DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bischoff (US 2020/0189174).
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 10-11, Bischoff discloses a method for producing a bent thermoplastic composite (par. 0001), said thermoplastic composite comprising 55% volume in fiber in at least one example (par. 0105) and “about 55%” (par. 01, and a polymeric matrix including (meth)acrylic polymers (par. 0051 lists at least one example of PMMA), said method comprising:
(a) a step of providing the thermoplastic composite (par. 0073 – pultrusion device 10 which provides composite bar 11; par. 0074);
(b) a step of heating a portion of the thermoplastic composite (par. 0019), said heating being ultrasonic or IR (par. 0009), and a heating duration/temperature are based on the mass/diameter of the composite bar (par. 0108);
(c) a step of creating a bent portion (par. 0106) by bending the heated portion (Figs. 3-5 and others showing the bending of the heated portion of the composite);
(d) a step of cooling the bent section to solidify it and form a bent thermoplastic composite (par. 0046, 0095-0096) and the cooling parameters would be based on the glass transition temperature of the composite (par. 0108).
Bischoff does not explicitly disclose that the thermoplastic composite has at least 65% fiber (but instead has 55%).
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that there are more workable values for the amount of fiber/polymer in a given composite and that the properties would predictably change upon adjusting the ratio of fiber/polymer. It has been held that where the prior art discloses the general conditions of a claim, it is not inventive to find the optimum or workable ranges. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have specified that the fiber volume is 65% instead of the disclosed 55% fiber.
Please see “response to arguments” section below for a further discussion on this limitation.
Regarding claim 2, Bischoff discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that heating can be conducted using IR heating (par. 0009), as background information.
It is noted that the claim recites “radial heating” but this would seem to be “radiant” not “radial” heating from context as the “preferably” portion of the claim which is read as an example, recites “IR heating.”
Regarding claims 3-5 and 8-9, Bischoff discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the plastic/polymer has a glass transition temperature of 50 C, 80 C, 90 C, 100 C, up to 130 C, 140 C, and 150 C (par. 0047) to which it would be required to be heated in order to deform the material, and a heating duration of 10-20 seconds (par. 0103) which is less than the claimed “equal to or less than 95 seconds.”
Regarding claim 7, Bischoff discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the polymer in the composite can be crosslinked but does not have to be crosslinked (par. 0047) and can be partially crosslinked (at least 25%, 50%, 70%, 90% - par. 0047), but only one of these conditions is required to meet the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments will be addressed below.
In response, Examiner first submits that it is well-known in the art that the amount of fiber and/or polymer (and/or any other additives) in a composite would be a result-effective variable upon the properties of the object produced. A composite with less fiber and more resin would be more malleable and have reduced finishing strength than a composite with more fiber and less resin. Furthermore, the teaching of “about 55%” is only marginally less fiber than one including “65%” fiber. Applicant’s argument (see p. 8, Remarks) with respect to any advantageous properties is not found to be persuasive additionally because these (mechanical and physical) properties are not shown to be critical to the claimed range(s). Furthermore, the language “improves mechanical and chemical properties of the bent section” as a disclosure is not meaningful as it does not describe any specific type of property that is improved but only briefly refers to mechanical and chemical properties which are not apparently supported by the evidence of record. As such, this argument is not found to be persuasive.
Additionally, Bischoff, par. 0108 clearly teaches that the process parameters, including the percentage of the fibers used in the composite bar, can be adjusted depending on the configuration of the bending device and the selected plastic material, or some other required factor with the process as described here. As such, this clearly would have also been recognized in the reference as being a result-effective variable – and also, it is not considered inventive to discover the workable or optimum ranges where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art. Examiner submits that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a composite with “about 55%” fiber would have been predictably similar to one having “65%” fiber. There is no evidence of record that supports the idea that this 65% value is of any significance or would have any superior properties that would have been unexpected based on the routine optimization. Accordingly, the rejections are maintained as outlined above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742