DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor , regards as the invention because the phrase “ and that is moved by inflation of the first inflatable volume” lacks clear antecedent basis and renders unclear whether the trigger mechanism, the cable, or both are moved by inflation of the fist inflatable volume.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being anticipated by Maechler (US-20150307171-A1).
With respect to claim 13, Maechler teaches:
A method of operating a life preserver having one or more torso portions configured to extend over a front of a wearer' s torso in use (see Fig.1, 2a, 2b),
a neck portion configured to extend behind the wearer' s neck in use(see Fig.1, 3),
a first inflatable volume configured to provide buoyancy primarily to the one or more torso portions when inflated(see Fig. 1, 4,5,6,7),
and a second inflatable volume configured to provide buoyancy to the neck portion when inflated (see Fig. 1,8),
the method including controlling inflation of the first inflatable volume and the second inflatable volume such that the second inflatable volume begins inflation after the first inflatable volume(see Fig. 1, 10,13;paragraphs 44-48, 80).
With respect to claim 14, Maechler teaches:
A method of operating a life preserver having one or more torso portions configured to extend over a front of a wearer' s torso in use and a neck portion configured to extend behind the wearer' s neck in use (see Fig. 1,2a, 2b,3),
the method including inflating a first inflatable volume to provide buoyancy primarily to the one or more torso portions to rotate a wearer from a face-down position to a face-up position on water(see Fig .1,4,5,6,7),
and subsequently inflating a second inflatable volume configured to provide buoyancy to the neck portion to increase the distance of the wearer' s mouth from the water surface and/or to vary a face plane angle of the wearer(see Fig. 1, 8;paragraphs 44-46,79).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin et al. (US-20190077490-A1, hereafter Griffin) in view of Maechler.
With respect to claim 1, Griffin teaches a life preserver comprising:
one or more torso portions configured to extend over a front of a wearer's torso in use (see Fig.1,7,9);
a neck portion configured to extend behind the wearer' s neck in use (see Fig.1,11);
a first inflatable volume configured to provide buoyancy primarily to the one or more torso portions when inflated (see Fig.1,7,9);
a second inflatable volume configured to provide buoyancy to the neck portion when inflated(see Fig.1,11) ;
However, Griffin does not teach:
an inflation system configured to control inflation of the first inflatable volume and the second inflatable volume such that the second inflatable volume begins inflation after the first inflatable volume.
Maechler teaches an inflation system configured to control inflation of the first inflatable volume and the second inflatable volume such that the second inflatable volume begins inflation after the first inflatable volume (see Fig.5,9,41,42;see paragraphs 44-46, 84).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention’s effective filling date to modify the life jacket of Griffin to include the sequential inflation arrangement as taught by Maechler, such that the second inflatable volume begins inflation after the first inflatable volume, in order to provide controlled inflation of multiple buoyancy chambers and thereby improve the positioning and support of the wearer during flotation.
With respect to claim 2, Griffin and Maechler teach the life preserver of claim 1. Griffin also teaches that the one or more torso portions and the neck portion are formed by an outer casing, the first and second inflatable volumes being contained in a chamber defined by the outer casing (see Fig.1,7,9,11).
With respect to claim 3, Griffin and Maechler teach the life preserver of claim 2. Griffin also teaches ;
The life preserver of claim 2, wherein the outer casing has a top surface and a bottom surface that form the chamber;
wherein a baffle 66 is provided that extends between the top surface and the bottom surface, the baffle being configured to divide the chamber into a first region located on a first side of the baffle and a second region located on a second side of the baffle;
and wherein the first inflatable volume is in the first region and the second inflatable volume is in the second region (see Fig.7,3A,41A,43A,66) .
With respect to claim 4, Griffin and Maechler teach the life preserver of claim 3. Griffin also teaches the baffle extends obliquely between the top surface and the bottom surface such that the first region and the second region partially overlap one another(see Fig. 7, 66).
With respect to claim 5, Griffin and Maechler teach the life preserver of claim 1. Griffin also teaches the life preserver comprising a first inflatable bladder that provides the first inflatable volume and a second inflatable bladder that provides the second inflatable volume(see Fig. 1,41,43).
