Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 17 and 27 recites the limitation "the downlink channel”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claims 17 and 27 depends on claims 9 and 19 and neither claims 9 nor claim 19 recites a “downlink channel”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-13, 17-20, 22-23, 27, 32, 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230328652; hereinafter “Zhou”) in view of Oteri et al. (US 20230189305; herein after “Oteri”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses:
A method for determining a timer candidate value, performed by a user equipment or a network device, comprising: determining, based on a first subcarrier spacing (SCS), timer candidate values for search space set group (SSSG) switch corresponding to the first SCS, ([0302] In an example, a base station may transmit to a wireless device one or more RRC messages comprising PDCCH configuration parameters (e.g., PDCCH-ServingCellConfig IE as shown in FIG. 27) applicable for all downlink BWPs of a cell. In an example, the PDCCH configuration parameters may comprise a timer value (e.g., an integer in units of symbol/slot, or in units of ms) for a search space switch timer (e.g., searchSpaceSwitchTimer IE). The search space switch timer and the time value may be used for a search space switching operation which will be described in FIG. 30A; ([0312] In an example, searchSpaceSwitchTimer may be defined as a value in unit of slots for monitoring PDCCH in the active DL BWP of the serving cell before moving to a default search space group (e.g., search space group 0). For 15 kHz SCS, a valid timer value may be one of {1, ..., 20}. For 30 kHz SCS, a valid timer value may be one of {1, ..., 40}. For 60 kHz SCS, a valid timer value may be one of {1, ..., 80}.)
However, Zhou does not disclose:
wherein the first SCS is greater than or equal to 240KHz.
Oteri discloses:
wherein the first SCS is greater than or equal to 240KHz. ([0171] For example, with a SCS of 15 kHz, the searchSpaceSwitchTimer may be set to a number of slots, with values in the range {1..20}, while a SCS of 30 kHz may allow a number of slots in the range {1..40}, and a SCS of 60 kHz may allow a number of slots in the range {1..80}. Extending this pattern to higher SCS values may result in a number of slots for a SCS of 960 kHz (e.g., first SCS) being in the range {1..1280})
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Oteri, to include the first SCS is greater than or equal to 240KHz. The motivation would have to improve capability signaling for high-frequency communications (Oteri ¶ [0001]).
Regarding claims 2, 9, 19, Zhou does not disclose:
wherein a maximum value among the timer candidate values is greater than a first value, the first value is a maximum timer duration corresponding to a second SCS for SSSG switch, and the second SCS is smaller than the first SCS.
Oteri discloses:
wherein a maximum value among the timer candidate values is greater than a first value, the first value is a maximum timer duration corresponding to a second SCS for SSSG switch, and the second SCS is smaller than the first SCS. ([0171] For example, with a SCS of 15 kHz, the searchSpaceSwitchTimer may be set to a number of slots, with values in the range {1..20}, while a SCS of 30 kHz may allow a number of slots in the range {1..40}, and a SCS of 60 kHz may allow a number of slots in the range {1..80}. Extending this pattern to higher SCS values may result in a number of slots for a SCS of 960 kHz being in the range {1..1280}; Examiner’s Note: with this pattern, a SCS of 120 kHz (e.g., second SCS) may allow a number of slots in the range {1…160}, a SCS of 240 kHz (e.g., second SCS) may allow a number of slots in the range {1…320}, and a SCS of 480 kHz (e.g., first SCS) may allow a number of slots in the range {1…640}. A maximum value among the timer candidate values of 240kHz or 480kHz or 960kHz which are 320 or 640 or 1280 is greater than a maximum value among the timer candidate values of 120kHz which is 160.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Oteri, to include wherein a maximum value among the timer candidate values is greater than a first value, the first value is a maximum timer duration corresponding to a second SCS for SSSG switch, and the second SCS is smaller than the first SCS. The motivation would have to improve capability signaling for high-frequency communications (Oteri ¶ [0001]).
Regarding claims 3, 10, 20, Zhou does not disclose:
wherein a maximum value among the timer candidate values is N times a maximum timer candidate value corresponding to a second SCS; or wherein the timer candidate values comprise N times of all or part of timer candidate values corresponding to a second SCS.
Oteri discloses:
wherein a maximum value among the timer candidate values is N times a maximum timer candidate value corresponding to a second SCS; or wherein the timer candidate values comprise N times of all or part of timer candidate values corresponding to a second SCS. ([0171] For example, with a SCS of 15 kHz, the searchSpaceSwitchTimer may be set to a number of slots, with values in the range {1..20}, while a SCS of 30 kHz may allow a number of slots in the range {1..40}, and a SCS of 60 kHz may allow a number of slots in the range {1..80}. Extending this pattern to higher SCS values may result in a number of slots for a SCS of 960 kHz (e.g., first SCS) being in the range {1..1280}; Examiner’s Note: with this pattern, a SCS of 120 kHz (e.g., second SCS) may allow a number of slots in the range {1…160}, a SCS of 240 kHz (e.g., second SCS) may allow a number of slots in the range {1…320}, and a SCS of 480 kHz (e.g., first SCS) may allow a number of slots in the range {1…640}. Therefore, if first SCS is 480kHz and second SCS is 120kHz, N = 480/120 = 4. In addition, max value among timer candidate values of 480kHz is 640 and max value among timer candidate values of 120kHz is 160, 160*N = 640 which N = 4. Same logic is applied for 240kHz and 960kHz.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Oteri, to include a maximum value among the timer candidate values is N times a maximum timer candidate value corresponding to a second SCS; or wherein the timer candidate values comprise N times of all or part of timer candidate values corresponding to a second SCS. The motivation would have to improve capability signaling for high-frequency communications (Oteri ¶ [0001]).
