DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION. - The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claims 22-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 22, 28, 29, the phrase "lattice-like or honeycomb-like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by the like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
claims 23-27 are included because of their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori et al (US 5,473,111) in view of Radu et al (US 6,538,903).
Re claim 17, Hattori et al disclose a housing (enclosure) for an electronic device (electronic circuit card 72), the housing comprising:
a housing part (73) formed from a plastic (col. 1, line 66) that is electrically non-conductive (functioned as claimed), wherein the housing part comprises a metallization mesh (conductive wire netting 74) (col, 2, lines 2-3) provided on an interior surface of the housing part (Fig 7e), wherein the mesh is square, rectangular (Figs 7b-e, 3), polygonal, round, or oval, but does not disclose an opening width of the mesh is smaller or equal to X/10, wherein À is a wavelength of electromagnetic radiation emitted by the electronic device and the metallization mesh is applied by a laser direct structuring process.
Re claim 18, wherein the housing part is configured in a troughlike manner, wherein on the interior surface of the housing part the metallization mesh extends from a bottom portion via a side wall portion up to a circumferential housing shoulder or housing flange which runs parallel or substantially parallel to the bottom portion (Fig 7e).
Re claim 19, further comprising a screw opening disposed in the housing shoulder (Fig 2), wherein the housing shoulder is configured to form a bearing surface for the electronic device to be
arranged in the housing (Fig 7b) and Hattori et al recite "the cover 2 is fitted to the box 1 in any of several conventional manner (col. 3, lines 46-47), but does not disclose multiple screw openings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include additional screw opening with the housing of Hattori et al for securing the housing parts together, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. V. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Radu et al teach the use of an opening slot width (slot length) is smaller or equal to A/10 (less than about 1/20, col. 11, lines 27-32), where is a wavelength of electromagnetic radiation emitted by the electronic device (col. 5, lines 55-58). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the mesh of Hattori et al by employing the opening smaller than or equal to A/10 for preventing undesirable electromagnetic through the opening.
Hattori et al recites “the cover 73 is made of a wire netting 74 and plastics which are formed intergrally” (col. 1, lines 65-68), the limitations of "the metallization mesh is applied by a laser direct structuring process" have been considered, but do not result in a structural difference. The presence of process limitations in product claims, which product does not otherwise patentably distinguish over prior art, cannot impart patentability to that product. In re Stephens 145 USPQ 656 (CCPA 1965).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori et al (US 5,473,111) in view of Radu et al (US 6,538,903) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Oguri (US 2005/0170083).
The teaching as discussed above does not disclose wherein the housing part comprises multiple partial regions the metallization mesh has different mesh sizes and/or different thicknesses in the multiple-partial regions.
Oguri teaches housing part (23) comprises multiple partial regions (A, B) (Fig 8c), metallization mesh (20) has different mesh sizes [0071] and/or different thicknesses in the multiple-partial regions
(Fig 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the metallization mesh of Hattori et al by employing different mesh sizes for enhancing radio wave shielding.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori et al (US 5,473,111) in view of Radu et al (US 6,538,903) and Oguri (US 2005/0170083) as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Cook et al (US 5,034,856).
The teaching as discussed above does not disclose a wall portion separating the multiple partial regions.
Cook et al teach a wall portion (84) separates multiple partial regions (Fig 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the wall portion with the housing of Hattori et al for reducing radiation leakage between the circuits.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 16, 30-33 are allowed.
Claims 22-29 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues (1) that the result mesh is an integral, plated metallization structure directly on the interior surface of the plastic housing part.
With respect to (1), No different structure between a laser direct structuring process and a process of making a mesh 74 of Hattori et al. Hattori et al’s mesh is an integral metallization structure directly on the interior surface of the plastic housing part (Fig 7e) and recite “the cover 73 is made of a wire netting 74 and plastics which are formed intergrally” (col. 1, lines 65-68).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/HUNG V NGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841