DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 06/17/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 line 9, “connecting the side surface portions” should be –connecting side surface portions--.
Claim 13 line 2, “a radical direction” should be –a radial direction--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inoue (JP 2014165405 A).
Regarding claim 1, Inoue teaches an electrostatic chuck member (abstract, a vacuum suction device employing the same) (page 8, the flow path member 1 used as the cooling means may be an electrostatic chuck) comprising:
a dielectric substrate (i.e. substrate 3, figs.1-5) having a placement surface (i.e. suction area 12, fig.3) on which a sample is mounted (page 2, suction area 12 for vacuum suction of the object 2), wherein the dielectric substrate comprises a first supporting plate (i.e. first substrate 9, figs.1-5) and a second supporting plate (i.e. second substrate 10, figs.1-5) which are stacked in a thickness direction thereof (page 2, first substrate 9 and the second substrate 10 can be firmly bonded); and
an adsorption electrode (page 8, the flow path member 1 used as the cooling means may be an electrostatic chuck) which is embedded in the dielectric substrate (it is necessarily true that an adsorption electrode will be present in an electrostatic chuck),
wherein a gas flow path (i.e. flow path 4, dummy flow path 5 figs.1-5) is provided with a recessed groove (i.e. groove portion 17 and dummy groove portion 18, figs.1-5), which is provided between the first supporting plate and the second supporting plate which have surfaces facing each other (e.g. paths 4 and 5 are in plates 9 and 10, fig.3), wherein the recessed groove is formed in at least one of the surfaces thereof and is covered with the other thereof (page 8, groove portion 17 is formed on one main surface of the second substrate 10 has been described as an example. However, the groove portion 17 is formed on one main surface of the first substrate 9. Alternatively, they may be formed at corresponding positions on one main surface of the first substrate 9 and one main surface of the second substrate 10… bonding agent 11 may be applied to one main surface of the substrate 9, or the bonding agent 11 may be applied to both one main surface of the first substrate 9 and one main surface of the second substrate 10).
Inoue does not teach, a dimension of the gas flow path in a height direction is 90 µm or more and 300 µm or less (page 3, width of the channel 4 is For example, it is 1 mm or more and 5 mm or less), and a width dimension of the gas flow path is 500 µm or more and less than 3000 µm (page 3, thickness of the flow path 4 is 0.1 mm or more and 3 mm or less).
Regarding claim 2, Inoue teaches the electrostatic chuck member according to claim 1, wherein the dielectric substrate is a composite sintered body of aluminum oxide and silicon carbide (Inoue, page 2, The first substrate 9 is made of ceramics and includes, for example, a ceramic sintered body such as a silicon carbide sintered body, an alumina sintered body, or a silicon nitride sintered body) (Inoue, page 3, second substrate 10 has the same material, shape, and characteristics as the first substrate 9).
Regarding claim 4, Inoue teaches the electrostatic chuck member according to claim 1, wherein the first supporting plate and the second supporting plate are joined to each other through a joining layer (page 2, a second substrate 10 bonded to one main surface of the first substrate 9, and a bonding agent 11), and a height dimension of the gas flow path is a sum of a thickness dimension of the joining layer and a depth dimension of the recessed groove (e.g. thickness of 4 or 5 combined with 11, figs.4b-d).
Regarding claim 6, Inoue teaches an electrostatic chuck device (page 4, The flow path member 1 constitutes a vacuum suction device) comprising: the electrostatic chuck member according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above); and a base that supports the electrostatic chuck member from a side opposite to the placement surface (page 4, used in various apparatuses such as an exposure apparatus and an inspection apparatus) (it is necessarily true that the various apparatuses have a base that accepts/supports the electrostatic chuck member).
Regarding claim 11, Inoue teaches the electrostatic chuck member according to claim 1, wherein the height direction of the gas flow path is same with the thickness direction of the dielectric substrate (e.g. uniform thickness of 4 and 5 as seen in figs.4b-4d), the recessed groove has been formed in the surface of the second supporting plate (page 8, the groove portion 17 is formed on one main surface of the first substrate 9. Alternatively, they may be formed at corresponding positions on one main surface of the first substrate 9 and one main surface of the second substrate 10), and the recessed groove is covered with the surface of the first supporting plate, which faces the surface of the second supporting plate (e.g. surface of 9 covers surface of 10, figs.1-5).
Regarding claim 13, Inoue teaches the electrostatic chuck member according to claim 1, wherein a cross-section of the gas flow path in a radical direction has a trapezoidal shape or a substantially trapezoidal shape (page 8, it may be trapezoidal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (JP 2014165405 A), and further in view of Divakar (US 6723274 B1).
