DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 07/30/2026. Claims 13, 17-19, 21, and 22 are pending for evaluation.
Note: The claims are presented with independent claims listed first in numerical order, followed by dependent claims also in numerical order; any dual or mirror claims are grouped with the lowest-numbered claim in their respective pairing.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 07/30/2026 has been entered. Claims 13, 17-19, and 21 have been amended. Claims 1-12, 14-16, 20, and 23-48 were previously canceled. Claims 13, 17-19, 21, and 22 are pending for evaluation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) expressly recognized that the USPTO employs the "broadest reasonable interpretation" standard:
The Patent and Trademark Office ("PTO") determines the scope of claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction "in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art." In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364[, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1830] (Fed. Cir. 2004). Indeed, the rules of the PTO require that application claims must "conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description." 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1). See MPEP §2111.
See also In re Suitco Surface, Inc., 603 F.3d 1255, 1259, 94 USPQ2d 1640, 1643 (Fed. Cir. 2010); In re Hyatt, 211 F.3d 1367, 1372, 54 USPQ2d 1664, 1667 (Fed. Cir. 2000).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), amended Claim 13 does not require that the TCI state selection rule itself be newly established by receipt of the TCI indication message. Rather, the claim requires that a TCI state selection be based at least in part on a selection rule that is applicable when the TCI indication message is received during the TCI activation time.
Applicant acknowledges that Svedman Para. [0205-0206] is relied upon for receiving a DCI/TCI indication during the relevant activation period, but argues that these paragraphs do not additionally disclose the claimed selection rule. This argument considers the cited timing disclosure in isolation.
Svedman further teaches that selection of the applicable/default TCI may be governed by a rule, including a lowest-codepoint rule (Para. [0180-0181]), in conjunction with its disclosure of DCI-based TCI indication while TCI activation remains pending (e.g., Para. [0178]).
Thus, under the BRI of the amended claim language, Svedman’s disclosed TCI indication during the activation interval together with its rule-based selection of the applicable TCI state teaches or suggest the limitation.
In conclusion, the system of Muruganathan/Park/Svedman teaches the amended Claim 13, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103 is upheld.
Applicant’s arguments presented with respect to independent Claim(s) 17-19 and 21 and the dependent claims are substantively the same as those set forth for Claim 13. Accordingly, the same reasoning and supporting explanation provided for Claim 13 are equally applicable to Claim(s) 17-19 and 21 and the dependent claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 22 contains allowable subject matter because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest applying a non-matching unified TCI state of a non-matching codepoint of the first TCI activation message that does not match the first codepoint identifier indication, where the non-matching unified TCI state is applied at an end of the TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, as claimed. The cited references generally teach applying an indicated, activated, default, or lowest-codepoint TCI state, but do not teach the claimed selection and application of a non-matching unified TCI state from the first TCI activation message under the recited timing condition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 17-19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muruganathan et al. (US 2023/0300835), Muruganathan hereinafter, in view of Park et al. (US 2022/0225369), Park hereinafter, and Svedman et al. (US 2024/0172245), Svedman hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 13, Muruganathan teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising (Fig. 25, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]):
one or more memories (Fig. 25, element 2504, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]);
and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories which are, configured, individually or in any combination to (Fig. 25, element 2502, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]):
receive a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activation message that maps a first codepoint to a first *unified* TCI state and a second codepoint to a second *unified* TCI state (Fig. 18, step 1802; Para. [0136] - FIG. 18 illustrates a method performed by a wireless device for activating Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states. In some embodiments, the method includes one or more of: being configured to monitor a plurality of Downlink Control Information (DCI) formats with the TCI field for Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) reception (step 1800); receiving a single Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) to activate TCI states and map activated TCI states to the TCI field codepoints of the plurality of DCI formats (step 1802); and receiving separate MAC CEs to activate TCI states and map activated TCI states to the TCI field codepoints of each of the plurality of DCI formats (step 1804); See Also: Figs. 7-12, Para. [0111-0168]; Figs. [13-14], Para. [0169-0202]; Fig. 15, Para. [0203-02111]; Fig. 16, Para. [0212-0221]; Fig. 17, Para. [0222]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0223-0224]; Fig. 20-21, Para. [0225-0380]);
receive a second TCI activation message that maps the first codepoint to a third *unified* TCI state and the second codepoint to a fourth *unified* TCI state (Fig. 18, step 1804; Para. [0136] - FIG. 18 illustrates a method performed by a wireless device for activating Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states. In some embodiments, the method includes one or more of: being configured to monitor a plurality of Downlink Control Information (DCI) formats with the TCI field for Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) reception (step 1800); receiving a single Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) to activate TCI states and map activated TCI states to the TCI field codepoints of the plurality of DCI formats (step 1802); and receiving separate MAC CEs to activate TCI states and map activated TCI states to the TCI field codepoints of each of the plurality of DCI formats (step 1804); See Also: Figs. 7-12, Para. [0111-0168]; Figs. [13-14], Para. [0169-0202]; Fig. 15, Para. [0203-02111]; Fig. 16, Para. [0212-0221]; Fig. 17, Para. [0222]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0223-0224]; Fig. 20-21, Para. [0225-0380]);
Yet, Muruganathan does not expressly teach and transmit or receive a communication using a unified TCI state of a codepoint of the second TCI activation message.
