Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 16, 20, 24, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AWONIYI-OTERI et al. (Patent No: US 2020/0329405 A1), hereinafter, AWONIYI-OTERI.
Regarding Claim 1, AWONIYI-OTERI teaches,
A method for a processing unit, the processing unit being comprisable in a wireless device, and being connectable to a plurality of transceivers, each transceiver being connected to one or more antennas, the method comprising: -Fig. 2; Paragraph [0007, 0048] ([0007] recites, “UE for wireless communication may include memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory. The memory and the one or more processors may be configured to receive, from a source base station (BS), a handover message or a beam or panel selection message including multi-beam or multi-panel information identifying a first one or more beams or panels to remain with the source BS and a second one or more beams or panels to switch from the source BS to a target BS during a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) handover procedure..” [0048] recites, “At UE 120, antennas 252a through 252r may receive the downlink signals from base station 110 and/or other base stations and may provide received signals to demodulators (DEMODs) 254a through 254r, respectively. Each demodulator 254 may condition (e.g., filter, amplify, downconvert, and digitize) a received signal to obtain input samples. Each demodulator 254 may further process the input samples (e.g., for OFDM and/or the like) to obtain received symbols. A MIMO detector 256 may obtain received symbols from all R demodulators 254a through 254r, perform MIMO detection on the received symbols if applicable, and provide detected symbols. A receive processor 258 may process (e.g., demodulate and decode) the detected symbols, provide decoded data for UE 120 to a data sink 260, and provide decoded control information and system information to a controller/processor 280. “ As explained above the processor in the mobile device (UE) is connected plurality of modulator/demodulator (transceiver) through plurality of antennas (Fig. 2) connected to each transceiver)
obtaining active Transmission Configuration Indicator, (TCI) states for a set of network nodes; - Paragraph [0095-0096] ([0095-0096] recites, “In some aspects, the beam and/or panel information may include a transmission control indicator (TCI) state, a quasi co-location (QCL) information parameter, a spatial relation, and/or the like determined based at least in part on an L1 measurement (e.g., of the L1 measurement report or of the measurement report provide to core network 702). In some aspects, source BS 110 may provide an explicit indicator of the first one or more beams (and/or the second one or more beams). For example, source BS 110 may provide beam identifiers and/or panel identifiers corresponding to beams and/or panels that UE 120 is to select. Additionally, or alternatively, source BS 110 may provide beam information identifying the TCI state, QCL information parameter, and/or the like to enable UE 120 to select the first one or more beams. As further shown in FIG. 7, and by reference number 722, UE 120 may determine the first one or more beams to remain with source BS 110 and the second one or more beams to switch to target BS 110 based at least in part on the indication received from source BS 110. For example, UE 120 may determine the first one or more beams and/or panels based at least in part on an explicit indicator, based at least in part on beam information, and/or the like.”)
configuring a first set of the plurality of transceivers and/or antennas to be active, wherein configuring the first set is performed with a first periodicity based on signal strength measurements at a first time instant associated with the obtained active TCl states; -Fig.7; Paragraph [0091-0095, 0114-0116] ([0091-0095] recites, “In some aspects, source BS 110 may provide the handover message, which may trigger UE 120 to perform a set of L1 measurements and reporting of the set of L1 measurements to enable beam selection for the DAPS handover procedure. ….source BS 110 may select and provide an indication of a first one or more beams and/or panels to remain with source BS 110 during the RACH-less handover and may select a second one or more beams and/or panels to switch to target BS 110 during the RACH-less handover….In some aspects, source BS 110 may select the one or more first beams and/or panels based at least in part on relative priorities of source BS 110 and target BS 110. For example, based at least in part on source BS 110 having a higher priority than target BS 110 and a connection between source BS 110 and UE 120 being relatively weak, source BS 110 may select beams with a best reference signal received power (RSRP) for source BS 110 to preserve a connection with source BS 110 during the DAPS handover….source BS 110 may provide beam identifiers and/or panel identifiers corresponding to beams and/or panels that UE 120 is to select. Additionally, or alternatively, source BS 110 may provide beam information identifying the TCI state, QCL information parameter, and/or the like to enable UE 120 to select the first one or more beams. As further shown in FIG. 7, and by reference number 722, UE 120 may determine the first one or more beams to remain with source BS 110 and the second one or more beams to switch to target BS 110 based at least in part on the indication received from source BS 110.” As described above, the wireless device obtains TCI state from the base station and information from BS (beam identifier and/or panel identifier) selects one or more set of transceivers/antennas (panels) and perform signal strength associated with the active set with the periodicity specified in the configuration. UE determines beams (722) and panels/antennas associated with the beams.)
