DETAILED ACTION
2. The specification, the abstract and the drawings are all acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPN 10,920,899 to Ollander.
As to claim 1, Ollander teaches a method for operating an actuator for a flow control valve or the like, wherein the actuator (col. 3: lines 39 – col. 4: lines 33) comprises: an electric motor (fig. 1: “102”) for driving an output shaft connected to a flow control valve(fig. 1: “106”); an electric power supply for powering the electric motor(fig. 1: “VFD” is Variable Frequency Drive which inherently has an electric power supply), wherein the electric power has a characteristic feature defining an intended direction of drive of the electric motor(col. 9: lines 54 – col. 10: lines 5); a sensor for detecting the characteristic feature(fig. 1: “position sensor”, “torque sensor”); an operable connector for connecting the electric power supply to the electric motor(fig. 1 wherein the VFD inherently has a connector for connecting the electric power supply to the electric motor “102”); and a control system (fig. 1: “104”) arranged to operate the connector to connect the electric current power supply to the electric motor(fig. 1: “102”); the method comprising: providing electric power on the supply; using the sensor to detect the characteristic feature of the electric power; using the control system to: determine the intended direction of drive of the electric motor from an output of the sensor indicative of the characteristic feature of the electric power and determine if the actuator complies with a set of predetermined operating conditions for operation of the electric motor in the intended direction; and either inhibiting operation of the electric motor if the actuator does not comply with any of the set of predetermined operating conditions or operating the connector to connect the electric power supply to the electric motor if the actuator complies with the set of predetermined operating conditions for operation of the electric motor in the intended direction(fig. 2 & col. 5: lines 27 – col. 6: lines 31 and col. 9: lines 4-34 wherein apparatus and method are taught for a motor control system to use sensors such as force sensors, torque sensors and position sensors to determine motor operating conditions and control/start/stop the motor based on comparison results between the motor operating conditions and the predetermined motor operating conditions).
As to claim 2, Ollander teaches a method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electric power supply is a three-phase supply(col. 7: lines 58 – col. 8: lines 2 wherein the motor can be any phases of AC or DC motor thus its power supply can be any phases of AC power including but not limiting to three-phase supply).
As to claim 3, Ollander teaches a method as claimed in claim 2, wherein the electric motor is a three-phase motor(col. 7: lines 58 – col. 8: lines 2 wherein the motor can be any phases of AC or DC motor including but not limiting to a three-phase motor).
As to claim 4, Ollander teaches a method as claimed in claim 2, wherein the characteristic feature is the sequence of phases in the three-phase supply(col. 7: lines 58 – col. 8: lines 2 wherein the motor can be any phases of AC or DC motor thus its power supply can be any phases of AC power including but not limiting to three-phase supply which has sequence of phases in characteristic feature).
As to claim 5, Ollander teaches a method as claimed in claim 4, further comprising changing the phase sequence of the three-phase supply to reverse the intended direction of drive of the electric motor(col. 5: lines 6-15 wherein apparatus and method are taught for controlling drive directions).
As to claim 6, Ollander teaches a method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electric power supply is a single-phase supply(col. 7: lines 58 – col. 8: lines 2 wherein the motor can be any phases of AC or DC motor thus its power supply can be any phases of AC power including but not limiting to the single-phase supply).
As to claim 7, Ollander teaches a method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electric power supply is a DC supply(col. 7: lines 58 – col. 8: lines 2 wherein the motor can be any phases of AC or DC motor thus its power supply can be any phases of AC power including but not limiting to the DC supply).
As to claim 8, Ollander teaches a method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the actuator further comprises a position sensor (fig. 1: “position sensor”) arranged to output a signal indicative of the position of the output shaft.
As to claim 9, Ollander teaches a method as claimed in claim 8, further comprising:
using the control system to determine if the position of the output shaft is at a limit for movement in a predetermined direction and inhibiting operation of the connector if the intended direction of drive of the electric motor would move the output shaft in the predetermined direction past the limit position(col. 5: lines 6-15 and fig. 2 & col. 5: lines 27 – col. 6: lines 31 and col. 9: lines 4-34 wherein apparatus and method are taught for a motor control system to use sensors such as force sensors, torque sensors and position sensors to determine motor operating conditions and control/start/stop the motor based on comparison results between the motor operating conditions and the predetermined motor operating conditions).
