CTNF 18/721,031 CTNF 100231 DETAILED ACTION The action is responsive to claims filed on 06/17/2024. Claims 13, 17-19, 21, and 22 are pending for evaluation. Note: The claims are presented with independent claims listed first in numerical order, followed by dependent claims also in numerical order; any dual or mirror claims are grouped with the lowest-numbered claim in their respective pairing. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/17/2024 and 12/31/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Response to Amendment The Amendment filed on 06/17/2024 has been entered. Claims 1-12, 14-16, 20, and 23-48 are canceled. Claims 13, 17-19, 21, and 22 are pending for evaluation. Allowable Subject Matter Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 22 contains allowable subject matter because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest applying a non-matching unified TCI state of a non-matching codepoint of the first TCI activation message that does not match the first codepoint identifier indication, where the non-matching unified TCI state is applied at an end of the TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, as claimed. The cited references generally teach applying an indicated, activated, default, or lowest-codepoint TCI state, but do not teach the claimed selection and application of a non-matching unified TCI state from the first TCI activation message under the recited timing condition. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 13, 17-19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muruganathan et al. (US 2023/0300835), Muruganathan hereinafter, in view of Park et al. (US 2022/0225369), Park hereinafter, and Svedman et al. (US 2024/0172245), Svedman hereinafter . Regarding Claim 13 , Muruganathan teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising (Fig. 25, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]): a memory (Fig. 25, element 2504, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]); and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to (Fig. 25, element 2502, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]): receive a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activation message that maps a first codepoint to a first *unified* TCI state and a second codepoint to a second *unified* TCI state ( Fig. 18, step 1802; Para. [0136] - FIG. 18 illustrates a method performed by a wireless device for activating Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states. In some embodiments, the method includes one or more of: being configured to monitor a plurality of Downlink Control Information (DCI) formats with the TCI field for Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) reception (step 1800); receiving a single Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) to activate TCI states and map activated TCI states to the TCI field codepoints of the plurality of DCI formats (step 1802) ; and receiving separate MAC CEs to activate TCI states and map activated TCI states to the TCI field codepoints of each of the plurality of DCI formats (step 1804) ; See Also: Figs. 7-12, Para. [0111-0168]; Figs. [13-14], Para. [0169-0202]; Fig. 15, Para. [0203-02111]; Fig. 16, Para. [0212-0221]; Fig. 17, Para. [0222]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0223-0224]; Fig. 20-21, Para. [0225-0380]); receive a second TCI activation message that maps the first codepoint to a third *unified* TCI state and the second codepoint to a fourth *unified* TCI state (Fig. 18, step 1804; Para. [0136] - FIG. 18 illustrates a method performed by a wireless device for activating Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states. In some embodiments, the method includes one or more of: being configured to monitor a plurality of Downlink Control Information (DCI) formats with the TCI field for Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) reception (step 1800); receiving a single Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) to activate TCI states and map activated TCI states to the TCI field codepoints of the plurality of DCI formats (step 1802); and receiving separate MAC CEs to activate TCI states and map activated TCI states to the TCI field codepoints of each of the plurality of DCI formats (step 1804) ; See Also: Figs. 7-12, Para. [0111-0168]; Figs. [13-14], Para. [0169-0202]; Fig. 15, Para. [0203-02111]; Fig. 16, Para. [0212-0221]; Fig. 17, Para. [0222]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0223-0224]; Fig. 20-21, Para. [0225-0380]); Yet, Muruganathan does not expressly teach and transmit or receive a communication using a unified TCI state of a codepoint of the second TCI activation message. However, Park teaches and transmit or receive a communication using a unified TCI state of a codepoint of the second TCI activation message ( Fig. 25; Para. [0464-0473] - [0469] In an example, the wireless device may receive a second DCI comprising the TCI field. The wireless device may determine