DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/3/2026 with respect to the rejection of Independent Claim 36 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2006/0135991 A1 to Kawaura et al. (“Kawaura”) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Claim 36 has been amended significantly. The Examiner agrees that “the present amendments introduce structural relationships not previously present in the claims and that these relationships are neither disclosed nor suggested by Kawaura” (Applicant’s 6/3/2026 Remarks at Pg. 9). Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 2007/0031508 A1 and previously cited US 2016/0038128 A1 to Carrison (“Carrison”).
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of dependent Claims 37-52 are based on Applicant’s arguments regarding Independent Claim 36. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive for the reasons explained above. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 2007/0031508 A1 and previously cited US 2016/0038128 A1 to Carrison (“Carrison”).
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/3/2026 with respect to the rejection of Independent Claim 53 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2006/0135991 A1 to Kawaura et al. (“Kawaura”) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Claim 53 has been amended significantly. The Examiner agrees that “the present amendments introduce specific structural and deployment relationships … that … are neither disclosed nor suggested by Carrion.” Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 2007/0031508 A1 and previously cited US 2016/0038128 A1 to Carrison (“Carrison”).
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of dependent Claims 54-55 are based on Applicant’s arguments regarding Independent Claim 53. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive for the reasons explained above. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 2007/0031508 A1 and previously cited US 2016/0038128 A1 to Carrison (“Carrison”).
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of Claims 36, 53 and 54 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Examiner agrees that Applicant’s amendments have resolved the cited written description issues. The rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of Claims 53 and 54 under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Examiner agrees that Applicant’s amendments have resolved the cited indefiniteness issues. The rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 36-39, 41-50 and 52-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2007/0031508 A1 to Armstrong et al. (“Armstrong”) in view of previously cited US 2016/0038128 A1 to Carrison (“Carrison”).
Regarding Independent Claim 36, Armstrong teaches:
A tunnel wound treatment device comprising: (Title, “Implantable graft to close a fistula;” Fig. 12, “fistula plug 200”);
See Pg. 3, Ln. 5-6 of the Present Specification in support of this interpretation (“An implantable device for the treatment of a tunnel wound, e.g., a fistula tract, is provided herein.”).
a suture folded back on itself to define a proximal loop and paired distal free ends; (Fig. 12, “suture strand 209;” see Annotated Fig. 12, below);
and a tunnel filler positioned on the suture between the proximal loop and the paired distal free ends, (Fig. 12, “plug body 201;” see Annotated Fig. 12, above);
wherein the tunnel filler is … retained directly on a folded portion of the suture positioned between the proximal loop and the paired distal free ends, (Para. [0081], “… the first cap 204 and second cap 205 are initially detached from elongate plug body 201, but are retained in association with plug body 201 by suture strand 209, which passes through plug body lumen 206, through and around the first cap 204, and through second cap 205;” Fig. 12; see Annotated Fig. 12, above);
It is noted that Armstrong describes a tunnel filler “retained directly on a folded portion of the suture positioned between the proximal loop and the paired distal free ends,” and teaches that the tunnel filler may be compressed (see Armstrong at Para. [0111], “ In one preferred embodiment, multiple layers of ECM material are compressed under dehydrating conditions.”) but does “connect the dots” (because Armstrong appears to compress via dehydration prior to assembly, making it unclear as to whether compression is a means of retainment) and does not disclose “wherein the tunnel filler is compressively retained.” This deficiency is addressed below.
wherein the proximal loop extends proximally beyond the tunnel filler and the paired distal free ends extend distally beyond the tunnel filler, (Para. [0081]; Fig. 12; see Annotated Fig. 12, above);
and wherein the tunnel filler surrounds first and second suture segments of the folded portion of the suture. (Para. [0081]; Fig. 12; see Annotated Fig. 12, above).
This limitation is being interpreted to mean that the first and second suture segments pass through the tunnel filler (i.e., by virtue of their “return path” via the proximal loop) such that the tunnel filler “surrounds” them. Armstrong’s suture includes segments that are so-configured (see Armstrong at Para. [0081], “…suture strand 209, which passes through plug body lumen 206…;” compare Armstrong Fig. 12 with Fig. 1 of the Present Drawings).
