DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Kimura(JP 2015089583 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kimura discloses a robotic surgical system comprising:
a surgical instrument operation unit to receive an operation amount for a surgical instrument attached to a distal end of a robot arm(As shown in FIG. 1, the robot 200 includes a multi-axis (four-axis) robot arm 201 and an end effector 202 attached to the tip of the robot arm 201(see attached translation, page 2, paragraph 3)) and
a controller; wherein
the surgical instrument operation unit includes a first substrate to which a signal received by the surgical instrument operation unit is input(The control device 300 corrects and controls misalignment of the robot arm 201 based on the detection results of the plurality of temperature sensors 221 to 225(see attached translation, page 3, paragraph 9)) and
the controller is connected to the first substrate by serial communication via a first wire line(In addition, the substrates 231 to 235 (that is, the temperature sensors 221 to 225) are serially connected to the control device 300 via cables (wirings) 241 to 245 including power lines that transmit power and signal lines that transmit signals(see attached translation, page 2, paragraph 6)).
Regarding claim 2, Kimura discloses the robotic surgical system according to claim 1, wherein the surgical instrument operation unit includes a joint and a drive provided in the joint; and the controller is connected to the first substrate by serial communication via the first wire line separately from a signal communication path between a detector operable to detect a movement amount of the drive and the controller(The robot arm 201 includes a plurality of motors M1 to M4 that respectively drive the joints J1 to J4 and a plurality of drive control boards 331 to 334 that respectively control the driving of the motors M1 to M4 in accordance with instructions from the control device 300. Have. A drive control board 335 that controls the drive of the motor of the end effector 202 is disposed in the frame 215(see attached translation, page 6, paragraph 9). In addition, the substrates 231 to 235 (that is, the temperature sensors 221 to 225) are serially connected to the control device 300 via cables (wirings) 241 to 245 including power lines that transmit power and signal lines that transmit signals(see attached translation, page 2, paragraph 6)).
Regarding claim 3, Kimura discloses the robotic surgical system according to claim 2, wherein the detector is connected to the controller by serial communication via a second wire line(As described above, since the temperature sensors 221 to 225 are serially connected, cables (wirings) passing through the joint can be configured with a minimum number regardless of the number of temperature sensors(see attached translation, page 4, paragraph 5)). Sensors(i.e. detectors) can be connected to the controller by multiple wire lines as shown in Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 4, Kimura discloses the robotic surgical system according to claim 1, wherein the controller is connected to the first substrate by serial communication through an inside of the surgical instrument operation unit(In addition, the substrates 231 to 235 (that is, the temperature sensors 221 to 225) are serially connected to the control device 300 via cables (wirings) 241 to 245 including power lines that transmit power and signal lines that transmit signals. That is, the control device 300 and the board 231 are connected by the cable 241 via the connector 251 as shown in FIGS.( see attached translation, page 2, paragraph 6)). The wires and serial communication system are all located inside the operation unit(robot arm).
Regarding claim 14, Kimura discloses an operator-side apparatus comprising:
a surgical instrument operation unit to receive an operation amount for a surgical instrument attached to a distal end of a robot arm(As shown in FIG. 1, the robot 200 includes a multi-axis (four-axis) robot arm 201 and an end effector 202 attached to the tip of the robot arm 201(see attached translation, page 2, paragraph 3)); and
a controller; wherein the surgical instrument operation unit includes a first substrate to which a signal received by the surgical instrument operation unit is input(The control device 300 corrects and controls misalignment of the robot arm 201 based on the detection results of the plurality of temperature sensors 221 to 225(see attached translation, page 3, paragraph 9)); and
the controller is connected to the first substrate by serial communication via a first wire line(In addition, the substrates 231 to 235 (that is, the temperature sensors 221 to 225) are serially connected to the control device 300 via cables (wirings) 241 to 245 including power lines that transmit power and signal lines that transmit signals(see attached translation, page 2, paragraph 6)).
Regarding claim 15, Kimura discloses the operation-side apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the surgical instrument operation unit includes a joint and a drive provided in the joint; and the controller is connected to the first substrate by serial communication via the first wire line separately from a signal communication path between a detector operable to detect a movement amount of the drive and the controller(The robot arm 201 includes a plurality of motors M1 to M4 that respectively drive the joints J1 to J4 and a plurality of drive control boards 331 to 334 that respectively control the driving of the motors M1 to M4 in accordance with instructions from the control device 300. Have. A drive control board 335 that controls the drive of the motor of the end effector 202 is disposed in the frame 215(see attached translation, page 6, paragraph 9). In addition, the substrates 231 to 235 (that is, the temperature sensors 221 to 225) are serially connected to the control device 300 via cables (wirings) 241 to 245 including power lines that transmit power and signal lines that transmit signals(see attached translation, page 2, paragraph 6)).
