DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 2, the term “polyethylenimine” should read “polyethyleneimine”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 7, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 2, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 4, the transitional word “or”, “and” or “and/or” appears to be missing between groups (ii) and (iii).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by De Rose (WO 2017036917).
With respect to claims 1 and 7, De Rose discloses a detergent composition comprising a surfactant or surfactant system. See pages 12-16. The detergent composition additionally includes a lipase. See pages 4-6. Page 22 further indicates that the detergent composition includes an alkoxylated polyethyleneimine (“polyethyleneimine, ethoxylated”). Page 13 further states that a biosurfactant, such as a rhamnolipid, is provided.
With respect to claim 3, De Rose discloses the detergent composition as described above. Because De Rose teaches the detergent composition of claim 1, it is understood that it displays the claimed washing efficacy – i.e., improved fat removal under wash compared to when no booster is present.
With respect to claim 4, De Rose discloses the detergent composition as described above. De Rose states on page 2 that the lipase has at least 90 percent sequence identity with the wild type lipase derived from Humicola lanuginosa strain DSM 4109. Paragraph [0036] of Applicant’s printed publication identifies this lipase as SEQ ID NO: 1.
With respect to claim 5, De Rose discloses the detergent composition as described above. De Rose further states on page 6 that the composition includes other enzymes, such as a protease, cellulase, pectate lyase and mannanase.
With respect to claim 6, De Rose discloses a corresponding method for washing and cleaning laundry using the detergent composition (“The liquid detergency composition according to the invention preferably comprises surfactant and more preferably comprises detersive surfactant. By detersive surfactant is meant that the surfactant provides a detersive (i.e. cleaning effect) to textile fabrics treated as part of a cleaning, preferably a laundering, process”; “Preferably the liquid detergency composition according to the invention is a liquid laundry composition”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Rose (WO 2017036917) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Nakanishi (US 20160355761) and/or Christensen (US 20020082183).
De Rose discloses the detergent composition as described above. De Rose further states that the composition includes a lipase and an alkoxylated polyethyleneimine, such as ethoxylated polyethyleneimine. See, for example, the compositions listed in the Table on pages 21 and 22. De Rose, however, does not appear to teach that the composition includes guanidine hydrochloride.
Nakanishi discloses a liquid laundry detergent composition comprising a surfactant and a bacteria-eliminating active agent. Nakanishi indicates in paragraphs [0038], [0039], [0047] and [0048] and Examples 2-4 that the bacteria-eliminating active agent may be guanidine hydrochloride.
Christensen discloses a liquid laundry detergent composition comprising a surfactant and one or more enzymes, such as a lipase. See paragraph [0052]. Paragraph [0060] indicates that the detergent composition may include a variety of adjunct ingredients, such as guanidine hydrochloride.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to include guanidine hydrochloride as a booster in the De Rose laundry composition. Nakanishi and Christensen indicate guanidine hydrochloride is an adjunct ingredient suitable for inclusion in a detergent. Nakanishi further states that guanidine hydrochloride provides a beneficial antimicrobial effect. Because the De Rose laundry detergent is used to clean clothes, those of ordinary skill would have naturally been interested boosters that function as a bacteria-eliminating active agent.
Conclusion
/NATHAN A BOWERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799