DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to amendments and remarks filed on 05/29/2026. Claim(s) 13 and 22 have been amended. Claim(s) 1-12 have been previously cancelled. Claim(s) 13-30 are pending examination. Objections to the drawings and specification have been withdrawn in light of the instant amendments. This action is made final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant presents the following argument(s) regarding the previous office action:
Applicant asserts that the 35 USC 101 rejection of the claims is improper. Applicant asserts that the claims as recited cannot be practically performed in the human mind. In particular applicant asserts that “generating a non-modified resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation,” is beyond what a person can do.
Applicant asserts that the 35 USC 102 rejection of claims 13-14 and 22-23, in view of Grossman is improper. Applicant asserts that Grossman does not teach “resource efficient tracks.”
Applicant asserts that the 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 15-21 and 24-30 is improper. Applicant asserts the rejection is improper because the 35 USC 102 rejection is improper.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument A, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s argument is based entirely on the idea that the claim cannot be performed in the human mind. The examiner does not believe this to be the case. The applicant argues that a person cannot, “generat[ing] a non-modified resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation.” The examiner disagrees. The claim is broadly recited, a vehicle resource is anything that a vehicle system uses. A person choosing to take a shorter path would be creating a fuel efficient path. A person choosing to take a paved road as compared to a dirt road would save wear and tear on tires. A person can reasonably determine these kinds of paths in their mind as they drive. Nothing recited in the claims is specialized nor does it require more than a human mind to determine a path from point A to point B. Additionally, even if a person couldn’t perform this in their mind, the claim could still constitute a mental process. As recited in MPEP 2106.04(a)(3)III.B. and 2106.04(a)(3)III.C. a mental process can still be performed if it requires a physical aid or a generic computing device. Applicant does not require specialized computing devices nor do they improve a computer operation. A person could very reasonably determine a route between two points to prioritize some nebulous vehicle resource using a physical aid or a generic computing environment. Accordingly, the claims will remain rejected under 35 USC 101.
Regarding applicant’s argument B, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Grossman is broadly directed to a system that can determine a fuel-efficient route for a vehicle in operation. Applicant tries to argue that “fuel efficiency” is different from “resource efficiency.” However, under a broadest reasonable interpretation fuel is a resource of a vehicle. Applicant tries to argue that resources do not include fuel and directs their argument to [0151], however, this is not claimed. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., resources of perishable components of the motor vehicle, resources of various systems of the motor vehicle, resources spent on the motor vehicle's maintenance before and after passing the portion of the route...and other resources) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The examiner would reasonably believe that fuel is a perishable resource. Fuel is used by the vehicle to travel and the fuel cannot be saved, therefore it perishes. The examiner would also point out that their applicant’s own arguments include the resource efficiency includes, “other resources.” Even if fuel is not a perishable resource, it is at the very least an “other resource.” Additionally, the new claim limitations recited in claims 13 and 22 are anticipated by Grossman. See the section below titled, “Claim Rejections – 35 USC 102,” for further mapping and explanation.
Regarding applicant’s argument C, the examiner respectfully disagrees. For the reasons recited above the examiner finds that Grossman does teach all claim limitations. Therefore, the 102 rejection is proper. Accordingly applicant has not presented any other argument as to why the 35 USC 103 rejection is improper. Therefore, claims 15-21 and 24-30 would remain rejected under 35 USC 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 13-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Analysis of the claim(s) regarding subject matter eligibility utilizing the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance is described below.
STEP 1: STATUTORY CATEGORIES
Claim(s) 13-30 do fall into at least one of the four statutory subject matter categories. Claim 13 and its dependents are directed to a method which is the statutory category of a process. Claim 22 and its dependents are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores a program which is the statutory category of a manufacture.
STEP 2A: JUDICIAL EXCEPTIONS
PRONG 1: RECITATION OF A JUDICIAL EXCEPTION
The claim(s) recite(s):
- Claim 13 recite(s) an abstract idea belonging to the grouping of mental processes. Claim 13 recites, “generating a non-modified resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation; determining a portion of a route that is associated with the non-modified resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation; determining a first estimated time the vehicle in operation needs to pass the portion of the route associated with the non-modified resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation; determining a first estimated resource efficiency of the vehicle in operation that is associated with the portion of the route associated with the non-modified resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation; adjusting the non-modified resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation in order to obtain a modified resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation,” The steps taken in the claim are all related to steps a person operating in a generic computing environment could take. The driver of a vehicle can determine a route between two points, determining portions that can be modified in order to improve energy efficiency, and modify the route to be taken. The person using a generic computer could determine which route is more resource efficient, whether it’s time, energy, or some other kind of resource. Claim 22 is substantially similar and would be rejected for the same rationale.