configuring a second set of the plurality of transceivers and/or antennas to be candidates, wherein configuring the second set is performed with a second periodicity based on signal strength measurements at a second time instant associated with a mobility state of the WD
and/or associated with one or more handover (HO) candidate nodes, wherein the first periodicity is shorter than the second periodicity; -Fig.7; Paragraph [0094-0096, 0114-0116] ([0096] recites, “UE 120 may determine the first one or more beams to remain with source BS 110 and the second one or more beams to switch to target BS 110 based at least in part on the indication received from source BS 110. For example, UE 120 may determine the first one or more beams and/or panels based at least in part on an explicit indicator, based at least in part on beam information, and/or the like. [0114] recites, “…transmitting a measurement report including information identifying at least one of: a layer 3 (L3) measurement or a layer 1 (L1) measurement; and receiving the handover message or the beam or panel selection message includes receiving the handover message or the beam or panel selection message based at least in part on transmitting the measurement report.” It is mentioned [0084] that the method is periodic. The measurements are performed during a time instant and are associated with both the active TCI states and source and HO candidate (target) nodes with first and second periodicity (of RSRP measurements). The periodicity of the first measurements from source BS (serving) or the second measurements from candidate BS are configured by the BS and it can assume any value. It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that the periodicity of RSRP measurement is configurable to any value and usually for serving node (first measurement happens more frequently) i.e., first periodicity is shorter than the second periodicity (second measurement of the candidate HO node))
receiving reconfiguration information; and updating the first set and the second set based on the received reconfiguration information. -Fig. 7; Paragraph [0090] ([0090] recites, “As further shown in FIG. 7, and by reference numbers 708 and 710, UE 120 may receive a handover message indicating that UE 120 is to handover from source BS 110 to target BS 110. For example, core network 702 may provide a handover command to source BS 110, which may convey the handover command to UE 120 via a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message…. In some aspects, source BS 110 may provide beam and/or panel information in the handover message. For example, as described in more detail herein, source BS 110 may determine one or more beams and/or panels to remain with source BS 110 during the DAPS handover procedure and may include beam and/or panel information identifying the one or more beams and/or panels in the handover message.”)
Claim 3, is a just a configuration and not a feature. It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that the first and second periodicity can be configured to any value depending on the design need and second periodicity can be made twice (or any value) as long as the first periodicity.
Regarding Claim 5, AWONIYI-OTERI teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
AWONIYI-OTERI further teaches,
The method of claim, wherein the reconfiguration information is a received HO command. -Paragraph [0090] ([0090] recites, “UE 120 may receive a handover message indicating that UE 120 is to handover from source BS 110 to target BS 110. For example, core network 702 may provide a handover command to source BS 110, which may convey the handover command to UE 120 via a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message.”)
Regarding Claim 6, AWONIYI-OTERI teaches the limitations of Claim 5.
AWONIYI-OTERI further teaches,
The method of claim 5, wherein updating comprises switching the first and second sets. -Paragraph [0006] ([0006] recites, “a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) may include receiving, from a source base station (BS), a handover message or a beam or panel selection message including multi-beam or multi-panel information identifying a first one or more beams or panels to remain with the source BS and a second one or more beams or panels to switch from the source BS to a target BS during a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) handover procedure or a concurrent connectivity handover procedure; and performing the handover procedure to switch from the source BS to the target BS with the first one or more beams or panels for communication with the source BS and the second one or more beams or panels for communication with the target BS.”)
Regarding Claim 7, AWONIYI-OTERI teaches the limitations of Claim 5.
AWONIYI-OTERI further teaches,
The method of claim 5, wherein the reconfiguration information is provided via a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message. -Paragraph [0090] ([0090] recites, “UE 120 may receive a handover message indicating that UE 120 is to handover from source BS 110 to target BS 110. For example, core network 702 may provide a handover command to source BS 110, which may convey the handover command to UE 120 via a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message.”)
