DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the Response to Election/Restriction filed 06/25/2026.
Claims 70-89 are pending.
Priority
This application claims the following priority:
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, compounds and compositions thereof, and
as the compound of formula (A), in the reply filed on 06/25/2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 71-85 and 88-89 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 70 and 86-87 are examined on the merits herein.
Claim Objections
Claim 70 is objected to because of the following informalities:
-In claim 70, lines 5-6, the phrase “one of the bond connecting Q and N and the bond connecting N and Y is a double bond;” should be either deleted, or replaced with - -one of the bonds connecting Q and N, and N and Y, is a double bond- -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 70 and 87 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-Claim 70 claims a compound of formula (A) on pg. 3 of the claim set and further recites “wherein the compound as shown in formula (A) is further represented by formula (A-1), (A-2), (A-3), (A-4), (A-5), (A-6), or (A-7),” on pg. 5 of the claim set, wherein formulas A-1 through A-7 are sub-genuses of formula (A). As such, it is not clear if formula (A-1)-(A-7) are further limitations or if they are exemplary of formula (A)
In view of compact prosecution, for the purpose of applying prior art, formulas (A-1)-(A7) are interpreted as exemplary of formula (A), and as not further limiting the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 70 and 87 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2020/087170 to Crane (published 2020, IDS of 06/20/2024).
Crane teaches ATR kinase inhibitor compounds and compositions thereof (title, abstract). Regarding claim 70, Crane teaches the following compound:
, which meets the limitation of instant Formula (A) when
RY is methyl
R is cyclohexyl substituted with hydroxyl
RZ is 0
X is CRx, wherein Rx is hydrogen
Q is C
Y is N
the bond connecting Q and N is a double bond and the bond connecting N and Y is a single bond.
"A generic claim cannot be allowed to an applicant if the prior art discloses a species falling within the claimed genus." The species in that case will anticipate the genus. See MPEP 2131.02.
Regarding claim 87, Crane teaches compositions comprising its compounds and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (pg. 156, claim 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 70, and 86-87 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/087170 to Crane (published 2020, IDS of 06/20/2024).
Crane is applied to claims 70 and 87 as discussed above and incorporated herein.
While Crane teaches compound
(pg. 60, #56), it differs from the elected species in that it does not teach
.
Crane teaches compounds wherein
is substituted at
(pg. 8, 20-21, 23, 24-26):
(pg. 60, #58),
(pg. 60, # 59),
(pg. 62, #97),
(pg. 62, #’s 101-103),
(pg. 63, #’s 104, 105, 106),
(pg. 63, #’s 110, 112, 113).
(pg. 63, #114),
(pg. 65, #132),
(pg. 65, #133), wherein these compounds have ATR IC50 (nm) values of 6, 10, 0.9, 1.7, 2.4, 1.1, 3.3, 0.7, 2.4, 0.8, 2.1, 0.8, 1.9, and 1.5, respectively (Tables 2-3, pgs. 120-148).
Crane additionally teaches that its cycloalkyls can be further substituted with an alkynyl (pgs. 40-41).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute the H in
with an ethynyl group to arrive at
. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Crane teaches that its cycloalkyls, i.e., cyclohexanol, can be further substituted by alkynyl groups,
-Crane exemplifies numerous cyclohexanols at the instant R position as substituted at the 4-position of the ring, and
-
has an ATR IC50 of less than 5 and the majority of the compounds substituted at the 4-position have substantially lower ATR IC50 values, i.e., 0.9, 1.7, 2.4, 1.1, 3.3, 0.7, 2.4, 0.8, 2.1, 0.8, 1.9, and 1.5.
Thus, it would be obvious to try since Crane teaches similar compounds, wherein substitution at the 4 position leads to increased ATR inhibitor, and since Crane teaches alkynyl groups as further substituents on its cycloalkyls. See KSR(E), “The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103."KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397,” MPEP 2143.
An ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution to predictably arrive at a compound that is effective to inhibit ATR and treat ATR-related diseases.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/LAUREN WELLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1622