- Claim 14 recite(s) data collecting steps, which is mere data gathering. The claim further recites, “generating a first-resource efficient track; generating a speed profile; and evaluating resource efficiency.” A person could reasonably determine a first track and base it off of a different vehicle’s track. This is the same as receiving directions from another person. The person could then reasonably determine which route is best to take and determine the differences between them. Again this could be achieved in their mind or using a generic computing device. Claim 23 is substantially similar and would be rejected for the same rationale.
- Claim 15 recite(s) “generating a first resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation; determining a second motor vehicle that is located in front of the vehicle in operation in its direction of movement along the highway and generating a resource-efficient track for the second motor vehicle; generating a second resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation, based on its speed profile and evaluation of its resource efficiency when the vehicle in operation is moving in accordance with the resource-efficient track for the second motor vehicle; comparing the second resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation with the first resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation in order to generate a control signal to assign a resource-efficient track to the vehicle in operation; and assigning a resource-efficient track to the vehicle in operation, wherein the resource- efficient track to be assigned is one of the first resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation and the second resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation.” A person could reasonably determine another vehicle is ahead of them and gather data representing its path. After evaluating this data they could compare it to their own vehicle and make a determination which track is better; then take that track. Claim 24 is substantially similar and would be rejected for the same rationale.
- Claim 16 recite(s) data gathering steps and “generating a speed profile of the first motor vehicle on the passed portion of the route; and evaluating resource efficiency of the first motor vehicle on the passed portion of the route.” A person could reasonably gather data, then determining a speed profile for a vehicle and compare this to a different data set. Claim 25 is substantially similar and would be rejected for the same rationale.
- Claim 17 recite(s) “generating an adjust resource-efficient track.” The steps recited amount to gathering data for vehicles in operation and then comparing the data to other data. After this comparison determine a way to adjust the current track of the vehicle. A person could reasonably do this in their mind. Claim 26 is substantially similar and would be rejected for the same rationale.
- Claim 18 recite(s) data gathering steps and “generating the main resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation, wherein the main resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation is generated based on the track generated for the first motor vehicle, wherein the track for the first motor vehicle is generated by performing the following steps: generating a speed profile of the first motor vehicle on a passed portion of the route; evaluating resource efficiency of the first motor vehicle on the passed portion of the route;” A person could reasonably determine a speed profile for a vehicle and evaluate it compared to collected data. This could then be used to generate a new route. Claim 27 is substantially similar and would be rejected for the same rationale as recited above.
- Claim 19 recite(s) data gathering steps and “generating a speed profile of the first motor vehicle on the passed portion of the route, and evaluating resource efficiency of the first motor vehicle on the passed portion of the route;” A person could reasonably determine a speed profile for a vehicle and evaluate it compared to collected data. This could then be used to generate a new route. The mandatory stopping points are not controlling the vehicle rather they appear to be a type of data gathered, where it indicates that there is a stop sign or speed limit change on the route. Claim 28 is substantially similar and would be rejected for the same rationale as recited above.
- Claim 20 recite(s) data gathering steps and “generating an estimated track for the second motor vehicle, wherein said estimated track is generated based on the track generated for the first motor vehicle… generating a speed profile of the first motor vehicle on a passed portion of the route, and evaluating resource efficiency of the first motor vehicle on the passed portion of the route; wherein resource efficiency of the first motor vehicle on the passed portion of the route is evaluated on a basis of efficiency of the braking electric recuperation system of the first motor vehicle.” A person could reasonably determine a speed profile and route for a vehicle and evaluate it compared to collected data. This could then be used to generate a new route. The mandatory stopping points are not controlling the vehicle rather they appear to be a type of data gathered, where it indicates that there is a stop sign or speed limit change on the route. Claim 29 is substantially similar and would be rejected for the same rationale as recited above.
- Claim 21 recite(s) data gathering steps and “generating an estimated track for the second motor vehicle, wherein said estimated track is generated based on the track generated for the first motor vehicle; wherein the track for the first motor vehicle is generated by performing the following steps: generating a speed profile of the first motor vehicle on a passed portion of the route, and evaluating resource efficiency of the first motor vehicle on the passed portion of the route, wherein resource efficiency of the first motor vehicle on the passed portion of the route is evaluated on the basis of the first motor vehicle stopping at said mandatory stop point for a given period of time.” A person could reasonably determine a speed profile and route for a vehicle and evaluate it compared to collected data. This could then be used to generate a new route. The mandatory stopping points are not controlling the vehicle rather they appear to be a type of data gathered, where it indicates that there is a stop sign or speed limit change on the route. Claim 30 is substantially similar and would be rejected for the same rationale as recited above.
