DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain et al (US 2013/0072573 A1) in view of Sharma et al (US 2023/0174444 A1).
Applicants’ claimed invention is directed to a process for preparing 2,6-diisopropyl phenol comprising a step of decarboxylation of 4-hydroxy-3,5-diisopropylbenzoic acid or a salt thereof in an aqueous medium under pressure.
Jain discloses a process for preparing highly pure 2,6-diisopropylphenol (Propofol) by decarboxylating 4-hydroxy-3,5-diisopropylbenzoic acid (Formula III) at an elevated temperature of 1200 C to 1600 C in the presence of a catalyst and an organic high boiling solvent like ethylene glycol [0029] and [0031]-[0032].
Sharma teaches an improved decarboxylation process for the same starting material using a heterocyclic base catalyst, executed under solvent free or aromatic hydrocarbon solvent conditions [0035]-[0038]. Crucially, Sharma discloses the post-reaction extraction and processing of the reaction mass using an aqueous medium (water) followed by fractional distillation of the product under reduced pressure of 1-5 Mbar [0052].
Differences between prior art and claims 1: The prior art references perform the actual bond-cleaving decarboxylation reaction in either high-boiling organic solvent (Jain et al) or under solvent-free/organic conditions (Sharma et al). Water is used by Sharma solely as a post-reaction quenching or washing medium, and pressure manipulation in Sharma is down-regulated to a vacuum (reduced pressure). Claim 1 performs the decarboxylation step itself inside an aqueous medium under super atmospheric pressure.
Obviousness and Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention optimizing the process of Jain to look the teachings of Sharma. Sharma notes that avoiding high-boiling organic solvent (like the ethylene glycol of Jain) is highly desirable because organic solvents impact the quality of the final active pharmaceutical ingredient (API) and requires extensive workup [0048]. A PHOSITA, seeking to eliminate toxic organic solvent streams and simplify the extraction phase, would be motivated to test water the universal green solvent as the direct fluid reaction medium. Because water vaporizes rapidly at the required decarboxylation temperatures (1200 C-1600 C as taught by both Jain and Sharma). A PHOSITA utilizing basic thermodynamic and chemical engineering principles would recognize that the reaction must be conducted under super atmospheric pressure to maintain the water in a liquid state. Thus, combining the reaction steps of Jain with the aqueous processing hints of Sharma to form a pressurized aqueous reaction system is merely the predictable application of known engineering practices to achieve a known objective (solvent reduction).
Regarding claims 2, 3, 10, 11, 12, 13, Jain explicitly teaches that the decarboxylation catalyst is a mineral base, specifically an alkali metal hydroxide selected from sodium hydroxide or potassium hydroxide [0029], [0031]. Furthermore, the working Example 2 of Jain explicitly react 0.45 moles of benzoic acid derivative with 1.03 moles of sodium hydroxide pellets, establishing an exact concentration of 2.28 molar equivalents of base [0041]. Sharma teaches using an organic base range reaching down to 0.5 equivalents [0053].
Differences between prior art and claims: None. The chemical identities (mineral base, alkali metal hydroxide) and the claimed concentration ranges (0.1 to 3 equivalents in claim 3, 12; 0.5 to 2.5 equivalents in claim 13) literally encompass the exact parameters disclosed in working Example 2 of Jain (2.28 equivalents) and the examples of Sharma (0.5 equivalents).
Obviousness and Motivations: O0174444nce the PHOSITA modifies the reaction medium to pressurized water as articulated in claim 1, it is entirely obvious to select the exact catalysts and concentration ranges already optimized and proven successfully by Jain and Sharma. An alkali metal hydroxide like NaOH is highly water-soluble, making it a naturally obvious catalytic choice for an aqueous-phase reaction. The optimization of a reagent range (swapping between 0.1-3 or 0.5-2.5 equivalents) represents routine experimental scaling within the competence of a PHOSITA.
Regarding claims 4, 5, 6, 14, 15 and 18, both Jain and Sharma perform their reactions in standard batch environments (e.g. round-bottom flasks and stirred reactors) over distinct periods (7 hours for Jain; 1.5 to 2 hours for Sharma [0052]. Jain operates at temperatures of 120-1600 C [0031]. Sharma operates at temperature of 120-1700 C, preferably 145-1550 C [0036].
Differences between prior art and claims: The batch claims specify operation within explicit pressure windows (0.2-1.2 MPa in claim 5; 0.25-1.0 MPa in claim 14) and temperature windows (120-2000 C in claim 6; 125-1900 C in claim 15), or combination thereof (claim 18).
Obviousness and Motivations: Both references establish the baseline reaction format as a batch process, rendering claim 4 obvious. Regarding the specific temperature window (e.g. 120-2000 C) these directly overlap with 120-1600 C range of Jain and the 120-1700 C range of Sharma. The specific pressure limitations (0.2 to 1.2 MPa) is an inherent, predictable consequence of running the reaction inside a closed batch autoclave using water at those identical temperatures. For instance, according to standard steam tables liquid water at 1200 C exerts a vapor pressure of approximately 0.2 MPa, and at 1800 C exerts approximately 1.0 MPa. A PHOSITA would be motivated to operate within these exact closed-vessel pressure constraints simply to maintain the liquid state of the aqueous reaction medium at the established working temperatures of the prior art.
Regarding claims 7, 8, 9, 16, 17 and 19, Jain and Sharma teach batch synthesis parameters for Propofol. Sharma specifically nots that a core goal of the industry is to develop a time-efficient and cost-effective process that accelerates the reaction process substantially to achieve considerable cost savings because of shorter facility use [0016], [0040].
Differences between prior art and claims: The prior art uses batch vessels. The claims define executing the aqueous pressurized decarboxylation within a continuous flow regime at elevated pressures (1.0-2.5 MPa / 1.5-2.0 MPa) at elevated temperatures (160-2200 C / 170-2100 C).
Obviousness and Motivation: Converting a known chemical reaction from a batch mode to a continuous flow mode represents a routine commercial scaling practice in modern chemical engineering. Driven by the motivation of Sharma to drastically accelerate reaction velocity and reduce facility residency times, a PHSITA wound recognize that continuous flow microreactors or plug-flow configurations maximize heat and mass transfer. Because continuous flow lines experience dynamic fluid movement, higher system pressures (1.0-2.5 MPa) are standardly applied to prevent outgassing and bubbling of the solvent stream. The associated temperature increases (up to 2200 C) represents a predictable optimization step to decrease residence time from hours to minutes, which falls squarely within the routine skill of an engineer implementing the time-saving goals explicitly called for by Sharma.
/JAFAR F PARSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692