Regarding claims 5, 12, 22, Zhou does not disclose:
the N is a ratio of the first SCS to the second SCS
Oteri discloses:
wherein the N is a ratio of the first SCS to the second SCS. ([0171] For example, with a SCS of 15 kHz, the searchSpaceSwitchTimer may be set to a number of slots, with values in the range {1..20}, while a SCS of 30 kHz may allow a number of slots in the range {1..40}, and a SCS of 60 kHz may allow a number of slots in the range {1..80}. Extending this pattern to higher SCS values may result in a number of slots for a SCS of 960 kHz (e.g., first SCS) being in the range {1..1280}; Examiner’s Note: with this pattern, a SCS of 120 kHz (e.g., second SCS) may allow a number of slots in the range {1…160}, a SCS of 240 kHz (e.g., second SCS) may allow a number of slots in the range {1…320}, and a SCS of 480 kHz (e.g., first SCS) may allow a number of slots in the range {1…640}. Therefore, if first SCS is 480kHz and second SCS is 120kHz, N = 480/120 = 4)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Oteri, to include the N is a ratio of the first SCS to the second SCS. The motivation would have to improve capability signaling for high-frequency communications (Oteri ¶ [0001]).
Regarding claims 6,7,13, 23, Zhou does not disclose:
wherein the second SCS is 120KHz; or wherein the first SCS is 480KHz or 960KHz; or when the first SCS is 480KHz or 960KHz, corresponding timer candidate values for SSSG switch are same or different
Oteri discloses:
wherein the second SCS is 120KHz; or wherein the first SCS is 480KHz or 960KHz; or when the first SCS is 480KHz or 960KHz, corresponding timer candidate values for SSSG switch are same or different. ([0171] For example, with a SCS of 15 kHz, the searchSpaceSwitchTimer may be set to a number of slots, with values in the range {1..20}, while a SCS of 30 kHz may allow a number of slots in the range {1..40}, and a SCS of 60 kHz may allow a number of slots in the range {1..80}. Extending this pattern to higher SCS values may result in a number of slots for a SCS of 960 kHz (e.g., first SCS) being in the range {1..1280}; Examiner’s Note: with this pattern, a SCS of 120 kHz (e.g., second SCS) may allow a number of slots in the range {1…160}, a SCS of 240 kHz (e.g., second SCS) may allow a number of slots in the range {1…320}, and a SCS of 480 kHz (e.g., first SCS) may allow a number of slots in the range {1…640})
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Oteri, to include wherein the second SCS is 120KHz; or wherein the first SCS is 480KHz or 960KHz; or when the first SCS is 480KHz or 960KHz, corresponding timer candidate values for SSSG switch are same or different. The motivation would have to improve capability signaling for high-frequency communications (Oteri ¶ [0001]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou discloses:
A method for determining a timer value for monitoring a downlink channel, performed by a user equipment, comprising:
receiving timer value indication information from a network device, wherein the timer value indication information indicates a timer value for monitoring the downlink channel; ([0311] In an example, a wireless device may be provided, by searchSpaceSwitchTimer (in units of slots, e.g., as shown in FIG. 27), with a timer value for a serving cell … The wireless device may decrement the timer value by one after each slot based on a reference SCS configuration that is a smallest SCS configuration .Math. among all configured DL BWPs in the serving cell, or in the set of serving cells. The wireless device may maintain the reference SCS configuration during the timer decrement procedure.)
wherein the timer value is one of timer candidate values for search space set group (SSSG) switch corresponding to a first subcarrier spacing (SCS), the timer candidate values are determined by the network device based on the first SCS ([0312] In an example, searchSpaceSwitchTimer may be defined as a value in unit of slots for monitoring PDCCH in the active DL BWP of the serving cell before moving to a default search space group (e.g., search space group 0). For 15 kHz SCS, a valid timer value may be one of {1, ..., 20}. For 30 kHz SCS, a valid timer value may be one of {1, ..., 40}. For 60 kHz SCS, a valid timer value may be one of {1, ..., 80}.)
