DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to claims filed on 06/14/24.
Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement’s
4. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 06/14/24 have being considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Priority
5. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawing
6. The drawings filed on 06/14/24 are accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-2, 5, 16, 20 & 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hussain et al. (hereinafter referred as Hussain) International Publication No. WO 2021/154610 A1 (as disclosed in the IDS), in view of Zhou et al. (hereinafter referred as Zhou) US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0351039 A1.
Regarding claims 1 & 29: Hussain discloses an apparatus/a method for wireless communication at a first device (See FIG. 1B & Para. 0055; WTRU), comprising:
a memory (See FIG. 1B & Para. 0055; WTRU includes a memory); and
a processor (See FIG. 1B & Para. 0055; WTRU includes a processor) coupled to the memory and configured to:
receive a message indicating a configuration for performing an energy harvesting procedure by the first device (See FIG. 27 & Para. 0190; receiving beam detection, measurement, and reporting configuration), the configuration indicating a bandwidth part for the first device to use for performing the energy harvesting procedure (See FIG. 24; EH band), based at least in part on one or more measurements associated with the first device (See Para. 0177; the WTRU determines the expected EH performance for each detected beam e.g. utilizing the received signal strength measurements as well as the determined EH signaling configuration); and
monitor, as part of the energy harvesting procedure, for one or more signals from a second device using a set of resources that correspond to the bandwidth part (See Para. 0177; measuring signal strength for energy harvesting).
Hussain does not explicitly disclose the bandwidth part is paired with a component carrier.
However, Zhou from the same field of endeavor discloses the bandwidth part is paired with a component carrier (See Para. 0170; the SRS component may select the spatial relation RS identifier for a sounding RS of a first set of BWP CC pairs, each of the first set of BWP CC pairs is associated with a same frequency band).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the bandwidth part is paired with a component carrier as taught by Zhou in the system of Hussain in order to increase signaling overhead in the wireless system (See Para. 0004; line 5).
Regarding claim 2: The combination of Hussain and Zhou disclose a method.
Furthermore, Hussain discloses the method, wherein the processor is further configured to: transmit, to the second device, a report indicating a second pairing of a second component carrier and a second bandwidth part that satisfies a performance criterion based at least in part on the one or more measurements associated with the first device (See Para. 0177; the WTRU utilizes the received beam detection configuration to determine detectable beam IDs where detectability might be determined based on beam-specific received reference signal strength greater than a threshold).
Regarding claim 5: The combination of Hussain and Zhou disclose a method.
Furthermore, Hussain discloses the method, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive an indication of the one or more measurements from the second device, wherein transmitting the report is based at least in part on the one or more measurements (See Para. 0198; receiving beam measurement).
Regarding claims 16 & 30: Hussain discloses apparatus for wireless communication at a first device (See FIG. 1B & Para. 0055; WTRU), comprising:
a memory (See FIG. 1B & Para. 0055; WTRU includes a memory); and a processor (See FIG. 1B & Para. 0055; WTRU includes a processor) coupled to the memory and configured to:
transmit a message indicating a configuration for performing an energy harvesting procedure by a second device (See FIG. 27 & Para. 0190; receiving beam detection, measurement, and reporting configuration), the configuration indicating a bandwidth part for the second device to use for performing the energy harvesting procedure (See FIG. 24; EH band), the pairing based at least in part on one or more measurements associated with the second device (See Para. 0177; the WTRU determines the expected EH performance for each detected beam e.g. utilizing the received signal strength measurements as well as the determined EH signaling configuration); and
transmit, as part of the energy harvesting procedure, one or more signals to the second device using a set of resources that correspond to the bandwidth part (See Para. 0177; measuring signal strength for energy harvesting).
Hussain does not explicitly disclose the bandwidth part is paired with a component carrier.
However, Zhou from the same field of endeavor discloses the bandwidth part is paired with a component carrier (See Para. 0170; the SRS component may select the spatial relation RS identifier for a sounding RS of a first set of BWP CC pairs, each of the first set of BWP CC pairs is associated with a same frequency band).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the bandwidth part is paired with a component carrier as taught by Zhou in the system of Hussain in order to increase signaling overhead in the wireless system (See Para. 0004; line 5).
Regarding claim 20: The combination of Hussain and Zhou disclose an apparatus.
Furthermore, Hussain discloses the apparatus, wherein the processor is further configured to: transmit an indication of the one or more measurements to the second device, wherein receiving the report is based at least in part on the one or more measurements (See Para. 0198; transmitting beam measurement).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 3-4, 6-15, 18-19 & 21-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
10. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Elshafie et al. 2022/0337084 A1 (Title: Technique for advanced wireless energy harvesting…) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. Xu et al. 2022/0312315 A1 (Title: Radio frequency energy harvesting indication signal) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Leabman et al. 2015/0099756 A1 (Title: System and method for wireless power transmission) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469