DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Amendments and Arguments filed 07/14/2026 have been considered for examination.
With regard to the objections to Claims, Applicant’s arguments filed 07/14/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered but are partially persuasive. Thus, the objections to Claims other than what is set forth below have been withdrawn.
With regard to the 112(b) rejections, Applicant’s arguments filed 07/14/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Thus, the 112 rejections of claims have been withdrawn.
With regard to the 102/103 rejections, Applicant’s arguments filed 07/14/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 7 and 9 are objected to because of the following informality:
Claim 4 recites, “wherein at least one of a layer 1-reference signal . . .or a layer 1-signal . . .” (lines 1-2). It is suggested to replace it with “wherein at least one of: a layer 1-reference signal . . .; or a layer 1-signal . . .” for more clarity. Claims 7 and 9 are objected to at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 4.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-9, 12, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan et al (US Publication No. 2025/0056285 A1) in view of Matsumura et al (US Publication No. 2025/0024477 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Guan discloses, a method performed by a user equipment (UE) [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0286-0288, a method performed by terminal device 220 in a wireless communication system], the method comprising:
reporting, to a base station, a plurality of indexes for UE capability values, each of the plurality of indexes being reported along with a reference signal (RS) resource indicator [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0287, 0288, at block 710, the terminal device 220 transmits a correspondence report to a network device 210, the correspondence report indicating a first correspondence between at least one first capability value set and at least one first RS; further see ¶0075, the correspondence between each reported CSI-RS and/or SSB (i.e., downlink reference resource) resource index and one of the set of capability parameters in the reported list is informed to network device 210 and ¶0076, the index of the corresponding set of capability parameters is reported with the pair of SSB RI/CSI; since the capability values/parameters are present in plural, the indexes corresponding to the capability values/parameters are present in plural], wherein each of the UE capability values is related to a maximum supported number of sounding reference signal (SRS) ports [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0076, the plurality of indexes corresponds to the capability values; further see ¶0304, a capability value set of the plurality of capability value sets comprising at least one of the following: identity information of the capability value set, a maximum number of sounding reference signal SRS ports];
receiving, from the base station, information indicating confirmation of at least one index included in the plurality of indexes [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0288-0289, , the terminal device 220 receives a feedback state (i.e., information associated with a specific index) of the correspondence report message from the network device 210; further see, “the message . . . is at least one of the following: a TCI activation command at least partially associated with the at least one RS indicated by the correspondence report”; further see ¶0209, the feedback message . . . comprising a SRS resource indicator (SRI) pointing to SRS resources; further see ¶0350-0351 and 0131, the termina devices receives at least one transmission parameter and a capability set, the at least one transmission parameter comprising a resource for transmission SRS which is associated with the index of capability value set (e.g., #1 or #2)]; and
performing an uplink transmission based on the confirmation of the at least one index [¶0288, the terminal device 220 communicates with the network device 210 according to a feedback state of the correspondence report; further see ¶0293, transmitting a SRS after receiving the message indicating the ACK from the network device 210; note that since the feedback state of the correspondence report indicating the SRI pointing a SRS resource which is associated with the index of capability value set (see discussion above), the communicating (transmitting) with the network device 210 is performed based on the SRI or the corresponding index of capability value set],
wherein the uplink transmission is performed using one index . . . [¶0288, the terminal device 220 communicates with the network device 210 according to a feedback state of the correspondence report; further see ¶0293, transmitting a SRS after receiving the message indicating the ACK from the network device 210; note that the communicating (transmitting) with the network device 210 is performed based on the SRI or the corresponding index of capability value set].
Although Guan discloses, “receiving, from the base station, information indicating confirmation of at least one index included in the plurality of indexes; and performing an uplink transmission based on the confirmation of the at least one index” as set forth above, Guan does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), wherein based on two or more indexes being confirmed by the information, the uplink transmission is performed using one index among the two or more indexes, and wherein the one index corresponds to one of (i) an index related to a spatial-related RS indicated for the uplink transmission, (ii) an index corresponding to a smallest number of a SRS ports, or (iii) a lowest index among the two or more indexes.
