DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-4 and 6 in the reply filed on 8/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-11, 14-17, 19, 20, 22-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Liu (CN 108740366), previously made of record by Applicant.
Regarding Claims 1-3, Liu teaches an additive for a forage inoculant (Paragraph 24 of machine translation previously provided by the Examiner), comprising at least two components capable of reducing non-CO2 greenhouse gas emissions from forage conservation, as Liu teaches a component capable of facilitating conversion of N20 to N2 by non-denitrifying N20-reducing organisms which includes acetate (Paragraphs 65- 70 of the machine translation), which is recited in Claims 2-3 as being one of the claimed components of the additive. Liu also teaches the forage additive includes a buffer which is conducive to the production of a small amount of lactic acid in the early stage of fermentation to inhibit growth of miscellaneous bacteria and can also inhibit methanogenic bacteria from using the fermentation product acetic acid to produce methane (Paragraph 24 of machine translation), where the buffer used to prevent methane formation meets the limitation of a component capable of inhibiting microbial denitrification activity or methanogenesis, which is also recited in Claims 2-3 as being one of the claimed components of the additive.
Regarding Claim 6, since the claim depends from Claim 2 which recites the limitation of a N20 reducing enrichment culture as one of the possible components and not required, and Claim 6 also does not require the claimed enrichment culture, and Liu teaches the other two components recited in Claim 2, the limitation of the claim is deemed to be met by meeting the limitation of Claim 2, as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 108740366), previously made of record by Applicant, in view of Prins and Seekles (1967).
Regarding Claim 4, Liu is taken as cited above in the rejection of Claims 1-3 and teach where the component capable of facilitating the conversion of N20 to N2 by non-denitrifying N20-reducing organisms is an acetate or lactate, or set forth above, and also teaches a component capable of inhibiting methanogenesis as Liu also teaches the forage additive includes a buffer which is conducive to the production of a small amount of lactic acid in the early stage of fermentation to inhibit growth of miscellaneous bacteria and can also inhibit methanogenic bacteria from using the fermentation product acetic acid to produce methane (Paragraph 24 of machine translation). Therefore, the buffer used to prevent methane formation meets the limitation of a component capable of inhibiting microbial denitrification activity or methanogenesis. However, Liu does not teach where the component capable of inhibiting methanogenesis is chlorate or chlorite.
Prins and Seekles teaches of components that influence rumen digestion and processes (Abstract) and teaches that chlorates are bactericidal after reduction to the very toxic chlorite anion (Page 885, Column 2, Paragraph 1). Therefore, since Liu teaches of components used in the forage additive to inhibit growth of miscellaneous bacteria and can also inhibit methanogenic bacteria from using fermentation products to produce methane, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have added a component such as chlorate to the forage additive as it is known to possess bactericidal functionality and can aid in the inhibition of growth of bacteria including methanogenic bacteria, therefore reducing or inhibiting methane gas formation in the forage.
Conclusion
JENNA A. WATTS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1791
/JENNA A WATTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791 8/31/2026