DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Amendment, filed 06/22/2026.
Claims 1-10, 12-13, and 16-23 are pending in this application. In the Amendment, claims 11, and 14-15 have been cancelled, and claims 1, 2, 10, 12-13, 16, and 20 have been amended. This action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 10 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Migos et al. (“Migos”, Pub. No. US 2016/0299648), and Cormican (Pub. No. US 2018/0160165).
Per claim 1, Migos teaches a page control method, comprising:
in response to detecting a touch starting, event for a preset control on a media playing page, on the basis of a touch duration corresponding to the touch starting event, performing display effect presentation for the preset control on the media playing page, and performing interaction effect presentation for a target media played on the media playing page, wherein the touch duration corresponding to the touch starting event comprises a time difference between a timestamp when the touch starting event is detected and a current timestamp (figs. 2A and 2B,. [0037]… Reverse skip control 110 may be used to adjust a playback position to a position within a media file or a section of a media file prior to the current playback position. [0053]…the amount of time by which the playback position is moved backward may be an amount of time greater than then amount of time indicated by the numeric label 126 of reverse skip control 110. The amount of time by which the playback position is moved backward may continue to increase as the hold continues. The amount of time by which the playback position is moved backward may be indicated at indicator 204. Indicator 204 can be a cumulative time skip indicator. As the amount of skipped time increases, the amount of time indicated by indicator 204 may change. [0124]… snippet 902 may be displayed subsequent to a skip control received as described above. Displaying a snippet 902 may provide a visual reference that may be useful);
in response to detecting a touch ending event corresponding to the touch starting event, determining whether a time difference between the touch starting event and the touch ending event is less than a preset duration threshold ([0051]…multiple types of input may be received at reverse skip contact area 202. For example, a first input type may be a “tap” input. A tap input may occur when contact is detected at reverse skip contact area 202 for a period of time that is less than a threshold period of time, such as 0.2-1.0 seconds, e.g., 0.5 seconds. [0060]… a first threshold input time may be 0.5 seconds from the initiation of contact with a skip control (e.g., skip control 110, 112). A second threshold input time may be 0.9 seconds from the initiation of contact with a skip control, i.e., 0.4 seconds from the end of the first threshold input time. A third threshold input time may be 1.2 seconds from the initiation of contact with a skip control, i.e., 0.3 seconds from the end of the second threshold input time. It is considered the touch ending event to be an ending event that is less than the threshold period of time (e.g., 0.5 second) or an ending even that threshold period of time is not less than a period of time (e.g., 0.5 seconds,)); and
in response to determining that the time difference between the touch starting event and the touch ending event is not less than the preset duration threshold, jumping from the media playing page to a preset page corresponding to the target media ([0037]… Reverse skip control 110 may be used to adjust a playback position to a position within a media file or a section of a media file prior to the current playback position. [0054]… As contact with reverse skip contact area 202 continues, until a first threshold period of time is reached (e.g., 0.5 seconds), indicator 204 may indicate the same amount of time indicated by number label 126, e.g., 15 seconds (displayed as −0:15 seconds to indicate that time is being skipped backward, i.e., in a negative direction along the time axis indicated by scrubber line 120). As contact with reverse skip contact area 202 continues, when the first threshold period of time is reached, indicator 204 may indicate an amount of time that is greater than the number indicated by number label 126, e.g., 30 seconds (displayed at 206 of FIG. 2B as −0:30 seconds). As contact with reverse skip contact area 202 continues, when a second threshold period of time is reached (e.g., 0.9 seconds), the amount of time indicated by indicator 204 may again increase (e.g., to −0:45 seconds). The time skip interval indicated by indicator 204 may continue to increase as contact with contact area 202 continues. [0060]… a first threshold input time may be 0.5 seconds from the initiation of contact with a skip control (e.g., skip control 110, 112). A second threshold input time may be 0.9 seconds from the initiation of contact with a skip control, i.e., 0.4 seconds from the end of the first threshold input time. A third threshold input time may be 1.2 seconds from the initiation of contact with a skip control, i.e., 0.3 seconds from the end of the second threshold input time. It is considered the touch ending event to be an ending event that is less than the threshold period of time (e.g. 0.5 second) or an ending even that threshold period of time is not less than a period of time (e.g., 0.5 seconds,)).
Migos teaches Reverse skip control 110 may be used to adjust a playback position to a position within a media file such as an audio book prior to the current playback position as shown in figs 1 and 2A-2B. Migos further teaches the “media file” as described herein may be an audio file, video file, output of a text-to-speech application, or other file playable by an electronic device, see [0027]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the media file such as video in the invention of Migos because doing so would enhance user’s experience by providing the user with video playback and providing a graphical user interface for video playback control.