Armstrong does not disclose:
compressively retained
That is, Armstrong describes a tunnel filler “retained directly on a folded portion of the suture positioned between the proximal loop and the paired distal free ends,” and teaches that the tunnel filler may be compressed (see Armstrong at Para. [0111], “ In one preferred embodiment, multiple layers of ECM material are compressed under dehydrating conditions.”) but does “connect the dots” and does not disclose “wherein the tunnel filler is compressively retained.”
Carrison describes “Fistula treatment devices and related methods” (Title). Carrison is analogous art.
Carrison teaches:
compressively retained (Para. [0083], “Upon insertion of the device 5 into the fistula tract 10 with the expandable members 15 in a collapsed or compressed state, the expandable members 15 are allowed to expand to fill the portion of the fistula tract 10 in which each expandable member 15 is located.”);
Carrison’s “expandable members 15” correspond to the “tunnel filler” of Claim 36. Carrison’s “expandable members 15” are “compressively retained” in that their compressed state is required for their insertion.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Armstrong with the teachings of Carrison (i.e., to “compressively” retain Armstrong’s tunnel filler in the manner of Carrison) in order to allow for convention insertion of the tunnel filler into the fistula tract (see Carrison at Para. [0083], “It should be noted that the collapsed or compressed state allows for convenient insertion of the device 5 into the fistula tract 10.”).
Regarding Claim 37, the combination of Armstrong and Carrison renders obvious the entirety of Claim 36 as explained above.
Armstrong additionally teaches:
wherein the tunnel filler comprises extracellular matrix (ECM). (Para. [0080], “Plug body 201 can be formed with any suitable biocompatible material, and in some embodiments, comprises a collagen-containing material such as a remodelable ECM material.”).
Regarding Claim 38, the combination of Armstrong and Carrison renders obvious the entirety of Claim 37 as explained above.
Armstrong additionally teaches:
wherein the ECM comprises liver- derived ECM (Para. [0101], “Suitable remodelable materials can be provided by collagenous extracellular matrix (ECM) materials possessing biotropic properties. For example, suitable collagenous materials include ECM materials such as … liver basement membrane.”).
Regarding Claim 39, the combination of Armstrong and Carrison renders obvious the entirety of Claim 36 as explained above.
Armstrong additionally teaches:
wherein the tunnel filler is [positioned on] the first and second suture segments of the folded portion of the suture (Para. [0081], “… the first cap 204 and second cap 205 are initially detached from elongate plug body 201, but are retained in association with plug body 201 by suture strand 209, which passes through plug body lumen 206, through and around the first cap 204, and through second cap 205;” Fig. 12; see Annotated Fig. 12, above).
Armstrong’s tunnel filler is positioned on Armstrong’s first and second suture segments (see Rejection of Claim 36 above, elaborating), but Armstrong is silent with regard to Armstrong’s tunnel filler being “radially compressed” on said segments. Carrison remedies this deficiency.
Carrison teaches:
radially compressed onto (Para. [0083], “Upon insertion of the device 5 into the fistula tract 10 with the expandable members 15 in a collapsed or compressed state, the expandable members 15 are allowed to expand to fill the portion of the fistula tract 10 in which each expandable member 15 is located.”).
Carrison’s compression is “radial” compression. See Carrison at Fig. 1A relative to Carrison at Fig. 1B, as described at Carrison Paras. [0026] and [0027].
The Examiner notes that this is the same modification as proposed above at Claim 36, because although Claim 39 is narrower than Claim 36, Carrison’s only compression is radial compression.
Regarding Claim 41, the combination of Armstrong and Carrison renders obvious the entirety of Claim 36 as explained above.
Armstrong additionally teaches:
wherein the tunnel filler is in a compressed dehydrated state prior to implantation (Para. [0111], “ In one preferred embodiment, multiple layers of ECM material are compressed under dehydrating conditions.”).
Regarding Claim 42, the combination of Armstrong and Carrison renders obvious the entirety of Claim 41 as explained above.
Armstrong additionally teaches:
wherein the tunnel filler radially expands following hydration within a tunnel wound. (Para. [0126], “… further anchoring of the graft is achieved by using a material such as a small intestinal submucosa heterograft (a freeze-dried material that requires rehydration before use) for the graft and inserting the graft into the tract before the graft material has been fully expanded by hydration.”).
To be clear, Armstrong teaches “radial expansion,” and at least ostensibly teaches “radial compression,” but does not explicitly teach “radial compression onto” in the manner of Claim 39 (Carrison fills this gap, as explained above). This interpretation is based on the current phrasing of the claims, and is subject to change concomitant with change in phrasing.
