DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2021-0180701, filed on December 16th, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted on June 14th, 2024; July 2nd, 2025; August 12th, 2025; October 28th, 2025; and December 29th, 2025 have been received and considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Prior Art
Zhao CN111740157A (“Zhao”) **as cited in the IDS submitted October 28th, 2025
Hoffert WO2021003184A2 (“Hoffert”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao CN111740157A.
Regarding Claim 1, Zhao discloses a solid electrolyte ([0009]), comprising:
a nitrile compound including 2,3-dichloro-5,6-dicyano-1,4-benzoquinone (DDQ) ([0009], [0014]);
a non-oxygen-containing polymer matrix including polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) or polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) (corresponding to the instantly claimed binder) ([0009]-[0011]); and
a lithium salt such as lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (LiFSI) or lithium di(trifluoromethansulfonyl)imide (LiTFSI) ([0009], [0013], [0069]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the DDQ of Zhao is a solid-phase lithium dissociation material, as evidenced by Applicant’s own PG Publication paragraph [0023].
Regarding Claim 2, Zhao teaches the instantly claimed solid electrolyte according to Claim 1, and (as previously described in the rejection of Claim 1) Zhao discloses wherein the solid-phase lithium dissociation material comprises 2,3-dichloro-5,6-dicyano-1,4-benzoquinone (DDQ) (which meets the instantly claimed limitation of at least one selected from the group consisting of chloranil, 2,3-dichloro-5,6-dicyano-1,4-benzoquinone (DDQ), tetracyanoethylene (TCNE), and trinitrofluorenone (TNF)) ([0009], [0014]).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhao teaches the instantly claimed solid electrolyte according to Claim 1, and (as previously described in the rejection of Claim 1) Zhao discloses wherein the binder comprises polytetrafluoroethylene (which meets the instantly claimed limitation of at least one selected from the group consisting of styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR), polytetrafluoroethylene, carboxymethylcellulose, polyacrylic acid, lithium polyacrylate and polyvinylidene fluoride) ([0009]-[0011]).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhao teaches the instantly claimed solid electrolyte according to Claim 1, and (as previously described in the rejection of Claim 1) Zhao discloses wherein the lithium salt comprises lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide or lithium(trifluoromethansulfonyl)imide (which meets the instantly claimed limitation of at least one selected from the group consisting of lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulphonyl)imide (LiTFSI) and lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (LiFSI)) ([0009], [0013], [0069]).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhao teaches the instantly claimed solid electrolyte according to Claim 1, and Zhao discloses wherein the lithium salt is contained in an amount between 10 and 30% by weight ([0009]), more specifically 12% by weight (which falls within and therefore anticipates the claimed range of 10 to 80% by weight), based on the total weight of the solid electrolyte (Example 5, [0069]).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhao teaches the instantly claimed solid electrolyte according to Claim 1, and Zhao discloses wherein the solid electrolyte is in a form of a solid electrolyte membrane ([0028]-[0030]).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhao teaches the instantly claimed solid electrolyte according to Claim 8, and Zhao discloses wherein the solid electrolyte membrane has a thickness of 20 µm (which falls within and therefore anticipates the instantly claimed range of 5 µm to 150 µm) ([0069]).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhao teaches the instantly claimed solid electrolyte according to Claim 1, and Zhao discloses wherein the solid electrolyte does not comprise a polymer having ion conductivity (Example 5, [0069]).
Claims 1-2 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoffert WO2021003184A2.
Regarding Claim 1, Hoffert discloses a solid electrolyte (Abstract, [0005], entire disclosure dependent upon) comprising:
chloranil (Example 1, Page 95 lines 4-10);
a binder such as PPS (Example 1, Page 95 lines 4-10); and
a lithium salt such as LiTFSI (Example 1, Page 95 lines 4-15).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the chloranil of Hoffert is a solid-phase lithium dissociation material, as evidenced by Applicant’s own PG Publication paragraph [0023].
Regarding Claim 2, Hoffert teaches the instantly claimed solid electrolyte according to Claim 1, and (as previously described in the rejection of Claim 1) Hoffert discloses wherein the solid-phase lithium dissociation material comprises chloranil (which meets the instantly claimed limitation of at least one selected from the group consisting of chloranil, 2,3-dichloro-5,6-dicyano-1,4-benzoquinone (DDQ), tetracyanoethylene (TCNE), and trinitrofluorenone (TNF)) ([0010], [0015]).
Regarding Claim 11, Hoffert teaches the instantly claimed solid electrolyte according to Claim 1, and Hoffert discloses wherein the solid electrolyte consists of the solid-phase dissociation material chloranil, the binder PPS, and the lithium salt LiTFSI (Example 1, Page 95 lines 4-15).
Regarding Claim 12, Hoffert discloses an all solid battery (Example 1, Page 95 lines 15-20) comprising:
a cathode (positive electrode) (Page 96, lines 1-5);
an anode (negative electrode) (Page 96, lines 1-5); and
the solid electrolyte of Claim 1 (Example 1, Page 96, lines 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao CN111740157A.
Regarding Claim 3, Zhao teaches the instantly claimed solid electrolyte according to Claim 1, and Zhao discloses wherein the solid-phase lithium dissociation material is contained in an amount of 10 to 25% by weight (which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 20 to 90% by weight)1 based on the total weight of the solid electrolyte ([0009]).
1 In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhao teaches the instantly claimed solid electrolyte according to Claim 1. While Zhao does not explicitly disclose wherein the binder is contained in an amount of 3 to 40% by weight based on the total weight of the solid electrolyte, Zhao does disclose including the binder to improve the electrochemical window of the composite solid electrolyte membrane ([0028])2. And, therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the amount of binder within the solid electrolyte of Zhao, including to an amount that falls within or overlaps the instantly claimed range of 3 to 40% by weight based on the total weight of the solid electrolyte, in order to improve the electrochemical window of the composite solid electrolyte membrane, as taught by Zhao.
2 “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Conclusion
/O.M.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729