DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 13, 14, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burte US 2020/0172066.
Regarding claim 1, Burte discloses an electromechanical actuator (see paragraph [0037]) for a braking system of a vehicle 100, comprising: a first control circuit (see FIG. 2A and 2B) configured to receive, from a speed sensor (208, 212, 226, 230) associated with a wheel of said vehicle (see FIG. 2A), a speed signal having a value indicative of an angular speed of said wheel of said vehicle. See paragraphs [0035]-[0037].
Regarding claim 2, Burte discloses wherein said speed sensor is included in said electromechanical actuator. See paragraphs [0037] and [0045].
Regarding claim 3, Burte discloses wherein said speed sensor is an angular speed sensor. See paragraphs [0035]-[0037].
Regarding claim 5, Burte discloses wherein said electromechanical actuator is configured to: transmit the speed signal received from the speed sensor to a second control circuit (see FIG. 2A and 2B) installed in the vehicle; or transmit an angular speed value indicated by the speed signal received from the speed sensor to a second control circuit installed in the vehicle. See paragraphs [0045]-[0054].
Regarding claim 6, Burte discloses wherein said first control circuit is configured to receive a braking signal from said second control circuit (see FIG. 2A and 2B) to adjust a value of a braking force generated by said electromechanical actuator. See paragraphs [0035]-[0037].
Regarding claim 13, Burte discloses a braking system for a vehicle 100, comprising: a speed sensor (208, 212, 226, 230) configured to sense an angular speed of a wheel of said vehicle (See paragraphs [0035]-[0037]); an electromechanical actuator (see paragraph [0037]) comprising a first control circuit (see FIG. 2A and 2B), wherein the first control circuit is configured to receive, from the speed sensor, a speed signal comprising a value indicative of the angular speed of said wheel (see paragraphs [0035]-[0037]); and a brake configured to be actuated by said electromechanical actuator. See paragraphs [0035]-[0037].
Regarding claim 14, Burte discloses a vehicle, comprising a wheel (202, 204, 220, 222); at least one speed sensor (208, 212, 226, 230) configured to generate a speed signal having a value indicative of an angular speed of said wheel (see paragraph [0037]); an electromechanical actuator (see paragraph [0037]) positioned proximate to said wheel, wherein said electromechanical actuator comprises a first control circuit (see FIG. 2A and 2B), and wherein said first control circuit is configured to receive, from the at least one speed sensor, a speed signal comprising a value indicative of the angular speed of said wheel (see paragraphs [0035]-[0037]); and a brake configured to be actuated by said electromechanical actuator. See paragraphs [0035]-[0037].
Regarding claim 17, Burte discloses wherein said first control circuit is configured to receive a braking signal from said second control circuit to adjust a value of a braking force generated by said electromechanical actuator. See paragraphs [0035]-[0037].
Regarding claim 19, Burte discloses wherein said first control circuit is configured to: transmit the speed signal received from the speed sensor to a second control circuit installed in the vehicle; or transmit the angular speed value indicated by the speed signal received from the speed sensor to a second control circuit installed in the vehicle. See paragraphs [0035]-[0037].
Regarding claim 20, Burte discloses wherein said first control circuit is configured to receive a braking signal from said second control circuit to adjust a value of a braking force generated by said electromechanical actuator. See paragraphs [0045]-[0054].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burte, as applied above, in view of Corigliano et al US 2009/0292510.
Regarding claim 4, Burte fails to explicitly disclose, but Corigliano et al discloses wherein said speed sensor is configured to generate the speed signal as a function of an angular speed of a phonic wheel associated with said wheel of the vehicle. See paragraphs [0014]-[0022].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a phonic wheel as disclosed by Corigliano et al in the system of Burte as the phonic wheel is a well-known, routine, and conventional component of vehicles as evidenced by paragraphs [0014]-[0022].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burte and Corigliano et al, as applied above, in view of Frazzoli et al US 2019/0232957.
Regarding claim 9, Burte fails to explicitly disclose, but Frazzoli et al discloses a wireless communication device 46. See paragraphs [0052]-[0064].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a wireless device as disclosed by Frazzoli et al in the system of Burte to record risky events to optimize for safety reasons.
Regarding claim 10, Burte fails to explicitly disclose, but Frazzoli et al discloses wherein said electromechanical actuator is further configured to: transmit, via said wireless communication device, the speed signal received from the speed sensor to a ground station or a cloud; or transmit, via said wireless communication device, an angular speed value indicated by the speed signal received from the speed sensor to a ground station or to a cloud. See paragraphs [0052]-[0064].
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burte, as applied above, in view of Ribbens et al US 2007/0222285.
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Burte fails to explicitly disclose, but Ribbens et al discloses wherein said second control circuit is configured to determine that the wheel is skidding based on the speed signal received by the second control circuit or the angular speed value received by the second control circuit. See paragraphs [0060]-[0067].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a skid determination as disclosed by Ribbens et al in the system of Burte for safety reasons.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burte, as applied above, in view of Murata US 2010/0292882.
Regarding claim 8, Burte fails to explicitly disclose, but Murata discloses wherein, when said first control circuit is configured to transmit the speed signal received from the speed sensor to the second control circuit, wherein the second control circuit is configured to provide a vehicle linear speed estimate determined based on said speed signal or said angular speed value; wherein the first control circuit is further configured to: receive said vehicle linear speed estimate; determine that the wheel is skidding based on said vehicle linear speed estimate; and perform an anti-skid function of the wheel of the vehicle. See paragraphs [0058]-[0067].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an anti-skid function as disclosed by Murata in the system of Burte for safety reasons.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burte, as applied above, in view of Nilsson et al US 2019/0299944.
Regarding claim 11, Burte fails to explicitly disclose, but Nilsson et al discloses an energy storage means (capacitor 9A, 9B) configured to store energy (see paragraph [0123]); wherein the energy stored in the energy storage means is sufficient to actuate the electromechanical actuator to cause the braking system to perform at least one emergency braking action or service or parking action. See FIG. 3 and paragraphs [0123]-[0127].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an energy storage as disclosed by Nilsson et al in the system of Burte for backup safety reasons.
Regarding claim 12, Burte fails to explicitly disclose, but Nilsson et al discloses wherein said energy storage means includes at least one of: a flywheel; a super-capacitor; a battery; and a spring. See FIG. 1-3 and 16.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burte, as applied above, in view of Tione US 2019/0001822.
Regarding claim 15, Burte fails to explicitly disclose, but Tione discloses wherein said vehicle is a railway vehicle. See at least Claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include railway vehicle as disclosed by Tione in the system of Burte for a routine, well-known, and conventional application of braking with vehicles.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burte, as applied above, in view of Brachert et al US 5,832,402.
Regarding claim 16, Burte fails to explicitly disclose, but Brachert et al discloses a second control circuit separate 101 from and communicatively coupled to the first control circuit 102, wherein said first control circuit is configured to: transmit the speed signal received from the speed sensor to the second control circuit; or transmit the angular speed value indicated by the speed signal received from the speed sensor to the second control circuit. See FIG. 1 and 2 and col. 5, ll. 45-62.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include separate controllers as disclosed by Brachert et al in the system of Burte for a routine, well-known, and conventional application of braking with vehicles.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JOSEPH J DALLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747