Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“first means for moving” in line 5 of claim 3.
“means for holding” in line 6 of claim 3.
“second means configured for moving” in lines 2 of claim 6 and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the second means for moving" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Priester (FR3010397A1).
Regarding claim 1, Priester discloses a method for automatically splicing a first article (2; Figure 1b) unwound from a first reel (page 2, lines 1-4, feed reel mandrel) with a second article (1) wound around a second reel (page 2, lines 1-4, replacement web reel mandrel), the first and the second articles (2, 1) being flexible and in a form of webs or strips, wherein the method comprises: positioning an adhesive tape (7; 8) on an end that is to be spliced belonging to the second article (1); automatically moving a portion of the first article (2) to a cutting plane (P3) situated facing the end that is to be spliced belonging to the second article (1); holding the portion of the first article (2) downstream of the cutting plane (P3) with respect to a motion of the first reel (Figure 1d); cutting the first article (2; Figure 1e) transversally; automatically moving the end that is to be spliced belonging to the second article (1) to the cutting plane (P3; Figure 1h); and pressing a cut end of the first article (2) held at the cutting plane against the end that is to be spliced belonging to the second article (1) to stick them together with the adhesive tape (7; 8).
Regarding claim 3, Priester discloses a module for automatically splicing a first article (2; Figure 1b) unwound from a first reel (page 2, lines 1-4, feed reel mandrel) with a second article (1) wound around a second reel (page 2, lines 1-4, replacement web reel mandrel), the first and the second articles (2, 1) being flexible and in a form of webs or strips, the module comprising: first means (17a, 16) for moving a portion of the first article (2) to a cutting plane (P3); means (18) for holding the first article (2) downstream of the cutting plane (P3) with respect to a motion of the first reel; a cutting carriage (11, 12, 14) which is movable transversally in the cutting plane (P3; Figures 1d-1e); two support means (9a, 10a) which are movable in the direction of one another each other to press, on either side of the cutting plane (P3), the first and second articles (2, 1) together that are to be spliced, the two support means (9a, 10a) comprising attachment means (9d) of for an end that is to be spliced belonging to the second article (1) and/or for an adhesive tape (7); and the adhesive tape (7) positioned on an end that is to be spliced belonging to the second article (1).
Regarding claim 4, Priester discloses wherein the means (18) for holding the first article (2) downstream of the cutting plane (P3) are in a form of a clamp.
Regarding claim 5, Priester discloses wherein the attachment means (9d) are in the form of suction means (page 5, lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 6, Priester discloses second means (15) configured for moving, in the cutting plane (P3), a portion of the second article (1) unwound from the second reel.
Regarding claim 8, Priester discloses wherein the cutting carriage (11, 12, 14) is movable longitudinally in the cutting plane (P3; Figures 1b-1c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Priester in view of Chognard (FR2796929A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Priester discloses the above method, but fails to teach wherein, when the first article is cut transversally, the first reel of the first article is discharged automatically and replaced (“supplying” claim 9) automatically by a first full reel, and in concurrent operation time with respect to an unwinding of the second reel.
Chognard teaches a similar method and further teaches wherein, when the first article (1 of R1; Figure 3) is cut transversally, the first reel (R1) of the first article (1 of R1) is discharged automatically and replaced (“supplying” claim 9) automatically by a first full reel (new R1), and in concurrent operation time with respect to an unwinding of the second reel (R2; page 3, lines 5-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Priester to include the automatic discharge and replacement of the first reel in concurrent operation time with the second reel as taught by Chognard in order to prevent stopping of operation to reduce downtime and increase productivity.
Claim(s) 7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Priester in view of Alaimo (FR2750968A1).
Regarding claim 7, Priester discloses the above method and further teaches wherein the first means (17a, 16) for moving are in the form of a workflow roll (17a), but fails to teach wherein the workflow roll is movable in the cutting plane.
Alaimo teaches a similar method and further teaches wherein the workflow roll (39; Figures 2-3) is movable in the cutting plane (vertical dashed line). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the module of Priester to include the movable workflow roll as taught by Alaimo in order to frictionlessly guide the web and prevent the web from making contact with sharp corners or edges of the support and/or attachment means.
Regarding claim 10, Priester discloses the above method, but fails to teach wherein the two support means and the attachment means form a sliding assembly mounted to the module, the sliding assembly configured to slide with respect to the module in a direction offset from the module.
Alaimo teaches a similar method and further teaches wherein the two support means (16, 17; Figure 2) and the attachment means (47, 49) form a sliding assembly (16, 47; 17, 49) mounted to the module (27, 16, 47; 28, 17, 49) the sliding assembly (16, 47; 17, 49) configured to slide with respect to the module (fixed frame portion 27; 28) in a direction offset from the module (sliding assembly 16, 47; 17, 49 slides laterally offset from the fixed frame portion 27; 28; Figures 1-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the module of Priester to include the sliding assembly as taught by Alaimo in order to provide a compact assembly to reduce the size and space of the module.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656