036], [0056], [0060], and [0064] of YERRAMALLI disclose the distinguishing technical feature "interacting with an access network device for information related to validity of an uplink positioning reference signal corresponding to a terminal device" The Applicant respectfully disagrees.
Paragraph [0008] of YERRAMALLI discloses that "Essential signal information may be received via one or more radio resource control messages, and determining the potential signal collisions may be based at least in part on the essential signal information. ... The potential signal collisions may include a collision between a positioning reference signal and a signal associated with one or more of a core resource set, a channel state information reference signal, a physical uplink control channel, and a random access channel." The "essential signal information" in YERRAMALLI is configured for determining signal collisions, and does not indicate validity of an uplink PRS.
Paragraph [0060] of YERRAMALLI discloses that "With a UE-assisted position method, the UE 105 may obtain location measurements and send the measurements to a location server (e.g., the LMF 120) for computation of a location estimate for the UE 105. For example, the location measurements may include one or more of a Received Signal Strength Indication (RSSI), Round Trip signal propagation Time (RTT), Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), UE Receive minus Transmit Time Difference (Rx-Tx Time Difference), Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) and/or Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ)..." Paragraph [0060] of YERRAMALLI merely relates to interaction between the UE and the LMF, and the subject matter of the interaction is "location measurements," the technical purpose of which is to enable location computation, which is entirely different from the "information related to validity of an uplink positioning reference signal" as recited in claim 1. Nor does YERRAMALLI discloses an interaction between a core network device and an access network device regarding such information related to the validity of the uplink positioning reference signal.
Paragraph [0064] of YERRAMALLI discloses that "An LPP or NPP message sent from the LMF 120 to the UE 105 may instruct the UE 105 to do any of a variety of things depending on desired functionality. For example, the LPP or NPP message could contain an instruction for the UE 105 to obtain measurements for GNSS (or A-GNSS), WLAN, E-CID, and/or OTDOA (or some other position method). ... The UE 105 may send the measurement quantities back to the LMF 120 in an LPP or NPP message (e.g., inside a 5G NAS message) via the serving gNB 110a..." Paragraph [0064] of YERRAMALLI merely relates to the LMF sending measurement instructions to the UE and the UE returning measurement values. YERRAMALLI does not address the concept of "information related to validity of an uplink positioning reference signal" at all.
Therefore, YERRAMALLI does not disclose "interacting with an access network device for information related to validity of an uplink positioning reference signal corresponding to a terminal device."
Although the Office Action did not evaluate the alternative feature "interacting with a terminal device for information related to validity of an uplink positioning reference signal via an access network device," based on the above analysis, YERRAMALLI does not address the concept of "information related to validity of an uplink PRS" throughout the entire document, let alone disclose interaction between a core network device and a terminal device via an access network device regarding such information related to validity.
In conclusion, YERRAMALLI does not disclose the above distinguishing technical features.
For at least these reasons, Applicant submits that amended claim 1 is patentable over the cited reference. Additionally, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejections of claims 2- 6, 9-10, 37 for at least the reason that each of these claims depends upon the amended claim 1.
Independent claims 11 and 21 recite similar limitations as claim 1 and are allowable for the same reasons. Furthermore, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejections of claims 12-15, 18-19, 22, 38-39 for at least the reason that each of these claims depends from claims 11 and 21.
Examiner disagree, the original specification disclosed that [0005] interacting with an access network device for validity information of an uplink positioning reference signal corresponding to a terminal device; or [0006] interacting with a terminal device for validity information of an uplink positioning reference signal via an access network device.
[0054] Usually, the uplink positioning reference signal configured by the access network device for the terminal device in an RRC disconnected state (including RRC inactive state and RRC idle state) is time-sensitive. When the LMF requests a measurement result of the positioning reference signal from the base station, if the uplink positioning reference signal is invalid, the acquisition of positioning information will fail. Therefore, the access network device, the LMF and the terminal device can interact for validity information of the uplink reference signal to avoid the phenomenon of failure to obtain positioning information. That is, the LMF can request the access network device to obtain the measurement result of the uplink positioning reference signal when it is determined that the uplink reference signal is valid, and can request the access network device to reallocate the uplink positioning reference signal when the uplink positioning reference signal is invalid.