Regarding claim 3, Inoue teaches the electrostatic chuck member according to claim 2.
Inoue does not teach, wherein an average primary particle diameter of an insulating material forming the dielectric substrate is 1.6 µm or more and 10.0 µm or less.
Divakar teaches in a similar field of endeavor of high purity low resistivity electrostatic chucks, an average primary particle diameter of an insulating material forming the dielectric substrate is 1.6 µm or more and 10.0 µm or less (column 3 lines 46-48, an average particle size in a range of between about 0.1 .mu.m and about 5.0 .mu.m).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included an average primary particle diameter of an insulating material forming the dielectric substrate is 1.6 µm or more and 10.0 µm or less in Inoue, as taught by Divakar, as it provides the advantage of low volume resistivity and high purity ceramic properties for a dielectric material that can be used in electrostatic chucks.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (JP 2014165405 A), and further in view of Weldon (US 20020135969 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Inoue teaches the electrostatic chuck member according to claim 1.
Inoue does not teach, wherein the adsorption electrode is disposed between the first supporting plate and the second supporting plate and is exposed to the gas flow path.
Weldon teaches in a similar field of endeavor of electrostatic chucks having gas flow path in dielectric material, an adsorption electrode (e.g. electrode 110, fig.3a) is disposed between the first supporting plate and the second supporting plate (e.g. electrode 110 is between 115 and 110, fig.3a) and is exposed to the gas flow path ([0081], plurality of heat transfer gas flow conduits 150 that extend through one or more of the base 105, electrode 110, and dielectric member 115).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the adsorption electrode is disposed between the first supporting plate and the second supporting plate and is exposed to the gas flow path in Inoue, as taught by Weldon, as it provides the advantage of optimal design to include electrode in electrostatic chuck, with reduced manufacturing steps.
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (JP 2014165405 A), and further in view of Inoue2 (JP 2013012616 A).
Regarding claim 7, Inoue teaches a method for manufacturing an electrostatic chuck member (abstract, a vacuum suction device employing the same) which includes a dielectric substrate (i.e. substrate 3, figs.1-5), which includes a first supporting plate, a second supporting plate (i.e. first substrate 9, second substrate 10, figs.1-5), and a joining layer (i.e. bonding agent 11, figs.1-5) disposed between the first supporting plate and the second supporting plate (page 2, a bonding agent 11 interposed between the first substrate 9 and the second substrate 10), and an adsorption electrode embedded in the dielectric substrate (page 8, the flow path member 1 used as the cooling means may be an electrostatic chuck) (it is necessarily true that an adsorption electrode will be present in an electrostatic chuck), the method comprising:
a recessed groove (i.e. groove portion 17 and dummy groove portion 18, figs.1-5) forming step of forming a recessed groove in the first supporting plate (page 8, the groove portion 17 is formed on one main surface of the first substrate 9. Alternatively, they may be formed at corresponding positions on one main surface of the first substrate 9 and one main surface of the second substrate 10);
an application step of applying a joining layer paste (page 2, bonding agent 11, for example, an inorganic bonding agent such as a glass bonding agent) to at least one of the first supporting plate and the second supporting plate (page 3, The bonding agent 11 joins one main surface of the first substrate 9 and one main surface of the second substrate 10); and
a joining step of stacking the first supporting plate and the second supporting plate in a thickness direction thereof through the joining layer paste (page 2, first substrate 9 and the second substrate 10 can be firmly bonded), and joining the first supporting plate and the second supporting plate by heating (page 6, while the bonding agent 11 is melted by baking at 1600 ° C. or less) and pressurizing them (page 2, firmly bonded).
Inoue does not teach, wherein a heat treatment temperature in the joining step is 17000C or higher.
Inoue2 teaches in a similar field of endeavor of joining two substrate by bonding material made of glass, a heat treatment temperature in the joining step is 17000C or higher (page 4, sintering at 2000 ℃ below 1900 ℃ above, while the bonding layer 5 of a bonding material).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the heat treatment temperature in the joining step is 17000C or higher in Inoue, as taught by Inoue2, as it provides the advantage of optimal method of producing adhered substrate layers.