Migos does not specifically teach performing the display effect presentation for the preset control comprises: displaying a progress indicator on the preset control, wherein a progression state of the progress indicator is based on a relationship between the touch duration and the preset duration threshold, and the progression state of the progress indicator indicates a progress of the touch duration toward the preset duration threshold.
However, Cormican teaches performing the display effect presentation for the preset control comprises: displaying a progress indicator on the preset control, wherein a progression state of the progress indicator is based on a relationship between the touch duration and the preset duration threshold, and the progression state of the progress indicator indicates a progress of the touch duration toward the preset duration threshold ([0044]…During the long-hold gesture 132, a timer 502a can be presented via the display device 122 of the remote computing device 104, the display device 130 of the mobile computing device 102, or both. The timer 502a can include any of a variety of forms, such as an animated line that progressively grows into a circle or other shape, a rectangular timeline showing progression from zero to a predefined number of seconds, a flashing or blinking symbol or pattern, and so on. The timer 502a provides an indication as to how long the long-hold gesture 132 has been held. In addition, the timer 502a indicates when the duration of the long-hold gesture 132 will reach a threshold time, such as 5 seconds, 8 seconds, 10 seconds, and so on.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the timer indicator of Cormican because doing so would improve the graphical user interface control/element by integrating a timer indicator to provide an indication to the user and/or to ensure that the user is aware as to how long the long-hold gesture has been held.
Per claim 6, Migos teaches the page control method according to claim 1, further comprising: in response to a drag operation on the preset control, on the basis of a drag trajectory corresponding to the drag operation, moving and displaying the preset control on the video playing page (Migos, figs. 7A-4D; [0074]… As shown in FIG. 4A, the gesture input may be an input 402 that occurs when user “swipes” or “flicks” horizontally by dragging a finger)
Per claim 7, Migos teaches the page control method according to claim 1, wherein in response to detecting a touch starting event for a preset control on a video playing page is detected, performing interaction effect presentation for a target video played on the video playing page, comprises: in response to detecting the touch starting event for the preset control on the video playing page, or in response to determining that the touch duration corresponding to the touch starting event reaches a preset second duration, spray-presenting, from the preset control, a recommended object corresponding to the target video played on the video playing page ([0054]… As contact with reverse skip contact area 202 continues, until a first threshold period of time is reached (e.g., 0.5 seconds), indicator 204 may indicate the same amount of time indicated by number label 126, e.g., 15 seconds (i.e. a recommended object) (displayed as −0:15 seconds to indicate that time is being skipped backward, i.e., in a negative direction along the time axis indicated by scrubber line 120). As contact with reverse skip contact area 202 continues, when the first threshold period of time is reached, indicator 204 may indicate an amount of time that is greater than the number indicated by number label 126, e.g., 30 seconds (ie. a recommended object) (displayed at 206 of FIG. 2B as −0:30 seconds). As contact with reverse skip contact area 202 continues, when a second threshold period of time is reached (e.g., 0.9 seconds), the amount of time indicated by indicator 204 may again increase (e.g., to −0:45 seconds). The time skip interval indicated by indicator 204 may continue to increase as contact with contact area 202 continues. [00124]…fig. 9 shows snippet 902 (ie. a recommended object) may be displayed subsequent to a skip control received as described above. Displaying a snippet 902 (ie. a recommended object) may provide a visual reference that may be useful )
Per claim 8, Migos teaches the page control method according to claim 1, wherein in response to detecting a touch starting event for a preset control on a video playing page, performing interaction effect presentation for a target video played on the video playing page, comprises: in response to detecting the touch starting event for the preset control on the video playing page is detected, or in response to determining that the touch duration corresponding to the touch starting event reaches a preset third duration, controlling the target video played on the video playing page to be played according to a preset playing mode, wherein the preset playing mode comprises fast playing, slow playing, pause, or reverse playing ([0037]… Reverse skip control 110 may be used to adjust a playback position to a position within a media file or a section of a media file prior to the current playback position. [0054]… As contact with reverse skip contact area 202 continues, until a first threshold period of time is reached (e.g., 0.5 seconds), indicator 204 may indicate the same amount of time indicated by number label 126, e.g., 15 seconds (displayed as −0:15 seconds to indicate that time is being skipped backward, i.e., in a negative direction along the time axis indicated by scrubber line 120). As contact with reverse skip contact area 202 continues, when the first threshold period of time is reached, indicator 204 may indicate an amount of time that is greater than the number indicated by number label 126, e.g., 30 seconds (displayed at 206 of FIG. 2B as −0:30 seconds). As contact with reverse skip contact area 202 continues, when a second threshold period of time is reached (e.g., 0.9 seconds), the amount of time indicated by indicator 204 may again increase (e.g., to −0:45 seconds). The time skip interval indicated by indicator 204 may continue to increase as contact with contact area 202 continues.).