However, Park teaches
and transmit or receive a communication using a unified TCI state of a codepoint of the second TCI activation message (Fig. 25; Para. [0464-0473] - [0469] In an example, the wireless device may receive a second DCI comprising the TCI field. The wireless device may determine a second value indicated by the TCI field being mapped to a second TCI of the one or more TCIs, where the second TCI is set with its usage being ‘UL’ as uplink, e.g., via the TCI-indication message. In response to determining the second value, the wireless device may transmit at least one of uplink signal(s)/channel(s), e.g., a PUSCH and one or more PUCCH resources (and an SRS, etc.) based on the second TCI. In an example, the wireless device may transmit a PUSCH, e.g., scheduled by the second DCI (or scheduled by a first (separated) DCI, or scheduled by a higher-layer signaling, e.g., as a semi-persistent (or configured-grant) PUSCH, etc.), of the at least one of uplink signal(s)/channel(s), based on the second TCI. In an example, the wireless device may transmit a UCI via the one or more PUCCH resources, of the at least one of uplink signal(s)/channel(s), based on the second TCI. In an example, the wireless device may transmit an SRS via an SRS resource, of the at least one of uplink signal(s)/channel(s), based on the second TCI; See Also: Fig. 22, Para. [0381-0421]; Fig. 23, Para. [0422-0426]; Fig. 24, Para. [0427-0463]; Fig. 25, Para. [0464-0466]; Fig. 26, Para. [0467-0495]; Fig. 27, Para. [0496-0515]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Muruganathan’s invention of “Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state activation and codepoint to TCI state mapping” (Muruganathan Para. [0002]) with Park’s invention of methods for wireless devices receive “radio resource control messages including configuration parameters of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states” (Park §Abstract) because Park’s invention provides methods which “may save overhead in an RRC (re-)configuration of the plurality of TCIs, based on that the plurality of TCIs (as being a unified/joint TCI pool) may not need to be re-configured (once it is configured)” (Park Para. [0501]) and “may reduce a complexity and power consumption of the wireless device, based on that the wireless device may turn off a functionality of providing a reference for determining common uplink Tx spatial (domain) filter(s) based on a TCI (e.g., associated (currently, previously, etc.) with its usage of ‘joint DL/UL’) of the plurality of TCIs, in response to receiving a TCI-indication (MAC-CE) message indicating the TCI is (re-)activated for ‘DL’ (e.g., not the ‘joint DL/UL’)” (Park Para. [0502]).
Yet, Muruganathan nor Park expressly receive, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication for the first codepoint or the second codepoint; wherein a TCI state selection is based at least in part on a TCI state selection rule that applies when the TCI indication message is received during the TCI activation time; and transmit or receive, based at least in part on the TCI state selection rule, a communication using a unified TCI state of a codepoint of the second TCI activation message with a lowest identifier, the unified TCI state being applied after an end of the TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message.