Regarding claim 16, Kimura discloses the operator-side apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the detector is connected to the controller by serial communication via a second wire line(As described above, since the temperature sensors 221 to 225 are serially connected, cables (wirings) passing through the joint can be configured with a minimum number regardless of the number of temperature sensors(see attached translation, page 4, paragraph 5)). Sensors(i.e. detectors) can be connected to the controller by multiple wire lines as shown in Fig. 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura(JP 2015089583 A) in view of Kirihara(JP 2015085454 A).
Regarding claim 5, Kimura discloses the robotic surgical system according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the controller is connected to the first substrate by serial communication through a relay.
However, Kirihara teaches “Hereinafter, in a wiring structure in which wiring is routed from the joint 79 serving as the first member to the end effector via the link 80 serving as the second member, the FPC 68 (68 ′) is used using the relay substrate 61 provided on the link 80(see attached translation, page 6, paragraph 4). FPC (Flexible Printed Circuits) as a flat cable wired to supply power to a motor that forms a driving source such as (not shown) or to send and receive control signals between the motor and the robot controller 68)(see attached translation, page 5, paragraph 4))”.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the robot device of Kimura with the relay of the robot of Kirihara. Doing so would specify a relay with the substrate to ensure proper communication and connection between components in the robot.
Regarding claim 6, Kimura in view of Kirihara teaches the robotic surgical system according to claim 5, but Kimura fails to disclose wherein the relay is connected to at least one of the controller or the first substrate by serial communication via the first wire line including flexible printed wiring.
However, “The electrical component 60 includes a wiring board 161, an end effector as an operating part attached to the terminal-side link 80 of the third first rotation shaft 95 (see FIG. 1) via the wiring board 161. FPC (Flexible Printed Circuits) as a flat cable wired to supply power to a motor that forms a driving source such as (not shown) or to send and receive control signals between the motor and the robot controller 68)(see attached translation, page 5, paragraph 4)). Hereinafter, in a wiring structure in which wiring is routed from the joint 79 serving as the first member to the end effector via the link 80 serving as the second member, the FPC 68 (68 ′) is used using the relay substrate 61 provided on the link 80(see attached translation, page 6, paragraph 4))
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the robot device of Kimura with the relay of the robot of Kirihara. Doing so would specify a relay with the substrate to ensure proper communication and connection between components in the robot.
Claim(s) 7-10, 13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura(JP 2015089583 A) in view of Cavalier(WO 2018112227 A2).
Regarding claim 7, Kimura discloses the robotic surgical system according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the surgical instrument operation unit includes a pair of grip members that are opened and closed by an operator, and an angle detection sensor to detect an opening angle between the pair of grip members; and the first substrate is operable to receive an analog signal from the angle detection sensor.
However, Cavalier teaches “In some implementations, a method includes sensing, with one or more sensors, one or more positions of one or more grips of a controller in one or more respective degrees of freedom of the one or more grips, where the one or more positions are used to control movement of an end effector of a slave device in communication with the controller[009]. In block 2204, information is received describing a current position of one or more end effectors that can be controlled by the control system. In some implementations, this information can be received by a master controller system (e.g., master control workstation) from the slave device. The information can be derived from sensor information sensed by position sensors of the slave device and relayed to the master controller[00193]”.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the robot device of Kimura with the actuated grips of the controller system of Cavalier. Doing so would specify a gripping tool to attach to the end effector of the robot to perform specific procedures for a patient.
Regarding claim 8, Kimura in view of Cavalier teaches the robotic surgical system according to claim 7, wherein the angle detection sensor is connected to the first substrate by serial communication via the first wire line including flexible printed wiring(Kimura - Here, a substrate 231 that is a first printed wiring board is inside the frame 211(see attached translation, page 2, paragraph 5)).
Regarding claim 9, Kimura in view of Cavalier teaches the robotic surgical system according to claim 7, wherein the surgical instrument operation unit further includes: and a second link connected to the first link; and the first substrate is placed inside the first link or the second link(The robot arm 201 has a plurality (five) of frames (links) 211 to 215 connected by joints J1 to J4(see attached translation, page 2, paragraph 3). Here, a substrate 231 that is a first printed wiring board is inside the frame 211(see attached translation, page 2, paragraph 5)). But Kimura fails to disclose “a first link on which the pair of grip members are placed”.
