Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 15-20 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: the claims lack the required unity of invention as outlined below.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 15-20 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Restriction is proper under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372. This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, and 11-15 drawn to a fan assembly.
Claims 16 drawn to a fan assembly.
Claims 17-20 drawn to a fan assembly.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because under PCT Rule 13.2 they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons: The below rejection of claim 1 which shows that claim 1 and 15 in their current form lack novelty. The existence of an anticipatory references demonstrating that one or more independent claims lack novelty establishes that the inventions do not relate to a single general inventive concept.
The existence of references demonstrating that one or more generic claims lack novelty establishes that the inventions do not relate to a single general inventive concept. As set forth in MPEP 1850:
The expression “special technical feature” is defined in PCT Rule 13.2 as meaning those technical features that define a contribution which each of the inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art…Whether or not any particular technical feature makes a "contribution” over the prior art, and therefore constitutes a “special technical feature”, should be considered with respect to novelty and inventive step. For example, a document discovered in the international search shows that there is a presumption of lack of novelty or inventive step in a main claim, so that there may be no technical relationship left over the prior art among the claimed inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features, leaving two or more dependent claims without a single general inventive concept.
Thus claim 1 and its dependent claims are elected by original presentation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8 and 9 recite the limitation "a central angle", resulting in insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 already claims “a central angle”, thus making unclear if these are claiming new angles or central points or the one already claimed. The claims will be examined as reading on the same central angle already claimed.
Claim 8 is indefinite for the limitation of “such that the filter assembly subtends a central angle of at least 270o about the second heat exchanger” as it is unclear to one skilled in the art what or how the filter is supposed to subtend around structurally. The claim language makes it unclear what the central angle is of the structure. It is unclear if the filter is supposed to go around the second heat exchanger 270o, go around a central point (thus the central angle) 270o, it is noted that the original specification does not include any reference to the filter and 270o, which depending on the reading would result in a 112(a) new matter rejection, in the interest of compact prosecution the claim is examined as not reading on such an interpretation. The claim will be read on the filter subtends with the second heat exchanger to go around the same central angle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Selg et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0318837).
Regarding claim 15, Selg teaches a fan assembly (fig. 4) comprising: a refrigeration system (as shown in fig. 4) comprising a first heat exchanger (element 405), a second heat exchanger (element 403), and a compressor (element 401); and an airflow generator (element 411) for generating an airflow over the second heat exchanger (per fig. 4), wherein the first heat exchanger surrounds a major portion of the compressor (per fig. 4), and the second heat exchanger is located above the first heat exchanger, and the first heat exchanger and second heat exchanger are concentric (per fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 11-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selg et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0318837) in view of Eubank et al. (U.S. Patent 4,967830) and Radermacher et al. (U.S. PGPub 2018/0120873).
Regarding claim 1, Selg teaches a fan assembly (Fig. 4) comprising: a refrigeration system (as shown fig. 4) comprising a first heat exchanger (element 405), a second heat exchanger (element 403), and a compressor (element 401); and an airflow generator (element 411) for generating an airflow over the second heat exchanger (per fig. 4), wherein the first heat exchanger surrounds a portion of the compressor (per fig. 4), and the second heat exchanger is located above the first heat exchanger (per fig. 4).
Selg does not expressly teach the first heat exchanger subtends a central angle of at least 270o. Eubank teaches a heat exchanger (element 11) subtends a central angle of at least 270o (per fig. 4-7; and col. 8, ln 58-Col. 9, ln 3). It would have been obvious at the time of invention to modify the coil of Selg to be the full circular shape of Eubank, the motivation would have been to increase face area and thus heat transfer (col. 3, ln 23-41).
Selg does not teach a thermal store, wherein the first heat exchanger is embedded within the thermal store. Radermacher teaches a thermal store (element 406 “TSM”), wherein the first heat exchanger (element 408) is embedded within the thermal store (per fig. 4A). It would have bene obvious at the time of invention to modify first heat exchanger of Selg to be embedded within the thermal store as taught by Radermacher, the motivation would have been to reduce building load and avoid disrupting user comfort (Para. 0061).
Regarding claim 3, Selg teaches the first heat exchanger is cylindrical in shape (per fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Radermacher teaches the thermal store comprises a phase change material (para. 0038 “PCM”).
Regarding claim 6, Selg teaches the second heat exchanger is cylindrical in shape (per fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Selg teaches the first heat exchanger and second heat exchanger are concentric (per fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Selg teaches the fan assembly comprises a filter assembly (element 1700) for filtering the airflow, and the filter assembly surrounds a portion of the second heat exchanger (per fig. 17), and the filter subtends with the second heat exchanger to go around the same central angle. The filter as taught would surround the coil of Selg in claim 1 and thus when coil is modified as in claim 1 the filter also would be modified so as to subtend with the second heat exchanger to go around the same central angle (see 112 above) for the same reason as the modification of the heat exchanger.