However, Svedman teaches
receive, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication for the first codepoint or the second codepoint (Fig. 11, step 3; Para. [0205-0206] - [0205] A basic procedure for the application of a TCI is shown in FIG. 11. [0206] In step 1, a UE receives a MAC CE for TCI activation for the unified TCI state framework, activating a set of TCIs P. After some time, the TCIs have been activated, as in step 2. The UE performs PDCCH monitoring and receives DCIs in step 3. It receives a DCI that indicates a TCI q. In step 4, it is determined if the indicated TCI is new, e.g., that it not currently being used. If it is not new, a TCI update is not needed, and the UE can return to PDCCH monitoring in step 3. If the indicated TCI q is indeed new, the UE starts to use the indicated TCI q at the proper application time; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]);
wherein a TCI state selection is based at least in part on a TCI state selection rule that applies when the TCI indication message is received during the TCI activation time (Para. [0178-0181] - [0178] This situation may result in ambiguities since a TCI (activated by the same MAC CE) with earlier activation time (e.g., d1) may be indicated by a TCI codepoint in a DCI before the activation time of the default TCI. The corresponding application time (e.g., of d1) may be before or after the default TC activation time. In some cases, the default TC is not applied if another TCI, activated by the same MAC CE, has been indicated by a DCI, and the corresponding application time is not later than the default TCI application time (e.g., the default TCI activation time)……[0180] In some cases, a default TCI is determined based on the set of TCIs (activated by the same MAC CE) that have been activated so far. As an example, consider FIG. 8, in which four TCIs are activated by a MAC CE, each corresponding to a TCI codepoint. Not that a TCI index or TC state ID order might not be matched by a TC codepoint order. Such an order may be arbitrarily selected by the MAC CE, in various cases. In some cases, e.g., if a TC bitmap is used to indicate activated TCIs, a TCI index or TCI state ID order may translate into a TCI codepoint order, e.g., the activated TCI with lowest index/ID is mapped to the lowest TCI codepoint. [0181] In some cases, as also discussed above, TCIs in a MAC CE activation command may be grouped based on the corresponding activation delays. In some cases, actual activation delays may be adjusted such that TCIs in a group have the same actual activation delay. In some cases, a default TCI is selected among TCIs in a such a group, based on indication in the MAC CE, configuration and/or a rule (e.g., lowest codepoint). This is illustrated in FIG. 9. For example, the first group (e.g., d1, d2) may include known TCIs or already activated known TCIs. The second group (e.g., d3, d4) may include unknown TCIs or not already activated known TCIs. The TCIs in the first group may be activated significantly earlier than the TCIs in the second group. By determining a default TCI already at the first activation time, a default TC is defined as early as possible. As more (groups of) TCIs are activated, they may be included in the default TCI determination; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]);
and transmit or receive, based at least in part on the TCI state selection rule, a communication using a unified TCI state of a codepoint of the second TCI activation message with a lowest identifier (Fig. 8, elements d1-d3; Fig. 9, elements d1-d4; Para. [0180-0181] - [0180] In some cases, a default TCI is determined based on the set of TCIs (activated by the same MAC CE) that have been activated so far. As an example, consider FIG. 8, in which four TCIs are activated by a MAC CE, each corresponding to a TCI codepoint. Not that a TCI index or TC state ID order might not be matched by a TC codepoint order. Such an order may be arbitrarily selected by the MAC CE, in various cases. In some cases, e.g., if a TC bitmap is used to indicate activated TCIs, a TCI index or TCI state ID order may translate into a TCI codepoint order, e.g., the activated TCI with lowest index/ID is mapped to the lowest TCI codepoint. [0181] In some cases, as also discussed above, TCIs in a MAC CE activation command may be grouped based on the corresponding activation delays. In some cases, actual activation delays may be adjusted such that TCIs in a group have the same actual activation delay. In some cases, a default TCI is selected among TCIs in a such a group, based on indication in the MAC CE, configuration and/or a rule (e.g., lowest codepoint). This is illustrated in FIG. 9. For example, the first group (e.g., d1, d2) may include known TCIs or already activated known TCIs. The second group (e.g., d3, d4) may include unknown TCIs or not already activated known TCIs. The TCIs in the first group may be activated significantly earlier than the TCIs in the second group. By determining a default TCI already at the first activation time, a default TC is defined as early as possible. As more (groups of) TCIs are activated, they may be included in the default TCI determination; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]),