However, Cavalier teaches “In some implementations, the first and second grip members are coupled to the shaft by one or more link members, where the one or more link members are configured to cause the first and second grip members to simultaneously move in the first and second grip degrees of freedom, respectively, in directions toward each other or away from each other[006]”.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the robot device of Kimura with the actuated grips of the controller system of Cavalier. Doing so would specify a gripping tool to attach to the end effector of the robot to perform specific procedures for a patient.
Regarding claim 10, Kimura in view of Cavalier teaches the robotic surgical system according to claim 9, wherein the surgical instrument operation unit further includes: a third link connected to the second link; a fourth link connected to the third link; and an arm to support the fourth link; and the controller is connected to the first substrate by serial communication via the first wire line through insides of the first link or the second link in which the first substrate is placed, the third link, the fourth link, and the arm(Kimura- As shown in FIG. 1, the robot 200 includes a multi-axis (four-axis) robot arm 201 and an end effector 202 attached to the tip of the robot arm 201. The robot arm 201 has a plurality (five) of frames (links) 211 to 215 connected by joints J1 to J4(see attached translation, page 2, paragraph 3). The configuration of the robot arm 201 will be described in detail. As shown in FIG. 1, the frame 211 that is the first frame and the frame 212 that is the second frame are connected to each other by a joint J1 that is the first joint. The frame 212 and the frame 213 that is the third frame are coupled so as to be able to turn at the joint J2 that is the second joint. The frame 213 and the frame 214, which is the fourth frame, are rotatably connected by a joint J3, which is a third joint. The frame 214 and the frame 215 that is the fifth frame are connected to each other so as to be rotatable at a joint J4 that is the fourth joint. The end effector 202 is attached to a frame 215 that is a front end frame (a front end link)(see attached translation, page 2, paragraph 4). In addition, the substrates 231 to 235 (that is, the temperature sensors 221 to 225) are serially connected to the control device 300 via cables (wirings) 241 to 245 including power lines that transmit power and signal lines that transmit signals(see attached translation, page 2, paragraph 6). Here, each board | substrate 231-235 is the same structure, The connector 260 is formed in the board | substrate 235 although it is not used in this embodiment. The substrate 235 has a wiring pattern (not shown) that electrically connects the connector 259 and the connector 260(see attached translation, page 3, paragraph 3)).
Regarding claim 13, Kimura discloses the robotic surgical system according to claim 1, but fails to disclose further comprising: a foot pedal operated by a foot of an operator; a foot detector to detect the foot of the operator that operates the foot pedal; and a second substrate to which a signal from the foot detector is input; wherein the controller is connected to the second substrate by serial communication via the first wire line.
However, Cavalier teaches “Some implementations of workstation 102 can include one or more foot controls 220 positioned below the master controls 210 and 212. The foot controls 220 can be depressed, slid, and/or otherwise manipulated by a user's feet to input various commands to the teleoperated system while the user is sitting at the master control workstation 102[0050]”.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the robot device of Kimura with the foot pedal of the controller system of Cavalier. Doing so would specify another way for the operator to create input for the robotic system in order for the system to operate as needed for the patient.
Regarding claim 17, Kimura discloses the operator-side apparatus according to claim 14, but fails to disclose wherein the surgical instrument operation unit includes a pair of grip members that are opened and closed by an operator, and an angle detection sensor to detect an opening angle between the pair of grip members; and the first substrate is operable to receive an analog signal from the angle detection sensor.
However, Cavalier teaches “In some implementations, a method includes sensing, with one or more sensors, one or more positions of one or more grips of a controller in one or more respective degrees of freedom of the one or more grips, where the one or more positions are used to control movement of an end effector of a slave device in communication with the controller[009]. In block 2204, information is received describing a current position of one or more end effectors that can be controlled by the control system. In some implementations, this information can be received by a master controller system (e.g., master control workstation) from the slave device. The information can be derived from sensor information sensed by position sensors of the slave device and relayed to the master controller[00193]”.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the robot device of Kimura with the actuated grips of the controller system of Cavalier. Doing so would specify a gripping tool to attach to the end effector of the robot to perform specific procedures for a patient.
Regarding claim 18, Kimura in view of Cavalier teaches the operator-side apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the angle detection sensor is connected to the first substrate by serial communication via the first wire line including flexible printed wiring(Kimura - Here, a substrate 231 that is a first printed wiring board is inside the frame 211(see attached translation, page 2, paragraph 5)).
Regarding claim 19, Kimura in view of Cavalier teaches the operator-side apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the surgical instrument operation unit further includes: and a second link connected to the first link; and the first substrate is placed inside the first link or the second link(The robot arm 201 has a plurality (five) of frames (links) 211 to 215 connected by joints J1 to J4(see attached translation, page 2, paragraph 3). Here, a substrate 231 that is a first printed wiring board is inside the frame 211(see attached translation, page 2, paragraph 5)). But Kimura fails to disclose “a first link on which the pair of grip members are placed”.