However, Matsumura discloses,
receiving, from the base station, information indicating confirmation of at least one index included in the plurality of indexes [¶0092, when a list of SRS resource sets (for example, a list including one or more SRS resource sets) is configured by RRC, M SRS resource sets at maximum may be activated by using a MAC CE; further see ¶0117, SRS resource sets #1 to #3 (i.e., at least one index) may be activated by a MAC CE to activate their corresponding P-ID #1 and P-ID #2]; and
performing an uplink transmission based on the confirmation of the at least one index [¶0094-0097, the activated SRS sets are for UL transmission; further see ¶0160];
based on two or more indexes being confirmed 1 by the information [¶0117, based on P-ID #1 and P-ID #2 (or SRS resource sets) activated by the MAC-CE; see, “when P-ID #1 and P-ID #2 are activated, and SRS resource set #1 and P-ID #1 are associated with each other while SRS resource set #3 and P-ID #2 are associated with each other”], the uplink transmission is performed using one index among the two or more indexes [¶0094-0097, the activated SRS sets are for UL transmission; further see ¶0160], and
wherein the one index corresponds to one of . . . (iii) a lowest index among the two or more indexes [¶0119, a codepoint “00” of the certain field (of DCI) may mean the lowest index of reported active UE capability value sets (or P-IDs); further see ¶0117, SRS resource set #1 and P-ID #1 associated with SRS resource set #1 are indicated as an SRS resource set/P-ID to be actually used, by the DCI; note that the MAC CE includes two or more SRS resource set indexes or their associated P-ID indexes which are activated (i.e., confirmed by the information), and the DCI includes a codepoint (e.g., “00”) indicating the lowest index of reported active P-IDs].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Guan with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Matsumura to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Matsumura into the system of Guan would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring to identify a suitable index for uplink transmission for improving uplink performance, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 4, Guan in view of Matsumura discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Guan discloses, wherein at least one of a layer 1-reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) value or a layer 1-signal to interference and noise ratio (L1-SINR) value for the RS resource indicator is reported along with the RS resource indicator [¶0191, see table 2 illustrating formats of the correspondence report, 1st RSRP/SINR along with SSB resource indicator (RI) or CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI); further see ¶0076 and 0086].
Regarding claim 5, Guan in view of Matsumura discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Guan discloses, wherein the uplink transmission is performed after a preconfigured time interval based on a timing in which the information is received [see ¶0227, the message / feedback message state is transmitted/received within a certain time period after correspondence report; note that the uplink transmission/SRS transmission is performed based on the message indicating the information associated with a specific index (as discussed above in claim 1). Thus, since the message is received within a certain time period after the correspondence report, the uplink transmission by the terminal device based on receiving the message is performed after the certain time period after the correspondence report; further see ¶0294, the terminal device 220 applies the at least one first capability value set associated with the first correspondence in response to one of the following: transmitting the correspondence report; or a period since transmitting the correspondence report exceeding a pre-configured period].
Regarding claim 7, Guan in view of Matsumura discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Guan discloses, the information includes bit information configured according to a number of the plurality of indexes [¶0122, the reported/determined number/index of the capability value set may be represented as a bit sequence (such as, a panel information field) in the correspondence report, such that the capability value set may be indicated/reported to the network device 210. A bit size of the bit sequence comprised in the correspondence report is determined based on a first number of sets of capability-related parameters supported by the terminal device 220], wherein each code point of the bit information is mapped to each of the plurality of indexes according to a reported order of at least one of an RS resource indicator or an index for a UE capability value [see ¶0136, the capability value set 1 and 2 mapped to each of bit sequence representing the indexes of the capability sets as discussed in ¶0122].
Regarding claim 8, Guan in view of Matsumura discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Guan discloses, wherein the information includes a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state indication associated with one RS resource indicator included in the plurality of indexes, the at least one index is related to the one RS resource indicator [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0288-0289, , the terminal device 220 receives a feedback state (i.e., information associated with a specific index) of the correspondence report message from the network device 210; further see, “the message . . . is at least one of the following: a TCI activation command at least partially associated with the at least one RS indicated by the correspondence report”; note that the at least one RS is associated with its resource indicator (e.g., SSB RI or CSI-RS RI); further see ¶0191].
Regarding claim 9, Guan in view of Matsumura discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Guan discloses, wherein the information includes at least one of an SRS resource-related field or an SRS resource set-related field in downlink control information (DCI) [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0288-0289, , the terminal device 220 receives a feedback state (i.e., information associated with a specific index) of the correspondence report message from the network device 210; further see ¶0209, the feedback message is a DCI message . . . comprising a SRS resource indicator (SRI) pointing to SRS resources; further see ¶0350-0351 and 0131, the termina devices receives at least one transmission parameter and a capability set, the at least one transmission parameter comprising a resource for transmission SRS which is associated with the index of capability value set (e.g., #1 or #2)], the at last one index corresponds to a number of SRS ports for a SRS resource indicated by at least one of the SRS resource-related field or the SRS resource set-related field [¶0304, a capability value set of the plurality of capability value sets comprising at least one of the following: identity information of the capability value set, a maximum number of sounding reference signal SRS ports].
Regarding claim 12, Guan in view of Matsumura discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Guan discloses, wherein the information . . . for a SRS resource [¶0204 and ¶0209, the feedback message is a DCI message . . . comprising a SRS resource indicator (SRI) pointing to SRS resources], wherein the at least one index corresponds to a number of SRS ports for a SRS resource activated [¶0304, a capability value set of the plurality of capability value sets comprising at least one of the following: identity information of the capability value set, a maximum number of sounding reference signal SRS ports], Guan does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Matsumura discloses, informing includes a MAC-CE based indication [¶0092 and 0117, SRS resource sets #1 to #3 (i.e., at least one index) may be activated by a MAC CE to activate their corresponding P-ID #1 and P-ID #2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Matsumura in the system of Guan for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Guan discloses, a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0286-0288, a terminal device 220 in a wireless communication system], the UE [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0286-0288, the terminal device 220] comprising:
at least one transceiver [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0427, TX/RX 1140]; and
at least one processor connected to the at least one transceiver [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0286-0288, processor 110 coupled to the TX/RX 1140].