the unified TCI state being applied after an end of the TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message (Fig. 11, step 4; Para. [0205-0206] - [0205] A basic procedure for the application of a TCI is shown in FIG. 11. [0206] In step 1, a UE receives a MAC CE for TCI activation for the unified TCI state framework, activating a set of TCIs P. After some time, the TCIs have been activated, as in step 2. The UE performs PDCCH monitoring and receives DCIs in step 3. It receives a DCI that indicates a TCI q. In step 4, it is determined if the indicated TCI is new, e.g., that it not currently being used. If it is not new, a TCI update is not needed, and the UE can return to PDCCH monitoring in step 3. If the indicated TCI q is indeed new, the UE starts to use the indicated TCI q at the proper application time; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receive, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication for the first codepoint or the second codepoint; wherein a TCI state selection is based at least in part on a TCI state selection rule that applies when the TCI indication message is received during the TCI activation time; and transmit or receive, based at least in part on the TCI state selection rule, a communication using a unified TCI state of a codepoint of the second TCI activation message with a lowest identifier, the unified TCI state being applied after an end of the TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message as taught by Svedman, in the combined system of Muruganathan/Park, so that it would provide “methods, apparatus, and systems for common beam operation including enhancements for TCI activation and application in common TCI operation” (Svedman Para. [0005]) which may provide solutions regarding “a scenario with TCI indication by DCI in conjunction with the activation time of the corresponding TCI state” (Svedman Para. [0007]) and “solutions related to the interaction between a TCI state indicated in a DCI and a default TCI state” (Svedman Para. [0006]).
Claim 13 Examiner’s Note: Muruganathan provides the base TCI activation/codepoint-mapping framework by teaching that a UE receives MAC CE activation commands that activate TCI states and map the activated TCI states to TCI field codepoints, including separate MAC CEs for mapping activated TCI states to the TCI field codepoints of DCI formats.
Park is relied upon to clarify that the TCI states used in such an activation/indication framework may be joint/common/unified TCIs (Park Para. [0434, 0438], Figs. 24-25]), and that such TCIs may be used for DL reception and/or UL transmission, including receiving DL signals/channels and transmitting UL signals/channels based on the indicated joint TCI.
Svedman further teaches that TCIs may be unified/common or joint TCIs (Svedman Para. [0084, 0108]) and teaches the timing relationship between TCI activation and application including examples where TCI states/codepoints are activated by MAC CE, a DCI/codepoint indication is received, and the UE applies or uses the corresponding TCI only after the applicable activation/application timing is satisfied. More specifically, Svedman’s Figs. 5-10 illustrate that the TCI state/codepoint activated by a MAC CE is not necessarily used immediately upon receipt of the activation message but is applied only after the relevant TCI activation/application timing has elapsed, thereby supporting the claimed application of the unified TCI state after an end of the TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message.
Regarding Claim 17, Muruganathan teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising (Fig. 25, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]):
one or more memories (Fig. 25, element 2504, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]);
and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured, individually or in any combination, to (Fig. 25, element 2502, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]):
receive a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activation message that maps a first codepoint to a first *unified* TCI state and a second codepoint to a second *unified* TCI state (Fig. 18, step 1802; Para. [0136]; See Also: Figs. 7-12, Para. [0111-0168]; Figs. [13-14], Para. [0169-0202]; Fig. 15, Para. [0203-02111]; Fig. 16, Para. [0212-0221]; Fig. 17, Para. [0222]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0223-0224]; Fig. 20-21, Para. [0225-0380]);
receive a second TCI activation message that maps the first codepoint to a third *unified* TCI state and the second codepoint to a fourth *unified* TCI state (Fig. 18, step 1804; Para. [0136]; See Also: Figs. 7-12, Para. [0111-0168]; Figs. [13-14], Para. [0169-0202]; Fig. 15, Para. [0203-02111]; Fig. 16, Para. [0212-0221]; Fig. 17, Para. [0222]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0223-0224]; Fig. 20-21, Para. [0225-0380]);
Yet, Muruganathan does not expressly teach and transmit or receive a communication using a unified TCI state that corresponds to a codepoint of the second TCI activation message that matches the codepoint identifier indication.
