DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed October 2, 2026. Applicant has amended claims 1 and 3. Claim 6 has been cancelled. New claims 17-24 have been added. Currently, claims 1-3, 5 and 9-24 remain pending in the application.
Initially, the examiner asserts that the claim status identifier for claim 5 should read “previously presented” since claim 5 is not currently amended.
The rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments and remarks.
The rejection of claims 1-3, 5 and 9-16 under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kulkarni et al, US 2020/0352832, is maintained for the reasons of record.
The rejection of claims 1-2, 5, 9-10, 12 and 14-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al, WO 2021/129968, is maintained for the reasons of record.
NEW GROUNDS OF REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 contains the trademarks/trade names “Nerolin Yara Yara” (line 9), “Lyral” (line 11), “nerolin bromelia” (line 25), “Javanol” (line 32), and “cashmeran” (line 33). Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe products and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for containing the double inclusion limitation “tricyclodecenyl acetate (tricyclodecenyl acetate)” in line 14. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for containing the limitation “2-isobutyl-4 hydroxy-4-methyltetrahydropyranol (Florosa)” in lines 19-20. This limitation renders the claim vague and indefinite, since it is unclear if the limitation that appears in the parenthesis is required. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kulkarni et al, US 2020/0352832.
Kulkarni et al, US 2020/0352832, discloses an oral care composition containing a potassium silicate, an orally acceptable carrier, and a core-shell silica particle (see abstract and paragraphs 6 and 20). It is further taught by Kulkarni et al that the oral care composition contains a second metal silicate (see paragraph 21), that the oral care composition contains at least 2 layers of silica core-shells (see paragraph 31), that the shell has a thickness of 10 nm (see paragraphs 35 and 41), that the oral care composition contains water (see paragraphs 62 and 64), that the oral care composition contains an anti-bacterial agent in the core shell silica particles in an amount of 0.001-0.075% by weight (see paragraphs 67-68), and that the oral care composition contains surfactants (see paragraphs 69, 76 and 88), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note Examples 1-4 and Tables 1-3, wherein Examples 3-4 contain 0.457% by weight of potassium silicate, and 2.75% by weight of surfactants. Based on the disclosure of Kulkarni et al, the examiner asserts that the mass ratio of surfactant to benefit agent is 36-2750 (i.e., 2.75% surfactant and 0.001-0.075% anti-bacterial agent) and that the mass ratio of silicate to benefit agent is 457 (i.e., .457% potassium silicate and 0.001% anti-bacterial agent). Although Kulkarni et al is silent with respect to the oil-water interfacial tension value of their functional agent, the examiner asserts that the functional agents disclosed in Kulkarni et al would inherently meet the oil-water interfacial tension requirements of the instant invention, since products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Therefore, instant claims 17 and 22-24 are anticipated by Kulkarni et al, US 2020/0352832.
In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed composition, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
Claims 17-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al, WO 2021/129968.
Pan et al, WO 2021/129968, discloses a microcapsule comprising a core containing a benefit agent, a shell comprising silica, wherein the shell has an average thickness of 1-1000 nm, and the benefit agent is a fragrance or pro-fragrance (see abstract and page 2, lines 9-15). It is further taught by Pan et al that the microcapsule contains an inorganic material, such as a silicate and a zeolite (see page 6, lines 1-12), that suitable fragrances include linalool (see page 7, lines 20-26), that the fragrance comprises 10-85% by weight of the microcapsule (see page 8, lines 15-18), that the microcapsule is part of a cosmetic composition, wherein the cosmetic composition contains 0.01-5% by weight of the microcapsule and a carrier (see page 9, lines 25-30), that the carrier comprises 1-85% by weight of water (see page 10, lines 1-4), and that the microcapsule is also a part of a hair composition that contains 1-50% by weight of a surfactant (see page 10, lines 20-29 and page 11, lines 11-24), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note Examples 1-4 and Tables 1-5. Based on the disclosure of Pan et al, the examiner asserts that the mass ratio of surfactant to benefit agent is 100:1 (i.e., 50% surfactant and 10% perfume in 5% capsule which is .5 divided by (.10 times .05) which equals 100:1). Although Pan et al is silent with respect to the ClogP and oil-water interfacial tension values of their linalool fragrance, the examiner asserts that the linalool fragrance disclosed in Pan et al would inherently meet the ClogP and oil-water interfacial tension requirements of the instant invention, since products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.
Although Pan et al generally discloses a cosmetic/hair composition containing a silicate, the reference does not require such cosmetic/hair compositions containing this component with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have formulated a cosmetic/hair composition, as taught by Pan et al, which contained a silicate, because such cosmetic/hair compositions fall within the scope of those taught by Pan et al. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success, because such a cosmetic/hair composition containing a silicate is expressly suggested by the Pan et al disclosure and therefore is an obvious formulation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Kulkarni et al, US 2020/0352832, does not teach or suggest in general a silica capsule enclosing a specific functional agent, as required by applicant in the newly amended claims. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically, the examiner respectfully maintains that Kulkarni et al clearly discloses an oral care composition containing a potassium silicate, an orally acceptable carrier, and a core-shell silica particle (see abstract and paragraphs 6 and 20), wherein the oral care composition contains a second metal silicate (see paragraph 21), that the oral care composition contains at least 2 layers of silica core-shells (see paragraph 31), that the shell has a thickness of 10 nm (see paragraphs 35 and 41), that the oral care composition contains water (see paragraphs 62 and 64), and that the oral care composition contains an anti-bacterial agent in the core shell silica particles in an amount of 0.001-0.075% by weight (see paragraphs 67-68), per the requirements of the newly amended claims.
Applicant further argues that Pan et al, WO 2021/129968, does not teach or suggest in general a silica capsule enclosing a specific functional agent, as required by applicant in the newly amended claims. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically, the examiner respectfully maintains that Pan et al clearly discloses a microcapsule comprising a core containing a benefit agent, a shell comprising silica that has an average thickness of 1-1000 nm, that the benefit agent is a fragrance or pro-fragrance (see abstract and page 2, lines 9-15), that the microcapsule contains an inorganic material, such as a silicate and a zeolite (see page 6, lines 1-12), and that suitable fragrances include linalool (see page 7, lines 20-26), per the requirements of the newly amended claims. Furthermore, the examiner asserts that applicant’s results in Examples 1-1 through 1-16 and 2-1 through 2-3 of the instant specification are not commensurate in scope with the instant claims, as required in MPEP 716.02(d). Accordingly, the examiner asserts that applicant has not shown that the unexpected results occur over the entire claim range.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN P MRUK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
Brian P Mruk
November 4, 2026