[0057] As shown in FIG. 2, the method may include but not limited to the following steps: [0058] step 201, interacting with an access network device, and/or, interacting with a terminal device via an access network device, for validity information of an uplink positioning reference signal corresponding to the terminal device. Wherein the applicant twist the term language “… a terminal device for information related to validity of…”, “…an access network device for information related to validity of an uplink positioning reference signal…” does not change the meaning as disclosed by original specification.
In light of spec YERRAMALLI discloses in specifically for validity information of an uplink positioning reference signal (par [0099] Positioning reference signals (PRS) include downlink PRS (DL PRS, often referred to simply as PRS); and uplink PRS (UL PRS)) corresponding to a terminal device (Fig. 1, UE 106) (See par [0008, 0010, 0036, 0056, 0060, 0064] used for validity information of an uplink positioning reference signal corresponding to a terminal device by with signal information may be received via one or more radio resource control messages with Uplink UL channel which utilize Positioning Reference Signal (PRS), for example: the UE 105 may obtain location measurements and send the measurements to a location server (e.g., the LMF 120) for computation of a location estimate for the UE 105); or interacting with a terminal device for validity information of an uplink positioning reference signal via an access network device wherein Fig. 1 indicated 5G CORE Network 140, and NG-RAN 135; also in par [0008, 0010, 0036, 0056, 0060, 0064] used for validity information of an uplink positioning reference signal corresponding to a terminal device by with signal information may be received via one or more radio resource control messages with Uplink UL channel which utilize Positioning Reference Signal (PRS).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4, 9, 12, 14, 19, 21, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-2, 4, 9, 12, 14, 19, 21, 22. The claimed limitations “… the information related to the validity…” does not disclose in the original specification.
Suggestion to see the original specification in par [0070-0073, 0075-0077, 0086].
Claims 1, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, the claimed limitations “a method for positioning, performed by a core network device, comprising at least one of: interacting with an access network device for validity information of an uplink positioning reference signal corresponding to a terminal device; or and/or, interacting with a terminal device for validity information of an uplink positioning reference signal via an access network device” being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
What is the function and structure of claim to provide the claim invention such as , performed by a core network device, comprising at least one of: interacting with an access network device for validity information of an uplink positioning reference signal corresponding to a terminal device; or and/or, interacting with a terminal device for validity information of an uplink positioning reference signal via an access network device. What is the performed by a core network device, comprising at least one of: interacting with an access network device for validity information of an uplink positioning reference signal corresponding to a terminal device, and what is the function of or and/or, interacting with a terminal device for validity information of an uplink positioning reference signal via an access network device.
Claim 11, being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter as the same reason in claim 1.
Examiner Note: Technically in cellular networks like 5G, Positioning Reference Signals (PRS) are broadcast by base stations (downlink) to help devices pinpoint their locations. Conversely, devices transmit Sounding Reference Signals (SRS) (uplink) so the network can pinpoint the device's location.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-15, 18-19, 21-22, 37-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by VERRAMALLI et al. (US Pub No. 2024/0172169).
Claim 1, YERRAMALLI discloses a method for positioning, performed by a core network device (See Fig. 1, 5G CORE Network 140), comprising at least one of: interacting with an access network device (Fig. 1, NG-RAN 135) for validity information of an uplink positioning reference signal (par [0099] Positioning reference signals (PRS) include downlink PRS (DL PRS, often referred to simply as PRS) and uplink PRS (UL PRS)) corresponding to a terminal device (Fig. 1, UE 106) (See par [0008, 0010, 0036, 0056, 0060, 0064] used for validity information of an uplink positioning reference signal corresponding to a terminal device by with signal information may be received via one or more radio resource control messages with Uplink UL channel which utilize Positioning Reference Signal (PRS), for example: the UE 105 may obtain location measurements and send the measurements to a location server (e.g., the LMF 120) for computation of a location estimate for the UE 105); or interacting with a terminal device for validity information of an uplink positioning reference signal via an access network device.