However, Park teaches
and transmit or receive, based at least in part of the TCI state selection rule, a communication using a unified TCI state that corresponds to a codepoint of the second TCI activation message that matches the codepoint identifier indication (Fig. 25; Para. [0464-0473] ; See Also: Fig. 22, Para. [0381-0421]; Fig. 23, Para. [0422-0426]; Fig. 24, Para. [0427-0463]; Fig. 25, Para. [0464-0466]; Fig. 26, Para. [0467-0495]; Fig. 27, Para. [0496-0515]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Muruganathan’s invention of “Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state activation and codepoint to TCI state mapping” (Muruganathan Para. [0002]) with Park’s invention of methods for wireless devices receive “radio resource control messages including configuration parameters of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states” (Park §Abstract) because Park’s invention provides methods which “may save overhead in an RRC (re-)configuration of the plurality of TCIs, based on that the plurality of TCIs (as being a unified/joint TCI pool) may not need to be re-configured (once it is configured)” (Park Para. [0501]) and “may reduce a complexity and power consumption of the wireless device, based on that the wireless device may turn off a functionality of providing a reference for determining common uplink Tx spatial (domain) filter(s) based on a TCI (e.g., associated (currently, previously, etc.) with its usage of ‘joint DL/UL’) of the plurality of TCIs, in response to receiving a TCI-indication (MAC-CE) message indicating the TCI is (re-)activated for ‘DL’ (e.g., not the ‘joint DL/UL’)” (Park Para. [0502]).
Yet, Muruganathan nor Park receive, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication, wherein a TCI state selection is based at least in part on a TCI state selection rule that applies when the TCI indication message is received during the TCI activation time and the unified TCI state being applied after an end of the TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message.
However, Svedman teaches
receive, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication (Fig. 11, step 3; Para. [0205-0206]; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]);
wherein a TCI state selection is based at least in part on a TCI state selection rule that applies when the TCI indication message is received during the TCI activation time (Para. [0178-0181]; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]);
the unified TCI state being applied after an end of the TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message (Fig. 11, step 4; Para. [0205-0206]; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receive, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication, wherein a TCI state selection is based at least in part on a TCI state selection rule that applies when the TCI indication message is received during the TCI activation time and the unified TCI state being applied after an end of the TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message as taught by Svedman, in the combined system of Muruganathan/Park, so that it would provide “methods, apparatus, and systems for common beam operation including enhancements for TCI activation and application in common TCI operation” (Svedman Para. [0005]) which may provide solutions regarding “a scenario with TCI indication by DCI in conjunction with the activation time of the corresponding TCI state” (Svedman Para. [0007]) and “solutions related to the interaction between a TCI state indicated in a DCI and a default TCI state” (Svedman Para. [0006]).
Regarding Claim 18, Muruganathan teaches network entity for wireless communication, comprising (Fig. 22, Para. [0184]; See also Fig. 24, Para. [0189]; Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]):
one or more memories (Fig. 22, element 2206, Para. [0184]; See also Fig. 24, Para. [0189]; Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]);
and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, which are configured, individually or in any combination, to (Fig. 22, element 2204, Para. [0184]; See also Fig. 24, Para. [0189]; Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]):
transmit a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activation message that maps a first codepoint to a first *unified* TCI state and a second codepoint to a second *unified* TCI state (Fig. 18, step 1802; Para. [0136]; See Also: Figs. 7-12, Para. [0111-0168]; Figs. [13-14], Para. [0169-0202]; Fig. 15, Para. [0203-02111]; Fig. 16, Para. [0212-0221]; Fig. 17, Para. [0222]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0223-0224]; Fig. 20-21, Para. [0225-0380]);
transmit a second TCI activation message that maps the first codepoint to a third *unified* TCI state and the second codepoint to a fourth *unified* TCI state (Fig. 18, step 1804; Para. [0136]; See Also: Figs. 7-12, Para. [0111-0168]; Figs. [13-14], Para. [0169-0202]; Fig. 15, Para. [0203-02111]; Fig. 16, Para. [0212-0221]; Fig. 17, Para. [0222]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0223-0224]; Fig. 20-21, Para. [0225-0380]);
Yet, Muruganathan does not expressly teach and transmit or receive a communication using a unified TCI state that corresponds to a codepoint of the second TCI activation message that matches the codepoint identifier indication.
