DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on 06/17/2024. Currently claims 1-12 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.102 as being anticipated over Graf et al. (US Patent Number 6,136,257), hereafter, referred to as “Graf”.
Regarding claim 1, Graf teaches in Fig. 2, a powder dispenser, the powder dispenser comprises a blade assembly comprising: a first blade (element 17) and a second blade (element 18), wherein the first blade and the second blade are separated, form a space between them for holding a metal powder and a slit (element 19) for dispensing the metal powder (element 11), and the slit (element 19) has a width that is adjustable (column 3 line 12 – column 4, lines 65). Graf teaches in claims 6-10, that the outlet opening (19) is formed by two blades (17, 18) which are arranged at a distance from each other on the container (12) and can be adjusted in their distance in relation to each other. The claimed use of a powder dispenser for producing a three-dimensional object as a "powder dispenser for metal-binder jetting" is a matter of using in an intended application suitable for carrying out the process (metal-binder jetting).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Graf et al. (US Patent Number 6,136,257).
Regarding claim 2, Graf teaches in Fig. 2, the feature of the blade assembly with a first end and an opposite second end wherein the slit extends from the first end to the second end, wherein the slits extends from the first end to the second end, the blade assembly has a first side opening between the first blade and the second blade at the first end, the space between the first blade and the second blade is accessible via the first side opening (column 3 line 12 – column 4, lines 65).
The additional feature with respect to the first side cover would be obvious in view of the elongated hopper of Fig. 2, because although it is not explicitly represented in the cross-section images, however, the powder would not be contained without side covers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that a first side cover attached to the first blade and covering the first side opening. In order to contain the powders.
Regarding claim 3, Graf teaches in Fig. 2, that a first base portion, wherein the first blade is connected to and extends from the first base portion, a second base portion, wherein the second blade is connected to and extends from the second base portion; by teaching that the sidewalls (elements 15, and 16) connected to the blades.
Additionally, the feature of “a first side portion connecting the first base portion and the second base portion at the first end, and a second side portion connecting the first base portion and the second base portion at the second end” would be obvious in view of the elongated hopper of Fig. 2, because although it is not explicitly represented in the cross-section images, however, the powder would not be contained without side portions/covers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that a first side portion connecting the first and second base portions at the first end, and a second side portion connecting the first and second base portions at the second end, in order to contain the powders.
Regarding claim 4, Graf teaches a powder dispenser, wherein the powder dispenser further comprises: a support that supports the first base portion, wherein the support is configured to allow a play between the first base portion and the support toward or away from the second base portion, by teaching a system configurated to allow a play between the first base portion and the support (Fig 2, column 3, line 12 – column 4, lines 65) on the adjustment of either blades or entire lateral side walls.
Regarding claim 7, Graf teaches a powder dispenser, wherein the powder dispenser further comprises: one or more first locks arranged to lock the first base portion to the support; by teaching implicitly (Fig 2, column 3, line 12 – column 4, lines 65) on the adjustment of the slot space initially to lock them in place. Therefore, it would have been obvious to any ordinary artisan to use a locking mechanism to lock the slots in place.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Graf et al. (US Patent Number 6,136,257), in view of Hatsuda et al. (JP 2021 031 725 A), hereafter referred to as “Hatsuda”.
Regarding claims 5-6, Graf teaches a powder dispenser. But Graf fails to explicitly teach a powder dispenser, wherein the powder dispenser further comprises: one or more adjustable first pushers and puller, wherein each first pusher and pullers engages the support and the first base portion and is arranged to push/pull the first base portion towards or away from the second base portion. However, Hatsuda teaches in Figs. 5A-B, a system including adjustable first pushers/pullers (element 51) that adjust the position of the support and base portions relative to each other for proper positioning of the dispensing system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Hatsuda, and combine the feature of one or more adjustable first pushers and puller, wherein each first pusher and pullers engages the support and the first base portion and is arranged to push/pull the first base portion towards or away from the second base portion; because that would allow positioning of the dispensing apparatus components properly for accurate dispensing of the powder material. Since both the references deal with molding system comprising of slit adjustment of a dispensing system, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the combination (KST Rationale A, MPEP 2143).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Graf et al. (US Patent Number 6,136,257), in view of Ederer et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0079133 A1), hereafter referred to as “Ederer”.
