Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “major portion” in claims 8-9 and 15 are a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “major portion” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. One skilled in the art would not know how much of the element is required to be surrounded in the claims. The term “major portion” is not defined in the specification and does not have clear meaning. It is not clear if applicant means a majority, an important or special section, or just significant amount (note this itself would be indefinite as there is no clear meaning to it). The claim will be considered to read on with any clear amount of coverage/surrounding.
Claim 10 is rejected for dependence from one or more of the above rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Selg et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0318837).
Regarding claim 15, Selg teaches a fan assembly (fig. 4) comprising: a refrigeration system (as shown in fig. 4) comprising a first heat exchanger (element 405), a second heat exchanger (element 403), and a compressor (element 401); and an airflow generator (element 411) for generating an airflow over the second heat exchanger (per fig. 4), wherein the first heat exchanger surrounds a major portion of the compressor (per fig. 4), and the second heat exchanger is located above the first heat exchanger, and the first heat exchanger and second heat exchanger are concentric (per fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 11-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selg et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0318837) in view of Eubank et al. (U.S. Patent 4,967830).
Regarding claim 1, Selg teaches a fan assembly (Fig. 4) comprising: a refrigeration system (as shown fig. 4) comprising a first heat exchanger (element 405), a second heat exchanger (element 403), and a compressor (element 401); and an airflow generator (element 411) for generating an airflow over the second heat exchanger (per fig. 4), wherein the first heat exchanger surrounds a portion of the compressor (per fig. 4), and the second heat exchanger is located above the first heat exchanger (per fig. 4).
Selg does not expressly teach the first heat exchanger subtends a central angle of at least 270o. Eubank teaches a heat exchanger (element 11) subtends a central angle of at least 270o (per fig. 4-7; and col. 8, ln 58-Col. 9, ln 3). It would have bene obvious at the time of invention to modify the coil of Selg to be the full circular shape of Eubank, the motivation would have been to increase face area and thus heat transfer (col. 3, ln 23-41)
Regarding claim 3, Selg teaches the first heat exchanger is cylindrical in shape (per fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Selg teaches the second heat exchanger is cylindrical in shape (per fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Selg teaches the first heat exchanger and second heat exchanger are concentric (per fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Selg teaches the fan assembly comprises a filter assembly (element 1700) for filtering the airflow, and the filter assembly surrounds a major portion of the second heat exchanger (per fig. 17).
Regarding claim 11, Selg teaches the fan assembly comprises: a main body (body of element 300 which holds 400) within which the refrigeration system and the airflow generator are located (para. 0052), the main body comprising an inlet (side opening shown on 301) through which the airflow is drawn into the main body and an outlet (where element 305 is) through which the airflow is emitted from the main body, wherein the inlet is located in a side of the main body and the outlet is located in a top of the main body (per fig. 3b); and a nozzle (created by elements 305 and 303 reasonably reads on this) attached to the main body and receiving the airflow emitted from the main body, the nozzle comprising an outlet through which the airflow is emitted from the fan assembly (per fig. 3b and 4).
Regarding claim 12, Selg teaches the fan assembly comprises a condensation collector (Fig. 8) for collecting condensate that forms on the first heat exchanger, and the condensation collector comprises a tray (element 807) located between the first heat exchanger and second heat exchanger (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 14, Selg teaches the compressor is configured to move a refrigerant between the first heat exchanger and second heat exchanger (per fig. 4 and para. 0040-0045); and the refrigeration system comprises a metering device (“expansion device” para. 0040-0045) for reducing a pressure of the refrigerant.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selg et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0318837) in view of Eubank et al. (U.S. Patent 4,967830), and further view of Ma et al. (U.S. PGPub 2015/0292775).
Regarding claim 4, Selg does not teach the fan assembly comprises a thermal store, and the first heat exchanger exchanges heat with the thermal store.
Ma teaches a first heat exchanger (condenser element 120) exchanges heat with the thermal store (para. 0015). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Selgs fan assembly to include the thermal store of Ma with the first heat exchanger, the motivation would be to increase the cooling capacity (para. 0018)
Regarding claim 5, Ma further teaches the thermal store comprises a phase change material (para. 0015).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selg et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0318837) in view of Eubank et al. (U.S. Patent 4,967830), and in further view of Ma et al. (U.S. PGPub 2015/0292775).
Regarding claim 9, Selg does not teach the second heat exchanger surrounds a major portion of the airflow generator.
Swanson teaches positioning the fan partially with second heat exchanger (“C-shaped condenser” para. 0098). It would have bene obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Selg as taught by Swanson, the motivation would have been to allow the overall size of the system to be reduced (para. 0098)
Regarding claim 10, Selg teaches the second heat exchanger subtends a central angle of at least 270o (per Fig. 4).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selg et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0318837) in view of Eubank et al. (U.S. Patent 4,967830), in further view of Swanson (U.S. PGPub 2018/0328600).
Regarding claim 9, Selg does not teach the second heat exchanger surrounds a major portion of the airflow generator.
Swanson teaches positioning the fan partially with second heat exchanger (“C-shaped condenser” para. 0098). It would have bene obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Selg as taught by Swanson, the motivation would have been to allow the overall size of the system to be reduced (para. 0098)
Regarding claim 10, Selg teaches the second heat exchanger subtends a central angle of at least 270o (per Fig. 4).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selg et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0318837) in view of Eubank et al. (U.S. Patent 4,967830), and in further view of Howard (U.S. PGPub 2017/0108233).
Regarding claim 13, Selg does not teach the condensation collector comprises a bottle, the tray comprises a drain through which condensate collected by the tray drains into the bottle, and the bottle is located in a gap in the first heat exchanger.
Howard teaches condensation collector comprises a bottle (element 215), the tray (element 200) comprises a drain (element 205) through which condensate collected by the tray drains into the bottle (per para. 0033). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Selg to include the bottle of Howard located in a gap in the first heat exchanger (this is an obvious design choice based on the limited space with the compressor located as taught by Selg), the motivoant would be remove unwanted water when humidifying is unwanted.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 and 3-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-4 and 17-20 of copending Application No. 18/720714. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each.
Claim 1 and 3-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3, 5-7, 11-16, 18-19 of copending Application No. 18/720711. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/11/26 have been fully considered.
Applicants’ arguments regarding the 112(b) of the term “major portion” in various claims are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that guidance to the meaning is in the claims. Applicant also states such is defined in the specification, but all values applicant cites are NOT related to the term “major portion”, in fact that term does not appear in any of the cited paragraphs. It is also noted that several of those paragraphs include various values, thus making it unclear which value would even be considered to read on the term.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) amendments to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner notes that the amendment of claim 1 does not fully incorporate the matter of claim 2, the claim language, and the limitation incorporated, while similar are NOT exactly the same.
Examiner notes that applicant in the response left the double patenting rejection in abeyance with no specific argument. Examiner has no issue with this, and notes it here for acknowledge its presence.
Applicants arguments regarding new claim 15 are unpersuasive. Examiner notes that applicants arguments are anticipatory. Applicant argues that Selgs drawings are not to scale and thus the components being concentric is not taught. The examiner respectfully disagrees, while such may not allow the determination of exact sizes the orientation of the elements is clearly shown and thus reads on the limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hass (U.S. Patent 4,554,968) and King (U.S. Patent 6,587,642) teach a heat exchanger subtends a central angle of at least 270o.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763