Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 and 16-20 in the reply filed on 1/9/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-12 and 16-20 have been examined.
Claim 13 has been withdrawn and claims 14 and 15 have been cancelled.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments in the Remarks, filed on 5/22/26 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Objection
Claims are objected to because of the following typographical error: Claim 2, line 3, “the test information” should be “the test input information”; Claim 12, line 2, “wherein the at least one first test input designed based on input information” should be “wherein the at least one first test input is designed based on input information”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-12, 16, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kovacs et al, WO 2022/186817 (hereinafter Kovacs) in view of Rotenberg et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0337308 (hereinafter Rotenberg).
As per claim 1, Kovacs teaches the invention as claimed comprising:
a training input generator circuit ([31]-[36]),
wherein the training input generator circuit is arranged to design test input information ([31]-[36][133], e.g., design training/test input information (e.g., models, configurations, input test signals, reference outputs, test definition, model weights)),
wherein the test input information is arranged to provide an expected output of a device in response to the test input information ([31]-[36], e.g., wherein training input information are arranged to provide corresponding reference output of a device in response to test input);
a test circuit [36],
wherein the test circuit is arranged to apply the test input information to the device ([36], e.g., running test sequence with test input),
wherein the test circuit is arranged to obtain an output information ([36], e.g., obtaining output),
wherein the output information is generated by the device in response to the test input information ([36], e.g., output is generated in response to the test input); and
a model evaluator circuit, wherein the model evaluator circuit is arranged to compare the output
information with the expected output so as to evaluate an on-device machine learning model ([36][56], e.g., compare the output of the ML model with the reference output).
Although Kovacs teaches the test input information, however, Kovacs is silent in regards to test input information comprises at least one first test input and at least one second test input. Rotenberg teaches wherein the test input information comprises at least one first test input and at least one second test input [9], wherein the at least one first test input corresponds to an input that would occur during normal operation of the device [9], wherein the at least one second test input would not occur during normal operation of the device ([9], e.g., testing inputs expected during normal operation and abnormal test inputs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Rotenberg’s teaching with Kovacs’s invention in order to allow different types of test input to be used in Kovacs’s system, thus improving the confidence in system integrity of Kovacs’s system [9].
As per claim 2, Kovacs and Rotenberg teach the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 above. Kovacs further teach wherein the test circuit, is arranged to apply the test input information by transmitting the test information to the device ([31][41][55][56][69][81], e.g., transmitting the training input information to the UE), wherein the test circuit is arranged to obtain the output information by receiving the output information via a transceiver circuit ([52][69][81], e.g., receiving output from UE).
As per claim 3, Kovacs and Rotenberg teach the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 above. Kovacs further teach wherein the apparatus is arranged to deploy a policy, wherein the policy is triggered by at least one predetermined condition, wherein the predetermined condition determines which devices require testing ([3][4], e.g., deploy testing, wherein testing is triggered by advertised/supported ML assistance capabilities, the advertised/supported ML assistance capabilities determine the UE requires testing).
As per claim 4, Kovacs and Rotenberg teach the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 above. Kovacs further teach a test input design system ([31]-[36]), wherein the test input design system is arranged to design hardware level inputs ([31]-[36], e.g., design input received via a hardware (e.g., transceiver)), wherein the hardware level inputs trigger certain states of the on-device machine learning model so as to cause the device to produce an output as the output information ([36]).
As per claim 5, Kovacs and Rotenberg teach the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 above. Kovacs further teach
wherein the test input information corresponds to at least a portion of the training input information ([31]-[36]),
wherein the model evaluator circuit is arranged to evaluate an accuracy of a response of the on-board machine learning model ([56], e.g., evaluating an output is correct by validating against reference output).
As per claim 7, Kovacs and Rotenberg teach the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 above. Kovacs further teach wherein the apparatus is arranged to render the on-device machine learning model susceptible to testing by applying a model pre-training using a mixed data vocabulary ([30], e.g., applying a ML model pre-training by using model parameters (e.g., initialization, hyperparameters), configuration, input test signal, reference output, test definition, model weight), wherein the model pre-training comprises network-accessible parameters mixed with true training data for an intended function of the on-device machine learning model ([31]-[36], e.g., the ML model pre-training comprises parameters mixed with configuration, input test signal, reference output, test definition, model weight).
As per claim 8, Kovacs and Rotenberg teach the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 above. Kovacs further teach comprising a radio frequency control algorithm wherein the radio frequency control algorithm is arranged to control the on-device machine learning model by using a test transceiver as networking hardware of the test circuit ([31]-[36[69][81], e.g., transmit and receive testing radio frequency input via hardware RF transceiver), wherein the radio frequency control algorithm is arranged to alter at least one transmission characteristic of transmissions of the test transceiver ([31]-[36[69][81], e.g., alter RF transmission/reception of the transceiver).
As per claim 9, Kovacs and Rotenberg teach the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 above. Kovacs further teach comprising: a test timing algorithm wherein the test timing algorithm is arranged to determine when the device requires testing ([3][4], e.g., the advertised/supported ML assistance capabilities determine the UE requires testing); and a status database, wherein the status database is arranged to store results of model tests and policies regarding actions to be taken for failed tests ([31][36][53], e.g., storing feedback of the test and policies regarding actions (e.g., declare fail or timeout or invalid) to be taken for failed tests).
As per claim 11, Kovacs and Rotenberg teach the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 above. Kovacs further teach wherein the apparatus is arranged to distribute the test input information or a command triggering local testing in a unicast or multicast or broadcast channel (fig. 5A; [36][83]).
As per claim 12, Kovacs and Rotenberg teach the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 above. Kovacs further teach
wherein the at least one fist test input designed based on input information ([31]-[36]),
wherein the input information is derived from known usage of the on-device machine learning model ([33]),
wherein the input information is based on a type of the on- device machine learning model ([30]).
