DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
expandable structure in claim 1 and claim 13
guiding structure in claim 10
collecting element in claim 11
capturing element in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the inflatable balloons" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “substantially” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Conical has been rendered indefinite by the use of the term substantially.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a lumen for fluid flow and fragment passage" in line 2. It is not clear if this is referring to the lumen disclosed in claim 1. For the purposes of art rejection the lumens in both claims will be considered to be the same lumen.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the occlusion fragments" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the occlusion fragments" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: please change “the expandable structure is a non-expanded configuration” to “the expandable structure in a non-expanded configuration”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: please change “the step of expanding” to “expanding”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: please change “the step of expanding” to “expanding”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: please change “the step of guiding” to “guiding”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: please change “the step of collecting” to “collecting”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-12 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leon-Yip (US 2021/0085360A1) in view of Eidenschink (US 2013/0345796A1).
Leon-Yip discloses a catheter device for extracting an occlusion from a blood vessel including a shaft (320; Fig. 2) having proximal and distal ends. An expandable structure (30; [0054]) includes a proximal portion and a distal portion and is coupled to or adjacent the distal end of the shaft (Fig. 2). The expandable structure is capable of expanding radially around the shaft. A lumen disposed within tube (20) for fluid flow and fragment passage (Fig. 6). A single inflatable balloon is positioned circumferentially around the lumen. The proximal portion of the expandable structure includes one or more fragmentors (306; Fig. 2; [0059-0062]). However, Leon-Yip does not disclose inflatable balloons, a plurality of balloons positioned circumferentially around the lumen.
In the same field of endeavor, inflatable balloons around a lumen, Eidenschink teaches an embodiment in which a balloon has a single annular compartment (Fig. 8c) and an embodiment in which a balloon is formed of a plurality of inflatable compartments (542; [0066]; Fig. 8d) that are disposed circumferentially around a lumen. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the balloon of Leon-Yip with a balloon formed of a plurality of inflatable balloons, as taught by Eidenschink, as this modification involves the simple substitution of one type of balloon for another for the predictable result of providing an inflatable balloon.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Leon-Yip and Eidenschink discloses that the proximal portion of the expandable structure is tapered (Fig. 2; Leon-Yip).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Leon-Yip and Eidenschink discloses that the proximal portion includes a plurality of tethers (one or more struts of the expandable structure; Fig. 2; Leon-Yip).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Leon-Yip and Eidenschink discloses that the one or more fragmentors include cutters in the form of cutting edges [0060; Leon-Yip].
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the combination of Leon-Yip and Eidenschink discloses that the one or more fragmentors are aligned with the proximal portion of the expandable structure [0060; Leon-Yip] and are capable of guiding occlusion fragments towards the lumen by utilizing the profiled and oriented fragmentors.
Regarding claims 7 and 10-12, the combination of Leon-Yip and Eidenschink discloses that the expandable structure is an expandable scaffold (Fig.1, 2; Leon-Yip). The distal portion of the expandable structure includes a collecting element (380; Leon-Yip) that is capable of allowing fluid flow therethrough. The device includes a lumen about which the inflatable balloons are disposed and a guiding structure in the form of a suction tube that is capable of guiding fragments towards the lumen [0080; Leon-Yip].
Claim(s) 13-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leon-Yip (US 2021/0085360A1) in view of Eidenschink (US 2013/0345796A1) in view of Garrison et al. (US 2022/0287817A1, Garrison”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Leon-Yip and Eidenschink as disclosed above in claim 1, teaches advancing the device through the occlusion until the proximal portion of the device protrudes partially or completely beyond the occlusion (Fig. 9; Leon-Yip). The expandable structure is expanded (Fig. 10; [0085-0089]).
However, the combination of Leon-Yip and Eidenschink does not disclose advancing a catheter along the vessel, advancing a device of claim 1 through the catheter and the device is retrieved so as to fragment the occlusion. In the same field of endeavor, devices for removing obstructive material, Garrison teaches a method including a catheter (103; [0164]) that is advanced along the vessel and the device is advanced through the catheter. A device is advanced through the occlusion until the proximal portion of the device protrudes partially or completely beyond the occlusion [0164]. The device is retrieved so as to fragment the occlusion [0166, 0168, 0169, 0173, 0174]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the method of the combination of Leon-Yip and Eidenschink with the method, as taught by Garrison, to provide means for safely delivering the device of the combination of Leon-Yip and Eidenschink and efficiently removing fragments of the occlusion to reduce the risk of embolization.
Regarding claims 14-16, the combination of Leon-Yip, Eidenschink and Garrison discloses that the device is advanced through the catheter or occlusion in a non-expanded configuration [0165; Garrison] and the when expanded the expandable structure is a scaffold (Fig. 10; Garrison). Expanding the expandable structure includes inflating a plurality of inflatable balloons (Fig. 8D; [0066]; Leon-Yip).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, the combination of Leon-Yip, Eidenschink and Garrison discloses guiding occlusion fragments towards the lumen and collecting occlusion fragments [0166; Garrison].
Regarding claims 19-21, the combination of Leon-Yip, Eidenschink and Garrison discloses retrieving the device through the occlusion or through the catheter with the expandable structure in a non-expanded configuration [0166-0168; Garrison]. The system further includes a capturing element (380; Leon-Yip).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schwartz (US 2004/0199191A1).
Regarding claim 22, Schwartz discloses a catheter device for extracting an occlusion from a blood vessel including a shaft having a proximal end and a distal end. An expandable balloon (18; Fig. 1) has a proximal portion (34) and a distal portion (38) and is coupled to or adjacent the distal end of the shaft [(16);0020]. The expandable balloon is capable of expanding radially around the shaft [0022]. The proximal portion of the balloon includes one or more cutters (26a,b).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sanchez Garcia (US 2018/0318560A1) discloses an expandable structure including multiple inflatable balloon encompassing a catheter shaft. The expandable structure includes a substantially conical or tapered portion and a lumen through which fluid may flow (Fig. 1).
Tilson et al. (US 2015/0141917A1) discloses an inflatable balloon formed of a plurality of inflatable flutes (84; Fig. 21, 22) that are positioned circumferentially around a lumen and vanes (186) that are capable of cutting tissue, but does not disclose that fluid or fragments may pass through the lumen. Tilson also discloses another embodiment in which a balloon (20; Fig. 16, 18) includes multiple balloon segments and a lumen (160) through which fluid and fragments may flow.
Spencer et al. (US 2013/0041391A1, “Spencer”) discloses a catheter device for extracting an occlusion from a blood vessel including a shaft (30; Fig. 1) having proximal and distal ends. An expandable structure (14) includes a proximal portion and a distal portion and is coupled to or adjacent the distal end of the shaft (Fig. 1). The expandable structure is capable of expanding radially around the shaft. A lumen through which the shaft extends is capable of passing fluid and fragments. The proximal portion of the expandable structure includes one or more fragmentors (20). The proximal portion is tapered or substantially conical (Fig. 1). The proximal portion includes a plurality of tethers (22). The one or more fragmentors includes a blade (20) and are aligned with the proximal portion of the expandable structure. The expandable structure is an expandable scaffold (Fig.1 ).
Barath (US 5,196,024) discloses an expandable structure disposed on a catheter shaft and including one or more cutters.
Rousu (US 2018/0099126A1) discloses an expandable structure disposed around a balloon formed of a plurality of inflatable balloons.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771