PRONG 2: INTEGRATION INTO A PRACTICAL APPLICATION
The additional element(s) recited in the claim(s) beyond the judicial exception are collecting primary data, collecting secondary data, elements of the tracks, generation of alternate routes, the use of regenerative brakes, and the use of mandatory stops/deceleration points. The additional element(s) do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because the additional element(s) do not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception and add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. The computer elements are merely used as a tool to perform the abstract idea, and the use of the judicial exception is generally linked to the particular technological environment of autonomous vehicle driving without using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way (MPEP 2106.04(d)).
STEP 2B: INVENTIVE CONCEPT/SIGNIFICANTLY MORE
The additional elements recited in the claim(s) are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they do not add more than insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g)), and the computer functions of receiving and transmitting data have been recognized by the courts as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner or as insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(d)). Further, the additional elements of a “memory” and a “processor” recited in the claim(s) are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality (MPEP2106.05 (d)).
Based on the above analysis, claim(S) 13-30 is/are not eligible subject matter and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-14 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Grossman (US PG Pub 2022/0171398).
Regarding claim 13, Grossman teaches a method for generating a modified resource-efficient track for a vehicle in operation, that is performed by a computer's CPU, ([0067] teaches the system having a CPU to carry out the method described) the method comprising at least the following steps:
generating a non-modified resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation; ([0068]-[0069] teaches the system determining a non-modified track for a vehicle to follow with an estimated time of arrival)
determining a portion of a route that is associated with the non-modified resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation; ([0070] teaches the system dividing the travel path into a series of segments, i.e. a portion of the route)
determining a first estimated time the vehicle in operation needs to pass the portion of the route associated with the non-modified resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation; ([0015], [0018]-[0019], [0050], [0052]-[0054], [0057], [0068]-[0069], [0080]-[0082], [0094]-[0095] all teach the vehicle system determining a time that it will take for the vehicle to reach its destination, i.e. time elapsed on the current track.)
determining a first estimated resource efficiency of the vehicle in operation that is associated with the portion of the route associated with the non-modified resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation; ([0071]-[0078] teaches the system determining a first fuel efficiency for the route segment based on a series of characteristics, including vehicle and route dependent values)
adjusting the non-modified resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation in order to obtain a modified resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation, the track including at least a second estimated resource efficiency of the vehicle in operation that is associated with the portion of the route associated with the non-modified resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation, wherein the non-modified resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation is adjusted, so that the second estimated resource efficiency of the vehicle in operation is different from the first estimated resource efficiency ([0082]-[0086] teaches the system determining for the route a series of possible modifications to alter the route. These modifications include changes that would alter the efficiency of the route to a second efficiency. This efficiency is different from the first efficiency) the track further including a second estimated time the vehicle in operation needs to completely pass the portion of the route that is associated with the non-modified energy-efficient track from the vehicle in operation, wherein the first estimated time is different from the second estimated time. ([0015], [0018]-[0019], [0050], [0052]-[0054], [0057], [0068]-[0069], [0080]-[0082], [0094]-[0095] teach the system modifying the route in order to adjust the time it takes for a vehicle to reach its final destination. This includes changing tracks/speeds/routes in order to adjust the total time a trip takes. This time is different than the initial estimate)
Claim 22 is substantially similar and would be rejected for the same rationale as recited above.
Regarding claim 14, Grossman teaches the method of claim 13, characterized in that the non-modified resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation is a first resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation, generated by means of a CPU of a computer device implementing the method for generating a resource-efficient track for the motor vehicle, the method comprising the following steps:
collecting primary data that involves obtaining data associated with a first motor vehicle, ([0091]-[0092] teach the system capturing data associated with a series of vehicles) data associated with a portion of a route to be passed by the first motor vehicle, ([0016] and [0038] teaches the system capturing data for a segment of the travel route, this data reflecting the grade of the route) and data associated with the vehicle in operation, ([0036]-[0039] and [0034] teach the system capturing ego vehicle data) wherein the vehicle in operation passes the portion of the route after the first motor vehicle; ([0034] teaches the system capturing data as “historical data.” With this data the ego vehicle can perform a routing, this ego vehicle data is based on other Avs passing a given area prior to the current trip)
collecting secondary data that involves generating a track of the first motor vehicle, wherein said track is generated based on how the first motor vehicle passed the portion of the route; ([0034] teaches the use of historical data to determine tracks of vehicles that had previously operated in the area, these tracks include lane changes, historical fuel efficiency, etc.)
and generating a first resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation, ([0071]-[0078] teaches the system determining a first fuel efficiency for the route segment based on a series of characteristics, including vehicle and route dependent values) wherein the first resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation is generated based on the track generated for the first motor vehicle; ([0050] teaches the system performing an optimized routing based on the historical data)
wherein the track for the first motor vehicle is generated by performing the following steps: generating a speed profile of the first motor vehicle on a passed portion of the route; ([0063] teaches the generation of a speed profile for a vehicle on a given route)
and evaluating resource efficiency of the first motor vehicle on the passed portion of the route. ([0088] teaches evaluating a fuel efficiency for a vehicle on a route based on the speed profile of the vehicle)
Claim 23 is substantially similar and would be rejected for the same rationale as recited above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-16 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossman in view of Bauer (US PG Pub 2020/0108829).