a second value indicated by the TCI field being mapped to a second TCI of the one or more TCIs, where the second TCI is set with its usage being ‘UL’ as uplink, e.g., via the TCI-indication message. In response to determining the second value, the wireless device may transmit at least one of uplink signal(s)/channel(s), e.g., a PUSCH and one or more PUCCH resources (and an SRS, etc.) based on the second TCI. In an example, the wireless device may transmit a PUSCH, e.g., scheduled by the second DCI (or scheduled by a first (separated) DCI, or scheduled by a higher-layer signaling, e.g., as a semi-persistent (or configured-grant) PUSCH, etc.), of the at least one of uplink signal(s)/channel(s), based on the second TCI. In an example, the wireless device may transmit a UCI via the one or more PUCCH resources, of the at least one of uplink signal(s)/channel(s), based on the second TCI. In an example, the wireless device may transmit an SRS via an SRS resource, of the at least one of uplink signal(s)/channel(s), based on the second TCI ; See Also: Fig. 22, Para. [0381-0421]; Fig. 23, Para. [0422-0426]; Fig. 24, Para. [0427-0463]; Fig. 25, Para. [0464-0466]; Fig. 26, Para. [0467-0495]; Fig. 27, Para. [0496-0515]), Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Muruganathan’s invention of “Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state activation and codepoint to TCI state mapping” (Muruganathan Para. [0002]) with Park’s invention of methods for wireless devices receive “radio resource control messages including configuration parameters of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states” (Park §Abstract) because Park’s invention provides methods which “may save overhead in an RRC (re-)configuration of the plurality of TCIs, based on that the plurality of TCIs (as being a unified/joint TCI pool) may not need to be re-configured (once it is configured)” (Park Para. [0501]) and “may reduce a complexity and power consumption of the wireless device, based on that the wireless device may turn off a functionality of providing a reference for determining common uplink Tx spatial (domain) filter(s) based on a TCI (e.g., associated (currently, previously, etc.) with its usage of ‘joint DL/UL’) of the plurality of TCIs, in response to receiving a TCI-indication (MAC-CE) message indicating the TCI is (re-)activated for ‘DL’ (e.g., not the ‘joint DL/UL’)” (Park Para. [0502]). Yet, Muruganathan nor Park expressly receive, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication for the first codepoint or the second codepoint; and transmit or receive a communication using a unified TCI state of a codepoint of the second TCI activation message with a lowest identifier, the unified TCI state being applied after an end of the TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message . However, Svedman teaches receive, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication for the first codepoint or the second codepoint ( Fig. 11, step 3; Para. [0205-0206] - [0205] A basic procedure for the application of a TCI is shown in FIG. 11. [0206] In step 1, a UE receives a MAC CE for TCI activation for the unified TCI state framework, activating a set of TCIs P. After some time, the TCIs have been activated, as in step 2. The UE performs PDCCH monitoring and receives DCIs in step 3. It receives a DCI that indicates a TCI q. In step 4, it is determined if the indicated TCI is new, e.g., that it not currently being used. If it is not new, a TCI update is not needed, and the UE can return to PDCCH monitoring in step 3. If the indicated TCI q is indeed new, the UE starts to use the indicated TCI q at the proper application time ; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]); and transmit or receive a communication using a unified TCI state of a codepoint of the second TCI activation message with a lowest identifier (Fig. 8, elements d1-d3; Fig. 9, elements d1-d4; Para. [0180-0181] - [0180] In some cases, a default TCI is determined based on the set of TCIs (activated by the same MAC CE) that have been activated so far. As an example, consider FIG. 8, in which four TCIs are activated by a MAC CE, each corresponding to a TCI codepoint. Not that a TCI index or TC state ID order might not be matched by a TC codepoint order. Such an order may be arbitrarily selected by the MAC CE, in various cases. In some cases, e.g., if a TC bitmap is used to indicate activated TCIs, a TCI index or TCI state ID order may translate into a TCI codepoint order, e.g., the activated TCI with lowest index/ID is mapped to the lowest TCI codepoint. [0181] In some cases, as also discussed above, TCIs in a MAC CE activation command may be grouped based on the corresponding activation delays. In some cases, actual activation delays may be adjusted such that TCIs in a group have the same actual activation delay. In some cases, a default TCI is selected among TCIs in a such a group, based on indication in the MAC CE, configuration and/or