DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 3/13/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 12-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 5-6, the term “preferably” is read similarly as the phrase "such as" and thus renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Other dependent claims 4 and 7-11 are also rejected at least due to their dependence or ultimate dependence upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bischoff (US 2020/0189174).
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 10-11, Bischoff discloses a method for producing a bent thermoplastic composite (par. 0001), said thermoplastic composite comprising 55% volume in fiber in at least one example (par. 0105) and “about 55%” (par. 01, and a polymeric matrix including (meth)acrylic polymers (par. 0051 lists at least one example of PMMA), said method comprising:
(a) a step of providing the thermoplastic composite (par. 0073 – pultrusion device 10 which provides composite bar 11; par. 0074);
(b) a step of heating a portion of the thermoplastic composite (par. 0019), said heating being ultrasonic or IR (par. 0009), and a heating duration/temperature are based on the mass/diameter of the composite bar (par. 0108);
(c) a step of creating a bent portion (par. 0106) by bending the heated portion (Figs. 3-5 and others showing the bending of the heated portion of the composite);
(d) a step of cooling the bent section to solidify it and form a bent thermoplastic composite (par. 0046, 0095-0096) and the cooling parameters would be based on the glass transition temperature of the composite (par. 0108).
Bischoff does not explicitly disclose that the thermoplastic composite has at least 65% fiber (but instead has 55%).
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that there are more workable values for the amount of fiber/polymer in a given composite and that the properties would predictably change upon adjusting the ratio of fiber/polymer. It has been held that where the prior art discloses the general conditions of a claim, it is not inventive to find the optimum or workable ranges. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have specified that the fiber volume is 65% instead of the disclosed 55% fiber.
Regarding claim 2, Bischoff discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that heating can be conducted using IR heating (par. 0009), as background information.
It is noted that the claim recites “radial heating” but this would seem to be “radiant” not “radial” heating from context as the “preferably” portion of the claim which is read as an example, recites “IR heating.”
Regarding claims 3-5 and 8-9, Bischoff discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the plastic/polymer has a glass transition temperature of 50 C, 80 C, 90 C, 100 C, up to 130 C, 140 C, and 150 C (par. 0047) to which it would be required to be heated in order to deform the material, and a heating duration of 10-20 seconds (par. 0103) which is less than the claimed “equal to or less than 95 seconds.”
Regarding claim 7, Bischoff discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the polymer in the composite can be crosslinked but does not have to be crosslinked (par. 0047) and can be partially crosslinked (at least 25%, 50%, 70%, 90% - par. 0047), but only one of these conditions is required to meet the claim.
Conclusion
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742