Regarding claim 8, Graf teaches a powder dispenser. But Graf fails to explicitly teach a powder dispenser, wherein the powder dispenser comprises of one or more first oscillators attached to the first blade and configured to generate oscillations of the first blade. Ederer taches recoaters for powder bed additive manufacturing, and further teaches oscillators to vibrate at least the walls (claim 8: "wherein each coating blade (06) is independently coupled with a means for generating oscillations") for the effect of improving powder dispensing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Ederer and combine the feature of one or more first oscillators attached to the first blade and configured to generate oscillations of the first blade, because that would improve the powder dispensing process (KSR Rationale A, MPEP 2143). Since the references deal with powder dispensing, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the combination.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Graf et al. (US Patent Number 6,136,257), in view of Yuwaki et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0164586 A1), hereafter referred to as “Yuwaki”.
Regarding claim 9, Graf teaches in Fig. 1, a powder dispensing system (element 10) for an additive manufacturing process to build a three-dimensional object comprising: a platform (element 5), or table, defining a planar upper surface, wherein the upper surface is oriented horizontally, and the powder dispenser (element 10) arranged for dispensing a metal, resin or ceramic powder in a downward direction. Graf also teaches in Fig. 1 that the dispenser is configured to move the slit of the powder dispenser parallel to the upper surface between a refilling position and a dispensing position, so that the powder can be dispensed at the appropriate positions. It would also have been obvious to an ordinary artisan that a dispenser support would support the powder dispenser above the slate (12) and the support system would be configured such that it can move horizontally to dispense the materials as desired. Additionally, the claimed use of a powder dispenser for producing a three-dimensional object as a "powder dispenser for metal-binder jetting" is a matter of using in an intended application suitable for carrying out the process (metal-binder jetting).
But Graf fails to explicitly teach the feature of “a rake extending from the upper surface and positioned between the refilling position and the dispensing position, wherein the rake is arranged to scrape off metal powder at the slit at a change in position from the refilling position to the dispensing position”. The effect is to scrap off metal powder at the slit to improve the uniformity of the dispensed layers. Yuwaki teaches the additional feature of a contact cleaning tip to scrape off powders at the slit to improve the dispensing of the material. Yuwaki teaches in Fig. 3B, that the shaping material adhering to the tip portion of the nozzle (element 65) can be removed by the nozzle cleaning member (element 610). Therefore, it is possible to further suppress occurrence of clogging of the dispensing apparatus and deterioration in the quality of the three-dimensional shaped object (para. [0066]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Yuwaki, and combine the feature of a rake extending from the upper surface and positioned between the refilling position and the dispensing position, wherein the rake is arranged to scrape off metal powder at the slit at a change in position from the refilling position to the dispensing position, because that would scrap off metal powder at the slit to improve the uniformity of the dispensed layers (KSR Rationale A, MPEP 2143). Since the references deal with dispensing of powders in a manufacturing of a three-dimensional object, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the combination.
Regarding claims 10-11, Graf teaches in Fig. 2, a powder dispensing system, wherein the powder dispenser has a downward pointing tip forming the slit, and Yuwaki teaches a rake, that is arranged to scrape off metal powder on the tip of the powder dispenser at the change in position from the refilling position to the dispensing position.
Graf further teaches in Fig. 2, that the powder dispensing system, wherein the tip defines a downward facing surface, and it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan that a dispensing tip would take a convex shape transversely to the slit to dispense at appropriate locations, and that the rake would engage with the downward facing surface of the slit.
Claim 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Graf et al. (US Patent Number 6,136,257), in view of Yuwaki et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0164586 A1), in view of Buller et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2015/0367448 A1) hereafter referred to as “Buller”.
Regarding claim 12, Graf, in view of Yuwaki teaches a powder dispensing system, wherein the powder dispenser has a downward pointing tip forming the slit, the system having a rake, that is arranged to scrape off metal powder on the tip of the powder dispenser. But Graf and Yuwaki fail to explicitly teach a powder dispensing system comprising an evacuation system having one or more suction inlets for removing metal powder, wherein the suction inlets are located between the refilling position of the slit and the rake. However, Buller teaches to manufacture three dimensional (3D) objects printed utilizing printing processes, apparatuses and systems. Buller also teaches that the process comprises of removing unused/unwanted powder materials using vacuum suction (para. [0270], claim 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Buller, and combine the feature of a powder dispensing system comprising an evacuation system having one or more suction inlets for removing metal powder, because that would allow to remove unwanted powders from the dispensing system to allow proper dispensing at the desired locations. Since the references deal with dispensing systems for powder dispensing for the purpose of three-dimensional object manufacturing, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the combination.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD M AMEEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742