DETAILED ACTION This action is in response to papers filed August 20, 2026. Applicant’s reply to the restriction/election requirement of July 2, 2026 has been entered. Claims 3 and 4 have been amended; and claims 5-8 have been newly added. Claims 1-8 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of prior-filed WIPO International Application No. PCT/JP2021/047313, filed December 21, 2021 under 35 U.S.C. 365(c), is hereby acknowledged.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-3 and 5, is acknowledged. Applicant’s elections of i) “polyoxyethylene (10) isostearyl ether” as the species of polyoxyethylene (5 to 15) isostearyl ether, ii) “zinc oxide” as the species of inorganic powder, and iii) “octyltriethoxysilane” as the species of hydrophobic agent used to treat the inorganic powder are all also acknowledged. The Examiner has determined that claims 1-3 and 5 read on the elected subject matter.
Accordingly, claims 4 and 6-8 are hereby withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 20, 2026. Claims 1-3 and 5 are under examination.
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the following:
1. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art. Hence, the last line of the abstract should be deleted. The abstract is not intended to be a promotional advertisement for the product.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following:
1. Figures 1-10 appear to lack proper labels for the y-axis parameter and units and the x-axis parameter and units being depicted. While it is recognized that the figures include a title, such as “zeta potential/ mV of example 2, the y-axis itself should be labeled with the parameter shown and the units.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 2 are objected to because of the following:
i) Claim 1 is in improper and awkward English grammatical format. There is an extraneous comma between “an aqueous dispersion” and “comprising”; that phrase “at least 3 components of” should be deleted; there should be a semicolon rather than a comma between “6 months” and “and (C) the hydrophobized” and the “and” between “6 months” and “(C) the hydrophobized” should be replaced with “wherein”; and there should be a semicolon rather than a comma between “3µm or less” and “and wherein”. Moreover, there should be a space between 3 and µm, and a space between 40 and wt%.
ii) In claim 2, the phrase “the hydrophobized inorganic powder as component (C) is an inorganic powder treated with one or more of hydrophobic agents: silicone compounds…” is in improper format, and is awkward and rambling. Applicant is advised to amend the phrase to e.g. “the inorganic powder is treated with one or more of silicone compounds…”, or to e.g. “the inorganic powder is hydrophobized with one or more of silicone compounds…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 stipulates in a wherein clause that “the aqueous dispersion has an excellent dispersion stability and excellent suitability in use”, and then goes on to state that the aqueous dispersion “satisfies” a cycle test, another cycle test, and an acceleration test; which renders the claim indefinite for the following reasons:
1. The phrase “an excellent dispersion stability and excellent suitability in use” is arbitrary, relative, and subjective, possibly context specific and not defined by the claim. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot definitively ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter.
2. The claim never defines what it means to “satisfy” the cycle tests and the acceleration test. This is also arbitrary and subjective.
3. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot definitively ascertain whether the property of “excellent dispersion stability” and/or the property of “excellent suitability in use” is somehow dependent on or characterized by the property of “satisfying” the cycle tests and the acceleration test, or rather the satisfying those tests is a third independent property.
Hence, one of ordinary skill in the art cannot definitively ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter.
***Applicant is advised to define their claimed aqueous dispersion by the requisite ingredients in the requisite amounts. Define the invention simply by what it really is rather than by some property that only Applicant has measured.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nasu et al. (WIPO International Application Pub. No. WO 2020/100801 A1), in view of Aubrum-Sonneville et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub No. 2005/0287104).
Applicant Claims
Applicant’s elected subject matter is directed to an aqueous dispersion comprising polyoxyethylene (10) isostearyl ether, 40 wt% or more of hydrophobized zinc oxide powder, and water; wherein the powder particle size is 3 µm or less.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art (MPEP §2141.01)
Nasu et al. disclose e.g. an oil-in-water emulsion (i.e. a type of aqueous dispersion) that can comprise hydrophobized zinc oxide nanoparticles with primary particle size of 10-20 nm (i.e. less than 3 µm); a non-ionic surfactant, e.g. POE stearylether; and water; wherein the zinc oxide nanoparticles are hydrophobized with e.g. octyltriethoxysilane and can be present in the amount of up to 75 wt%.
Aubrun-Sonneville et al. disclose an oil-in-water emulsion with fine oil particles dispersed in the aqueous phase comprising e.g. oxyethylenated fatty alcohol ethers, e.g. isosteareth-10 (i.e. polyoxyethylene (10) isostearyl ether), which isosteareth-10 helps facilitate several advantages, including preparing the fine emulsion at room temperature without any energy input, and excellent stability over time and at various temperatures (abstract; paragraphs 0002, 0004-0010, 0020, 0029, 0035, 0038, 0041).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between the Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims (MPEP §2141.02)
Nasu et al. do not explicitly disclose that the POE stearylether is polyoxyethylene (10) isostearyl ether. This deficiency is cured by the teachings of Aubrun-Sonneville et al.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was filed to combine the respective teachings of Nasu et al. and Aubrun-Sonneville et al., outlined supra, to devise Applicant’s presently claimed aqueous dispersion.
Nasu et al. disclose e.g. an oil-in-water emulsion comprising e.g. hydrophobized zinc oxide nanoparticles with primary particle size of 10-20 nm (i.e. less than 3 µm); a non-ionic surfactant, e.g. POE stearylether; and water; wherein the zinc oxide nanoparticles are hydrophobized with e.g. octyltriethoxysilane and can be present in the amount of up to 75 wt%. Since Aubrun-Sonneville et al. disclose that isosteareth-10 (i.e. polyoxyethylene (10) isostearyl ether), when employed in an oil-in-water emulsion with fine particles dispersed in the aqueous phase, helps facilitate several advantages, including an excellent stability over time and at various temperatures; one of ordinary skill in the art would thus be motivated to employ specifically polyoxyethylene (10) isostearyl ether as the POE stearylether in the Nasu et al. composition, with the reasonable expectation that the resulting aqueous dispersion will exhibit excellent stability.
In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Inquiries
/DAVID BROWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617