a rule (e.g., lowest codepoint). This is illustrated in FIG. 9. For example, the first group (e.g., d1, d2) may include known TCIs or already activated known TCIs. The second group (e.g., d3, d4) may include unknown TCIs or not already activated known TCIs. The TCIs in the first group may be activated significantly earlier than the TCIs in the second group. By determining a default TCI already at the first activation time, a default TC is defined as early as possible. As more (groups of) TCIs are activated, they may be included in the default TCI determination ; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]), the unified TCI state being applied after an end of the TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message ( Fig. 11, step 4; Para. [0205-0206] - [0205] A basic procedure for the application of a TCI is shown in FIG. 11. [0206] In step 1, a UE receives a MAC CE for TCI activation for the unified TCI state framework, activating a set of TCIs P. After some time, the TCIs have been activated, as in step 2. The UE performs PDCCH monitoring and receives DCIs in step 3. It receives a DCI that indicates a TCI q. In step 4, it is determined if the indicated TCI is new, e.g., that it not currently being used. If it is not new, a TCI update is not needed, and the UE can return to PDCCH monitoring in step 3. If the indicated TCI q is indeed new, the UE starts to use the indicated TCI q at the proper application time ; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receive, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication for the first codepoint or the second codepoint; and transmit or receive a communication using a unified TCI state of a codepoint of the second TCI activation message with a lowest identifier, the unified TCI state being applied after an end of the TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message as taught by Svedman, in the combined system of Muruganathan/Park, so that it would provide “methods, apparatus, and systems for common beam operation including enhancements for TCI activation and application in common TCI operation” (Svedman Para. [0005]) which may provide solutions regarding “a scenario with TCI indication by DCI in conjunction with the activation time of the corresponding TCI state” (Svedman Para. [0007]) and “solutions related to the interaction between a TCI state indicated in a DCI and a default TCI state” (Svedman Para. [0006]). Claim 13 Examiner’ Note: Muruganathan provides the base TCI activation/codepoint-mapping framework by teaching that a UE receives MAC CE activation commands that activate TCI states and map the activated TCI states to TCI field codepoints, including separate MAC CEs for mapping activated TCI states to the TCI field codepoints of DCI formats. Park is relied upon to clarify that the TCI states used in such an activation/indication framework may be joint/common/unified TCIs (Park Para. [0434, 0438], Figs. 24-25]), and that such TCIs may be used for DL reception and/or UL transmission, including receiving DL signals/channels and transmitting UL signals/channels based on the indicated joint TCI. Svedman further teaches that TCIs may be unified/common or joint TCIs (Svedman Para. [0084, 0108]) and teaches the timing relationship between TCI activation and application including examples where TCI states/codepoints are activated by MAC CE, a DCI/codepoint indication is received, and the UE applies or uses the corresponding TCI only after the applicable activation/application timing is satisfied. More specifically, Svedman’s Figs. 5-10 illustrate that the TCI state/codepoint activated by a MAC CE is not necessarily used immediately upon receipt of the activation message but is applied only after the relevant TCI activation/application timing has elapsed, thereby supporting the claimed application of the unified TCI state after an end of the TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message. Regarding Claim 17 , Muruganathan teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising (Fig. 25, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]): a memory (Fig. 25, element 2504, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]); and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to (Fig. 25, element 2502, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]): receive a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activation message that maps a first codepoint to a first *unified* TCI state and a second codepoint to a second *unified* TCI state ( Fig. 18, step 1802; Para. [0136]; See Also: Figs. 7-12, Para. [0111-0168]; Figs. [13-14], Para. [0169-0202]; Fig. 15, Para. [0203-02111]; Fig. 16, Para. [0212-0221]; Fig. 17, Para. [0222]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0223-0224]; Fig. 20-21, Para. [0225-0380]); receive a second TCI activation message that maps the first codepoint to a third *unified* TCI state and the second codepoint to a fourth *unified* TCI state (Fig. 18, step 