Regarding claim 15, Grossman teaches the method of claim 13, characterized in that the non-modified resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation is a resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation moving along a highway that has been generated by a CPU of a computer device performing the steps according to a method for generating a resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation moving along a highway, the method comprising at least the following steps: generating a first resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation; ([0071]-[0078] teaches the system determining a first fuel efficiency for the route segment based on a series of characteristics, including vehicle and route dependent values, [0082]-[0086] further the generation of this route)
([0051] teaches the system determining the most efficient track for a given segment)
and assigning a resource-efficient track to the vehicle in operation, wherein the resource-efficient track to be assigned is one of the first resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation and the second resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation. ([0051] teaches the vehicle choosing to follow/execute a fuel efficient track)
Grossman does not teach determining a second motor vehicle that is located in front of the vehicle in operation in its direction of movement along the highway and generating a resource-efficient track for the second motor vehicle; generating a second resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation, based on its speed profile and evaluation of its resource efficiency when the vehicle in operation is moving in accordance with the resource-efficient track for the second motor vehicle; and comparing the second resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation with the first resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation.
However, Bauer teaches “determining a second motor vehicle that is located in front of the vehicle in operation in its direction of movement along the highway and generating a resource-efficient track for the second motor vehicle” ([0046]-[0047] teaches a platoon fuel efficiency generation device. This can determine a lead vehicle moving ahead of other vehicles and generating a speed and efficiency profile for the lead vehicle) “generating a second resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation, based on its speed profile and evaluation of its resource efficiency when the vehicle in operation is moving in accordance with the resource-efficient track for the second motor vehicle;” ([0047]-[0048] teach the vehicles in the platoon generating a speed/efficiency profile based off of the lead vehicle in the group) and “comparing the second resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation with the first resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation.” ([0054]-[0055] teach comparing an individual resource efficient track to the platoon based track for energy efficiency)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate the teachings of Grossman in view of Bauer; and have a reasonable expectation of success. Both relate to vehicle pathing and determining efficiency for a vehicle. As Bauer teaches in [0005] the use of adaptive cruise control for platooning vehicles can be inefficient. [0007]-[0008] of Bauer further teach that optimizing platoons’ efficiency is complicated. Using this system maximizes resource efficiency for the entire platoon. This system prevents any one vehicle from having a bad efficiency and improves the vehicles as a whole.
Claim 24 is substantially similar and would be rejected for the same rationale as above.
Regarding claim 16, Grossman teaches the method of claim 15, characterized in that the first resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation is generated by means of the CPU of the computer device implementing the method for generating a resource-efficient track for the motor vehicle, the method comprising the following steps: collecting primary data that involves obtaining data associated with a first motor vehicle, ([0091]-[0092] teach the system capturing data associated with a series of vehicles) data associated with a portion of a route to be passed by the first motor vehicle, ([0016] and [0038] teaches the system capturing data for a segment of the travel route, this data reflecting the grade of the route) and data associated with the vehicle in operation, ([0036]-[0039] and [0034] teach the system capturing ego vehicle data) wherein the vehicle in operation passes the portion of the route after the first motor vehicle; ([0034] teaches the system capturing data as “historical data.” With this data the ego vehicle can perform a routing, this ego vehicle data is based on other Avs passing a given area prior to the current trip)
collecting secondary data that involves generating a track of the first motor vehicle, wherein said track is generated based on how the first motor vehicle passed the portion of the route; ([0034] teaches the use of historical data to determine tracks of vehicles that had previously operated in the area, these tracks include lane changes, historical fuel efficiency, etc.)
and generating a first resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation, ([0071]-[0078] teaches the system determining a first fuel efficiency for the route segment based on a series of characteristics, including vehicle and route dependent values) wherein the first resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation is generated based on the track generated for the first motor vehicle; ([0050] teaches the system performing an optimized routing based on the historical data)
wherein the track for the first motor vehicle is generated by performing the following steps: generating a speed profile of the first motor vehicle on a passed portion of the route; ([0063] teaches the generation of a speed profile for a vehicle on a given route)
and evaluating resource efficiency of the first motor vehicle on the passed portion of the route. ([0088] teaches evaluating a fuel efficiency for a vehicle on a route based on the speed profile of the vehicle)
Claim 25 is substantially similar and would be rejected for the same rationale as above.
Claim(s) 17-18 and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossman in view of Aggoune (US PG Pub 2023/0068356).