Regarding Claim 8, AWONIYI-OTERI teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
AWONIYI-OTERI further teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein updating is performed in connection with an HO and wherein the HO is a single active protocol stack HO. -Fig. 12; Paragraph [0090] ([0090] recites, “UE 120 may receive a handover message indicating that UE 120 is to handover from source BS 110 to target BS 110. For example, core network 702 may provide a handover command to source BS 110, which may convey the handover command to UE 120 via a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message.” Handover procedure (i.e., switching from source to target) does not depend on whether HO is a single active protocol stack HO (which is most of the cases) or dual active protocol stack (DAPS) the only difference is DAP allows concurrent connectivity handover. The update process is generic and is same whether it is single active or dual active protocol stack. )
Regarding Claim 16, AWONIYI-OTERI teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
AWONIYI-OTERI further teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the steps of obtaining, configuring first and second sets, receiving and updating are repeated until a stop criterion is reached. -Paragraph [0007, 0067] ([0007] recites, “ In some aspects, a UE for wireless communication may include memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory. The memory and the one or more processors may be configured to receive, from a source base station (BS), a handover message or a beam or panel selection message including multi-beam or multi-panel information identifying a first one or more beams or panels to remain with the source BS and a second one or more beams or panels to switch from the source BS to a target BS …” [0067] recites, “The serving BS may be selected based at least in part on various criteria such as received signal strength, received signal quality, path loss, and/or the like. Received signal quality may be quantified by a signal-to-noise-and-interference ratio (SINR), or a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or some other metric.” It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that there can be a stop criterion among the various criteria discussed above (e.g., RSRP threshold etc.) and if the criterion is reached, no more reconfiguration and indication are obtained and the update process halts.)
Regarding Claim 20, AWONIYI-OTERI teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
AWONIYI-OTERI further teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting at least one measurement report to a network (NW) node; the measurement report comprising measured signal strength for each of the first and second sets of transceivers, and wherein the received reconfiguration information is based on at least one of the transmitted measurement reports -Paragraph [0093-0094] ([0093-0094] recites, “As further shown in FIG. 7, and by reference numbers 718 and 720, based at least in part on the aperiodic L1 measurement report, source BS 110 may select and provide an indication of a first one or more beams and/or panels to remain with source BS 110 during the RACH-less handover and may select a second one or more beams and/or panels to switch to target BS 110 during the RACH-less handover. In this way, source BS 110 enables performance of an DAPS handover procedure. In some aspects, source BS 110 may determine the first one or more beams and/or panels (and/or the second one or more beams and/or panels) without receiving the aperiodic L1 measurement report. For example, source BS 110 may use the measurement report previously provided to core network 702 to extract beam information, which source BS 110 may use to determine the first one or more beams and/or panels. In some aspects, source BS 110 may request that L1 measurements be performed for all panels of UE 120 associated with all beams of UE 120. Alternatively, source BS 110 may request that L1 measurements be performed for an identified subset of panels. In some aspects, source BS 110 may request that UE 120 report L1 measurements for all panels, for an identified subset of panels, for a subset of panels with a best set of L1 measurements, and/or the like. In some aspects, source BS 110 may select the one or more first beams and/or panels based at least in part on relative priorities of source BS 110 and target BS 110. For example, based at least in part on source BS 110 having a higher priority than target BS 110 and a connection between source BS 110 and UE 120 being relatively weak, source BS 110 may select beams with a best reference signal received power (RSRP) for source BS 110 to preserve a connection with source BS 110 during the DAPS handover. Alternatively, when target BS 110 has a higher priority and the connection is relatively strong, source BS 110 may select beams with a best RSRP for target BS 110 to enable the handover to increase a likelihood of handover success.” As described above, based on the request from BS for measurement report, UE measures signal strength (RSRP) and transmits to NW node (BS). UE receives configuration from the NW (BS) which selects configuration based on the reported measurement report from UE)
Claim 24 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 1. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 1 above which is rejected. Claim 24 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 26, AWONIYI-OTERI teaches the limitations of Claim 24
AWONIYI-OTERI further teaches,
A wireless device (WD) comprising: a plurality of transceivers, each transceiver comprising an antenna, a low noise amplifier (LNA), a mixer, and a variable gain amplifier (VGA); one or more digital interfaces, each digital interface comprising an analog to digital converter (ADC) and one or more filters, each digital interface being connected to one or more of the plurality of transceivers; and a baseband processor comprising the processing unit of claim 24; and wherein each digital interface is connected to the baseband processor. -Fig. 2; Paragraph [0048] ([0048] recites, “ At UE 120, antennas 252a through 252r may receive the downlink signals from base station 110 and/or other base stations and may provide received signals to demodulators (DEMODs) 254a through 254r, respectively. Each demodulator 254 may condition (e.g., filter, amplify, downconvert, and digitize) a received signal to obtain input samples. Each demodulator 254 may further process the input samples (e.g., for OFDM and/or the like) to obtain received symbols. A MIMO detector 256 may obtain received symbols from all R demodulators 254a through 254r, perform MIMO detection on the received symbols if applicable, and provide detected symbols. A receive processor 258 may process (e.g., demodulate and decode) the detected symbols, provide decoded data for UE 120 to a data sink 260, and provide decoded control information and system information to a controller/processor 280.” As shown in Fig. 2, the wireless device (UE) consists of R transceiver (MOD/DEMOD) connected to multiple antennas. The demodulation process involves downconverting (mixer), filtering and amplification (LNA, VGA etc.) digitize (ADC), and receive processing (baseband processor 258 etc.))