1804; Para. [0136]; See Also: Figs. 7-12, Para. [0111-0168]; Figs. [13-14], Para. [0169-0202]; Fig. 15, Para. [0203-02111]; Fig. 16, Para. [0212-0221]; Fig. 17, Para. [0222]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0223-0224]; Fig. 20-21, Para. [0225-0380]); Yet, Muruganathan does not expressly teach and transmit or receive a communication using a unified TCI state that corresponds to a codepoint of the second TCI activation message that matches the codepoint identifier indication. However, Park teaches and transmit or receive a communication using a unified TCI state that corresponds to a codepoint of the second TCI activation message that matches the codepoint identifier indication (Fig. 25; Para. [0464-0473] ; See Also: Fig. 22, Para. [0381-0421]; Fig. 23, Para. [0422-0426]; Fig. 24, Para. [0427-0463]; Fig. 25, Para. [0464-0466]; Fig. 26, Para. [0467-0495]; Fig. 27, Para. [0496-0515]), Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Muruganathan’s invention of “Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state activation and codepoint to TCI state mapping” (Muruganathan Para. [0002]) with Park’s invention of methods for wireless devices receive “radio resource control messages including configuration parameters of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states” (Park §Abstract) because Park’s invention provides methods which “may save overhead in an RRC (re-)configuration of the plurality of TCIs, based on that the plurality of TCIs (as being a unified/joint TCI pool) may not need to be re-configured (once it is configured)” (Park Para. [0501]) and “may reduce a complexity and power consumption of the wireless device, based on that the wireless device may turn off a functionality of providing a reference for determining common uplink Tx spatial (domain) filter(s) based on a TCI (e.g., associated (currently, previously, etc.) with its usage of ‘joint DL/UL’) of the plurality of TCIs, in response to receiving a TCI-indication (MAC-CE) message indicating the TCI is (re-)activated for ‘DL’ (e.g., not the ‘joint DL/UL’)” (Park Para. [0502]). Yet, Muruganathan nor Park receive, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication and the unified TCI state being applied after an end of the TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message. However, Svedman teaches receive, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication ( Fig. 11, step 3; Para. [0205-0206]; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]); the unified TCI state being applied after an end of the TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message ( Fig. 11, step 4; Para. [0205-0206]; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receive, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication and the unified TCI state being applied after an end of the TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message as taught by Svedman, in the combined system of Muruganathan/Park, so that it would provide “methods, apparatus, and systems for common beam operation including enhancements for TCI activation and application in common TCI operation” (Svedman Para. [0005]) which may provide solutions regarding “a scenario with TCI indication by DCI in conjunction with the activation time of the corresponding TCI state” (Svedman Para. [0007]) and “solutions related to the interaction between a TCI state indicated in a DCI and a default TCI state” (Svedman Para. [0006]). Regarding Claim 18 , Muruganathan teaches network entity for wireless communication, comprising (Fig. 22, Para. [0184]; See also Fig. 24, Para. [0189]; Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]): a memory (Fig. 22, element 2206, Para. [0184]; See also Fig. 24, Para. [0189]; Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]); and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to (Fig. 22, element 2204, Para. [0184]; See also Fig. 24, Para. [0189]; Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]): transmit a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activation message that maps a first codepoint to a first *unified* TCI state and a second codepoint to a second *unified* TCI state ( Fig. 18, step 1802; Para. [0136]; See Also: Figs. 7-12, Para. [0111-0168]; Figs. [13-14], Para. [0169-0202]; Fig. 15, Para. [0203-02111]; Fig. 16, Para. [0212-0221]; Fig. 17, Para. [0222]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0223-0224]; Fig. 20-21, Para. [0225-0380]); transmit a second TCI activation message that maps the first codepoint to a third *unified* TCI state and the second codepoint to a fourth *unified* TCI state (Fig. 18, step 1804; Para. [0136]; See Also: Figs. 7-12, Para. [0111-0168]; Figs. [13-14], Para. [0169-0202]; Fig. 15, Para. [0203-02111]; Fig. 16, Para. [0212-0221]; Fig. 17, Para. [0222]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0223-0224]; Fig. 20-21, Para. [0225-0380]); Yet, Muruganathan does not expressly teach and transmit or receive a communication using a