Regarding Claim 43, the combination of Armstrong and Carrison renders obvious the entirety of Claim 36 as explained above.
Armstrong additionally teaches:
wherein the tunnel filler comprises an elongated cylindrical body (Para. [0019], “The graft of the present invention may have … a generally cylindrical graft body…;” Para. [0080], “ Plug body 201, which is generally in the shape of a cylinder…;” Fig. 12, “Plug body 201”).
Regarding Claim 44, the combination of Armstrong and Carrison renders obvious the entirety of Claim 36 as explained above.
Armstrong additionally teaches:
wherein the tunnel filler comprises a tapered body (Para. [0019], “The graft of the present invention may have a generally conical graft body having a wider proximal end that tapers to a narrower distal end…”).
The Examiner notes that Armstrong expressly contemplates such a tapered configuration in the embodiment of Figs. 12 and 13 (see Armstrong at Para. [0057], “…such a tapered design may still be used in conjunction with a cap….”).
Regarding Claim 45, the combination of Armstrong and Carrison renders obvious the entirety of Claim 36 as explained above.
Armstrong additionally teaches:
further comprising a cap member positioned distal to the tunnel filler on the paired distal free ends of the suture. (Para. [0081], “…the first cap 204 and second cap 205 are initially detached from elongate plug body 201, but are retained in association with plug body 201 by suture strand 209, which passes through plug body lumen 206, through and around the first cap 204, and through second cap 205;” Fig. 12, “second cap 205” is so-positioned, as can be seen in Annotated Fig. 12, above).
Regarding Claim 46, the combination of Armstrong and Carrison renders obvious the entirety of Claim 45 as explained above.
Armstrong additionally teaches:
wherein the cap member comprises ECM (Para. [0083], “Illustratively, an expandable cap comprises a sponge-form material containing an ECM material such as pericardium, submucosa or basement membrane;” Para. [0070]).
Regarding Claim 47, the combination of Armstrong and Carrison renders obvious the entirety of Claim 45 as explained above.
Armstrong additionally teaches:
wherein the cap member is configured to engage tissue adjacent to an opening of a fistula tract (Fig. 13, “second cap 205’;” Para. [0084], “Once expanded, the second cap 205′ contacts patient tissue around the vaginal side opening and thus resists withdrawal back through the fistula tract.”)
The Examiner notes that the configuration of Figs. 12 and 13 is the same in all respects except for the larger “cap 205’” of the embodiment of Fig. 13 (see Armstrong at Para. [0084], “This plug is similar to that shown in FIG. 12 except that second cap 205′ is expandable.”).
Regarding Claim 48, the combination of Armstrong and Carrison renders obvious the entirety of Claim 45 as explained above.
Armstrong additionally teaches:
wherein the cap member comprises a compressed sheet of ECM (Fig. 13, “second cap 205’;” Para. [0084], “The expandable second cap 205′ can move between a first, compacted position and a second, expanded position. When compacted, the second cap 205′ can be passed through the fistula tract. Once expanded, the second cap 205′ contacts patient tissue around the vaginal side opening and thus resists withdrawal back through the fistula tract.”).
Regarding Claim 49, the combination of Armstrong and Carrison renders obvious the entirety of Claim 36 as explained above.
Carrison additionally teaches:
further comprising a tamp member slidably positioned along the paired distal free ends of the suture (Para. [0149], “As can be understood from FIG. 98, in one embodiment, the device 5 may be deployed from the lumen of a delivery sheath or catheter 900 via a long, flexible rod or a ‘pusher’ 903;” Fig. 9B, “pusher 903” in conjunction with “delivery sheath”);
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of combined Armstrong and Carrison with the teachings of Carrison (i.e., to add such a tamp member as taught by Carrison to the device of combined Armstrong and Carrison) in order to “produce an occluding and anchoring effect” upon expansion of the “porous body” “cap” (Carrison at Para. [0099]).
The Examiner notes that Armstrong’s device is amenable to such “pushing” as required for the proposed modification (see Armstrong at Para. [0120]).
The Examiner further notes that Carrison’s “delivery sheath” and “pusher” must be slidably positioned along the paired distal free ends of Armstrong’s suture in the proposed modification by virtue of the position of Armstrong’s “paired distal free ends,” because any other position would impede the functionality of Armstrong’s device.