Claim 27 is essentially the same as Claim 26. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 26 above which is rejected. Claim 27 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12, 14-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AWONIYI-OTERI in view of Redi et al. (Patent No: US 7542437 B1), hereinafter, Redi.
Regarding Claim 10, AWONIYI-OTERI teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, AWONIYI-OTERI does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, wherein configuring the second set comprises configuring the second set of the plurality of transceivers to be in a first sleep mode.
However, in an analogous invention, Redi teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein configuring the second set comprises configuring the second set of the plurality of transceivers to be in a first sleep mode.-Abstract; Col. 1, line 62- col.2, line 5 (recites, “In accordance with an exemplary implementation consistent with the principles of the invention, a communications network includes a first node and a group of neighboring nodes. The first node includes at least one transceiver. The first node may observe one or more conditions in at least one of the communications network and the first node and select a sleep mode of a group of sleep modes based on the observed one or more conditions. Each sleep mode of the group of sleep modes is associated with a different procedure. The first node may power down the at least one transceiver according to the procedure associated with the selected sleep mode.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “USER EQUIPMENT HANDOVER” proposed by AWONIYI-OTERI to include the concept of “configuring the second set of the plurality of transceivers to be in a first sleep mode.” of Redi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to conserve energy in communications network (col. 1; line 59-61).
Regarding Claim 11, AWONIYI-OTERI and Redi teach the limitations of Claim 10.
Although implicit, AWONIYI-OTERI does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 10, wherein one or more of a low noise amplifier (LNA) a variable gain amplifier (VGA) and/or a power amplifier (PA) are turned off for each of the transceivers of the second set during the first sleep mode.
However, in an analogous invention, Redi teaches,
The method of claim 10, wherein one or more of a low noise amplifier (LNA) a variable gain amplifier (VGA) and/or a power amplifier (PA) are turned off for each of the transceivers of the second set during the first sleep mode. -Fig. 6A (620) (The whole purpose of the sleep mode is to conserve energy and turn off transceiver with all associated components e.g., LNA, PA, VGA etc. as shown in Fig. 6A (620))
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “USER EQUIPMENT HANDOVER” proposed by AWONIYI-OTERI to include the concept of “wherein one or more of a low noise amplifier (LNA) a variable gain amplifier (VGA) and/or a power amplifier (PA) are turned off for each of the transceivers of the second set during the first sleep mode” of Redi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to conserve energy in communications network (col. 1; line 59-61).
Regarding Claim 12, AWONIYI-OTERI teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, AWONIYI-OTERI does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, wherein configuring the second set comprises configuring a third set of the plurality of transceivers to be in a second sleep mode, wherein the second sleep mode is different from the first sleep mode, and/or wherein the transceivers in the second sleep mode requires less power than the transceivers in the first sleep mode.
However, in an analogous invention, Redi teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein configuring the second set comprises configuring a third set of the plurality of transceivers to be in a second sleep mode, wherein the second sleep mode is different from the first sleep mode, and/or wherein the transceivers in the second sleep mode requires less power than the transceivers in the first sleep mode. -Fig. 6A, 7A; col. 7, line 34-col. 8, line 31( Fig. 6A and 7A shows two different sleep mode of operation, micro-sleep mode and mecro-sleep mode, where transceivers are powered down to save power and also as the name suggests micro and macro sleep mode has different sleep timer (Fig. 6A, 7A) and transceivers are powered downs different amount of times based on the sleeping modes and hence different power requirements in different sleep modes.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “USER EQUIPMENT HANDOVER” proposed by AWONIYI-OTERI to include the concept of “configuring the second set comprises configuring a third set of the plurality of transceivers to be in a second sleep mode, wherein the second sleep mode is different from the first sleep mode, and/or wherein the transceivers in the second sleep mode requires less power than the transceivers in the first sleep mode.” of Redi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to conserve energy in communications network (col. 1; line 59-61).