Regarding claim 17, Grossman teaches the method of claim 13, characterized in that the non-modified resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation is an adjustment resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation, generated by means of a CPU of a computer device implementing a method for generating an adjustment resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation, the method comprising at least the following steps: generating an adjustment resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation, wherein the adjustment resource-efficient track is generated based on a main resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation, ([0090] teaches the system continually rerunning the efficiency determination based on the initial track, to make more efficient tracks) wherein a main resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation includes at least an estimated speed profile of the vehicle in operation on a portion of a route, for which the main resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation was generated, ([0090] teaches the main track will have a first fuel efficient speed profile for the vehicle) and wherein the estimated speed profile of the vehicle in operation on the portion of the route, for which the main resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation was generated, contains at least a first preferred speed range for the vehicle in operation on the portion of the route, for which the main resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation was generated; ([0090] teaches the vehicle track has a range of possible speeds, and the profile has multiple levels in order to make speed changes)
and wherein the step of generating an adjustment resource-efficient track comprises at least the following steps: determining a current location of the vehicle in operation, ([0028] teaches the system determining the vehicle location.)
determining an adjustment portion of the route, wherein its start coordinates match the current location of the vehicle in operation and its end coordinates match the start coordinates of the portion of the route, for which the main resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation was generated, and wherein the start coordinates of the portion of the route, for which the main resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation was generated, are located in the vehicle in operation's direction of movement; ([0068]-[0069] teaches the system determining a route to follow. A route is a route and the system can determine a route form any number of locations and include waypoints along the way, [0029]-[0030]. The use of the routing can determine how to guide a vehicle to various points along the way and generate efficient tracks for each waypoint segment)
collecting primary adjustment data, which involves obtaining data associated with the vehicle in operation and data associated with the adjustment portion of the route; ([0016] and [0038] teaches the system capturing data for a segment of the travel route, this data reflecting the grade of the route)
and generating an adjustment resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation, wherein the adjustment resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation contains at least an estimated speed profile of the vehicle in operation on the adjustment portion of the route, ([0053] teaches the system generating a speed profile for each segment of the route) and wherein the estimated speed profile of the vehicle in operation contains the second preferred speed range for the vehicle in operation generated in such a way that when the vehicle in operation is moving at any of the speeds from the second preferred speed range, its speed at the start coordinates of the portion of the route, for which the main resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation was generated, matches any of the speeds from the first preferred speed range for the vehicle in operation. ([0017]-[0018] teach the speed profiles having a series of available speeds and can match speeds between segments and based on historic data. [0077]-[0079] further this determination in order to match all speed regulations and speed ranges for a given area)
Grossman does not teach wherein the current location of the vehicle in operation does not correspond to its estimated location on the portion of the route.
However Aggoune teaches “wherein the current location of the vehicle in operation does not correspond to its estimated location on the portion of the route” (Fig. 16 teaches that a vehicle’s position on a route may not match the estimated position and if this is the case to determine a recalculated route to guide the vehicle. [0105] teaches planning a route based on the vehicle’s current location)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate the teachings of Grossman in view of Aggoune; and have a reasonable expectation of success. Both relate to controls for vehicles and determine efficient resource usage for a vehicle. Recalculating of a vehicle route after it is determined that the vehicle is not in the expected location ensures that the user still arrives at their destination. By being able to reroute when needed the system is able to appropriately capture all necessary efficiencies. This includes speed changes, historical properties, elevation changes, and/or traffic, Aggoune [0105]-[0106].
Claim 26 is substantially similar and would be rejected for the same rationale.
Regarding claim 18, Grossman teaches the method of claim 17, characterized in that the main resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation is generated by means of the CPU of the computer device implementing a method for generating a resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation, the method comprising the following steps: collecting primary data that involves obtaining data associated with a first motor vehicle, ([0091]-[0092] teach the system capturing data associated with a series of vehicles) data associated with a portion of a route to be passed by the first motor vehicle, ([0016] and [0038] teaches the system capturing data for a segment of the travel route, this data reflecting the grade of the route) and data associated with the vehicle in operation, ([0036]-[0039] and [0034] teach the system capturing ego vehicle data) wherein the vehicle in operation passes the portion of the route after the first motor vehicle; ([0034] teaches the system capturing data as “historical data.” With this data the ego vehicle can perform a routing, this ego vehicle data is based on other Avs passing a given area prior to the current trip)
collecting secondary data that involves generating a track of the first motor vehicle, wherein said track is generated based on how the first motor vehicle passed the portion of the route; ([0034] teaches the use of historical data to determine tracks of vehicles that had previously operated in the area, these tracks include lane changes, historical fuel efficiency, etc.)
