DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first antenna comprising a two-dimensional array of radiating elements and a plurality of radiating elements must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the lower frequency limit (f1) of the waveguide" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 11-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carceller et al. (US 2020/0235490).
In regards to claim 1, Carceller discloses of a structure comprising two or more antennas, a first said antenna (for example 222) being arranged in a first surface of said structure and a second said antennae (for example 228) in a second surface of said structure (for example see at least Figs 2A-2B, 3A), and a plurality of conductive pin elements (for example 220) arranged in one or more parallel rows intersecting a propagation path between said first antenna (222) and said second antenna (228, for example see at least Figs 2A-2B, 3A).
In regards to claim 2, Carceller discloses of the structure of claim 1, wherein said plurality of conductive pin elements (12) are arranged at a periphery of said antenna (for example see at least Figs 2A-2B, 3A).
In regards to claim 3, Carceller discloses of the structure of claim 1, wherein said plurality of conductive pin elements are arranged in one or more rows parallel to a periphery of said antenna (for example see at least Figs 2A-2B, 3A).
In regards to claim 4, Carceller discloses of the structure of claim 1, wherein said plurality of conductive pin elements is arranged in two or more rows parallel to said periphery of said antenna (for example see at least Figs 2A-2B, 3A).
In regards to claim 6, Carceller discloses of the structure of claim 1, wherein the distance between each adjacent pair of pins in a given said row is a predetermined distance (for example see at least Figs 2A-2B, 3A).
In regards to claim 7, Carceller discloses of the structure of claim 6, wherein the diameter of each said pin is less than said predetermined distance (for example see at least Figs 2A-2B, 3A).
In regards to claim 8, Carceller discloses of the structure of claim 1, wherein the pins of a first said row are offset with respect to a second, adjacent said row parallel to said first row, along the axis of said first row, by an amount between 0.5 times the distance between adjacent pins in the same row and zero (for example see at least Figs 2A-2B, 3A).
In regards to claim 11, Carceller discloses of the structure of claim 1, wherein said first antenna comprises a two-dimensional array of radiating elements, and a proximal extremity of each said pin in at least one said row coincides with said plane of said two-dimensional array (for example see phased array example in Figs 10A-10E).
In regards to claim 12, Carceller discloses of the structure of claim 1, wherein said first antenna comprises a plurality of radiating elements, and wherein no said pins are provided between said radiating elements (for example see phased array example in Figs 10A-10E, and pins below each respective first antenna in at least Figs 2A-2B, 3A).
In regards to claim 13, Carceller discloses of the structure of claim 12, wherein said plurality of conductive pin elements are arranged in one or more rows parallel to an outer periphery of said plurality of radiating elements (for example see pins at least Figs 2A-2B, 3A and phased array example in Figs 10A-10E).
In regards to claim 15, Carceller discloses of the structure of claim 1, wherein at least a second said antenna (228) is positioned in a second surface of said physical structure, wherein said first surface and said second surface are in different planes (for example see at least Figs 2A-2B, 3A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carceller et al. (US 2020/0235490).
In regards to claims 9 and 10, Carceller discloses of the structure of claim 1 as found within the explanation above.
However, Carceller does not explicitly disclose of wherein each said pin is formed contiguously or monolithically with the structure.
One having ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize the manufacturing processes of the pins for the structure can be done contiguously (i.e. formed separately) or monolithically (i.e. formed all together), for example where the formed pins (vias) will be cored/cast all together monolithically with the structure and/or then separately filled/drilled (typically metallically) in a contiguous fashion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the pins formed contiguously or monolithically with the structure for providing the most efficient and cost-effective manufacturing process for the antenna structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to claim 5, the prior art does not disclose of the structure of claim 4, wherein said antenna is designed to operate at a predetermined wavelength, and wherein said two or more rows comprise at least an inner row and an outer row, wherein of the main axis of said inner row is separated from the main axis of said outer row by a distance greater than one said wavelength, nor would it have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to do so.
Conclusion
/JASON M CRAWFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844