Claim 14 is not a feature, rather obvious from the description where first set with transceiver not in sleep mode, second set in in micro-sleep mode and third set in mecro-sleep mode. All the sets (first, second, and third) are different.
Regarding Claim 15, AWONIYI-OTERI and Redi teach the limitations of Claim 12.
Although implicit, AWONIYI-OTERI does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 12, wherein a low noise amplifier (LNA) a variable gain amplifier, (VGA) a power amplifier (PA) and a phase locked loop(PPL) are turned off for each of the transceivers of the third set during the second sleep mode.
However, in an analogous invention, Redi teaches,
The method of claim 12, wherein a low noise amplifier (LNA) a variable gain amplifier, (VGA) a power amplifier (PA) and a phase locked loop(PPL) are turned off for each of the transceivers of the third set during the second sleep mode. -Fig. 7A (730) (The whole purpose of the sleep mode is to conserve energy and turn off transceiver with all associated components e.g., LNA, PA, VGA, PLL etc. as shown in Fig. 7A (730) in macro-sleep mode (second sleep mode))
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “USER EQUIPMENT HANDOVER” proposed by AWONIYI-OTERI to include the concept of “wherein a low noise amplifier (LNA) a variable gain amplifier, (VGA) a power amplifier (PA) and a phase locked loop(PPL) are turned off for each of the transceivers of the third set during the second sleep mode” of Redi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to conserve energy in communications network (col. 1; line 59-61).
Regarding Claim 17, AWONIYI-OTERI and Redi teach the limitations of Claim 12.
Although implicit, AWONIYI-OTERI does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 16 when dependent upon claim 12, wherein the step of configuring a third set is repeated until the stop criterion is reached.
However, in an analogous invention, Redi teaches,
The method of claim 16 when dependent upon claim 12, wherein the step of configuring a third set is repeated until the stop criterion is reached. -Col. 1, line 62- col.2, line 5 (recites, “In accordance with an exemplary implementation consistent with the principles of the invention, a communications network includes a first node and a group of neighboring nodes. The first node includes at least one transceiver. The first node may observe one or more conditions in at least one of the communications network and the first node and select a sleep mode of a group of sleep modes based on the observed one or more conditions. Each sleep mode of the group of sleep modes is associated with a different procedure. The first node may power down the at least one transceiver according to the procedure associated with the selected sleep mode.” As explained above, configuration of one or more nodes is based on one or more conditions (criterion) and it is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that there can be a stop criteria/condition, e.g., when none of the conditions for different sleep modes are met or there is no other nodes remaining to be categorized. )
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “USER EQUIPMENT HANDOVER” proposed by AWONIYI-OTERI to include the concept of “wherein the step of configuring a third set is repeated until the stop criterion is reached.” of Redi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to conserve energy in communications network (col. 1; line 59-61).
Regarding Claim 18, AWONIYI-OTERI teaches the limitations of Claim 16.
Although implicit, AWONIYI-OTERI does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 16, wherein the stop criterion is that the steps have been repeated a user-definable number of times or that the processing unit enters a stand-by mode or is turned off or that the WD enters a stand-by mode or is turned off by obtaining a connection release message causing the radio communication to be turned off.
However, in an analogous invention Redi teaches,
The method of claim 16, wherein the stop criterion is that the steps have been repeated a user-definable number of times or that the processing unit enters a stand-by mode or is turned off or that the WD enters a stand-by mode or is turned off by obtaining a connection release message causing the radio communication to be turned off. -Fig. 7A; Col. 8, line 20-31 (recites, “Node 110 may not enter into the mecro-sleep mode until node 110 has received a message acknowledging receipt of the application level message back from each of the neighboring nodes. Node 110 may determine whether an acknowledgment message has been received from each neighboring node (act 710). If an acknowledgement message has not been received from each neighboring node, node 110 may determine if the maximum number of retries has been exceeded (act 715). If so, processing may end.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “USER EQUIPMENT HANDOVER” proposed by AWONIYI-OTERI to include the concept of “stop criterion is that the steps have been repeated a user-definable number of times.” of Redi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to conserve energy in communications network (col. 1; line 59-61).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AWONIYI-OTERI
in view of Cirik et al. (Patent No: US 2023/0027512 A1), hereinafter, Cirik.