and generating a first resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation, ([0071]-[0078] teaches the system determining a first fuel efficiency for the route segment based on a series of characteristics, including vehicle and route dependent values) wherein the first resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation is generated based on the track generated for the first motor vehicle; ([0050] teaches the system performing an optimized routing based on the historical data)
wherein the track for the first motor vehicle is generated by performing the following steps: generating a speed profile of the first motor vehicle on a passed portion of the route; ([0063] teaches the generation of a speed profile for a vehicle on a given route)
and evaluating resource efficiency of the first motor vehicle on the passed portion of the route ([0088] teaches evaluating a fuel efficiency for a vehicle on a route based on the speed profile of the vehicle)
wherein the main resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation contains at least an estimated speed profile of the vehicle in operation on the portion of the route, for which the main resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation was generated, ([0017]-[0018] teach the generation of a speed profile for a portion of the route) and wherein the estimated speed profile of the vehicle in operation on the portion of the route, for which the main resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation was generated, contains at least the first preferred speed range for the vehicle in operation on the portion of the route, for which the main resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation was generated. ([0090] teaches the vehicle track has a range of possible speeds, and the profile has multiple levels in order to make speed changes)
Claim 27 is substantially similar and would be rejected for the same rationale.
Claim(s) 19-21 and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossman in view of Cserna (US PG Pub 2020/0122588).
Regarding claim 19 Grossman teaches the method of claim 13, characterized in that the non-modified resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation is a resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation moving along a portion of a route containing a mandatory deceleration point that has been generated by a CPU of a computer device performing the steps according to a method for generating a resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation moving along a portion of a route containing a mandatory deceleration point, the method comprising at least the following steps: collecting primary data, which involves obtaining data associated with the a motor vehicle, ([0091]-[0092] teach the system capturing data associated with a series of vehicles) data associated with a portion of a route to be passed by a first motor vehicle, ([0016] and [0038] teaches the system capturing data for a segment of the travel route, this data reflecting the grade of the route) and data associated with a second motor vehicle, wherein the second motor vehicle is also a vehicle in operation and passes the portion of the route after the first motor vehicle, ([0036]-[0039] and [0034] teach the system capturing ego vehicle data) and
collecting secondary data, which involves generating a track for the first motor vehicle, wherein said track is generated based on how the first motor vehicle passed the portion of the route ([0034] teaches the use of historical data to determine tracks of vehicles that had previously operated in the area, these tracks include lane changes, historical fuel efficiency, etc.)
wherein the track for the first motor vehicle is generated by performing the following steps: generating a speed profile of the first motor vehicle on the passed portion of the route, ([0063] teaches the generation of a speed profile for a vehicle on a given route)
and evaluating resource efficiency of the first motor vehicle on the passed portion of the route; ([0088] teaches evaluating a fuel efficiency for a vehicle on a route based on the speed profile of the vehicle)
and
Grossman does not teach wherein the data associated with the portion of the route include at least data associated with the mandatory deceleration point; using the data associated with the mandatory deceleration point; wherein the data associated with a mandatory deceleration point include one of the following: data associated with a mandatory deceleration point on a portion of a route that is adjoined or intersected by another portion of the route, data associated with a mandatory deceleration point on a portion of a route containing an infrastructure element, which controls the movement of motor vehicles on the portion of the route, data associated with a mandatory deceleration point on a portion of a route containing a traffic sign providing a speed limit for motor vehicles on the portion of the route, data associated with a mandatory deceleration point on a portion of a route containing an obstacle, and/or a combination thereof.
However, Cserna teaches “wherein the data associated with the portion of the route include at least data associated with the mandatory deceleration point;” ([0031] and [0036] teach the system determining a series of possible deceleration points on the route of a vehicle) “using the data associated with the mandatory deceleration point;” ([0031] and [0036] teach the system determining a series of possible deceleration points on the route of a vehicle) and “wherein the data associated with a mandatory deceleration point include one of the following: data associated with a mandatory deceleration point on a portion of a route that is adjoined or intersected by another portion of the route, data associated with a mandatory deceleration point on a portion of a route containing an infrastructure element, which controls the movement of motor vehicles on the portion of the route, data associated with a mandatory deceleration point on a portion of a route containing a traffic sign providing a speed limit for motor vehicles on the portion of the route, data associated with a mandatory deceleration point on a portion of a route containing an obstacle, and/or a combination thereof.” ([0031] and [0036] teach a mandatory stopping point to be defined as a “road constraint” which includes, stop signs, traffic lights, junctions, etc.”
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate the teachings of Grossman and Cserna; and have a reasonable expectation of success. Both relate to the control of vehicles for efficiency purposes. As Cserna teaches in [0031]-[0036] the measurement of power consumption over a road network allows for the vehicle to determine an optimum fuel usage. As stops are a part of a road network, ensuring optimum stopping and routing around stops ensures that a vehicle is always moving as resource efficiently as possible.
Claim 28 is substantially similar and would be rejected for the same rational.