As to claim 10, Ollander teaches a method as claimed in claim 8, wherein operating the connector to connect the electric power supply to the electric motor causes the electric motor to move in a predetermined direction, the method further comprising using the control system to operate the connector to disconnect the electric power supply from the electric motor when the position sensor outputs a signal indicating that the output shaft has reached a limit for movement in the predetermined direction(col. 5: lines 6-15 and fig. 2 & col. 5: lines 27 – col. 6: lines 31 and col. 9: lines 4-34 wherein apparatus and method are taught for a motor control system to use sensors such as force sensors, torque sensors and position sensors to determine motor operating conditions and control/start/stop the motor based on comparison results between the motor operating conditions and the predetermined motor operating conditions).
As to claim 11, Ollander teaches a method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the actuator further comprises a toque sensor (fig. 1: “torque sensor”) arranged to measure torque at an output of the actuator(fig. 1: “106”).
As to claim 12, Ollander teaches a method as claimed in claim 11, further comprising:
using the control system to determine if the torque is at a predetermined limit for movement in a predetermined direction; and inhibiting operation of the connector if the intended direction of drive of the electric motor is the predetermined direction and would result in a torque exceeding the predetermined limit(col. 9: lines 4-34).
As to claim 13, Ollander teaches a method as claimed in claim 11, wherein operating the connector to connect the electric power supply to the electric motor causes the motor to move in a predetermined direction, the method further comprising using the control system to operate the connector to disconnect the electric power supply from the electric motor when the torque sensor outputs a signal indicating that the torque has reached a limit for movement in the predetermined direction(col. 9: lines 4-34).
As to claim 14, Ollander teaches a method as claimed in claim 1, comprising generating a signal to inhibit operation of the electric motor when the control system detects at least one of the following conditions: the temperature of the electric motor exceeds a predetermined level;
detection of a change in the electric power supply beyond a predetermined level; detection of an error in a sensor and detection of a failure in the control system(col. 9: lines 4-34).
As to claim 15, Ollander teaches a method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising:
generating a position indication signal in the control system indicative of the position of a valve attached to the output shaft and using the position indication signal to generate a display of the position to the outside of the actuator(col. 3: lines 8-16).
As to claim 16, it is rejected as the same reason as claim 1.
As to claim 17, Ollander teaches an actuator as claimed in claim 16, wherein the electric power supply is a three-phase supply(col. 7: lines 58 – col. 8: lines 2 wherein the motor can be any phases of AC or DC motor thus its power supply can be any phases of AC power including but not limiting to three-phase supply).
As to claim 18, Ollander teaches an actuator as claimed in claim 17, wherein the electric motor is a three-phase electric motor(col. 7: lines 58 – col. 8: lines 2 wherein the motor can be any phases of AC or DC motor including but not limiting to a three-phase motor).
As to claim 19, Ollander teaches an actuator as claimed in claim 17, wherein the characteristic feature is the sequence of phases in the three-phase supply(col. 7: lines 58 – col. 8: lines 2 wherein the motor can be any phases of AC or DC motor thus its power supply can be any phases of AC power including but not limiting to three-phase supply which has sequence of phases in characteristic feature).
As to claim 20, Ollander teaches an actuator as claimed in claim 19, wherein the connector is configured such that changing the phase sequence of the three-phase supply reverses the direction of drive of the electric motor(col. 5: lines 6-15 wherein apparatus and method are taught for controlling drive directions).
As to claim 21, Ollander teaches an actuator as claimed in claim 16, wherein the electric power supply is a single-phase supply(col. 7: lines 58 – col. 8: lines 2 wherein the motor can be any phases of AC or DC motor thus its power supply can be any phases of AC power including but not limiting to the single-phase supply).