Regarding Claim 19, AWONIYI-OTERI teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
AWONIYI-OTERI further teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising: obtaining information associated with Paragraph [0090] ([0090] recites, “UE 120 may receive a handover message indicating that UE 120 is to handover from source BS 110 to target BS 110. For example, core network 702 may provide a handover command to source BS 110, which may convey the handover command to UE 120 via a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message…. In some aspects, source BS 110 may provide beam and/or panel information in the handover message. For example, as described in more detail herein, source BS 110 may determine one or more beams and/or panels to remain with source BS 110 during the DAPS handover procedure and may include beam and/or panel information identifying the one or more beams and/or panels in the handover message.”)
is based on the obtained TCI states; and wherein configuring the second set of the plurality of transceivers and/or antennas to be candidates is based on the obtained information associated with the - Paragraph [0095-0096] ([0095-0096] recites, “In some aspects, the beam and/or panel information may include a transmission control indicator (TCI) state, a quasi co-location (QCL) information parameter, a spatial relation, and/or the like determined based at least in part on an L1 measurement (e.g., of the L1 measurement report or of the measurement report provide to core network 702). In some aspects, source BS 110 may provide an explicit indicator of the first one or more beams (and/or the second one or more beams). For example, source BS 110 may provide beam identifiers and/or panel identifiers corresponding to beams and/or panels that UE 120 is to select. Additionally, or alternatively, source BS 110 may provide beam information identifying the TCI state, QCL information parameter, and/or the like to enable UE 120 to select the first one or more beams. As further shown in FIG. 7, and by reference number 722, UE 120 may determine the first one or more beams to remain with source BS 110 and the second one or more beams to switch to target BS 110 based at least in part on the indication received from source BS 110. For example, UE 120 may determine the first one or more beams and/or panels based at least in part on an explicit indicator, based at least in part on beam information, and/or the like.”)
Although implicit, AWONIYI-OTERI does not explicitly mention,
obtaining information associated with at least one deactivated secondary cell, SCell,
However, in an analogous invention, Cirik teaches,
obtaining information associated with at least one deactivated secondary cell, SCell -Paragraph [0126] )[0126] recites, “When CA is used, one of the aggregated cells for a UE may be referred to as a primary cell (PCell). The PCell may be the serving cell that the UE initially connects to at RRC connection establishment, reestablishment, and/or handover. The PCell may provide the UE with NAS mobility information and the security input. UEs may have different PCells. In the downlink, the carrier corresponding to the PCell may be referred to as the downlink primary CC (DL PCC). In the uplink, the carrier corresponding to the PCell may be referred to as the uplink primary CC (UL PCC). The other aggregated cells for the UE may be referred to as secondary cells (SCells). In an example, the SCells may be configured after the PCell is configured for the UE. For example, an SCell may be configured through an RRC Connection Reconfiguration procedure.” It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art Scell can be activated/deactivate from PCell and the information is conveyed to the WD in CA configuration.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “USER EQUIPMENT HANDOVER” proposed by AWONIYI-OTERI to include the concept of “obtaining information associated with at least one deactivated secondary cell, SCell” of Cirik. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to enhance/improve a selection/determination of a TCI state for an uplink resource when the uplink resource is not provided with a spatial relation [0221].
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AWONIYI-OTERI
in view of Novlan et al. (Patent No: US 2021/0014918 A1), hereinafter, Novlan.
Regarding Claim 21, AWONIYI-OTERI teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, AWONIYI-OTERI does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 1, wherein configuring the first set of the plurality of transceivers and/or antennas to be active is performed at every synchronization signal block (SSB) or at every channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS); and wherein configuring the second set of the plurality of transceivers and/or antennas to be candidates is performed at every second SSB or at every second CSI-RS.