Regarding claim 20 Grossman teaches the method of claim 13, characterized in that the non-modified resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation is a recuperation resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation, that has been generated by a CPU of a computer device performing steps according to a method for generating a recuperation resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation equipped with a braking electric recuperation system moving along a portion of a route that includes a possible deceleration point, the method comprising at least the following steps: collecting primary data, which involves obtaining data associated with a first motor vehicle equipped with a braking electric recuperation system, , ([0091]-[0092] teach the system capturing data associated with a series of vehicles. [0060] teaches that the vehicle data captured includes data associated with a regenerative braking system) data associated with a portion of a route to be passed by a first motor vehicle, ([0016] and [0038] teaches the system capturing data for a segment of the travel route, this data reflecting the grade of the route) and data associated with a second motor vehicle, wherein the second motor vehicle is also a vehicle in operation and passes the portion of the route after the first motor vehicle, ([0036]-[0039] and [0034] teach the system capturing ego vehicle data) and wherein the data associated with the portion of the route include at least data associated with a possible deceleration point; ([0016] and [0038] teach the collection of data related to possible deceleration conditions, including downhill driving, grade changes, road speed changes, etc.) collecting secondary data, which involves generating a track for the first motor vehicle, wherein said track is generated based on how the first motor vehicle passed the portion of the route, ([0034] teaches the use of historical data to determine tracks of vehicles that had previously operated in the area, these tracks include lane changes, historical fuel efficiency, etc.) and wherein the braking electric recuperation system is activated when the first motor vehicle is braking while moving along the portion of the route and passing the possible deceleration point; ([0060] teaches capturing data for regenerative braking usage as the vehicle moves through a location)
generating an estimated track for the second motor vehicle, wherein said estimated track is generated based on the track generated for the first motor vehicle; ([0034] teaches the use of historical data to determine tracks of vehicles that had previously operated in the area, these tracks include lane changes, historical fuel efficiency, etc.)
wherein the track for the first motor vehicle is generated by performing the following steps: generating a speed profile of the first motor vehicle on the passed portion of the route, ([0063] teaches the generation of a speed profile for a vehicle on a given route)
and evaluating resource efficiency of the first motor vehicle on the passed portion of the route; ([0088] teaches evaluating a fuel efficiency for a vehicle on a route based on the speed profile of the vehicle)
wherein the data associated with the possible deceleration point include one of the following: data associated with a mandatory deceleration point, data associated with a non-mandatory deceleration point, and/or a combination thereof; ([0016] and [0038] teach the collection of data related to possible deceleration conditions, including downhill driving, grade changes, road speed changes, etc.)
and wherein the data associated with a non-mandatory deceleration point include one of the following: data associated with a non-mandatory deceleration point on a portion of a route containing an incline, data associated with a non-mandatory deceleration point on a portion of a route containing a visual obstruction, and/or a combination thereof. ([0016] and [0038] teach the collection of data related to possible deceleration conditions, including downhill driving, grade changes, road speed changes, etc.)
Grossman does not teach wherein resource efficiency of the first motor vehicle on the passed portion of the route is evaluated on a basis of efficiency of the braking electric recuperation system of the first motor vehicle; and wherein the data associated with a mandatory deceleration point include one of the following: data associated with a mandatory deceleration point on a portion of a route that is adjoined or intersected by another portion of the route, data associated with a mandatory deceleration point on a portion of a route containing an infrastructure element, which controls the movement of motor vehicles on the portion of the route, data associated with a mandatory deceleration point on a portion of a route containing a traffic sign providing a speed limit for motor vehicles on the portion of the route, data associated with a mandatory deceleration point on a portion of a route containing an obstacle, data associated with a mandatory deceleration point on a portion of a route containing a turn, and/or a combination thereof.
However, Cserna teaches “wherein resource efficiency of the first motor vehicle on the passed portion of the route is evaluated on a basis of efficiency of the braking electric recuperation system of the first motor vehicle” ([0048] teaches the system determining an efficient travel route with the basis of the use of regenerative braking to maintain resources effectively) and “wherein the data associated with a mandatory deceleration point include one of the following: data associated with a mandatory deceleration point on a portion of a route that is adjoined or intersected by another portion of the route, data associated with a mandatory deceleration point on a portion of a route containing an infrastructure element, which controls the movement of motor vehicles on the portion of the route, data associated with a mandatory deceleration point on a portion of a route containing a traffic sign providing a speed limit for motor vehicles on the portion of the route, data associated with a mandatory deceleration point on a portion of a route containing an obstacle, and/or a combination thereof.” ([0031] and [0036] teach a mandatory stopping point to be defined as a “road constraint” which includes, stop signs, traffic lights, junctions, etc.”
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate the teachings of Grossman and Cserna; and have a reasonable expectation of success. Both relate to the control of vehicles for efficiency purposes. As Cserna teaches in [0031]-[0036] the measurement of power consumption over a road network allows for the vehicle to determine an optimum fuel usage. As stops are a part of a road network, ensuring optimum stopping and routing around stops ensures that a vehicle is always moving as resource efficiently as possible.