Per claim 10, Migos teaches the page control method according to claim 2, wherein in response to detecting the touch starting event for the preset control on the video playing page, determining a ratio of the touch duration corresponding to the touch starting event to the preset duration threshold, comprises: determining the ratio of the touch duration corresponding to the touch starting event to the preset duration threshold according to a preset frequency ([0054]… As contact with reverse skip contact area 202 continues, until a first threshold period of time is reached (e.g., 0.5 seconds), indicator 204 may indicate the same amount of time indicated by number label 126. Accordingly, Migos teaches determining a ratio/relation between the touch duration ((e.g., 0.5 seconds) and the threshold period of time (e.g., 0.5 seconds). [0060]… a first threshold input time may be 0.5 seconds from the initiation of contact with a skip control (e.g., skip control 110, 112). A second threshold input time may be 0.9 seconds from the initiation of contact with a skip control, i.e., 0.4 seconds from the end of the first threshold input time. A third threshold input time may be 1.2 seconds from the initiation of contact with a skip control, i.e., 0.3 seconds from the end of the second threshold input time.)
Claims 12-13 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim(s) 2-5, 9, and 16-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Migos et al. (“Migos”, Pub. No. US 2016/0299648). Cormican (Pub. No. US 2018/0160165) and Homma et al. (“Homma”, Pub. No. US 2013/0328831).
Per claim 2, Migos teaches the page control method according to claim 1, wherein the progress indicator is a progress bar in response to detecting a touch starting event for a preset control on a video playing page, on the basis of a touch duration corresponding to the touch starting event, performing display effect presentation for the preset control on the video playing page comprises in response to detecting the touch starting event for the preset control on the video playing page, determining a ratio of the touch duration corresponding to the touch starting event to the preset duration threshold (Migos, [0054]… As contact with reverse skip contact area 202 continues, until a first threshold period of time is reached (e.g., 0.5 seconds), indicator 204 may indicate the same amount of time indicated by number label 126. Accordingly, Migos teaches determining a ratio/relation between the touch duration ((e.g., 0.5 seconds) and the threshold period of time (e.g., 0.5 seconds). Cormican, [0044]…The timer 502a can include any of a variety of forms, such as an animated line that progressively grows into a circle or other shape, a rectangular timeline showing progression from zero to a predefined number of seconds, a flashing or blinking symbol or pattern, and so on),
Migos does not teach on the basis of the ratio, displaying a progress bar on the preset control on the video playing page, wherein a length of the progress bar is in direct proportion to the ratio, and a maximum length of the progress bar corresponds to the ratio of 1.
However, Homma teaches on the basis of the ratio, displaying a progress bar on the preset control on the video playing page, wherein a length of the progress bar is in direct proportion to the ratio (fig. 1 and 6A-6C; [0009]… The contact state quantity acquisition unit may include a contact time measuring unit that measures a contact time indicating a time in which the operating body continues to be in contact with an identical position of the touch panel up to a present time and acquires the contact time as the contact state quantity. [0090]… a calculation formula representing a relationship in which the contact state quantity and the interval are proportional. [0091]… FIG. 6B shows the slider 101a displayed after a new specifiable range being decided the display control unit 111. As shown in FIG. 6B, the display control unit 111 may cause the touch panel 103 to display the zoom slider 101i. [0093]… The display control unit 111 may acquire a start edge value, for example, by subtracting a value half the decided interval from the decided specified value and an end edge value by adding the value half the decided interval to the decided specified value. In the example shown in FIG. 6B, the display control unit 111 can obtain the start edge value "66:00" by subtracting the value "24:00/2" half the decided interval from the decided specified value "78:00". The display control unit 111 can also obtain the end edge value "90:00" by adding the value "24:00/2" half the decided interval to the decided specified value "78:00". The display control unit 111 can specify a new specifiable range by the acquired start edge value and end edge value. [0094]…The display control unit 111 updates the start edge value stored in the storage unit 120 with the start edge value of the new specifiable range and the end edge value stored in the storage unit 120 with the end edge value of the new specifiable range. The display control unit 111 causes the touch panel 103 to display the start edge value and the end edge value stored in the storage unit 120. FIG. 6C shows the slider 101a after being updated by the display control unit 111 with the specifiable range. When the start edge value and end edge value of a new specifiable range are displayed by the display control unit 111 on the touch panel 103, the user can easily adjust the specified position of the thumb 101b within the new specifiable range.), and a maximum length of the progress bar corresponds to the ratio of 1 (fig. 6C shows updated progress bar correspond for the maximum length of fig. fig. 6A (i.e. a ratio of 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Homma in the invention of Migos in order to include zoom-in slider control because doing so would provide a novel and improved technology capable of directly specifying the position of a slider displayed in a touch panel and easily adjusting the specified position.
