DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendment and arguments filed 9/14/2026 have been fully considered and the office action has been updated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25, 26, 28-32, 34-38, and 40-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dimitrijev et al (U.S. Pub #2012/0056194), in view of Tsuchida et al (U.S. Pub #2018/0012758).
With respect to claim 25, Dimitrijev teaches a method for reducing the electrical activity of defects (Paragraph 4, 32, and 34, reduction of stacking faults) in a silicon carbide epitaxial layer (Fig. 1A, 176) grown on a silicon wafer (Fig. 1A, 172), the method comprising
introducing an n-type dopant (Fig. 4, 483) and a precursor (Fig. 4, 480 and/or 482 and Paragraph 40) during growth of the silicon carbide epitaxial layer,
and
wherein the precursor is introduced at a level suitable to result in a doping concentration of the silicon carbide by the precursor of less than E17 per cubic centimeter (Paragraph 46, the example given is for the p-type dopant).
Dimitrijev does not teach that the doping concentration of the n-type dopant is less than E17 per cubic centimeter.
Tsuchida teaches epitaxially forming an n-type silicon carbide layer (Fig. 7, 23; n-), wherein the doping concentration of the n-type dopant is less than E17 per cubic centimeter (Paragraph 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dope the silicon carbide material of Dimitrijev such that the doping concentration of the n-type dopant is less than E17 per cubic centimeter as taught by Tsuchida in order to form a voltage blocking layer for a device (Paragraph 37 and 68).
Dimitrijiev does not explicitly disclose a precursor that is configured such that oxygen reacts preferentially with the precursor over the silicon.
Furthermore, Tsuchida teaches a precursor which reacts preferentially with the oxygen over silicon (Fig. 2A, Al and/or Ti; these elements are cited by the present application as preferentially reacting with oxygen compared to silicon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a precursor during epitaxial growth of the silicon carbide material of Dimitrijev that reacts preferentially with oxygen as taught by Tsuchida in order to capture minority carriers (Paragraph 8)
In reference to the claim language referring to the function of the precursor to react preferentially with oxygen and to result in a suitable doping level, intended use and other types of functional language must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. In re Casey,152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto , 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). MPEP 2114
With respect to claim 26, Dimitrijev teaches a method for manufacturing a silicon carbide epitaxial layer, the method comprising:
providing a silicon wafer (Fig. 1A, 172);
growing a silicon carbide epitaxial layer (Fig. 1A, 176)on the silicon wafer; and
introducing an n-type dopant (Fig. 4, 483) and a precursor (Fig. 4, 480 and/or 482 and Paragraph 40) during growth of the silicon carbide epitaxial layer,
and
wherein the precursor is introduced at a level suitable to result in a doping concentration of the silicon carbide by the precursor of less than E17 per cubic centimeter (Paragraph 46, the example given is for the p-type dopant).
Dimitrijev does not teach that the doping concentration of the n-type dopant is less than E17 per cubic centimeter.
Tsuchida teaches epitaxially forming an n-type silicon carbide layer (Fig. 7, 23; n-), wherein the doping concentration of the n-type dopant is less than E17 per cubic centimeter (Paragraph 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dope the silicon carbide material of Dimitrijev such that the doping concentration of the n-type dopant is less than E17 per cubic centimeter as taught by Tsuchida in order to form a voltage blocking layer for a device (Paragraph 37 and 68).
Dimitrijiev does not explicitly disclose a precursor that is configured such that oxygen reacts preferentially with the precursor over the silicon.
Furthermore, Tsuchida teaches a precursor which reacts preferentially with the oxygen over silicon (Fig. 2A, Al and/or Ti; these elements are cited by the present application as preferentially reacting with oxygen compared to silicon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a precursor during epitaxial growth of the silicon carbide material of Dimitrijev that reacts preferentially with oxygen as taught by Tsuchida in order to capture minority carriers (Paragraph 8)
In reference to the claim language referring to the function of the precursor to react preferentially with oxygen and to result in a suitable doping level, intended use and other types of functional language must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. In re Casey,152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto , 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). MPEP 2114
With respect to claim 28, Dimitrijev and Tsuchida teaches that the precursor comprises any of: aluminum (Paragraph 46, TMAl of Dimitrjev; Figs. 2A-2B of Tsuchida); titanium; magnesium; and/or calcium.
With respect to claim 29, Dimitrijev teaches that the precursor forms an energy state in the bandgap of the silicon carbide (e.g. the bandgap is modified by doping).