Claim 2, 12, YERRAMALLI further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein interacting with the access network device for the validity information of the uplink positioning reference signal; comprises: receiving first indication sent by the access network device, wherein the first indication is configured to indicate the validity information of the uplink positioning reference signal (Fig. 1, UE 106) (See par [0008, 0010, 0036, 0056, 0060, 0064] used for validity information of an uplink positioning reference signal corresponding to a terminal device by with signal information may be received via one or more radio resource control messages with Uplink UL channel which utilize Positioning Reference Signal (PRS); or, sending second indication to the access network device, wherein the second indication is configured to indicate time information of the uplink positioning reference signal (par [0007-0008] determining potential signal collisions based at least in part on transmit time and duration information in the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations, and see Fig. 8, step 2b).
Claim 3, 13, YERRAMALLI further discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein receiving the first indication sent by the access network device comprises: receiving the first indication sent by the access network device through a new radio positioning protocol A (NRPPa) positioning information response message (See Fig. 8, step 1a through step 10a); or, receiving the first indication sent by the access network device through an NRPPa positioning information update message; or, receiving the first indication sent by the access network device through an NRPPa positioning information failure message (Fig. 8, and par [0149-0150] the access network device through an NRPPa positioning information failure message or losses with signal to configure to grant or deny the PRS configuration request).
Claim 4, 14, YERRAMALLI further discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the validity information of the uplink positioning reference signal comprises one of: a timing advance (TA) timer value (par [0092] the timing advance) corresponding to the uplink positioning reference signal; the uplink positioning reference signal being invalid; or a valid duration of the uplink positioning reference signal (par [0117, 0134-0135] the UE 200 may utilize the DL-PRS start time and duration parameters for different PRS configurations in view of the measurement gap timing to determine the alignments, DL-PRS configured, for example timing by a start time and/or a time duration for, and how long the requested DL-PRS configuration is required at the UE (e.g., number of seconds, minutes or hours).
Claim 5, 15, YERRAMALLI discloses the method according to claim 4, further comprising: in response to a time interval between a current moment and a moment of receiving the first indication being greater than the TA timer value or the valid duration, sending a terminal device uplink positioning reference signal acquisition request to the access network device; or, in response to the first indication indicating the uplink positioning reference signal being invalid, sending a terminal device uplink positioning reference signal acquisition request to the access network device (par [0092, 0117, 0134-0135] the UE 200 may utilize the DL-PRS start time and duration parameters for different PRS configurations in view of the measurement gap timing to determine the alignments, UL-PRS configured, for example timing by a start time and/or a time duration for, and how long the requested DL-PRS configuration is required at the UE (e.g., number of seconds, minutes or hours, par [0109] The base station may avoid transmitting the PRS on resource elements allocated to the PBCH, a primary synchronization signal).
Claim 6, 18, YERRAMALLI further discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the time information comprises one of: a duration of the uplink positioning reference signal; a recommended value of a (TA) timer of the uplink positioning reference signal; or a reference duration for requesting a measurement result of the uplink positioning reference signal device (par [0092, 0117, 0134-0135] the UE 200 may utilize the DL-PRS start time and duration parameters for different PRS configurations in view of the measurement gap timing to determine the alignments, UL-PRS configured, for example timing by a start time and/or a time duration for, and how long the requested DL-PRS configuration is required at the UE (e.g., number of seconds, minutes or hours), wherein the method further comprises: determining the time information according to a time interval between sending an NRPPa positioning information request message and sending an NRPPa measurement result request message, and sending the second indication to the access network device, comprises: sending the second indication to the access network device through the NRPPa positioning information request message (See Fig. 8 steps 1a – 12, and par [0117-0122] determining NRPPA on-demand DL-PRS configurations to the gNB 110a in an NRPPa Assistance Information Control message for broadcast in positioning System Information).
Claim 9, YERRAMALLI further disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein interacting with the terminal device for the validity information of the uplink positioning reference signal via the access network device; comprises: indicating time information of the uplink positioning reference signal to the terminal device via the access network device(par [0007-0008] determining potential signal collisions based at least in part on transmit time and duration information in the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations, and see Fig. 8, step 2b); or, receiving information sent by the terminal device for indicating the uplink positioning reference signal being invalid via the access network device.
