DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandrashekar (US20240244494), in view of Chandrashekar (US20240224137 hereinafter Chandrashekar-2), in further view of Jia et al. (US20250374217 hereinafter Jia).
Regarding claims 1 and 15. Chandrashekar teaches the method and apparatus for a Central Unit (CU) of a Radio Access Network (RAN) node in a wireless communication system (fig. 1 and pars. 0035-0037, teaches gNB CU CP 120 (gNB centralized unit control plane). Furthermore, par. 0033, teaches it may be understood that L1/L2 based cell mobility may as disclosed herein may be performed on any Next-Generation Radio Access Network (NG-RAN) node) comprising: a transceiver (fig. 3 and pars. 0051-0054, teaches device 300 includes communication interface 370); a memory (fig. 3 and pars. 0051-0054, teaches device 300 includes memory 330); and at least one processor operatively coupled to the memory and the transceiver (fig. 3 and pars. 0051-0054, teaches device 300 includes processor 320 coupled to memory 330 and communication interface 370), and adapted to:
transmit, to one or more candidate Distributed Units (DUs) of a Radio Access Network (RAN) node (fig. 4 and pars. 0061-0063, teaches the gNB CU CP 120 may transmit and the serving gNB DU 115-1 may receive LTM load information associated with neighbor DUs. Par. 0024, teaches L1/L2 triggered mobility (LTM)),
a first message including a Layer 1 (L1) or Layer 2 (L2) triggered mobility (LTM) preparation indication (fig. 4 and pars. 0061-0063, teaches the gNB CU CP 120 may transmit and the serving gNB DU 115-1 may receive LTM load information associated with neighbor DUs. Wherein, par. 0026, teaches the LTM load information may include availability or non-availability of intra-frequency and inter-frequency target cells in neighbor DUs. Furthermore, par. 0022, teaches a gNB CU CP prepare for and performs LTM (e.g., L1/L2 centric inter-cell change) with a fundamental change that includes configuration of and preparation for the LTM event);
receive, from a source DU of a RAN node, a second message including an LTM triggering request for a wireless device (fig. 4 and par. 0064, teaches the gNB DU 115-1 may transmit a UE context modification required message to configure inter-frequency target cells for LTM to gNB CU CP 120. Whereas, the “UE context modification required message to configure inter-frequency target cells for LTM” reads as an LTM triggering request for a wireless device, within the context of pars. 0065-0066 which teaches the gNB CU CP 120 reconfiguring inter-frequency target cells for LTM based on the UE context modification required message to configure inter-frequency target cells for LTM. Furthermore, it is obvious the gNB CU CP 120 is receiving the LTM triggering request for a wireless device),
transmit, to the target DU, a third message including an LTM triggering indication (fig. 4 and par. 0066, teaches the gNB CU CP 120 may transmit to one or more target cells in a second gNB DU 115-2 a UE context setup request, and at 470, prepare the one or more target cells in gNB DU 115-2 for an inter-frequency LTM. Wherein, the language “a UE context setup request to prepare the one or more target cells in gNB DU 115-2 for an inter-frequency LTM” reads as LTM triggering indication to the target DU);
receive, from the target DU, a fourth message including a configuration of the target DU for the wireless device (fig. 4 and par. 0066, teaches the one or more target cells in gNB DU 115-2 may transmit a response including the target cell configuration to the gNB CU CP 120. Wherein, par. 0023, teaches the target cell configuration includes a target node configuration to the UE); and
transmit, to the source DU, a fifth message including an LTM triggering accept indication… (fig. 4 and par. 0064, teaches the gNB CU CP may respond with an acknowledgement and confirms the context modification. In response to a UE context modification required message to configure inter-frequency target cells for LTM).
However, although Chandrashekar teaches an LTM triggering request for a wireless device (fig. 4 and pars. 0064-0066), the apparatus and methods of Chandrashekar explicitly fails to disclose, the LTM triggering request includes information on a target DU among the one or more candidate DUs for a mobility of the wireless device.
