DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to Applicant’s submission dated 09/14/2026. Claim(s) 1–18 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1–14, in the reply filed on 09/14/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Groups share a common special technical feature not disclosed by the prior art. This is not found persuasive because the entirety of claim 1 (including a light emitting element) is anticipated by the prior art, as discussed in greater detail below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an element for obtaining at least one sensor reading” in claim 9, which has been interpreted to mean “a light propagating element, a lens, a mirror, a hollow prismatic pipe, a light rod, a mirrored light pipe, an optical fiber, or an optical filter.
Claim Objections
Claims 10–11 are objected to because of the following informalities: it appears both claims 10 & 11 should depend from claim 9 as they both recite “the element for obtaining at least one sensor reading”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The phrase "in particularly" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1–2 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6,026,821 to Last.
With regard to claim 1, Last discloses a haircare appliance (abstract), comprising a processing element (40) (Col. 5, lines 41–46), at least one light emitting element (12) emitting at least two wavelengths (abstract; Col. 2, lines 13–23; Col. 4, lines 26–37), and a sensor element (14) (Col. 5, lines 2–5), wherein the light emitting element (12) is adapted to irradiate hair to be treated (Col. 5, lines 22–26), wherein the sensor element (14) is adapted to receive a sensor reading from an acquisition region of the irradiated hair and generate a sensor signal dependent on the sensor reading (Col. 5, lines 1–8), wherein the sensor element (14) is a spectral sensor element (Col. 5, lines 1–8), and wherein the processing element (40) is adapted to determine a moisture content of at least a portion of the irradiated hair from the sensor (14) signal (Col. 5, lines 5–8, 12–21, 41–48).
With regard to claim 2, Last further discloses the haircare appliance comprises: a single sensor element (14) adapted to receive a plurality of spectral bands (Col. 5, lines 2–8, 29–49), the single sensor element (14) having at least two sensor sections (Col. 5, lines 2–8, 29–49), wherein the single sensor element (14) employing a plurality of filter elements or a dynamic filter element having a plurality of filter characteristics (Col. 5, lines 2–8, 29–49), to receive the different spectral bands (Col. 5, lines 2–8, 29–49).
With regard to claim 11, Last further discloses the element for obtaining at least one sensor reading is at least one element or arrangement out of the group consisting of an optical element for collecting, transporting/guiding and distributing light, a lens, a mirror, a hollow prismatic pipe, a light rod, a mirrored light pipe, an optical fibre and an optical filter (Col. 3, lines 15–20; Col. 5, lines 25–41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Last in view of US 2017/0164887 to Chattopadhyay et al.
Last further discloses the sensor element (14) is a spectral sensor element (Col. 5, lines 2–8, 29–49).
Last fails to disclose the sensor element is operated in a time-division multiplexing (TDM) mode. Chattopadhyay teaches a sensor element is operated in a time-division multiplexing (TDM) mode (¶ 0105). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the haircare appliance of Last with the TDM because such a combination would have been one of a limited number of communication protocols the sensor could have used to transmit the information to the processor.
Claims 4–6 & 9–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Last in view of US 2022/0304444 to Wang et al.
With regard to claim 4, Last fails to disclose at least one of a time-of-flight sensor element, a proximity sensor element, a distance sensor element, a contact sensor element, a light intensity sensor element, a microwave sensor element, and a capacitive sensor element to determine a hair presence and/or a distance between the haircare appliance and the hair, and/or wherein the sensor element is adapted for a time-of-flight measurement to determine a hair presence and/or a distance between the haircare appliance and the hair. Wang teaches a time-of-flight (TOF) sensor and a proximity/distance sensor element to determine a hair presence and/or a distance between the haircare appliance and the hair (¶¶ 0097, 0099). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the haircare appliance of Last with the proximity sensor of Wang because such a combination would have had the added benefit of allowing the processor to determine the distance between the hair and the haircare appliance so the output temperature can be adjusted accordingly.
With regard to claim 5, Last fails to disclose at least one temperature sensor for measuring one or more of ambient temperature and/or hair temperature, wherein the at least one temperature sensor is arranged in the vicinity of the sensor element, and/or wherein the at least one temperature sensor is arranged in the vicinity of the acquisition region. Wang teaches at least one temperature sensor for measuring one or more of ambient temperature and/or hair temperature (¶¶ 0078, 0083, 0100), wherein the at least one temperature sensor is arranged in the vicinity of the sensor element (¶¶ 0078, 0083, 0100), and/or wherein the at least one temperature sensor is arranged in the vicinity of the acquisition region (¶¶ 0078, 0083, 0100). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the haircare appliance of Last with the temperature sensor of Wang because such a combination would have had the added benefit of providing the temperature of the hair to the processing element so the heat output could be adjusted accordingly.