Claim 10, YERRAMALLI further discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: in response to determining that the uplink positioning reference signal is currently valid, sending a measurement result acquisition request for the positioning reference signal to the access network device message (par [0045] compute a location for the UE 105 at a location-capable device such as the UE 105, the gNB 110a, 110b, or the LMF 120 based on measurement quantities received at the UE 105 for such directionally-transmitted signals).
Claim 11, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claim 19, YERRAMALLI discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein interacting with the terminal device for the validity information of the uplink positioning reference signal; comprises: indicating to the terminal device information of the validity information of the uplink positioning reference signal (Fig. 1, UE 106) (See par [0008, 0010, 0036, 0056, 0060, 0064] used for validity information of an uplink positioning reference signal corresponding to a terminal device by with signal information may be received via one or more radio resource control messages with Uplink UL channel which utilize Positioning Reference Signal (PRS), for example: the UE 105 may obtain location measurements and send the measurements to a location server (e.g., the LMF 120) for computation of a location estimate for the UE 105); or, receiving information sent by the terminal device for indicating the uplink positioning reference signal being invalid, wherein receiving the information sent by the terminal device for indicating the uplink positioning reference signal being invalid, comprises: receiving the information sent by the terminal device for indicating the uplink positioning reference signal being invalid, through a radio resource control (RRC) resume request message (par [0054-0055, 0141] with the Radio Resource Control (RRC) for validity information of an uplink positioning reference signal corresponding to a terminal device by with signal information may be received via one or more radio resource control messages with Uplink UL channel which utilize Positioning Reference Signal (PRS), for example: the UE 200 may be configured to generate the PRS configuration request at step 2a in the message flow 800 and then provide the PRS configuration request to the gNB 110a, or other network entity, via a signaling protocol such as the MO-LR request at step 2b. Other signaling protocols and procedures such as RRC and LPP may be used to transmit the PRS configuration request).
Claim 21, YERRAMALLI further discloses a method for positioning, performed by a terminal device, comprising: interacting with a network device for validity information of an uplink positioning reference signal See par [0008, 0064] used for validity information of an uplink positioning reference signal corresponding to a terminal device by with signal information may be received via one or more radio resource control messages with Uplink UL channel which utilize Positioning Reference Signal (PRS)
Claim 22, YERRAMALLI further discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein interacting with the network device for the validity information of the uplink positioning reference signal comprises: receiving time information of the uplink positioning reference signal sent by a core network device via an access network device; or, receiving information of the validity information of the uplink positioning reference signal sent by an access network device (par [0045, 0052] a 5G-based network, similar network implementations and configurations may be used for other communication technologies, such directional synchronization signals, receive and measure directional signals at UEs (e.g., the UE 105) and/or provide location assistance to the UE 105 (via the GMLC 125; or, sending information for indicating the uplink positioning reference signal being invalid to a core network device via an access network device); or, sending information for indicating the uplink positioning reference signal being invalid to an access network device, wherein sending the information for indicating the uplink positioning reference signal being invalid to the access network device comprises: sending the information for indicating the uplink positioning reference signal being invalid to the access network device, through a radio resource control (RRC) resume request message (par [0054-0055, 0141] with the Radio Resource Control (RRC) for validity information of an uplink positioning reference signal corresponding to a terminal device by with signal information may be received via one or more radio resource control messages with Uplink UL channel which utilize Positioning Reference Signal (PRS), for example: the UE 200 may be configured to generate the PRS configuration request at step 2a in the message flow 800 and then provide the PRS configuration request to the gNB 110a, or other network entity, via a signaling protocol such as the MO-LR request at step 2b. Other signaling protocols).
Claim 37, YERRAMALLI further discloses a communication apparatus core network device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program, wherein when the computer program stored in the memory is executed by the processor, the apparatus core network device is caused to perform the method for positioning according to claim 10 (par [0067]).
Claim 38, YERRAMALLI further discloses a communication apparatus an access network device, comprising; a processor; and a memory storing a computer program, wherein when the computer program stored in the memory is executed by the processor, the apparatus access network device is caused to perform the method for positioning according to claim 11 (par 0067]).
Claim 39, YERRAMALLI further discloses a communication apparatus terminal device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program, wherein when the computer program stored in the memory is executed by the processor, the terminal device apparatus is caused to perform the method for positioning according to claim 21 (par [0067]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUOC H DOAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646