DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Application filed on June 17,2024.
Claims 1-11 are presented for Examination. Claim 1 is independent.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Suggested title “an induction motor with unknown electrical constants” as refer to [0003] of the disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Specifically, Claim 8 recites the following limitations:"...based on the voltage values of V1, the value at which the control voltage converges after the first DC energization, V2, the value of the control voltage immediately after the second DC energization of a different value, and V3... the resistance constant, which is the resistance component of the electrical constant."
A thorough review of the originally filed specification and drawings reveals no explicit or inherent disclosure of the variables "V1" and "V2," nor is there any description of the specific methodology of taking a voltage measurement "converging after a first DC energization" and a measurement "immediately after the second DC energization" to determine a resistance constant.
To satisfy the written description requirement under MPEP § 2163, the original disclosure must demonstrate that the applicant had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date. Because the specification lacks any text, formulas, flowcharts, or diagrams detailing this specific multi-stage measurement technique and the associated variables (V1, V2), a person of ordinary skill in the art would not recognize this specific methodology as being part of the applicant's originally contemplated invention.(Note to Applicant: If the Examiner has overlooked a portion of the original disclosure where this subject matter is described—perhaps using different terminology—Applicant is respectfully requested to point out the exact page and line numbers in the originally filed specification where support for these limitations can be found. Otherwise, the claim must be cancelled or amended to reflect only originally disclosed subject matter, as adding the definitions of V1 and V2 to the specification now would constitute impermissible new matter under 35 U.S.C. 132(a).)
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 1 recites the limitations of “a fixing mechanism that can fix the rotation shaft” . The shaft has not been introduced. It should be “a rotation shaft of the three-phase induction motor”. Also, the limitations “ the current” in line 6 has lack of antecedent issue. It should be “a current”.
In claim 4 recites the limitations of “the coordinate axis” in line 3 has a lack of antecedent issue.
In claim 5 recites the limitations of “the Cartesian coordinate axes of the axes”, inline 3 lacks antecedent and this is a redundant .
Since the independent claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and hence the dependent claims of 1 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaitani et al (US 6066934).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kaitani et al disclose that a drive unit for induction motor (Fig.1) comprising,
a three-phase induction motor (Fig.1:102),
a fixing mechanism that can fix the rotation shaft of the three-phase induction motor (col. 13, lns. 49-50),
an inverter (Fig.1:101) that drives the three-phase induction motor,
a current detecting means (Fig.1: 103) that detects the current of the three-phase induction motor,
obtaining the detected current by the current detecting means and control the three-phase induction motor by the inverter(eqn. 11),
with the three-phase induction motor fixed to the rotating shaft by the fixing mechanism, DC current and three-phase AC current are energized using the inverter, and the control voltage obtained as a result of this energization is used to measure the electrical constant of the three-phase induction motor (col. 15, lns.25-50).
Regarding claim 2, Kaitani et al disclose that wherein the DC current to be energized is two or more stages (Col.16, lns 30-35).
Regarding claim 3, Kaitani et al disclose that wherein the three-phase alternating current to be energized is at least two or more three-phase alternating currents with different frequencies (Col. 13, lns.30-35).
Regarding claim 4, Kaitani et al disclose that wherein the control of the current to be energized shall be controlled on the coordinate axis according to the current phase output by the inverter, and the voltage to be acquired to measure the electrical constants shall be the value on the coordinate axis (Fig.5; P,Q).
Regarding claim 5, Kaitani et al disclose that wherein the control of the current to be energized shall be controlled on the Cartesian coordinate axes of the axes according to the current phase output by the inverter (Fig.1:101),
and control shall be performed so that the current becomes a predetermined current on one axis and zero current on the other axis,
and based on the voltage value obtained on the Cartesian coordinate axes as a result measuring the electrical constant (Fig.6).
Regarding claim 6, Kaitani et al disclose that in addition to the three-phase alternating current energized by the inverter, the drive unit for induction motors is providing a period during which a current is energized at a frequency different from that of the three-phase alternating current and that is an alternating current (Col. 13, lns.40-45).
Regarding claim 7, Kaitani et al disclose that the frequency of the three-phase AC current energized by the inverter is a low frequency AC of 5% or less of the rated drive frequency of the three-phase induction motor (Col. 13, lns. 50-55; 10Hz).
Regarding claim 8, Kaitani et al disclose that the DC current to be energized is two steps, and based on the voltage values of V1, the value at which the control voltage converges after the first DC energization, V2, the value of the control voltage immediately after the second DC energization of a different value, and V3, the value at which the control voltage converges after the second DC energization, the resistance constant, which is the resistance component of the electrical constant (Col. 17, lns.55-65)
Regarding claim 9, Kaitani et al disclose that the three-phase alternating current shall be energized after the DC current is energized in at least two stages, and the secondary time constant of the three-phase induction motor shall be measured based on the voltage values of the respective control voltages obtained by energizing the DC current and the three-phase alternating current (Fig.7).
Regarding claim 10, Kaitani et al disclose that after energizing said DC current, at least two types of alternating current shall be energized as three-phase alternating current, and the secondary time constant of the three-phase induction motor is measured based on the voltage values of the respective control voltages obtained by energizing said DC current and said three-phase alternating current (Col.15, lns.55-60).
Regarding claim 11, Kaitani et al disclose that the process of energizing two different frequencies of alternating current as three-phase alternating current after energizing said DC current shall be performed multiple times with different amplitudes of said DC current,
and the secondary time constant of the induction motor and the set value of the excitation current are measured based on the voltage values of the respective control voltages obtained by energizing the DC current and the three-phase AC current (Col. 17, lns.25-40).
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD S ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846