However, in an analogous invention Novlan teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein configuring the first set of the plurality of transceivers and/or antennas to be active is performed at every synchronization signal block (SSB) or at every channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS); and wherein configuring the second set of the plurality of transceivers and/or antennas to be candidates is performed at every second SSB or at every second CSI-RS. -Paragraph [0049, 0077] (It is well known to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that configuring a set of antennas (a first set, a second set etc.) to be active or candidate can be done at every or every second SSB. [0049] recites, “the network can configure CSI-RS configurations 1-1, 1-2, and 1-3 to be associated with SSB 1 and CSI-RS configurations 2-1, 2-2, and 2-3 to be associated with SSB 2. The configuration of a CSI-RS can therefore be based on feedback from the UE on the strongest SSB…. the network can configure a CSI-RS RRM configuration, where the CSI-RS configuration is based on the associated SSB timing pattern (e.g. alternating or staggered).” [0077] recites, “Referring now to FIG. 5-FIG. 7, illustrated are example schematic system block diagrams of an alternating SS block patterns, staggered SS block patterns, and hybrid time/frequency multiplexed SS block patterns…. the SS blocks can be staggered at different times as depicted in FIG. 6”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “USER EQUIPMENT HANDOVER” proposed by AWONIYI-OTERI to include the concept of “configuring the first set of the plurality of transceivers and/or antennas to be active is performed at every synchronization signal block (SSB) or at every channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS); and wherein configuring the second set of the plurality of transceivers and/or antennas to be candidates is performed at every second SSB or at every second CSI-RS.” of Novlan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve coverage, enhanced signaling efficiency, and reduced latency compared to LTE [0034].
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant's argument(s) filed on June 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, the Examiner regretfully maintains the rejection.
The Applicant Argues,
Awoniyi-Oteri does not disclose the two periodicities recited in claim 1, namely: (i) a first periodicity for configuring the active set, and (ii) a second periodicity for configuring the candidate set, where the first periodicity is shorter than the second periodicity. The OA does not identify any passage in Awoniyi-Oteri that expressly discloses these two distinct configuration periodicities or the claimed relative relationship between them. -Page 8.
The Examiner’s response is the following:
The examiner regretfully does not agree with the applicant.
AWONIYI-OTERI teaches, “configuring a first set of the plurality of transceivers and/or antennas to be active, wherein configuring the first set is performed with a first periodicity based on signal strength measurements at a first time instant associated with the obtained active TCl states;” -Fig.7; Paragraph [0091-0095, 0114-0116] ([0091-0095] recites, “In some aspects, source BS 110 may provide the handover message, which may trigger UE 120 to perform a set of L1 measurements and reporting of the set of L1 measurements to enable beam selection for the DAPS handover procedure. ….source BS 110 may select and provide an indication of a first one or more beams and/or panels to remain with source BS 110 during the RACH-less handover and may select a second one or more beams and/or panels to switch to target BS 110 during the RACH-less handover….In some aspects, source BS 110 may select the one or more first beams and/or panels based at least in part on relative priorities of source BS 110 and target BS 110. For example, based at least in part on source BS 110 having a higher priority than target BS 110 and a connection between source BS 110 and UE 120 being relatively weak, source BS 110 may select beams with a best reference signal received power (RSRP) for source BS 110 to preserve a connection with source BS 110 during the DAPS handover….source BS 110 may provide beam identifiers and/or panel identifiers corresponding to beams and/or panels that UE 120 is to select. Additionally, or alternatively, source BS 110 may provide beam information identifying the TCI state, QCL information parameter, and/or the like to enable UE 120 to select the first one or more beams. As further shown in FIG. 7, and by reference number 722, UE 120 may determine the first one or more beams to remain with source BS 110 and the second one or more beams to switch to target BS 110 based at least in part on the indication received from source BS 110.” As described above, the wireless device obtains TCI state from the base station and information from BS (beam identifier and/or panel identifier) selects one or more set of transceivers/antennas (panels) and perform signal strength associated with the active set with the periodicity specified in the configuration. UE determines beams (722) and panels/antennas associated with the beams.)