As to claim 22, Ollander teaches an actuator as claimed in claim 16, wherein the electric power supply is a DC supply(col. 7: lines 58 – col. 8: lines 2 wherein the motor can be any phases of AC or DC motor thus its power supply can be any phases of AC power including but not limiting to the DC supply).
As to claim 23, Ollander teaches an actuator as claimed in claim 16, further comprising a position sensor (fig. 1: “position sensor”) arranged to output a signal indicative of the position of the output shaft.
As to claim 24, Ollander teaches an actuator as claimed in claim 23, wherein the control system is configured to:determine if the position of the output shaft is at a predetermined limit for movement in a predetermined direction; and inhibit operation of the connector if the intended direction of drive of the electric motor would move the output shaft in the predetermined direction past the predetermined limit position(col. 5: lines 6-15 and fig. 2 & col. 5: lines 27 – col. 6: lines 31 and col. 9: lines 4-34 wherein apparatus and method are taught for a motor control system to use sensors such as force sensors, torque sensors and position sensors to determine motor operating conditions and control/start/stop the motor based on comparison results between the motor operating conditions and the predetermined motor operating conditions).
As to claim 25, Ollander teaches an actuator as claimed in claim 23, wherein after the connector has been operated to connect the electric power supply to the electric motor to cause the motor to move in a predetermined direction, the control system is configured to operate the connector to disconnect the electric power supply from the electric motor when the position sensor outputs a signal indicating that the output shaft has reached a predetermined limit for movement in the predetermined direction(col. 5: lines 6-15 and fig. 2 & col. 5: lines 27 – col. 6: lines 31 and col. 9: lines 4-34 wherein apparatus and method are taught for a motor control system to use sensors such as force sensors, torque sensors and position sensors to determine motor operating conditions and control/start/stop the motor based on comparison results between the motor operating conditions and the predetermined motor operating conditions).
As to claim 26, Ollander teaches an actuator as claimed in claim 16, further comprising a torque sensor (fig. 1: “torque sensor”) arranged to measure torque at an output of the actuator(fig. 1: “106”).
As to claim 27, Ollander teaches an actuator as claimed in claim 26, wherein the control system is configured to: determine if the torque is at a predetermined limit for movement in a predetermined direction; and inhibit operation of the connector if the intended direction of drive of the electric motor is the predetermined direction and would result in a torque exceeding the predetermined limit(col. 9: lines 4-34).
As to claim 28, Ollander teaches an actuator as claimed in claim 26, wherein after the connector has been operated to connect the electric power supply to the electric motor to cause the electric motor to move in a predetermined direction, the control system is configured to operate the connector to disconnect the electric power supply from the electric motor when the torque sensor outputs a signal indicating that the torque has reached a predetermined limit for movement in the predetermined direction(col. 9: lines 4-34).
As to claim 29, Ollander An actuator as claimed in claim 16, wherein the control system is configured to inhibit operation of the electric motor under at least one of the following conditions: the temperature of the electric motor exceeds a predetermined level; detection of a change the electric power supply beyond a predetermined level; detection of an error in a sensor; and detection of a failure in the control system(col. 9: lines 4-34).
As to claim 30, Ollander An actuator as claimed in claim 16, wherein the control system is configured to: generate a position indication signal indicative of the position of a valve attached to the output shaft, and generate a display of the position to the outside of the actuator using the position indication signal(col. 3: lines 8-16).
As to claim 31, Ollander teaches a system, comprising a series of actuators as claimed in claim 16 and a control station, wherein each of the actuators is connected to the control station by means of the electric power supply and the control station includes a central control system for separately selecting the characteristic feature in the supply of each actuator(col. 3: lines 39-56).
As to claim 32, Ollander teaches a system as claimed in claim 31, wherein the electric power supply is the only contact between the control station and the control system in each actuator(col. 3: lines 39-56 wherein apparatus and method are taught for an actuator control system to select any connection of power supply for the actuator control system which includes but not limit to such connection as only contacting between the control station and the control system in each actuator).
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
USPN 10,082,216 to Derven discloses a valve control system.
/DAVID LUO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846