Claim 29 is substantially similar and would be rejected for the same rational.
Regarding claim 21 Grossman teaches the method of claim 13, characterized in that the non-modified resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation is a resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation moving along a portion of a route containing a mandatory deceleration point that has been generated by a CPU of a computer device performing the steps according to a method for generating a resource-efficient track for the vehicle in operation moving along a portion of a route containing a mandatory deceleration point, the method comprising at least the following steps: collecting primary data, which involves obtaining data associated with the a motor vehicle, ([0091]-[0092] teach the system capturing data associated with a series of vehicles) data associated with a portion of a route to be passed by a first motor vehicle, ([0016] and [0038] teaches the system capturing data for a segment of the travel route, this data reflecting the grade of the route) and data associated with a second motor vehicle, wherein the second motor vehicle is also a vehicle in operation and passes the portion of the route after the first motor vehicle, ([0036]-[0039] and [0034] teach the system capturing ego vehicle data) and ([0068]-[0069] teach evaluating a route based on a time it would take for a vehicle to reach a point from a base movement time to a maximum time to reach the next point. This includes mandatory stop driving points like cutoffs for time of day or delivery time periods. [0080]-[0083] teach determining a track for the vehicle based on the times it would take to traverse the area and if the time period elapsed is acceptable) and wherein the data associated with the second motor vehicle include at least data associated with a movement time of the second motor vehicle that include data associated with an actual movement time of the second motor vehicle and data associated with a maximum movement time of the second motor vehicle before a mandatory stop; ([0068]-[0069] teach evaluating a route based on a time it would take for a vehicle to reach a point from a base movement time to a maximum time to reach the next point. This includes mandatory stop driving points like cutoffs for time of day or delivery time periods. [0080]-[0083] teach determining a track for the vehicle based on the times it would take to traverse the area and if the time period elapsed is acceptable)
collecting secondary data, which involves generating a track for the first motor vehicle, wherein said track is generated based on how the first motor vehicle passed the portion of the route, and wherein the first motor vehicle stops for a given period of time while moving along the portion of the route and passing the mandatory stop point; ([0068]-[0069] teach evaluating a route based on a time it would take for a vehicle to reach a point from a base movement time to a maximum time to reach the next point. [0080]-[0083] teach determining a track for the vehicle based on the times it would take to traverse the area and if the time period elapsed is acceptable)
generating an estimated track for the second motor vehicle, wherein said estimated track is generated based on the track generated for the first motor vehicle; ([0034] teaches the use of historical data to determine tracks of vehicles that had previously operated in the area, these tracks include lane changes, historical fuel efficiency, etc.)
wherein the track for the first motor vehicle is generated by performing the following steps: generating a speed profile of the first motor vehicle on the passed portion of the route, ([0063] teaches the generation of a speed profile for a vehicle on a given route)
and evaluating resource efficiency of the first motor vehicle on the passed portion of the route; ([0088] teaches evaluating a fuel efficiency for a vehicle on a route based on the speed profile of the vehicle)
wherein resource efficiency of the first motor vehicle on the passed portion of the route is evaluated on the basis of the first motor vehicle stopping at said mandatory stop point for a given period of time. ([0080]-[0083] teach determining if the time required to stop/arrival times meet the threshold times set by the routing device)
Grossman does not teach wherein the data associated with the portion of the route include at least data associated with the mandatory deceleration point.
However, Cserna teaches “wherein the data associated with the portion of the route include at least data associated with the mandatory deceleration point;” ([0031] and [0036] teach the system determining a series of possible deceleration points on the route of a vehicle)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate the teachings of Grossman and Cserna; and have a reasonable expectation of success. Both relate to the control of vehicles for efficiency purposes. As Cserna teaches in [0031]-[0036] the measurement of power consumption over a road network allows for the vehicle to determine an optimum fuel usage. As stops are a part of a road network, ensuring optimum stopping and routing around stops ensures that a vehicle is always moving as resource efficiently as possible.
Claim 30 is substantially similar and would be rejected for the same rational.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kumar (US PG Pub 2012/0277940) teaches a method includes determining an operational parameter of a first vehicle traveling with a plurality of vehicles in a transportation network and/or a route in the transportation network, identifying a failure condition of the first vehicle and/or the route based on the operational parameter, obtaining plural different sets of remedial actions that dictate operations to be taken based on the operational parameter, simulating travel of the plurality of vehicles in the transportation network based on implementation of the different sets of remedial actions, determining potential consequences on travel of the plurality of vehicles in the transportation network when the different sets of remedial actions are implemented in the travel that is simulated, and based on the potential consequences, receiving a selection of at least one of the different sets of remedial actions to be implemented in actual travel of the plurality of vehicles in the transportation network.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3665 /CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665