Regarding Claim 50, the combination of Armstrong and Carrison renders obvious the entirety of Claim 49 as explained above.
Carrison additionally teaches:
further comprising a handle member attached to the suture and positioned distal to the tamp member (Para. [0250], “Push device 3500 may comprise a handle 3502 and a distal head 3504.”).
Regarding Claim 52, the combination of Armstrong and Carrison renders obvious the entirety of Claim 49 as explained above.
Carrison additionally teaches
wherein the suture comprises a resorbable material (Para. [0145], “The connecting member 20 may be a bioresorbable and biocompatible filament or string, for example.”).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of combined Armstrong and Carrison with the teachings of Carrison (i.e., to use such a bioresorbable suture as taught by Carrison) in so that “ by the time the fistula tract is healed, the material is completely absorbed by the body” (Carrison at Para. [0135]).
Regarding Independent Claim 53, Armstrong teaches:
A method of treating an anal fistula in a mammal, comprising: (Para. [0002], “The present invention relates … to medical grafts and methods for treating fistulas;” Para. [0129], “Turning now to particular methods of the invention for delivering fistula plugs such as that shown in FIG. 12 to a fistula tract, …);
Armstrong’s device and method “for treating fistulas” may be used to treat any fistula, including anal fistulas.
introducing a device into the anal fistula, (Para. [0129], “Turning now to particular methods of the invention for delivering fistula plugs such as that shown in FIG. 12 to a fistula tract …);
the device comprising: a suture folded back on itself to define a proximal loop and paired distal free ends, (Fig. 12, “suture strand 209;” see Annotated Fig. 12, above at Rejection of Claim 36);
and a tunnel filler … retained directly on a folded portion of the suture positioned between the proximal loop and the paired distal free ends; (Fig. 12, “plug body 201;” (Para. [0081], “… the first cap 204 and second cap 205 are initially detached from elongate plug body 201, but are retained in association with plug body 201 by suture strand 209, which passes through plug body lumen 206, through and around the first cap 204, and through second cap 205;” Fig. 12; see Annotated Fig. 12, above);
It is noted that Armstrong describes a tunnel filler “retained directly on a folded portion of the suture positioned between the proximal loop and the paired distal free ends,” and teaches that the tunnel filler may be compressed (see Armstrong at Para. [0111], “ In one preferred embodiment, multiple layers of ECM material are compressed under dehydrating conditions.”) but does “connect the dots” (because Armstrong appears to compress via dehydration prior to assembly, making it unclear as to whether compression is a means of retainment) and does not disclose “wherein the tunnel filler is compressively retained.” This deficiency is addressed below.
applying pressure to an end of the tunnel filler at an end thereof (Para. [0120], “Grafts of the invention can be implanted using any suitable delivery method or placement technique. Illustratively, a graft body can be implanted by pulling or pushing the graft body into a suitable position within a fistula.”);
Armstrong does not disclose:
compressively retained
See Rejection of Claim 36 above, elaborating.
using a tamp member slidably positioned along the paired distal free ends of the suture;
removing the tamp member from the paired distal free ends of the suture;
and securing the proximal end loop of the suture to an anal side opening of the anal fistula.
Carrison teaches:
treating an anal fistula (Abstract, “Disclosed herein are implantable fistula treatment devices and related methods;” Para. [0085], “The devices 5 may be utilized to treat a variety of clinically significant fistulas 10, as appropriate, including … anal fistulas…”);
compressively retained (Para. [0083], “Upon insertion of the device 5 into the fistula tract 10 with the expandable members 15 in a collapsed or compressed state, the expandable members 15 are allowed to expand to fill the portion of the fistula tract 10 in which each expandable member 15 is located.”);
Carrison’s “expandable members 15” correspond to the “tunnel filler” of Claim 36. Carrison’s “expandable members 15” are “compressively retained” in that their compressed state is required for their insertion
using a tamp member slidably positioned along the paired distal free ends of the suture; (Para. [0149], “As can be understood from FIG. 98, in one embodiment, the device 5 may be deployed from the lumen of a delivery sheath or catheter 900 via a long, flexible rod or a ‘pusher’ 903;” Fig. 9B, “pusher 903” in conjunction with “delivery sheath”);
removing the tamp member from the paired distal free ends of the suture; (Para. [0149]);
and securing the proximal end loop of the suture to an anal side opening of the anal fistula (Para. [0180], “When positioned on the proximal surface, the suture attachment structure may include a loop or other feature to fixedly couple the suture to the foldable member.”)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Armstrong with the teachings of Carrison (i.e., to “compressively” retain Armstrong’s tunnel filler in the manner of Carrison) in order to allow for convention insertion of the tunnel filler into the fistula tract (see Carrison at Para. [0083], “It should be noted that the collapsed or compressed state allows for convenient insertion of the device 5 into the fistula tract 10.”).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Armstrong with the teachings of Carrison (i.e., to use such a tamp member as taught by Carrison for the pushing of Armstrong) in order to “produce an occluding and anchoring effect” upon expansion of the “porous body” “cap” (Carrison at Para. [0099]).
