DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to communication filed on 6/17/24 in which claims 1-6 and 9-22 are pending.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 and 9-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 3-4, 10, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2018/0220182 to Negishi et al.
a. As per claim 3, Negishi et al teaches a network transmission device, comprising: circuitry configured to generate a packet to be transmitted to a destination device, the packet including arrival upper-limit value indicating an arrival time limit of the packet to the destination device the arrival upper-limit value being stored in a header of the packet (See paragraph [0016-0017 and 0105]) ; and transmit the packet generated by the generation unit to the destination device via a network (See paragraph [0047]).
b. As per claim 4, Negishi et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Negishi et al teaches wherein the circuitry generates the packet including the arrival upper-limit value that is determined according to the type of a service provided by the packet (See paragraph [0040]).
c. As per claim 10, Negishi et al teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a packet transmission program used in a network transmission device the packet transmission program, when executed by circuitry of a computer, causes the circuitry to perform a method comprising: generating a packet to be transmitted to a destination device, the packet including arrival upper-limit information indicating an arrival time limit of the packet to the destination device the arrival upper-limit value being stored in a header of the packet (See paragraph [0016-0017]); and transmitting the packet generated to the destination device via a network (See paragraph [0047]).
d. As per claims 18 and 19, Negishi et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Negishi et al teaches wherein each of the arrival upper-limit information and the arrival lower-limit information is determined according to the type of a service provided by the packet (See paragraph [0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2018/0220182 to Negishi et al in view of JP 2015162719 to Satake et al
a. As per claims 5 and 11, Negishi et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. , Negishi et al teaches the value being stored in the header of the packet (See paragraph [0016-0017]). However, Negishi et al fails to teach wherein the circuitry generates the packet further including arrival lower-limit value that indicates a lower limit of a time range in which the packet should be made to arrive at the destination device, the arrival lower-limit value being stored in the header of the packet.
Satake et al teaches wherein the circuitry generates the packet further including arrival lower-limit value that indicates a lower limit of a time range in which the packet should be made to arrive at the destination device (See page 3, a packet is generated by a transmission source at a predetermined time interval T and transmitted from the transmission source).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Satake in the claimed invention of Negishi et al in order to optimize prioritizing of the packets.
b. As per claim 6, Negishi et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Negishi et al fails to teach wherein the generation unit circuitry generates the packet including the arrival lower-limit value information that is determined according to the type of a service provided by the packet.
Satake teaches wherein the generation unit circuitry generates the packet including the arrival lower-limit value information that is determined according to the type of a service provided by the packet (See page 5, Note that the predetermined time may be determined in advance, or may be changed based on a network configuration, a service characteristic related to a packet).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Satake in the claimed invention of Negishi et al in order to optimize prioritizing of the packets.
c. As per claims 15 and 22, Negishi et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Negishi et al fails to teach wherein the circuitry receives the packet from a network transmission device, and the network transmission device and the network relay device are in time- synchronization with each other.
Satake et al teaches wherein the circuitry receives the packet from a network transmission device, and the network transmission device and the network relay device are in time- synchronization with each other (See page 3, FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating a state of a packet received by the communication device 1. As shown in FIG. 2, a packet is generated by a transmission source at a predetermined time interval T and transmitted from the transmission source. On the other hand, a packet received by the communication device 1 is added with delays t1 to t3 generated by packet processing in the middle of relaying or changes in network traffic, and reaches the communication device 1 at reception intervals T1 to T3).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Satake in the claimed invention of Negishi et al in order to optimize prioritizing of the packets.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 1-2, 9, 12-14, 16-17, 20-21 allowed.
9. Claims 5-6objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DJENANE M BAYARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444