With regard to claim 6, Last fails to disclose at least one temperature sensor is acquiring a temperature value in the vicinity of the sensor element and/or in the vicinity of the acquisition region, and wherein the powering of the blower, the powering of a heater, and/or the powering of a cooling element for cooling the vicinity of the sensor element and/or the vicinity of the acquisition region is dependent on the acquired temperature value. Wang teaches at least one temperature sensor is acquiring a temperature value in the vicinity of the sensor element and/or in the vicinity of the acquisition region (¶¶ 0078, 0083, 0100), and wherein the powering of the blower, the powering of a heater, and/or the powering of a cooling element for cooling the vicinity of the sensor element and/or the vicinity of the acquisition region is dependent on the acquired temperature value (¶¶ 0078, 0083, 0100). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the haircare appliance of Last with the temperature sensor of Wang because such a combination would have had the added benefit of providing the temperature of the hair to the processing element so the heat output could be adjusted accordingly.
With regard to claim 9, Last further discloses the sensor element (14) is arranged spaced apart from the acquisition region (Col. 5, lines 1–8), wherein information related to the sensor reading is transmitted from the acquisition region to the sensor element by an element for obtaining at least one sensor reading (Col. 5, lines 1–8).
Last fails to disclose the information is transmitted wirelessly. Wang teaches the information is transmitted wirelessly (¶¶ 0096, 0108, 0168). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the haircare apparatus of Last with the wireless transmitter of Wang because such a combination would have had the added benefit of allowing the signal to be transmitted wirelessly, which eliminates the need for wires.
With regard to claim 10, Last as previously combined with Wang further discloses the element for obtaining at least one sensor reading is a light propagating element (Last: Col. 5, lines 1–8); and wherein the light propagating element is arranged for transmitting the information related to the sensor reading as electromagnetic radiation from the acquisition region to the sensor element (Wang: ¶¶ 0096, 0108, 0168).
Claims 7, 12, & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Last in view of US 2021/0307472 to Conrad.
With regard to claim 7, Last fails to disclose a colour sensor element to determine a hair colour and/or a melanin content of the hair to be treated, and/or wherein the sensor element is further adapted for a hair colour measurement to determine a hair colour and/or a melanin content of the hair to be treated. Conrad teaches a colour sensor element to determine a hair colour and/or a melanin content of the hair to be treated (¶ 0765), and/or wherein the sensor element is further adapted for a hair colour measurement to determine a hair colour and/or a melanin content of the hair to be treated (¶ 0765). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the haircare apparatus of Last with the hair color sensor of Conrad because such a combination would have had the added benefit of knowing the hair color of the user so appropriate treatment conditions can be adjusted to that hair type.
With regard to claim 12, Last further discloses a main body (2) comprising a blower (18) for generating an airflow and the sensor element (14) (Fig. 2; Col. 4, line 59 – Col. 5, line 8), wherein radiation from the light emitting element (12) is transmitted to the acquisition region and the information related to the sensor (14) reading is transmitted from the acquisition region to the sensor element (14) by the element for obtaining at least one sensor reading (Col. 5, lines 1–8, 27–38).
Last fails to disclose the main body comprises an attachment region adapted for connecting an accessory, and an accessory wherein the accessory is attachable to and/or detachable from the main body at the attachment region, wherein the accessory, when attached to the main body, is adapted to receive the airflow from the blower, and wherein the accessory is adapted to discharge the received airflow towards the hair of a user. Conrad teaches the main body (12) comprises an attachment region adapted for connecting an accessory (104) (Fig. 1; ¶ 0476), and an accessory (104) (Fig. 1; ¶ 0476), wherein the accessory (104) is attachable to and/or detachable from the main body at the attachment region (Fig. 1; ¶¶ 0476, 0481), wherein the accessory (104), when attached to the main body (12), is adapted to receive the airflow from the blower (38) (¶¶ 0336, 0450), and wherein the accessory (104) is adapted to discharge the received airflow towards the hair of a user (¶¶ 0336, 0450, 0476). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the haircare apparatus of Last with the accessory of Conrad because such a combination would have had the added benefit of allowing a user to change attachments to achieve a desired hot air output pattern.
With regard to claim 14, Last as previously combined with Conrad further discloses the operation of the haircare appliance is adaptable dependent on the sensor reading and/or the determined moisture content (Last: Col. 5, lines 5–8, 12–21, 41–48), and further dependent on a type of accessory attached to the main body (Conrad: ¶ 0476).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Last.
Last fails to disclose the haircare appliance comprises a plurality of acquisition regions and/or a plurality of sensor elements, wherein the haircare appliance comprises a plurality of elements for obtaining at least one sensor reading and/or a plurality of further transmission elements, and wherein the plurality of elements for obtaining at least one sensor reading and/or the plurality of further transmission elements connect the plurality of acquisition regions and/or a plurality of sensor elements. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a plurality of acquisition regions and/or a plurality of sensor elements, wherein the haircare appliance comprises a plurality of elements for obtaining at least one sensor reading and/or a plurality of further transmission elements, and wherein the plurality of elements for obtaining at least one sensor reading and/or the plurality of further transmission elements connect the plurality of acquisition regions and/or a plurality of sensor elements., since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a “web” which lies in the joint, and a plurality of “ribs” projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see attached PTO-892. Applicant is encouraged to review the cited references prior to submitting a response to this office action.
/DAVID J LAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
September 28, 2026