The Examiner notes that Armstrong’s device is amenable to such “pushing” as required for the proposed modification (see Armstrong at Para. [0120]).
The Examiner further notes that Carrison’s “delivery sheath” and “pusher” must be slidably positioned along the paired distal free ends of Armstrong’s suture in the proposed modification by virtue of the position of Armstrong’s “paired distal free ends,” because any other position would impede the functionality of Armstrong’s device.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Armstrong with the teachings of Carrison (i.e., to securing the proximal end loop of the suture to an anal side opening of the anal fistula in the manner of Carrison) in order to facilitate fixed coupling of the device once inserted (Carrison at Para. [0180]).
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2007/0031508 A1 to Armstrong et al. (“Armstrong”) in view of previously cited US 2016/0038128 A1 to Carrison (“Carrison”) as applied to Claim 36 above, and further in view of previously cited AU 2013257459 B2 to Fette et al. (“Fette”).
Regarding Claim 40, the combination of Armstrong and Carrison renders obvious the entirety of Claim 36 as explained above.
Armstrong additionally teaches:
wherein the tunnel filler is [positioned on] the first and second suture segments of the folded portion of the suture (Para. [0081], “… the first cap 204 and second cap 205 are initially detached from elongate plug body 201, but are retained in association with plug body 201 by suture strand 209, which passes through plug body lumen 206, through and around the first cap 204, and through second cap 205;” Fig. 12; see Annotated Fig. 12, above).
Armstrong’s tunnel filler is positioned on Armstrong’s first and second suture segments (see Rejection of Claim 36 above, elaborating), but Armstrong is silent with regard to Armstrong’s tunnel filler being “torsionally compressed” on said segments. Fette remedies this deficiency
The combination of Armstrong and Carrison does not disclose:
torsionally compressed
That is, Armstrong’s tunnel filler is positioned on Armstrong’s first and second suture segments (see Rejection of Claim 36 above, elaborating), but Armstrong is silent with regard to Armstrong’s tunnel filler being “torsionally compressed” on said segments.
Fette describes “Volumetric grafts for treatment of fistulae and related methods and systems” (Title). Fette is analogous art.
Fette teaches:
torsionally compressed (Pg. 3, Ln. 32-34, “Aspects of the present invention provide for the treatment of a fistula of the alimentary canal, such as an anorectal fistula, by filling its primary opening with a layered volumetric graft construct;” Pg. 4, Ln. 30-31; Pg. 22, Ln. 18-20, Additionally, bonding can occur or be assisted by placing a suitable bonding material or agent between the layers of the rolled construct, such as before the sheet material is rolled…”).
Fette’s “rolling” is such torsional compressing as claimed.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kawaura with the teachings of Fette (i.e., to form Kawaura’s tunnel filler via such rolling as taught by Fette) in order to increase adhesion and control stiffness (Fette at Pg. 3, Ln. 32-34; Pg. 4, Ln. 30-31; Pg. 22, Ln. 18-20).
Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2007/0031508 A1 to Armstrong et al. (“Armstrong”) in view of previously cited US 2016/0038128 A1 to Carrison (“Carrison”) as applied to Claim 36 above, and further in view of US 2005/0049626 A1 to Burgard (“Burgard”).
Regarding Claim 51, the combination of Armstrong and Carrison renders obvious the entirety of Claim 36 as explained above.
The combination of Armstrong and Carrison does not disclose:
wherein a folded length of the suture is about 20 centimeters to about 40 centimeters, inclusive.
Burgard describes “…a fistula blocker for clearing up a fistula passage with a plug-like closure device…” (Abstract). Burgard is analogous art.