However, Cavalier teaches “In some implementations, the first and second grip members are coupled to the shaft by one or more link members, where the one or more link members are configured to cause the first and second grip members to simultaneously move in the first and second grip degrees of freedom, respectively, in directions toward each other or away from each other[006]”.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the robot device of Kimura with the actuated grips of the controller system of Cavalier. Doing so would specify a gripping tool to attach to the end effector of the robot to perform specific procedures for a patient.
Regarding claim 20, Kimura discloses the operator-side apparatus according to claim 14, but fails to disclose further comprising: a foot pedal operated by a foot of an operator; a foot detector to detect the foot of the operator that operates the foot pedal; and a second substrate to which a signal from the foot detector is input; wherein the controller is connected to the second substrate by serial communication via the first wire line.
However, Cavalier teaches “Some implementations of workstation 102 can include one or more foot controls 220 positioned below the master controls 210 and 212. The foot controls 220 can be depressed, slid, and/or otherwise manipulated by a user's feet to input various commands to the teleoperated system while the user is sitting at the master control workstation 102[0050]”.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the robot device of Kimura with the foot pedal of the controller system of Cavalier. Doing so would specify another way for the operator to create input for the robotic system in order for the system to operate as needed for the patient.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura in view of Cavalier and further in view of Kirihara.
Regarding claim 11, Kimura in view of Cavalier teaches the robotic surgical system according to claim 10, but fails to disclose further comprising: a first relay substrate in the third link; a second relay substrate in the fourth link; and a relay placed in the arm; wherein the first substrate is connected to the first relay substrate via the first wire line including flexible printed wiring; the first relay substrate is connected to the second relay substrate via the first wire line including the flexible printed wiring; and the second relay substrate is connected to the relay via the first wire line including the flexible printed wiring.
However, Kirihara teaches “Next, the electrical component 60 of the joint 79 including the wiring structure of the joint 79 as the first member and the link 80 as the second member, and the wiring relay portion provided in the link 80 will be described. FIG. 3 is a perspective view schematically showing a schematic configuration of the electrical unit 60 of the robot 10. In FIG. 3, members other than the electrical component 60 are partially omitted, and a part of the members 79 is shown in a perspective view for convenience of explanation of the wiring structure inside the joint 79 and the link 80. 4A is a schematic plan view showing an FPC as a flat cable used for the wiring structure in the electrical component 60, and FIG. 4B is a schematic cross-sectional view taken along line BB in FIG. 4A. . FIG. 5 is a partial perspective view schematically showing a wiring relay unit that relays the wiring routed from the electrical component 60 of the joint 79 to the link 80(see attached translation, page 5, paragraph 3).The robot 10 includes a base portion 70 and a main body portion 71 as a base, a control portion 72, a joint 73, a link 74, a joint 75, a link 76, a joint 77, a link 78, a joint 79, a link 80, and an end as members. It has a link 81 to which an effector (not shown) is attached, and has an articulated arm in which adjacent links and / or joints are rotatably connected by a joint mechanism(see attached translation, page 2, paragraph 8). The electrical component 60 includes a wiring board 161, an end effector as an operating part attached to the terminal-side link 80 of the third first rotation shaft 95 (see FIG. 1) via the wiring board 161. FPC (Flexible Printed Circuits) see attached translation, page 5, paragraph 4)).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the robot device of Kimura with the relay of the robot of Kirihara. Doing so would specify a relay with the substrate to ensure proper communication and connection between components in the robot.
Regarding claim 12, Kimura discloses the robotic surgical system according to claim 1, further comprising: but fails to explicitly state a main body to support the surgical instrument operation unit; wherein the controller is placed inside the main body; and the controller is connected to the first substrate by serial communication via the first wire line through insides of the surgical instrument operation unit and the main body.
However, Kirihara teaches “Hereinafter, in a wiring structure in which wiring is routed from the joint 79 serving as the first member to the end effector via the link 80 serving as the second member, the FPC 68 (68 ′) is used using the relay substrate 61 provided on the link 80(see attached translation, page 6, paragraph 4). FPC (Flexible Printed Circuits) as a flat cable wired to supply power to a motor that forms a driving source such as (not shown) or to send and receive control signals between the motor and the robot controller 68)( see attached translation, page 5, paragraph 4)”. [Fig. 3] shows robot controller 68 as a part of the main body.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the robot device of Kimura with the relay of the robot of Kirihara. Doing so would specify a relay with the substrate to ensure proper communication and connection between components in the robot.
Conclusion
/MARIA CATHERINE ANTHONY/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/Benjamin J Klein/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792