Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 01/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfing (US 20050249919) listed in IDS in view of Mauderer (US 20190302395).
Regarding Claim 1 Wolfing discloses method of forming an optical element, comprising: providing a forming insert in a thermoforming apparatus (Figure 3a-3b, insert-1), the forming insert including a plurality of microstructures formed on a forming surface of the forming insert (Figure 3a-3b, [0064] microstructures -3); disposing/placing an element comprised of a …in the thermoforming apparatus and in contact with the forming surface of the forming insert (Figure 3a-3b, [0064], element-10, thermoforming apparatus-30), and thermoforming via the forming surface of the forming insert, the element, the thermoformed element having microstructures formed on a surface thereof (Figures 3a-3b, [0064], thermoformed element having microstructures-25);
Further Wolfing disclose heating the substrate/ element but didn’t specifically disclose that heating the forming insert to a first predetermined temperature. However, Wolfing disclosed that in the hot-forming temperature when the substrate -10 is heated to a temperature above predetermined temperature of the material , and during the hot forming process the die-1 and substrate -10 get closer to each other so that they come in contact as the clearance of the edge disappears therefore the insert-1 would also be heated ([0056])
Further, Wolfing didn’t disclose that disposing/placing an element comprised of a polymer material in the thermoforming apparatus and in contact with the forming surface of the forming insert . In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Mauderer discloses that the element/substrate could be a polymer material ([0073]-[0075])
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Wolfing’s teaching with that of Mauderer’s polymer material for the purpose of significantly lighter weight than glass and can be molded into complex shapes.
Regarding Claim 2 Wolfing discloses, wherein the thermoforming further comprises applying pressure, vacuum, and/or mechanical force to the element ([0005]).
Regarding Claim 3 Wolfing discloses, wherein the microstructures transfer a pattern of microprotrusions to the thermoformed element (Figures 3a-3b, [0064] concave impression-25).
Regarding Claim 4 Wolfing discloses, wherein the microstructures transfer a pattern of microcavities to the thermoformed element ([0064], microcavities-25).
Regarding Claim 5 Wolfing discloses, wherein the microstructures of the forming insert include microperforations (Figures 3a-3b, [0064], microstructures-3).
Regarding Claim 6 Wolfing discloses [0005], further comprising applying the vacuum, using a vacuum system included in the thermoforming apparatus, to the element via the microperforations ([0003]-[0005]).
Regarding Claim 7 Wolfing discloses, wherein a shape of the microperforations is circular (Figure 3a-3b).
Regarding claim 11 Wolfing discloses thermoforming the element further comprises holding the element against the forming surface for a predetermined length of time based on a material rheological relaxation (([0013]-[0015]), [0029], [0030] thermoforming the element by hot forming process by the specifications of the material of the substrate process parameters i.e. in other words hot forming is known to be temperature and time dependent process which depends on the material properties ).
Regarding Claim 13 Wolfing discloses wherein the element is a film or a lens ([0064]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfing (US 20050249919) listed in IDS in view of Mauderer (US 20190302395) as applied in Claim 5 further in view of Chari, US 20080310186
Regarding Claim 8 Wolfing discloses method of forming an optical element, comprising: providing a forming insert in a thermoforming apparatus (Figure 3a-3b, insert-1), and the microstructures of the forming insert include microperforations (Figures 3a-3b, [0064], microstructures-3 ]) to form the microlens but didn’t disclose that wherein a diameter of the microperforations is between 0.5 micrometer to 2000 micrometers. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Chari discloses a diameter of the microlens is less than 20 micrometers ([0011]).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Wolfing;s teaching with the diameter taught by Chari for the purpose of high light out put ([0010]).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfing (US 20050249919) listed in IDS in view of Mauderer (US 20190302395) as applied in Claim 2 further in view of Sharygin, (US 20130344296).
Regarding Claim 9 Wolfing discloses method of forming an optical element, comprising: providing a forming insert in a thermoforming apparatus (Figure 3a-3b, insert-1), the forming insert including a plurality of microstructures formed on a forming surface of the forming insert (Figure 3a-3b, [0064], microstructures -3) but didn’t disclose applying the mechanical force for the thermoforming process further comprises applying a force to the element via a hydro-assist. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Sharygin discloses thermoforming comprises applying a force to the element via a hydro-assist ([0019]).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Wolfing’s teaching with the hydro assist thermoforming taught by Sharygin for the purpose of more intricate non linear shaped objects to be formed.
Regarding Claim 9 Wolfing discloses method of forming an optical element, comprising: providing a forming insert in a thermoforming apparatus (Figure 3a-3b, insert-1), the forming insert including a plurality of microstructures formed on a forming surface of the forming insert (Figure 3a-3b, [0064], microstructures -3) but didn’t disclose applying the mechanical force for the thermoforming process further comprises applying a force to the element via a plug-assist. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Sharygin discloses thermoforming comprises applying a force to the element via a plug-assist ([0019]).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Wolfing’s teaching with the plug assist thermoforming taught by Sharygin for the purpose of more efficient material distribution to form complex geometries.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfing (US 20050249919) listed in IDS in view of Mauderer (US 20190302395).
further in view of Mead (US 20030146526).
Regarding Claim 12 Wolfing implicitly disclosed that in the hot-forming temperature when the substrate -10 is heated to a temperature above predetermined temperature of the material, and during the hot forming process the die-1 and substrate -10 get closer to each other so that they come in contact as the clearance of the edge. However, Wolfing didn’t disclose that thermoforming the element further comprises direct/indirect heating the element via the forming surface to a second predetermined temperature. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Mead discloses that two subsequent temperatures are carried out at different temperatures. ([0013], [0022])
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Wolfing’s teaching with the Mead’s for the purpose of producing complex parts with design flexibility and precision as the heating can be done in a gradual manner.
Conclusion
/DEBJANI ROY/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741