Burgard teaches:
wherein a folded length of the suture is about 20 centimeters to about 40 centimeters, inclusive (Para. [0047], “The application string can have a length of about 20 cm.”)
Burgard’s application string is analogous to the folded suture of Claim 51.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of combined Armstrong and Carrison with the teachings of Burgard (i.e., to modify Armstrong’s suture such that its folded length is 20 cm in the manner of Burgard) because such a because such a modification entails only a change in size, which is a common practice the court has held normally requires only ordinary skill in the art and hence is considered a routine expedient MPEP 2144.04(IV).
Claim 54 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2007/0031508 A1 to Armstrong et al. (“Armstrong”) in view of previously cited US 2016/0038128 A1 to Carrison (“Carrison”) as applied to Claim 53 above, and further in view of previously cited US 2009/0112238 A1 to Pitts et al. (“Pitts”).
Regarding Claim 54, the combination of Armstrong and Carrison renders obvious the entirety of Claim 53 as explained above.
The combination of Armstrong and Carrison does not disclose:
wherein introducing the device into the anal fistula comprises removing a tunnel brush engaged with the proximal loop of the suture, from the tunnel filler
Pitts describes a “Fistula brush device” (Title). Pitts is analogous art.
Pitts teaches:
wherein introducing the device into the anal fistula comprises removing a tunnel brush engaged with the proximal loop of the suture, from the tunnel filler (Para. [0004], “A brush is disposed upon the elongate member between the first end portion and the second end portion. A first aperture is defined in the first end portion and a second aperture is defined in the second end portion. A first suture is disposed through the first aperture and tied to itself to define a first loop and a second suture disposed through the second aperture and tied to itself to define a second loop, wherein each of the first and second loops are configured to receive an implantable material;” Para. [0035], “As the device 10 is fully withdrawn, the second suture 180 still extends through the fistula (and the vagina and rectum).”)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of combined Armstrong and Carrison with the teachings of Pitts (i.e., to modify the method of combined Armstrong Carrison such that a brush engaged with the proximal end loop of the suture is removed ahead of introducing the tunnel filler) in order to “aid[] in the removal of any dead or unhealthy tissue bordering the fistula tract,” thereby allowing contact with healthier tissue after insertion (Carrison at Para. [0032]).
Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2007/0031508 A1 to Armstrong et al. (“Armstrong”) in view of previously cited US 2016/0038128 A1 to Carrison (“Carrison”) as applied to Claim 53 above, and further in view of previously cited US 9,238,090 B1 to Fette (“Fette ‘090”).
Regarding Claim 55, the combination of Armstrong and Carrison renders obvious the entirety of Claim 53 as explained above.
The combination of Armstrong and Carrison does not disclose:
further comprising hydrating the tunnel filler, thereby radially expanding the tunnel filler within the anal fistula to at least about two times a compressed, non- hydrated size
Fette ‘090 describes “Compositions comprising extracellular matrix (ECM) materials and methods of use thereof” (Abstract), including use in treating fistulae (Col. 9, Ln. 19-34). Fette ‘090 is analogous art.
Fette ‘090 teaches:
further comprising hydrating the tunnel filler, thereby radially expanding the tunnel filler within the anal fistula to at least about two times a compressed, non- hydrated size (Col. 6, Ln. 61-64, “…an ECM material in sheet form may be about 200 μm thick when dry, and may increase to a thickness from about 300 μm to about 500 μm when rehydrated.”)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of combined Armstrong and Carrison with the teachings of Fette ‘090 (i.e., to use such ECM material as taught by Fette ‘090 to form the tunnel filler of combined Armstrong and Carrison, and to expand the tunnel filler via rehydrating it in the manner of Fette ‘090) in order to assist with healing and tissue repair while providing sufficient structural integrity (Fette ‘090 at Col. 1, Ln. 11-25).
Art Made of Record Although Not Relied Upon
The Examiner notes the following pieces of prior art, which are deemed relevant and thus made of record although none are relied upon in any foregoing rejection:
US 2007/0239209 A1 to Fallman describes a “Technique for securing a suture” (Title) using a similar loop with free distal ends to that claimed (see at Fallman Fig. 1).
US 2008/0051831 A1 to Deal et al. describes “Devices And Methods For Occluding A Fistula” using a similar loop with free distal ends to that claimed (see Deal at Figs. 14a and 14b).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/Jennifer Pitrak McDonald/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796