Regarding claim 11, Selg teaches the fan assembly comprises: a main body (body of element 300 which holds 400) within which the refrigeration system and the airflow generator are located (para. 0052), the main body comprising an inlet (side opening shown on 301) through which the airflow is drawn into the main body and an outlet (where element 305 is) through which the airflow is emitted from the main body, wherein the inlet is located in a side of the main body and the outlet is located in a top of the main body (per fig. 3b); and a nozzle (created by elements 305 and 303 reasonably reads on this) attached to the main body and receiving the airflow emitted from the main body, the nozzle comprising an outlet through which the airflow is emitted from the fan assembly (per fig. 3b and 4).
Regarding claim 12, Selg teaches the fan assembly comprises a condensation collector (Fig. 8) for collecting condensate that forms on the first heat exchanger, and the condensation collector comprises a tray (element 807) located between the first heat exchanger and second heat exchanger (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 14, Selg teaches the compressor is configured to move a refrigerant between the first heat exchanger and second heat exchanger (per fig. 4 and para. 0040-0045); and the refrigeration system comprises a metering device (“expansion device” para. 0040-0045) for reducing a pressure of the refrigerant.
Regarding claim 15, Selg teaches a fan assembly (fig. 4) comprising: a refrigeration system (as shown in fig. 4) comprising a first heat exchanger (element 405), a second heat exchanger (element 403), and a compressor (element 401); and an airflow generator (element 411) for generating an airflow over the second heat exchanger (per fig. 4), wherein the first heat exchanger surrounds a major portion of the compressor (per fig. 4), and the second heat exchanger is located above the first heat exchanger, and the first heat exchanger and second heat exchanger are concentric (per fig. 4).
Selg does not expressly teach the first heat exchanger subtends a central angle of at least 270o. Eubank teaches a heat exchanger (element 11) subtends a central angle of at least 270o (per fig. 4-7; and col. 8, ln 58-Col. 9, ln 3). It would have been obvious at the time of invention to modify the coil of Selg to be the full circular shape of Eubank, the motivation would have been to increase face area and thus heat transfer (col. 3, ln 23-41).
Selg does not teach a thermal store within which the first heat exchanger is embedded. Radermacher teaches a thermal store (element 406 “TSM”)within which the first heat exchanger is embedded (per fig. 4A). It would have bene obvious at the time of invention to modify first heat exchanger of Selg to be embedded within the thermal store as taught by Radermacher as it teaches the first heat exchanger being embedded in the thermal store would surround the compressor as the first heat exchanger of Selg surrounds at least part of the compressor, the motivation would have been to reduce building load and avoid disrupting user comfort (Para. 0061).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selg et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0318837) in view of Eubank et al. (U.S. Patent 4,967830) and Radermacher et al. (U.S. PGPub 2018/0120873), and in further view of Swanson et al. (U.S. PGPub 2018/0328600).
Regarding claim 9, Selg teaches the second heat exchanger subtends a central angle of at least 270o (per Fig. 4). Selg does not teach the second heat exchanger surrounds a major portion of the airflow generator.
Swanson teaches positioning the fan partially with second heat exchanger (“C-shaped condenser” para. 0098). It would have bene obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Selg as taught by Swanson, the motivation would have been to allow the overall size of the system to be reduced (para. 0098)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selg et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0318837) in view of Eubank et al. (U.S. Patent 4,967830) and Radermacher et al. (U.S. PGPub 2018/0120873), and in further view of Howard (U.S. PGPub 2017/0108233).
Regarding claim 13, Selg does not teach the condensation collector comprises a bottle, the tray comprises a drain through which condensate collected by the tray drains into the bottle, and the bottle is located in a gap in the first heat exchanger.
Howard teaches condensation collector comprises a bottle (element 215), the tray (element 200) comprises a drain (element 205) through which condensate collected by the tray drains into the bottle (per para. 0033). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Selg to include the bottle of Howard located in a gap in the first heat exchanger (this is an obvious design choice based on the limited space with the compressor located as taught by Selg), the motivoant would be rto removeunwanted water when humidifying is unwanted.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 and 3-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-4 and 17-20 of copending Application No. 18/720714. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/29/26 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) amendments to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument regarding the amendment, specifically in reference to the thermal store and the substended angle.
Applicants arguments regarding claim 15 are unpersuasive. Applicant argues that Selgs drawings are not to scale and thus the components being concentric is not taught. The examiner respectfully disagrees, while such may not allow the determination of exact sizes the orientation of the elements is clearly shown and thus reads on the limitation. Applicants’ specific term is not required to be found for the limitation to be taught.
Applicants’ argument regarding Eubanks and the air mover is inconsistent a they cite “Eubank’s claims recite “a furnace including a blower for moving room air through the duct system”. Further, in response to applicant's argument that it is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, here it is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned which is environmental control using a fan and a heat exchanger.
With regards to applicants argument that Selg teaches away the section cited does not teach away it deals with the heat exchanger height location with the compressor not how much is subtends as claimed. These are two different directions that applicant is conflating.
Conclusion
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763