unified TCI state that corresponds to a codepoint of the second TCI activation message that matches the codepoint identifier indication. However, Park teaches and transmit or receive a communication using a unified TCI state that corresponds to a codepoint of the second TCI activation message that matches the codepoint identifier indication (Fig. 25; Para. [0464-0473] ; See Also: Fig. 22, Para. [0381-0421]; Fig. 23, Para. [0422-0426]; Fig. 24, Para. [0427-0463]; Fig. 25, Para. [0464-0466]; Fig. 26, Para. [0467-0495]; Fig. 27, Para. [0496-0515]), Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Muruganathan’s invention of “Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state activation and codepoint to TCI state mapping” (Muruganathan Para. [0002]) with Park’s invention of methods for wireless devices receive “radio resource control messages including configuration parameters of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states” (Park §Abstract) because Park’s invention provides methods which “may save overhead in an RRC (re-)configuration of the plurality of TCIs, based on that the plurality of TCIs (as being a unified/joint TCI pool) may not need to be re-configured (once it is configured)” (Park Para. [0501]) and “may reduce a complexity and power consumption of the wireless device, based on that the wireless device may turn off a functionality of providing a reference for determining common uplink Tx spatial (domain) filter(s) based on a TCI (e.g., associated (currently, previously, etc.) with its usage of ‘joint DL/UL’) of the plurality of TCIs, in response to receiving a TCI-indication (MAC-CE) message indicating the TCI is (re-)activated for ‘DL’ (e.g., not the ‘joint DL/UL’)” (Park Para. [0502]). Yet, Muruganathan nor Park transmit, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication and the unified TCI state being applied after an end of the TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message. However, Svedman teaches transmit, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication ( Fig. 11, step 3; Para. [0205-0206]; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]); the unified TCI state being applied after an end of the TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message ( Fig. 11, step 4; Para. [0205-0206]; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmit, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication and the unified TCI state being applied after an end of the TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message as taught by Svedman, in the combined system of Muruganathan/Park, so that it would provide “methods, apparatus, and systems for common beam operation including enhancements for TCI activation and application in common TCI operation” (Svedman Para. [0005]) which may provide solutions regarding “a scenario with TCI indication by DCI in conjunction with the activation time of the corresponding TCI state” (Svedman Para. [0007]) and “solutions related to the interaction between a TCI state indicated in a DCI and a default TCI state” (Svedman Para. [0006]). Regarding Claim 19 , Muruganathan teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising (Fig. 25, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]): a memory (Fig. 25, element 2504, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]); and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to (Fig. 25, element 2502, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]): receive a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activation message that maps a first codepoint to a first *unified* TCI state and a second codepoint to a second *unified* TCI state ( Fig. 18, step 1802; Para. [0136]; See Also: Figs. 7-12, Para. [0111-0168]; Figs. [13-14], Para. [0169-0202]; Fig. 15, Para. [0203-02111]; Fig. 16, Para. [0212-0221]; Fig. 17, Para. [0222]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0223-0224]; Fig. 20-21, Para. [0225-0380]); receive a second TCI activation message that maps the first codepoint to a third *unified* TCI state and the second codepoint to a fourth *unified* TCI state (Fig. 18, step 1804; Para. [0136]; See Also: Figs. 7-12, Para. [0111-0168]; Figs. [13-14], Para. [0169-0202]; Fig. 15, Para. [0203-02111]; Fig. 16, Para. [0212-0221]; Fig. 17, Para. [0222]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0223-0224]; Fig. 20-21, Para. [0225-0380]); Yet, Muruganathan does not expressly teach and transmit or receive a communication using a unified TCI state of whichever of the first TCI activation message or the second TCI activation message has a codepoint that matches the first codepoint identifier indication and receive a first TCI indication message that indicates a first codepoint identifier indication. However, Park teaches receive a first TCI indication message that indicates a first codepoint identifier indication (Fig. 25; Para. [0464-0473] ; See Also: Fig. 22, Para. [0381-0421]; Fig. 23, Para. [0422-0426]; Fig. 