However, Park teaches
and transmit or receive, based at least in part on the TCI state selection rule, a communication using a unified TCI state that corresponds to a codepoint of the second TCI activation message that matches the codepoint identifier indication (Fig. 25; Para. [0464-0473] ; See Also: Fig. 22, Para. [0381-0421]; Fig. 23, Para. [0422-0426]; Fig. 24, Para. [0427-0463]; Fig. 25, Para. [0464-0466]; Fig. 26, Para. [0467-0495]; Fig. 27, Para. [0496-0515]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Muruganathan’s invention of “Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state activation and codepoint to TCI state mapping” (Muruganathan Para. [0002]) with Park’s invention of methods for wireless devices receive “radio resource control messages including configuration parameters of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states” (Park §Abstract) because Park’s invention provides methods which “may save overhead in an RRC (re-)configuration of the plurality of TCIs, based on that the plurality of TCIs (as being a unified/joint TCI pool) may not need to be re-configured (once it is configured)” (Park Para. [0501]) and “may reduce a complexity and power consumption of the wireless device, based on that the wireless device may turn off a functionality of providing a reference for determining common uplink Tx spatial (domain) filter(s) based on a TCI (e.g., associated (currently, previously, etc.) with its usage of ‘joint DL/UL’) of the plurality of TCIs, in response to receiving a TCI-indication (MAC-CE) message indicating the TCI is (re-)activated for ‘DL’ (e.g., not the ‘joint DL/UL’)” (Park Para. [0502]).
Yet, Muruganathan nor Park transmit, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication, wherein a TCI state selection is based at least in part on a TCI state selection rule that applies when the TCI indication message is received during the TCI activation time and the unified TCI state being applied after an end of the TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message.
However, Svedman teaches
transmit, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication (Fig. 11, step 3; Para. [0205-0206]; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]);
wherein a TCI state selection is based at least in part on a TCI state selection rule that applies when the TCI indication message is received during the TCI activation time (Para. [0178-0181]; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]);
the unified TCI state being applied after an end of the TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message (Fig. 11, step 4; Para. [0205-0206]; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmit, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication, wherein a TCI state selection is based at least in part on a TCI state selection rule that applies when the TCI indication message is received during the TCI activation time and the unified TCI state being applied after an end of the TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message as taught by Svedman, in the combined system of Muruganathan/Park, so that it would provide “methods, apparatus, and systems for common beam operation including enhancements for TCI activation and application in common TCI operation” (Svedman Para. [0005]) which may provide solutions regarding “a scenario with TCI indication by DCI in conjunction with the activation time of the corresponding TCI state” (Svedman Para. [0007]) and “solutions related to the interaction between a TCI state indicated in a DCI and a default TCI state” (Svedman Para. [0006]).
Regarding Claim 19, Muruganathan teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising (Fig. 25, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]):
one or more memories (Fig. 25, element 2504, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]);
and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured, individually or in any combination, to (Fig. 25, element 2502, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]):
receive a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activation message that maps a first codepoint to a first *unified* TCI state and a second codepoint to a second *unified* TCI state (Fig. 18, step 1802; Para. [0136]; See Also: Figs. 7-12, Para. [0111-0168]; Figs. [13-14], Para. [0169-0202]; Fig. 15, Para. [0203-02111]; Fig. 16, Para. [0212-0221]; Fig. 17, Para. [0222]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0223-0224]; Fig. 20-21, Para. [0225-0380]);
receive a second TCI activation message that maps the first codepoint to a third *unified* TCI state and the second codepoint to a fourth *unified* TCI state (Fig. 18, step 1804; Para. [0136]; See Also: Figs. 7-12, Para. [0111-0168]; Figs. [13-14], Para. [0169-0202]; Fig. 15, Para. [0203-02111]; Fig. 16, Para. [0212-0221]; Fig. 17, Para. [0222]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0223-0224]; Fig. 20-21, Para. [0225-0380]);
Yet, Muruganathan does not expressly teach and transmit or receive a communication using a unified TCI state of whichever of the first TCI activation message or the second TCI activation message has a codepoint that matches the first codepoint identifier indication and receive a first TCI indication message that indicates a first codepoint identifier indication.