Per claim 3, Migos teaches the page control method according to claim 1, wherein in response to detecting a touch starting event for a preset control on a video playing page, on the basis of a touch duration corresponding to the touch starting event, performing display effect presentation for the preset control on the video playing page comprises: in response to detecting the touch starting event for the preset control on the video playing page, acquiring the touch duration corresponding to the touch starting event ([0054]… As contact with reverse skip contact area 202 continues, until a first threshold period of time is reached (e.g., 0.5 seconds), indicator 204 may indicate the same amount of time indicated by number label 126).
Migos does not specifically teach zooming in the preset control on the video playing page, in a zooming-in factor corresponding to the touch duration, wherein the zooming-in factor corresponding to the touch duration is maximum when the touch duration is a preset first duration, the preset first duration being not greater than the preset duration threshold. (fig. 1 and 6A-6C; [0009]… The contact state quantity acquisition unit may include a contact time measuring unit that measures a contact time indicating a time in which the operating body continues to be in contact with an identical position of the touch panel up to a present time and acquires the contact time as the contact state quantity. [0090]… a calculation formula representing a relationship in which the contact state quantity and the interval are proportional. [0091]… FIG. 6B shows the slider 101a displayed after a new specifiable range being decided the display control unit 111. As shown in FIG. 6B, the display control unit 111 may cause the touch panel 103 to display the zoom slider 101i. [0093]… The display control unit 111 may acquire a start edge value, for example, by subtracting a value half the decided interval from the decided specified value and an end edge value by adding the value half the decided interval to the decided specified value. In the example shown in FIG. 6B, the display control unit 111 can obtain the start edge value "66:00" by subtracting the value "24:00/2" half the decided interval from the decided specified value "78:00". The display control unit 111 can also obtain the end edge value "90:00" by adding the value "24:00/2" half the decided interval to the decided specified value "78:00". The display control unit 111 can specify a new specifiable range by the acquired start edge value and end edge value. [0094]…The display control unit 111 updates the start edge value stored in the storage unit 120 with the start edge value of the new specifiable range and the end edge value stored in the storage unit 120 with the end edge value of the new specifiable range. The display control unit 111 causes the touch panel 103 to display the start edge value and the end edge value stored in the storage unit 120. FIG. 6C shows the slider 101a after being updated by the display control unit 111 with the specifiable range. When the start edge value and end edge value of a new specifiable range are displayed by the display control unit 111 on the touch panel 103, the user can easily adjust the specified position of the thumb 101b within the new specifiable range.), and a maximum length of the progress bar corresponds to the ratio of 1 (fig. 6C shows updated progress bar correspond for the maximum length of fig. fig. 6A (i.e. a ratio of 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Homma in the invention of Migos in order to include zoom-in slider control because doing so would provide a novel and improved technology capable of directly specifying the position of a slider displayed in a touch panel and easily adjusting the specified position.
Per claim 4, the modified Migos teaches the page control method according to claim 2, further comprising: in response to detecting the touch ending event corresponding to the touch starting event, hiding display for the progress bar on the preset control (Homma, figs. 9, CANCEL ZOOM SLIDER s102). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Homma in the invention of Migos in order to include cancel zoom-in slider control because doing so would provide enhance user’s interaction with the graphical user interface for playback control.
Per claim 5, the modified Migos teaches the page control method according to claim 3, further comprising: in response to detecting the touch ending event corresponding to the touch starting event is, controlling the zoomed-in preset control to be zoomed out to an original size (Homma, figs. 9, CANCEL ZOOM SLIDER s102). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Homma in the invention of Migos in order to include cancel zoom-in slider control because doing so would provide enhance user’s interaction with the graphical user interface for playback control.
Claim 9 is rejected under the same rationale as claims 2 or 3.
Claims 16-19 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 2-5 respectively.
Claims 20-23 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 2-5 respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amendment have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/THANH T VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179