24, Para. [0427-0463]; Fig. 25, Para. [0464-0466]; Fig. 26, Para. [0467-0495]; Fig. 27, Para. [0496-0515]); and transmit or receive a communication using a unified TCI state of whichever of the first TCI activation message or the second TCI activation message has a codepoint that matches the first codepoint identifier indication (Fig. 25; Para. [0464-0473] ; See Also: Fig. 22, Para. [0381-0421]; Fig. 23, Para. [0422-0426]; Fig. 24, Para. [0427-0463]; Fig. 25, Para. [0464-0466]; Fig. 26, Para. [0467-0495]; Fig. 27, Para. [0496-0515]), Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Muruganathan’s invention of “Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state activation and codepoint to TCI state mapping” (Muruganathan Para. [0002]) with Park’s invention of methods for wireless devices receive “radio resource control messages including configuration parameters of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states” (Park §Abstract) because Park’s invention provides methods which “may save overhead in an RRC (re-)configuration of the plurality of TCIs, based on that the plurality of TCIs (as being a unified/joint TCI pool) may not need to be re-configured (once it is configured)” (Park Para. [0501]) and “may reduce a complexity and power consumption of the wireless device, based on that the wireless device may turn off a functionality of providing a reference for determining common uplink Tx spatial (domain) filter(s) based on a TCI (e.g., associated (currently, previously, etc.) with its usage of ‘joint DL/UL’) of the plurality of TCIs, in response to receiving a TCI-indication (MAC-CE) message indicating the TCI is (re-)activated for ‘DL’ (e.g., not the ‘joint DL/UL’)” (Park Para. [0502]). Yet, Muruganathan nor Park refrain from applying any unified TCI states indicated after the second TCI activation message and before an end of a TCI application time for the first TCI indication message. However, Svedman teaches refrain from applying any unified TCI states indicated after the second TCI activation message and before an end of a TCI application time for the first TCI indication message ( Fig. 11, steps 3 and 4; Para. [0205-0206]; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide refrain from applying any unified TCI states indicated after the second TCI activation message and before an end of a TCI application time for the first TCI indication message as taught by Svedman, in the combined system of Muruganathan/Park, so that it would provide “methods, apparatus, and systems for common beam operation including enhancements for TCI activation and application in common TCI operation” (Svedman Para. [0005]) which may provide solutions regarding “a scenario with TCI indication by DCI in conjunction with the activation time of the corresponding TCI state” (Svedman Para. [0007]) and “solutions related to the interaction between a TCI state indicated in a DCI and a default TCI state” (Svedman Para. [0006]). Regarding Claim 21 , Muruganathan teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising (Fig. 25, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]): a memory (Fig. 25, element 2504, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]); and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to (Fig. 25, element 2502, Para. [0190-0191]; See also Fig. 26, Para. [0192]; Figs. 27-32, Para. [0193-0208]): receive a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activation message that maps a first codepoint to a first *unified* TCI state and a second codepoint to a second *unified* TCI state ( Fig. 18, step 1802; Para. [0136]; See Also: Figs. 7-12, Para. [0111-0168]; Figs. [13-14], Para. [0169-0202]; Fig. 15, Para. [0203-02111]; Fig. 16, Para. [0212-0221]; Fig. 17, Para. [0222]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0223-0224]; Fig. 20-21, Para. [0225-0380]); receive a second TCI activation message that maps the first codepoint to a third *unified* TCI state and the second codepoint to a fourth *unified* TCI state (Fig. 18, step 1804; Para. [0136]; See Also: Figs. 7-12, Para. [0111-0168]; Figs. [13-14], Para. [0169-0202]; Fig. 15, Para. [0203-02111]; Fig. 16, Para. [0212-0221]; Fig. 17, Para. [0222]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0223-0224]; Fig. 20-21, Para. [0225-0380]); Yet, Muruganathan does not expressly teach and transmit or receive a communication using the matching unified TCI state, the matching unified TCI state being applied after receiving the second TCI indication message. However, Park teaches and transmit or receive a communication using the matching unified TCI state, the matching unified TCI state being applied after receiving the second TCI indication message (Fig. 25; Para. [0464-0473] ; See Also: Fig. 22, Para. [0381-0421]; Fig. 23, Para. [0422-0426]; Fig. 24, Para. [0427-0463]; Fig. 25, Para. [0464-0466]; Fig. 26, Para. [0467-0495]; Fig. 27, Para. [0496-0515]), Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Muruganathan’s invention