DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Turning to the rejection(s) of the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102, it is noted that the terminology in a pending application's claims is to be given its broadest reasonable
interpretation (In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989))
and limitations from a pending application's specification will not be read into the claims
(Sjolund v. Musland, 847 F.2d 1573, 1581-82, 6 USPQ2d 2020, 2027 (Fed. Cir. 1988)).
Anticipation under 35 U.S.C. § 102 is established only when a single prior art
reference discloses, either expressly or under the principles of inherency, each and
every element of a claimed invention. See Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices. Inc.,
848 F.2d 1560, 1570, 7 USPQ2d 1057, 1064 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 892
(1988); RCA Corp. v. Applied Digital Data Sys., Inc., 730 F.2d 1440, 1444, 221 USPQ
385, 388 (Fed. Cir. 1984). Moreover, anticipation by a prior art reference does not
require either the inventive concept of the claimed subject matter or the recognition of
properties that are inherently possessed by the prior art reference. Verdegaal Brothers
Inc. v. Union Oil co. of California, 814 F.2d 628, 633, 2 USPQ2d 1051, 1054 (Fed. Cir.
1987), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 827 (1987). A prior art reference anticipates the subject
matter of a claim when that reference discloses each and every element set forth in the
claim (In re Paulsen, 30 F.3d 1475, 1478-79, 31 USPQ2d 1671, 1673 (Fed. Cir. 1994)
and In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 708, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1657 (Fed. Cir. 1990));
however, the law of anticipation does not require that the reference teach what
Applicant is claiming, but only that the claims "read on” something disclosed in the
reference. Kalman v. Kimberly-Clark Corp., 713 F.2d 760, 772, 218 USPQ 781, 789
(Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1026 (1984) (and overruled in part on another
issue), SRI Intel v. Matsushita Elec. Corp. Of Am., 775 F.2d 1107, 1118, 227 USPQ
577, 583 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Also, a reference anticipates a claim if it discloses the
claimed invention such that a skilled artisan could take its teachings in combination with
his own knowledge of the particular art and be in possession of the invention. See In re
Graves, 69 F.3d 1147, 1152, 36 USPQ2d 1697, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 116 S.Ct. 1362 (1996), quoting from In re LeGrice, 301 F.2d 929, 936, 133 USPQ 365, 372 (CCPA 1962).
Regarding the § 102 rejection over Kim, Applicant argues that “Kim does not disclose or suggest the particulars of independent claim 18 as amended. Namely, a steam inlet located at a lateral center of the accommodation space 101 and being located closer to a rear end of the accommodation space 101 than to a longitudinal center, with respect to the first direction X on a bottom of the accommodation space 101 or adjacent to the bottom of the accommodation space 101.” Examiner disagrees.
Firstly, Kim discloses inlets (60) and (106) that are fully capable of the intended use of inletting steam (note no structural cooperative language to the recited steam generator). And since Kim expressly discloses use of a steam generator and circulating treating air, the inlets of Kim are fully capable of inletting steam.
Secondly, inlet (60) reads on the arrangement configuration of being located closer to a rear end of the accommodation space than to a longitudinal center, as can be see in Fig. 2.
Notwithstanding this, even if one were to argue that such arrangement of the inlet is not taught in Kim such Rearrangement of Parts would appear to produce the same and predictable steam supplying results. Applicant is silent with respect to any unexpected or unpredictable result from such configuration, and such results are not readily apparent based on the current record. It is noted that both Applicant’s device and Kim’s device are directed to treating shoes with steam.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 10-2021-0085188 A to Kim et al. (“Kim”; Nat. Stage Appl. Pub US 2022/0313061 cited as unofficial translation).
Regarding claim 18, Kim (in Figs. 1-3, 8, and associated text) discloses a shoes care device (1) comprising:
an inner cabinet (main body 10) having an accommodation space (30) configured to accommodate shoes therein, the inner cabinet having a main opening (see Fig. 2) that is open in a first direction from a rear to a front of the inner cabinet;
a door (20) configured to open and close the main opening;
a connection path defining a flow path through which air in the accommodation space is introduced from the opening thereinto and then discharged therefrom into the accommodation space (see Fig. 3 and arrows showing air flow through a connection path);
a blower (fan 44) located in the connection path, the blower being configured to move the air along the connection path;
a dehumidifier (condenser 43) located in the connection path, the dehumidifier being configured to dehumidify the air in the connection path;
a steam generator (not shown; see ¶ [0075]) configured to generate steam, and
a steam inlet (60) in communication with the accommodation space, the steam inlet being located at a lateral center of the accommodation space and being located closer to a rear end of the accommodation space than to a longitudinal center, with respect to the first direction on a bottom of the accommodation space or adjacent to the bottom of the accommodation space (see Fig. 2, note steam inlet 106 is centered from left to right and slightly to the rear of center of front to back which reads on “rear center” as claimed; note any location on the rear half of center reads on being located at the “rear”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim.
Kim, supra, discloses the claimed invention including a steam inlet. Examiner’s primary position is that Kim anticipates the invention as claimed with a steam inlet being located “at a lateral center of the accommodation space and being located closer to a rear end of the accommodation space than to a longitudinal center.” Even if assuming, arguendo, that the location is construed to be not located at a lateral center of the accommodation space, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to rearrange the location of the steam inlet as desired to achieve a steam treatment of shoes, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C) regarding Obviousness and Rearrangement of Parts.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joseph L. Perrin, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Joseph L. Perrin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711