With respect to claim 30, Dimitrijev teaches introducing an n-type dopant (Fig. 1A, 152) during growth of the silicon carbide epitaxial layer.
With respect to claim 31, Dimitrijev teaches introducing the n-type dopant at the same time as introducing the precursor (Fig. 4, 464; Fig. 6, 664).
With respect to claim 32, Dimitrijev teaches that the n-type dopant is nitrogen (Paragraph 29).
With respect to claim 34, Dimitrijev teaches introducing the precursor at a level suitable to result in a doping concentration of the silicon carbide by the precursor of less than E16 per cubic centimetre (Paragraph 46).
With respect to claim 35, Dimitrijev teaches that the growth of the silicon carbide epitaxial layer comprises reacting gases; and wherein the method further comprises using a scavenger plate or tube to remove oxygen from the gases prior to reacting the gases (Paragraph 32).
With respect to claim 36, Dimitrijev teaches that the silicon carbide epitaxial layer comprises 3-step cubic silicon carbide (3c SiC) (Paragraph 31).
With respect to claim 37, Dimitrijev teaches that the defects comprise stacking faults (Paragraph 34), and/or microtwins.
With respect to claim 38, Dimitrijev teaches a semiconductor structure comprising:
a silicon wafer (Fig. 1A, 172); and
an n-type silicon carbide epitaxial layer (Fig. 1A, 176; n-type dopant Fig. 4, 483 and Paragraph 29) grown on the silicon wafer;
wherein the silicon carbide epitaxial layer is doped with a precursor (Fig. 4 Fig. 4, 480 and/or 482 and Paragraph 40)
Dimitrijev does not teach that the doping concentration of the n-type dopant is less than E17 per cubic centimeter.
Tsuchida teaches epitaxially forming an n-type silicon carbide layer (Fig. 7, 23; n-), wherein the doping concentration of the n-type dopant is less than E17 per cubic centimeter (Paragraph 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dope the silicon carbide material of Dimitrijev such that the doping concentration of the n-type dopant is less than E17 per cubic centimeter as taught by Tsuchida in order to form a voltage blocking layer for a device (Paragraph 37 and 68).
Dimitrijiev does not explicitly disclose a precursor that is configured such that oxygen reacts preferentially with the precursor over the silicon.
Furthermore, Tsuchida teaches a precursor which reacts preferentially with the oxygen over silicon (Fig. 2A, Al and/or Ti; these elements are cited by the present application as preferentially reacting with oxygen compared to silicon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a precursor during epitaxial growth of the silicon carbide material of Dimitrijev that reacts preferentially with oxygen as taught by Tsuchida in order to capture minority carriers (Paragraph 8)
In reference to the claim language referring to the function of the precursor to react preferentially with oxygen and to result in a suitable doping level, intended use and other types of functional language must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. In re Casey,152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto , 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). MPEP 2114
Furthermore, regarding the limitation that the precursor reacts preferentially with oxygen, note that a "product by process" claim is directed to the product per se, no matter how actually made, In re Hirao, 190 USPQ 15 at 17 (footnote 3). See also In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685; In re Luck, 177 USPQ 523; In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90 (209 USPQ 554 does not deal with this issue); In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594, 596 (CCPA); In re Marosi et al., 218 USPQ 289 (CAFC); and most recently, In re Thorpe et al., 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC, 1985) all of which make it clear that it is the final product per se which must be determined in a "product by process" claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that, as here, an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in "product by process" claims or not. Note that Applicant has burden of proof in such cases as the above case law makes clear.
As to the grounds of rejection, see MPEP § 2113 section 1.
With respect to claim 40, Dimitrijev teaches that the silicon carbide layer is nitrogen-doped (Paragraph 29).
With respect to claim 41, Dimitrijev and Tsuchida teaches that a doping concentration of the precursor in the silicon carbide epitaxial layer is less than E16 per cubic centimetre (Paragraph 52 of Tsuchida).
With respect to claim 42, Dimitrijev teaches that the silicon carbide epitaxial layer comprises 3-step cubic silicon carbide (3c SiC) (Paragraph 31).
With respect to claim 43, Dimitrijev and Tsuchida teaches that the precursor comprises any of: aluminum (Paragraph 46, TMAl; Figs. 2A-2B of Tsuchida); titanium; magnesium; and/or calcium.
With respect to claim 44, Dimitrijev teaches a semiconductor device (Paragraph 28, etc.) comprising the semiconductor structure of claim 38.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN P SANDVIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812