of “Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state activation and codepoint to TCI state mapping” (Muruganathan Para. [0002]) with Park’s invention of methods for wireless devices receive “radio resource control messages including configuration parameters of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states” (Park §Abstract) because Park’s invention provides methods which “may save overhead in an RRC (re-)configuration of the plurality of TCIs, based on that the plurality of TCIs (as being a unified/joint TCI pool) may not need to be re-configured (once it is configured)” (Park Para. [0501]) and “may reduce a complexity and power consumption of the wireless device, based on that the wireless device may turn off a functionality of providing a reference for determining common uplink Tx spatial (domain) filter(s) based on a TCI (e.g., associated (currently, previously, etc.) with its usage of ‘joint DL/UL’) of the plurality of TCIs, in response to receiving a TCI-indication (MAC-CE) message indicating the TCI is (re-)activated for ‘DL’ (e.g., not the ‘joint DL/UL’)” (Park Para. [0502]). Yet, Muruganathan nor Park receive, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication and refrain from applying a matching unified TCI state of a matching codepoint of the second TCI activation message that matches the first codepoint identifier indication until after receiving a second TCI indication message that indicates a second codepoint identifier indication that is different than the first codepoint identifier indication. However, Svedman teaches receive, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication ( Fig. 11, step 3; Para. [0205-0206]; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]); refrain from applying a matching unified TCI state of a matching codepoint of the second TCI activation message that matches the first codepoint identifier indication until after receiving a second TCI indication message that indicates a second codepoint identifier indication that is different than the first codepoint identifier indication ( Fig. 11, step 4; Para. [0205-0206]; See Also: Figs. 1-4, Para. [0118-0150]; Figs. 5-10, Para. [0151-0195]; Fig. 11, Para. [0196-0207]; Fig. 12-21, Para. [0208-0238]; Fig. 22-26, Para. [0239-0281]; Fig. 27-28, Para. [0282-0290]; Fig. 29-31, Para. [0292-0310]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receive, during a TCI activation time for the second TCI activation message, a TCI indication message that indicates a codepoint identifier indication and refrain from applying a matching unified TCI state of a matching codepoint of the second TCI activation message that matches the first codepoint identifier indication until after receiving a second TCI indication message that indicates a second codepoint identifier indication that is different than the first codepoint identifier indication as taught by Svedman, in the combined system of Muruganathan/Park, so that it would provide “methods, apparatus, and systems for common beam operation including enhancements for TCI activation and application in common TCI operation” (Svedman Para. [0005]) which may provide solutions regarding “a scenario with TCI indication by DCI in conjunction with the activation time of the corresponding TCI state” (Svedman Para. [0007]) and “solutions related to the interaction between a TCI state indicated in a DCI and a default TCI state” (Svedman Para. [0006]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RAENITA ANN FENNER whose telephone number is (571)270-0880. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 - 5:30 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Marcus Smith can be reached at (571) 270-1096. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468 /Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468 Application/Control Number: 18/721,031 Page 2 Art Unit: 2468 Application/Control Number: 18/721,031 Page 3 Art Unit: 2468 Application/Control Number: 18/721,031 Page 4 Art Unit: 2468 Application/Control Number: 18/721,031 Page 5 Art Unit: 2468 Application/Control Number: 18/721,031 Page 6 Art Unit: 2468 Application/Control Number: 18/721,031 Page 7 Art Unit: 2468 Application/Control Number: 18/721,031 Page 8 Art Unit: 2468 Application/Control Number: 18/721,031 Page 9 Art Unit: 2468 Application/Control Number: 18/721,031 Page 10 Art Unit: 2468 Application/Control Number: 18/721,031 Page 11 Art Unit: 2468 Application/Control Number: 18/721,031 Page 12 Art Unit: 2468 Application/Control Number: 18/721,031 Page 13 Art Unit: 2468 Application/Control Number: 18/721,031 Page 14 Art Unit: 2468 Application/Control Number: 18/721,031 Page 15 Art Unit: 2468 Application/Control Number: 18/721,031 Page 16 Art Unit: 2468 Application/Control Number: 18/721,031 Page 17 Art Unit: 2468 Application/Control Number: 18/721,031 Page 18 Art Unit: 2468 Application/Control Number: 18/721,031 Page 19 Art Unit: 2468 Application/Control Number: 18/721,031 Page 20 Art Unit: 2468