“configuring a second set of the plurality of transceivers and/or antennas to be candidates, wherein configuring the second set is performed with a second periodicity based on signal strength measurements at a second time instant associated with a mobility state of the WD
and/or associated with one or more handover (HO) candidate nodes, wherein the first periodicity is shorter than the second periodicity;” -Fig.7; Paragraph [0094-0096, 0114-0116] ([0096] recites, “UE 120 may determine the first one or more beams to remain with source BS 110 and the second one or more beams to switch to target BS 110 based at least in part on the indication received from source BS 110. For example, UE 120 may determine the first one or more beams and/or panels based at least in part on an explicit indicator, based at least in part on beam information, and/or the like. [0114] recites, “…transmitting a measurement report including information identifying at least one of: a layer 3 (L3) measurement or a layer 1 (L1) measurement; and receiving the handover message or the beam or panel selection message includes receiving the handover message or the beam or panel selection message based at least in part on transmitting the measurement report.” It is mentioned [0084] that the method is periodic. The measurements are performed during a time instant and are associated with both the active TCI states and source and HO candidate (target) nodes with first and second periodicity (of RSRP measurements). The periodicity of the first measurements from source BS (serving) or the second measurements from candidate BS are configured by the BS and it can assume any value. It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that the periodicity of RSRP measurement is configurable to any value and usually for serving node (first measurement happens more frequently) i.e., first periodicity is shorter than the second periodicity (second measurement of the candidate HO node))
The Applicant Argues,
Second, even if Awoniyi-Oteri disclosed configurable measurement periodicities, the OA has not shown that Awoniyi-Oteri discloses the specific claimed arrangement in which the active set is configured according to a first periodicity and the candidate set is configured according to a second, longer periodicity. -Page 8
The Examiner’s response,
The periodicity of the first measurements from source BS (serving) or active monitoring is done constantly and with higher frequency (low periodicity) and measurements from the neighbor (candidate BS), i.e., from second BS happens less frequently, i.e., higher periodicity to conserve power. Following is the Google excerpt, “Source Cell (Active Monitoring): The cell you are currently connected to must monitor your signal constantly. It uses a smaller periodicity (higher frequency) to maintain connection stability and prevent dropped calls or data loss.
Target Cell (Neighbor Monitoring): The network checks potential target cells less frequently to save device battery and reduce signaling overhead. Therefore, target cell measurements have a larger periodicity (lower frequency).”
Both the first and the second measurements from candidate BS are configured by the BS and it can assume any value. It is common sense, well established in the literature, and easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that the periodicity of RSRP measurement is configurable to any value and for serving node (first measurement happens more frequently) i.e., first periodicity is shorter than the second periodicity (second measurement of the candidate HO node). It is readily known to anyone with slightest knowledge in art.)
The Applicant Argues,
In Awoniyi-Oteri, the beam and panel information is provided as part of, or in connection with, the handover message itself. Awoniyi-Oteri therefore determines its candidate beams or panels at the time of handover, rather than configuring the second set of transceivers and/or antennas to be candidates before receiving reconfiguration information and then updating the first and second sets based on that reconfiguration information, as recited in claim 1. (Page 9)
The Examiner’s response is the following:
The Claim language is the following “receiving reconfiguration information; and updating the first set and the second set based on the received reconfiguration information.” For which Awoniyi-Oteri teaches, -Fig. 7; Paragraph [0090] ([0090] recites, “As further shown in FIG. 7, and by reference numbers 708 and 710, UE 120 may receive a handover message indicating that UE 120 is to handover from source BS 110 to target BS 110. For example, core network 702 may provide a handover command to source BS 110, which may convey the handover command to UE 120 via a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message…. In some aspects, source BS 110 may provide beam and/or panel information in the handover message. For example, as described in more detail herein, source BS 110 may determine one or more beams and/or panels to remain with source BS 110 during the DAPS handover procedure and may include beam and/or panel information identifying the one or more beams and/or panels in the handover message.” It clearly mentions beam and/or panel information about the serving BS and/or candidate BS is conveyed as part of HO procedure in RRC reconfiguration message and UE decides partly based on the information from the base station as the claim suggests. The UE cannot update until receive the information. Therefore, the examiner does not agree with the applicant.)
For the same reasoning described above, the examiner believes Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 16, 20, 24, 26, and 27 stand rejected.
Regarding the Claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103, the Applicant argues:
As explained above, Awoniyi-Oteri does not disclose configuring a first set of transceivers and/or antennas to be active with a first periodicity associated with the obtained active TCI states, configuring a second set to be candidates with a longer second periodicity associated with WD mobility or one or more HO candidate nodes, and updating those sets on reconfiguration. None of Redi, Cirik, or Novlan supplies that missing subject matter. (Page 9-10)
The Examiner’s response is the following:
The Examiner believes and as explained above the examiner’s concerned part is addressed by Awoniyi-Oteri and therefore, none of Redi, Cirik, or Novlan needs to address. Those prior-arts are used to use together with the teachings of Awoniyi-Oteri under 35 U.S.C. § 103 to address the dependent claims. The examiner, therefore maintains the rejection status.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475