With respect to claim 6,Griffin and Maechler teach the life preserver of claim 5. Griffin also teaches :
wherein the outer casing has a top surface and a bottom surface that form the chamber;
wherein a baffle (66) is provided that extends between the top surface and the bottom surface, the baffle being configured to divide the chamber into a first region located on a first side of the baffle and a second region located on a second side of the baffle;
wherein the first inflatable volume is in the first region and the second inflatable volume is in the second region;
and wherein the baffle is configured to constrain the location of the bladders such that the first bladder in located in the first region and the second bladder is located in the second region (see Fig.7,41A,43A,66).
Respect to claim 7, Griffin and Maechler teach the life preserver of claim 6. Griffin also teaches the first bladder and the second bladder are located by the baffle such that they partially overlap one another when inflated (see Fig. 1,41,43) .
With respect to claim 8, Griffin and Maechler teach the life preserver of claim 1. Griffin also teaches the inflation system is configured to be automatically triggered by contact with water (see. Fig. 7, 47A,49A;paragraph 54).
With respect to claim 9, Griffin and Maechler teach the life preserver of claim 1. Griffin does not teach wherein the inflation system means includes a first inflator configured to inflate the first inflatable volume and a second inflator configured to inflate the second inflatable volume, the second inflator being arranged such that it is automatically triggered after the first inflator is triggered. Maechler teaches a life jacket having multiple inflatable body portions and a trigger mechanism that (see Fig.1, 10, 13) that causes a second inflator to be activated after a first inflator, thereby providing sequential inflation of separate inflatable volumes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention’s effective filling date to modify the life jacket of Griffin to include the first and second inflators and automatic trigger arrangement as taught by Maechler in order to sequentially inflate the first and second inflatable volumes to provide controlled deployment of multiple inflatable body elements.
With respect to claim 12, Griffin teaches the life preserver of claim 9, wherein the inflation system is configured to be automatically triggered by contact with water; and wherein only the first inflator is automatically triggered by contact with water (see Fig.4, 40,47).
Claim(s) 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin in view of Maechler and Miller (US-4355987-A).
With respect to claim 10, Griffin and Maechler teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 9. Neither Griffin nor Maechler teach that the second inflator is configured to be mechanically triggered by inflation of the first inflatable volume.
Miller teaches an actuating system for inflating a dual compartment life raft includes a spaced pair of inflation tanks, each mounted on a different one of the two compartments for relative movement when inflation of the raft is initiated. Miller further teaches pullout cables connected between the tank valves such that inflation of one compartment causes movement of the inflatable structure which mechanically actuates the second tank valve to initiate inflation of the second compartment see (Fig. 2, 20a, 21a,22a, 23a, 26a, 27a,28a,29a). Miller further teaches that partial inflation of the raft moves the tanks further apart, thereby pulling the connected cable from its valve and automatically completing the inflation process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention’s effective filling date to modify the life jacket of Griffin as modified by Maechler to include the mechanically actuated secondary inflator arrangement as taught by Miller, in order to utilize the inflation of the first inflatable volume to mechanically actuate the second inflator and thereby simplify the sequential inflation arrangement to improve automatic deployment reliability, and ensure inflation of multiple inflatable volume without requiring separate manual activation.
With respect to claim 11, Griffin and Maechler do not teach the life preserver of claim 10, wherein the second inflator includes a trigger mechanism and cable coupled to the first inflatable volume, and that is moved by inflation of the first inflatable volume, the movement of the cable operating the trigger mechanism and triggering operation of the second inflator to inflate the second inflatable volume.
Miller teaches uses an actuating system including pullout cables coupled between inflation tank valves of respective inflatable compartments. Miller further teaches that inflation of a first inflatable compartment causes movement of the compartments relative to one another , thereby moving the connected cable and mechanically actuating the second tank valve to initiate inflation of the second inflatable compartment . Miller additionally teaches that partial inflation of the raft moves the tanks further apart, thereby pulling the connected cable from its valve and automatically completing inflation of the second compartment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention’s effective filling date to modify the life jacket of Griffin as modified by Maechler to include the cable actuated trigger mechanism as taught by Miller, in order to provide reliable sequential inflation of multiple inflatable volumes, improve automatic deployment performance, and reduce the need for separate manual activation of additional inflators.
Conclusion
/K.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/MARC BURGESS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615