Since claim 15 recites similar features to claim 1 without additional features, claim 15 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Guan discloses, a base station performing uplink reception in a wireless communication system [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0286-0288, a network device 210 in a wireless communication system], the UE comprising:
at least one transceiver [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0427, TX/RX 1140]; and
at least one processor connected to the at least one transceiver [FIG. 11; its related
descriptions; ¶0286-0288, processor 110 coupled to the TX/RX 1140].
Since claim 17 is merely different from claim 1 in that it recites claimed features from the perspective of a base station, but recites similar features to claim 1 without further additional features. Thus, claim 17 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan et al (US Publication No. 2025/0056285 A1) in view of Matsumura et al (US Publication No. 2025/0024477 A1) and further in view of Uchino et al (US Publication No. 2016/0337867 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Guan in view of Matsumura discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Guan discloses, wherein, based on a response to the information being transmitted by the UE, the uplink transmission is performed . . . [¶0288, the terminal device 220 communicates with the network device 210 according to a feedback state of the correspondence report; further see ¶0293, transmitting a SRS after receiving the message indicating the ACK from the network device 210], Guan in view of Matsumura does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Uchino discloses, the uplink transmission is performed after a preconfigured time interval based on the timing in which the response to the information is transmitted [¶0003, the mobile station transmits uplink data when a predetermined duration (for example, 4 ms) has elapsed after detecting the UL grant (see Non-Patent Reference 1)].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Guan in view of Matsumura with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Unchino to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Uchino into the system of Guan in view of Matsumura would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., enabling predictable UL timing aligned with DL feedback processing to improve reliable scheduling, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan et al (US Publication No. 2025/0056285 A1) in view of Matsumura et al (US Publication No. 2025/0024477 A1) and further in view of Chen’963 et al (US Publication No. 2022/0216963 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Guan in view of Matsumura discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Guan discloses, wherein, the information . . . for a SRS resource [¶0204 and ¶0209, the feedback message is a DCI message . . . comprising a SRS resource indicator (SRI) pointing to SRS resources; further see ¶0350-0351 and 0131, the termina devices receives at least one transmission parameter and a capability set, the at least one transmission parameter comprising a resource for transmission SRS which is associated with the index of capability value set (e.g., #1 or #2)], wherein the at least one index corresponds to a number of SRS ports for a SRS resource . . . [¶0304, a capability value set of the plurality of capability value sets comprising at least one of the following: identity information of the capability value set, a maximum number of sounding reference signal SRS ports], Guan in view of Matsumura does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Chen’963 discloses, the information includes a higher layer-based reconfiguration [¶0054, the base station transmits and the UE receives an RRC reconfiguration message for SRS configuration].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Guan in view of Matsumura with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Chen’963 to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Chen’963 into the system of Guan in view of Matsumura would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., enabling flexible and reliable configuration of UE behavior to support dynamic network adaption, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 11, Guan in view of Matsumura and Chen’963 discloses, the method of claim 10 as set forth above.
Although Guan discloses, wherein the uplink transmission is performed after . . . is completed [¶0288, the terminal device 220 communicates (transmitting) with the network device 210 according to a feedback state of the correspondence report; which requires that the feedback state is completed for the terminal device 220 to communicate with the network device], Guan in view of Matsumura does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Chen’963 discloses, the feedback state information being a higher layer-based reconfiguration [¶0054, the base station transmits and the UE receives an RRC reconfiguration message].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Chen’963 in the system of Guan in view of Matsumura for similar rationales set forth above in claim 10.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan et al (US Publication No. 2025/0056285 A1) in view of Matsumura et al (US Publication No. 2025/0024477 A1) and further in view of Chen’529 et al (US Publication No. 2019/0166529 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Guan in view of Matsumura discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Guan discloses, the at least one index corresponds to a number of SRS ports for a SRS resource . . . [¶0304, a capability value set of the plurality of capability value sets comprising at least one of the following: identity information of the capability value set, a maximum number of sounding reference signal SRS ports], Guan in view of Matsumura does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Chen’529 discloses, the information includes information indicating BWP switching to a specific bandwidth part (BWP), . . . a SRS resource configured in the specific BWP [¶0090, the UE receives DCI from the NW (e.g., a base station) via a PDCCH when performing the RA procedure on the first BWP. The DCI includes a BWP switching indication for switching the first BWP to a second BWP configured with D-SR resource(s)].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Guan in view of Matsumura with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Chen’529 to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Chen’529 into the system of Guan in view of Matsumura would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring that uplink measurements are accurately aligned with the currently active BWP to improve channel estimation efficiency, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.f attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ian Moore can be reached on (571) 272-3085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SUN JONG KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469
1 See ¶0353 of Applicant’s specification, “the UE may recognize the (re)configuration/activation message as a confirmation/ack for the panel-specific beam report according to the proposed method described above.”