However, Park teaches
receive a first TCI indication message that indicates a first codepoint identifier indication (Fig. 25; Para. [0464-0473] ; See Also: Fig. 22, Para. [0381-0421]; Fig. 23, Para. [0422-0426]; Fig. 24, Para. [0427-0463]; Fig. 25, Para. [0464-0466]; Fig. 26, Para. [0467-0495]; Fig. 27, Para. [0496-0515]);
and transmit or receive, based at least in part on the TCI state selection rule, a communication using a unified TCI state of whichever of the first TCI activation message or the second TCI activation message has a codepoint that matches the first codepoint identifier indication (Fig. 25; Para. [0464-0473] ; See Also: Fig. 22, Para. [0381-0421]; Fig. 23, Para. [0422-0426]; Fig. 24, Para. [0427-0463]; Fig. 25, Para. [0464-0466]; Fig. 26, Para. [0467-0495]; Fig. 27, Para. [0496-0515]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Muruganathan’s invention of “Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state activation and codepoint to TCI state mapping” (Muruganathan Para. [0002]) with Park’s invention of methods for wireless devices receive “radio resource control messages including configuration parameters of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states” (Park §Abstract) because Park’s invention provides methods which “may save overhead in an RRC (re-)configuration of the plurality of TCIs, based on that the plurality of TCIs (as being a unified/joint TCI pool) may not need to be re-configured (once it is configured)” (Park Para. [0501]) and “may reduce a complexity and power consumption of the wireless device, based on that the wireless device may turn off a functionality of providing a reference for determining common uplink Tx spatial (domain) filter(s) based on a TCI (e.g., associated (currently, previously, etc.) with its usage of ‘joint DL/UL’) of the plurality of TCIs, in response to receiving a TCI-indication (MAC-CE) message indicating the TCI is (re-)activated for ‘DL’ (e.g., not the ‘joint DL/UL’)” (Park Para. [0502]).
Yet, Muruganathan nor Park wherein a TCI state selection is based at least in part on a TCI state selection rule that applies when the TCI indication message is received during the TCI activation time and refrain from applying any unified TCI states indicated after the second TCI activation message and before an end of a TCI application time for the first TCI indication message.
However, Svedman teaches
wherein a TCI state selection is based at least in part on a TCI state selection rule that applies when the TCI indication message is received during the TCI activation time (Para. [0178-0181]; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]);
refrain from applying any unified TCI states indicated after the second TCI activation message and before an end of a TCI application time for the first TCI indication message (Fig. 11, steps 3 and 4; Para. [0205-0206]; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a TCI state selection is based at least in part on a TCI state selection rule that applies when the TCI indication message is received during the TCI activation time and refrain from applying any unified TCI states indicated after the second TCI activation message and before an end of a TCI application time for the first TCI indication message as taught by Svedman, in the combined system of Muruganathan/Park, so that it would provide “methods, apparatus, and systems for common beam operation including enhancements for TCI activation and application in common TCI operation” (Svedman Para. [0005]) which may provide solutions regarding “a scenario with TCI indication by DCI in conjunction with the activation time of the corresponding TCI state” (Svedman Para. [0007]) and “solutions related to the interaction between a TCI state indicated in a DCI and a default TCI state” (Svedman Para. [0006]).