However, Zhou does not disclose:
the first SCS is greater than or equal to 240KHz
Oteri discloses:
and the first SCS is greater than or equal to 240KHz. ([0171] For example, with a SCS of 15 kHz, the searchSpaceSwitchTimer may be set to a number of slots, with values in the range {1..20}, while a SCS of 30 kHz may allow a number of slots in the range {1..40}, and a SCS of 60 kHz may allow a number of slots in the range {1..80}. Extending this pattern to higher SCS values may result in a number of slots for a SCS of 960 kHz (e.g., first SCS) being in the range {1..1280})
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Oteri, to include the first SCS is greater than or equal to 240KHz. The motivation would have to improve capability signaling for high-frequency communications (Oteri ¶ [0001]).
Regarding claims 17, 27, Zhou discloses:
wherein the downlink channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). ([0311] In an example, a wireless device may be provided, by searchSpaceSwitchTimer (in units of slots, e.g., as shown in FIG. 27), with a timer value for a serving cell … [0312] In an example, searchSpaceSwitchTimer may be defined as a value in unit of slots for monitoring PDCCH)
Regarding claim 18, Zhou discloses:
A method for determining a timer value for monitoring a downlink channel, performed by a network device, comprising:
determining, based on a first subcarrier spacing (SCS), timer candidate values for search space set group (SSSG) switch corresponding to the first SCS; ([0302] In an example, a base station may transmit to a wireless device one or more RRC messages comprising PDCCH configuration parameters (e.g., PDCCH-ServingCellConfig IE as shown in FIG. 27) applicable for all downlink BWPs of a cell. In an example, the PDCCH configuration parameters may comprise a timer value (e.g., an integer in units of symbol/slot, or in units of ms) for a search space switch timer (e.g., searchSpaceSwitchTimer IE). The search space switch timer and the time value may be used for a search space switching operation which will be described in FIG. 30A; ([0312] In an example, searchSpaceSwitchTimer may be defined as a value in unit of slots for monitoring PDCCH in the active DL BWP of the serving cell before moving to a default search space group (e.g., search space group 0). For 15 kHz SCS, a valid timer value may be one of {1, ..., 20}. For 30 kHz SCS, a valid timer value may be one of {1, ..., 40}. For 60 kHz SCS, a valid timer value may be one of {1, ..., 80}.)
selecting a timer candidate value from the timer candidate values; ([0312] In an example, searchSpaceSwitchTimer may be defined as a value in unit of slots for monitoring PDCCH in the active DL BWP of the serving cell before moving to a default search space group (e.g., search space group 0). For 15 kHz SCS, a valid timer value may be one of {1, ..., 20}. For 30 kHz SCS, a valid timer value may be one of {1, ..., 40}. For 60 kHz SCS, a valid timer value may be one of {1, ..., 80}.)
and sending timer value indication information to a user equipment, wherein the timer value indication information indicates a timer value for monitoring the downlink channel, the timer value indication information corresponds to the timer candidate value selected; ([0302] In an example, a base station may transmit to a wireless device one or more RRC messages comprising PDCCH configuration parameters (e.g., PDCCH-ServingCellConfig IE as shown in FIG. 27) applicable for all downlink BWPs of a cell. In an example, the PDCCH configuration parameters may comprise a timer value (e.g., an integer in units of symbol/slot, or in units of ms) for a search space switch timer (e.g., searchSpaceSwitchTimer IE). The search space switch timer and the time value may be used for a search space switching operation which will be described in FIG. 30A; ([0312] In an example, searchSpaceSwitchTimer may be defined as a value in unit of slots for monitoring PDCCH in the active DL BWP of the serving cell before moving to a default search space group (e.g., search space group 0). For 15 kHz SCS, a valid timer value may be one of {1, ..., 20}. For 30 kHz SCS, a valid timer value may be one of {1, ..., 40}. For 60 kHz SCS, a valid timer value may be one of {1, ..., 80}.)
However, Zhou does not disclose:
wherein the first SCS is greater than or equal to 240KHz.
Oteri discloses:
wherein the first SCS is greater than or equal to 240KHz. ([0171] For example, with a SCS of 15 kHz, the searchSpaceSwitchTimer may be set to a number of slots, with values in the range {1..20}, while a SCS of 30 kHz may allow a number of slots in the range {1..40}, and a SCS of 60 kHz may allow a number of slots in the range {1..80}. Extending this pattern to higher SCS values may result in a number of slots for a SCS of 960 kHz (e.g., first SCS) being in the range {1..1280})
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Oteri, to include the first SCS is greater than or equal to 240KHz. The motivation would have to improve capability signaling for high-frequency communications (Oteri ¶ [0001]).
Regarding claim 32, Zhou discloses:
A communication device, comprising: a processor, and a memory storing computer programs, wherein when the computer programs are executed by the processor, the method according to claim 1 is implemented. (Claim 1. A wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to)
Regarding claim 33, Zhou discloses:
A communication device, comprising: a processor, and a memory storing computer programs, wherein when the computer programs are executed by the processor, the method according to claim 8 is implemented. (Claim 8. A base station comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the base station to)
Conclusion
/NHU PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2479
/WEI ZHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479