DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 24 and 27 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 24, “any one of the preceding claims” should be replaced with --claim 21--.
In claim 27, “any one of the preceding claims” should be replaced with --claim 21,--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 22-31 are improperly depending upon cancelled claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Holmes et al. (US 2017/0248505).
Regarding claim 21, Holmes et al. discloses a wear sensor (see Fig. 12) comprising: a body (element 50, Fig. 5) and formed from a planar sheet of flexible material; a plurality arms (element 52, Fig. 5) being extending outwardly from the body such that the arms are located coplanar with the body (see Fig. 5); and a plurality of conductors (i.e., electrical circuit) extending from the body out along each of the arms; wherein the arms are bendable from the coplanar position to an extended position (see Fig. 10), in which at least a portion of the arms extend perpendicular to the plane of the body to be received within a component such that as the component wears (see Figs. 10 and 12), distal ends of the arms are worn down which can be detected by passing electrical signals along the conductors (see par. [0053]).
Regarding claim 24, Holmes et al. discloses a wear sensor, wherein the arms include a plurality of arms formed extending from a peripheral edge of the body such that the arms are each located parallel to an adjacent portion of the edge of the body (see Fig. 5).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lewis-Gray et al. (US 2022/0003707) discloses a wear sensor system. Goulet et al. (US 2020/0039027) discloses an abrasive article including a wear detection sensor. Radziszewski et al. (US 7,677,079) discloses a sensor for detecting erosion of a wear surface of a component.
Contact Information
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/M.G/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
6/21/2026