Regarding Claim 21, Muruganathan teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising (Fig. 25, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]):
one or more memories (Fig. 25, element 2504, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]);
and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, which are configured, individually or in any combination, to (Fig. 25, element 2502, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]):
receive a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activation message that maps a first codepoint to a first *unified* TCI state and a second codepoint to a second *unified* TCI state (Fig. 18, step 1802; Para. [0136]; See Also: Figs. 7-12, Para. [0111-0168]; Figs. [13-14], Para. [0169-0202]; Fig. 15, Para. [0203-02111]; Fig. 16, Para. [0212-0221]; Fig. 17, Para. [0222]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0223-0224]; Fig. 20-21, Para. [0225-0380]);
receive a second TCI activation message that maps the first codepoint to a third *unified* TCI state and the second codepoint to a fourth *unified* TCI state (Fig. 18, step 1804; Para. [0136]; See Also: Figs. 7-12, Para. [0111-0168]; Figs. [13-14], Para. [0169-0202]; Fig. 15, Para. [0203-02111]; Fig. 16, Para. [0212-0221]; Fig. 17, Para. [0222]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0223-0224]; Fig. 20-21, Para. [0225-0380]);
Yet, Muruganathan does not expressly teach and transmit or receive a communication using the matching unified TCI state, the matching unified TCI state being applied after receiving the second TCI indication message.
However, Park teaches
and transmit or receive, based at least in part on the TCI state selection rule, a communication using the matching unified TCI state, the matching unified TCI state being applied after receiving the second TCI indication message (Fig. 25; Para. [0464-0473] ; See Also: Fig. 22, Para. [0381-0421]; Fig. 23, Para. [0422-0426]; Fig. 24, Para. [0427-0463]; Fig. 25, Para. [0464-0466]; Fig. 26, Para. [0467-0495]; Fig. 27, Para. [0496-0515]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Muruganathan’s invention of “Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state activation and codepoint to TCI state mapping” (Muruganathan Para. [0002]) with Park’s invention of methods for wireless devices receive “radio resource control messages including configuration parameters of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states” (Park §Abstract) because Park’s invention provides methods which “may save overhead in an RRC (re-)configuration of the plurality of TCIs, based on that the plurality of TCIs (as being a unified/joint TCI pool) may not need to be re-configured (once it is configured)” (Park Para. [0501]) and “may reduce a complexity and power consumption of the wireless device, based on that the wireless device may turn off a functionality of providing a reference for determining common uplink Tx spatial (domain) filter(s) based on a TCI (e.g., associated (currently, previously, etc.) with its usage of ‘joint DL/UL’) of the plurality of TCIs, in response to receiving a TCI-indication (MAC-CE) message indicating the TCI is (re-)activated for ‘DL’ (e.g., not the ‘joint DL/UL’)” (Park Para. [0502]).
Yet, Muruganathan nor Park receive, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication, wherein a TCI state selection is based at least in part on a TCI state selection rule that applies when the TCI indication message is received during the TCI activation time and refrain from applying a matching unified TCI state of a matching codepoint of the second TCI activation message that matches the first codepoint identifier indication until after receiving a second TCI indication message that indicates a second codepoint identifier indication that is different than the first codepoint identifier indication.
However, Svedman teaches
receive, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication (Fig. 11, step 3; Para. [0205-0206]; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]);
wherein a TCI state selection is based at least in part on a TCI state selection rule that applies when the TCI indication message is received during the TCI activation time (Para. [0178-0181]; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]);
refrain from applying a matching unified TCI state of a matching codepoint of the second TCI activation message that matches the first codepoint identifier indication until after receiving a second TCI indication message that indicates a second codepoint identifier indication that is different than the first codepoint identifier indication (Fig. 11, step 4; Para. [0205-0206]; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receive, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication, wherein a TCI state selection is based at least in part on a TCI state selection rule that applies when the TCI indication message is received during the TCI activation time and refrain from applying a matching unified TCI state of a matching codepoint of the second TCI activation message that matches the first codepoint identifier indication until after receiving a second TCI indication message that indicates a second codepoint identifier indication that is different than the first codepoint identifier indication as taught by Svedman, in the combined system of Muruganathan/Park, so that it would provide “methods, apparatus, and systems for common beam operation including enhancements for TCI activation and application in common TCI operation” (Svedman Para. [0005]) which may provide solutions regarding “a scenario with TCI indication by DCI in conjunction with the activation time of the corresponding TCI state” (Svedman Para. [0007]) and “solutions related to the interaction between a TCI state indicated in a DCI and a default TCI state” (Svedman Para. [0006]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468