Regarding claim 9, Inoue and Inoue2 teach the method for manufacturing an electrostatic chuck member according to claim 7, wherein a material forming the first supporting plate, and the second supporting plate is an aluminum oxide-silicon carbide composite sintered body (Inoue, page 2, The first substrate 9 is made of ceramics and includes, for example, a ceramic sintered body such as a silicon carbide sintered body, an alumina sintered body, or a silicon nitride sintered body) (Inoue, page 3, second substrate 10 has the same material, shape, and characteristics as the first substrate 9).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (JP 2014165405 A) and Inoue2 (JP 2013012616 A), and further in view of Yamaguchi (US 20190013231 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Inoue and Inoue2 teach the method for manufacturing an electrostatic chuck member according to claim 7, wherein in the joining step, a surface of the first supporting plate where the recessed groove is formed and a surface of the second supporting plate are joined to each other through the joining layer paste (page 8, groove portion 17 is formed on one main surface of the second substrate 10 has been described as an example. However, the groove portion 17 is formed on one main surface of the first substrate 9. Alternatively, they may be formed at corresponding positions on one main surface of the first substrate 9 and one main surface of the second substrate 10… bonding agent 11 may be applied to one main surface of the substrate 9, or the bonding agent 11 may be applied to both one main surface of the first substrate 9 and one main surface of the second substrate 10).
Inoue and Inoue2 do not teach, the recessed groove has an arc shape in a plan view, and the recessed groove includes an inner peripheral side surface portion disposed on an arc inner peripheral side, an outer peripheral side surface portion disposed on an arc outer peripheral side, and a bottom surface portion connecting the side surface portions, wherein the side surface portions, which face each other, are inclined with respect to the thickness direction of the supporting plates.
Yamaguchi teaches in a similar field of endeavor of gas flow path in electrostatic chuck, a recessed groove has an arc shape in a plan view (e.g. shape of communicating passage 56, fig.12B), and the recessed groove includes an inner peripheral side surface portion disposed on an arc inner peripheral side (i.e. upper surface 56U, side surface 56S, fig.12B), an outer peripheral side surface portion disposed on an arc outer peripheral side (e.g. surface of 56 in 50c, fig.12B), and a bottom surface portion connecting side surface portions (e.g. lower surface 56L, fig.12B), wherein the side surface portions, which face each other, are inclined with respect to the thickness direction of the supporting plates ([0168], width WS4 of the fourth space S4 is narrowed downward).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the recessed groove has an arc shape in a plan view, and the recessed groove includes an inner peripheral side surface portion disposed on an arc inner peripheral side, an outer peripheral side surface portion disposed on an arc outer peripheral side, and a bottom surface portion connecting the side surface portions, wherein the side surface portions, which face each other, are inclined with respect to the thickness direction of the supporting plates in Inoue and Inoue2, as taught by Yamaguchi, as it provides the advantage of maximizing the area of joining layer and improving adherence.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (JP 2014165405 A) and Inoue2 (JP 2013012616 A), and further in view of Weldon (US 20020135969 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Inoue and Inoue2 teach the method for manufacturing an electrostatic chuck member according to claim 7.
Inoue and Inoue2 do not teach, wherein the recessed groove forming step is performed by blasting or rotary processing.
Weldon teaches in a similar field of endeavor of electrostatic chucks having gas flow path in dielectric material, a recessed groove forming step is performed by blasting or rotary processing ([0081], gas flow conduits 150, gas supply channel 155, and grooves 162 are formed by conventional techniques, such as drilling, boring, or milling).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the recessed groove forming step is performed by blasting or rotary processing in Inoue and Inoue2, as taught by Weldon, as it provides the advantage of optimal method of producing grooves for a substrate processing apparatus.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (JP 2014165405 A), and further in view of Kibe (JP 2017123396 A).
Regarding claim 12, Inoue teaches the electrostatic chuck member according to claim 1.
Inoue does not teach, wherein a third supporting plate is provided on the second supporting plate, and the adsorption electrode is disposed between the second supporting plate and the third supporting plate.
Kibe teaches in a similar field of endeavor of electrostatic chuck, a third supporting plate (i.e. first ceramic layer 110, fig.3) is provided on the second supporting plate (e.g. 110 is above third ceramic layer 130, fig.3), and an adsorption electrode (i.e. plate-shaped electrode 400, fig.3) is disposed between the second supporting plate and the third supporting plate (e.g. 400 is between 110 and 130, fig.3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the third supporting plate is provided on the second supporting plate, and the adsorption electrode is disposed between the second supporting plate and the third supporting plate in Inoue, as taught by Kibe, as it provides the advantage of uniform distribution of temperature to wafer, while providing freedom of manufacturing the type of electrode.
Conclusion
/SREEYA SREEVATSA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 01/30/2026