As per claim 16, Kovacs teaches the invention as claimed comprising:
designing test input information based on input information, and a type of the on-device machine learning model ([30]-[36], e.g., design training/test input information based on input information (e.g., models, configurations, input test signals, reference outputs, test definition, model weights) and type of ML model (e.g., full model for inference only capability or model for ML training and inference capabilities)),
wherein the test input information comprises at least one first test input that is derived from known usage of an on-device machine learning model ([33]),
wherein the test input information is arranged to provide an expected output of the device in response to test input information ([31]-[36], e.g., wherein training/test input information are arranged to provide corresponding reference output of a device in response to test input);
applying the test input information to the device ([36], e.g., running test sequence with test input);
obtaining an output information, wherein the output information is generated by the device in response to the test input information ([36], e.g., obtaining output generated in response to the test input); and
comparing the obtained output information with the expected output so as to evaluate the on-device machine learning model ([36][56], e.g., compare the output of the ML model with the reference output).
Although Kovacs teaches the test input information, however, Kovacs is silent in regards to wherein the test input information comprises at least one second test input that would not occur during normal operation of the device. Rotenberg teaches wherein the test input information comprises at least one first test input that the input information is derived from known usage of an on-device machine learning model [9], and wherein the test input information comprises at least one second test input that would not occur during normal operation of the device ([9], e.g., testing inputs expected during normal operation and abnormal test inputs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Rotenberg’s teaching with Kovacs’s invention in order to allow different types of test input to be used in Kovacs’s system, thus improving the confidence in system integrity of Kovacs’s system [9].
As per claim 17, Kovacs and Rotenberg teach the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 above. Kovacs further teach
wherein the test circuit is arranged to apply training input information by transmitting the training input information to the device ([31][41][55][56][69][81], e.g., transmitting the training input information to the UE),
wherein the test circuit is arranged to apply the training input information by interfacing a hardware sensing unit on the device ([31]-[36][69][81], e.g., applying training input information (e.g., models, configurations, input test signals, reference outputs, test definition, model weights) by interfacing an antenna),
wherein the test circuit is arranged to obtain the output information by analyzing an output of the hardware sensing unit on the device ([52][69][81], e.g., receiving output from UE by analyzing an output via an antenna of the device).
As per claim 19, Kovacs and Rotenberg teach the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 above. Kovacs further teach wherein the training input generator circuit is arranged to design modifications to a portion of known model inputs ([33][34]), wherein the portion of known model inputs uses the input information as the test input information to test by checking whether same outputs are obtained as during original training within a given range ([36][38]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kovacs and Rotenberg in view of Official Notice.
As per claim 6, Kovacs and Rotenberg teach the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 above. Although Kovacs teach comprising an external input apparatus, wherein the external input apparatus is arranged to store the test input information and training input information ([31]-[36][39], e.g., the external input apparatus is arranged to store models, configurations, input test signals, reference outputs, test definition, model weights to be downloaded/provided to the UE), wherein the test input information is associated to expected responses of at least one network devices ([31]-[36], e.g., corresponding reference output of a device in response to test input), however, Kovacs and Rotenberg are silent in regards to the external input apparatus as a database. Official Notice is taken for the concept of database is well known and accepted in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a database because by doing so it would allow data to be remotely accessed and retrieved by connected network devices.
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kovacs and Rotenberg in view of Carvalho et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0318099 (hereinafter Carvalho).
As per claim 10, Kovacs and Rotenberg teach the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 above. Kovacs and Rotenberg are silent in regards to the existence of one or more backdoor activations. Carvalho teaches wherein the at least one second test input comprises a modification to a portion of known model inputs (27][31]), wherein the at least one second test input causes one or more backdoor activations in the on-device machine learning model ([19][21][29]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Carvalho’s teaching into Kovacs’s and Rotenberg’s system in order to detect whether a ML model in Kovacs’s and Rotenberg’s system has a backdoor security vulnerability and take appropriate actions, thus improving the security of the ML model in Kovacs’s and Rotenberg’s system [26].
As per claim 18, Kovacs and Rotenberg teach the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 above. Kovacs and Rotenberg are silent in regards to data tagging. Carvalho teaches wherein the at least one second test input corresponds to a design modification to a portion of known model inputs [52], wherein the portion of known model inputs applies data tagging by adding tagged data to a training set to allow for statistical identification of training input information ([32][52][56][57]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Carvalho’s teaching into Kovacs’s and Rotenberg’s system in order to detect whether a ML model in Kovacs’s and Rotenberg’s system has a backdoor security vulnerability and take appropriate actions, thus improving the security of the ML model in Kovacs’s and Rotenberg’s system [26].
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kovacs and Rotenberg in view of Sinn et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0312336 (hereinafter Sinn).
As per claim 20, Kovacs and Rotenberg teach the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 above. Although Kovacs teaches wherein the training input generator circuit is arranged to design modifications to a portion of known model inputs([33][34]), wherein the portion of known model inputs is for training the on-device machine learning model ([33][34][36][38]), however, Kovacs and Rotenberg are silent in regards to federated learning. Sinn teaches applying federated learning for training machine learning model ([16][17][75]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Sinn’s teaching into Kovacs’s and Rotenberg’s system in order to use federated learning in Kovacs’s and Rotenberg’s system to provide optimized machine learning model features [15]
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set
forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire
THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
be directed to Philip Lee whose telephone number is (571)272-3967. The examiner can normally be
reached on 6a-3p M-F.
Glenton Burgess can be reached on 571-272-3949. The fax phone number for the organization where this
application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair- direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR
CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHILIP C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454