Chandrashekar-2 disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a target DU, so Chandrashekar-2 is analogous to Chandrashekar. Furthermore, Chandrashekar-2 teaches the LTM triggering request includes information on a target DU among the one or more candidate DUs for a mobility of the wireless device (fig. 8a and pars. 0114-0118, teaches the serving DU 804 selecting, among one or more LTM-prepared target cells identified, one target cell (the target DU 806). The serving DU 804 then sends a MAC CE to the UE 802 that includes a serving cell change command and identifies the target cell. The UE then transmits a serving cell change notification to the CU-CP 808 that identifies the target DU 806. Wherein, the message containing the selected target DU 806 among one or more LTM-prepared target cells reads as the LTM triggering request includes information on a target DU among the one or more candidate DUs for a mobility of the wireless device. Par. 0002, layer 1/layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM), par. 0013 Medium Access Control (MAC) control element (CE), par. 0007 centralized unit (CU) and distributed units (DUs)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the LTM triggering request includes information on a target DU among the one or more candidate DUs for a mobility of the wireless device, as disclosed by Chandrashekar-2 with the method and apparatus of Chandrashekar. The motivations for doing so would be to improve services. (see Chandrashekar-2 par. 0003)
However, although Chandrashekar teaches transmitting, to the source DU, a fifth message including an LTM triggering accept indication (fig. 4 and par. 0064), the combination of Chandrashekar and Chandrashekar-2 explicitly fails to disclose, transmitting, to the source DU, a fifth message including an LTM triggering accept indication and the configuration of the target DU for the wireless device.
Jia disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a target DU, so Jia is analogous to Chandrashekar. Furthermore, Jia teaches transmitting, to the source DU, a fifth message including an LTM triggering accept indication and the configuration of the target DU for the wireless device (fig. 11 and pars. 0126-0137, teaches the gNB-CU determining a response on if it determines to accept the request for configuring LTM of the target candidate cell, then transmitting the response to a source gNB-DU including a generated RRCReconfiguration message carrying configuration of L1/L2 inter-cell mobility. Wherein, the “configuration of L1/L2 inter-cell mobility” reads as the configuration of the target DU for the wireless device due to being a response to the candidate gNB-DU accepting the configuration of L1/L2 inter-cell mobility. Wherein, par. 0087 teaches the candidate gNB-DU reads as the target gNB-DU).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize transmitting, to the source DU, a fifth message including an LTM triggering accept indication and the configuration of the target DU for the wireless device, as disclosed by Jia with the combination of Chandrashekar and Chandrashekar-2. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce interruption. (see Jia par. 0044)
Regarding claims 2 and 16. Chandrashekar, Chandrashekar-2, and Jia teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 15. Chandrashekar further teaches the LTM preparation indication is an indication for multiple wireless devices (fig. 4 and pars. 0061-0063, teaches the gNB CU CP 120 may transmit and the serving gNB DU 115-1 may receive LTM load information associated with neighbor DUs. Wherein, par. 0026, teaches the LTM load information may include availability or non-availability of intra-frequency and inter-frequency target cells in neighbor DUs. Furthermore, par. 0022, teaches a gNB CU CP prepare for and performs LTM (e.g., L1/L2 centric inter-cell change) with a fundamental change that includes configuration of and preparation for the LTM event. Wherein, the “LTM load information may include availability or non-availability of intra-frequency and inter-frequency target cells in neighbor DUs” reads as an indication for multiple wireless devices) not for a specific wireless device (Interpreted as a negative limitation that does not restrict the LTM preparation indication and is therefore not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully requests Applicant to positively cite the limitation to give it patentable weight. Please see MPEP § 2173.05(i)).
Regarding claims 3 and 17. Chandrashekar, Chandrashekar-2, and Jia teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 15. Chandrashekar further teaches the one or more candidate DUs of a RAN node generates an LTM configuration for one or more wireless device (fig. 4 and par. 0066, teaches the gNB DU 115-2 preparing the one or more target cells in gNB DU 115-2 for an inter-frequency LTM, upon receiving the UE context setup request including one or more target cells in a second gNB DU 115-2. Furthermore, it is obvious the gNB DU 115-2 is preparing the response including the target cell configuration for an inter-frequency LTM upon receiving the UE context setup request due to transmitting the response including the target cell configuration to the gNB CU CP 120 after the preparation that is based on the UE context setup request) while not allocating resources corresponding to the LTM configuration for the one or more wireless device (Interpreted as a negative limitation that does not restrict the LTM configuration and is therefore not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully requests Applicant to positively cite the limitation to give it patentable weight. Please see MPEP § 2173.05(i). However, Chandrashekar’s fig. 4 and par. 0066 teaches preparing the one or more target cells in gNB DU 115-2 for an inter-frequency LTM and the target cell configuration without mentioning allocating resources corresponding to the LTM configuration for the one or more wireless device), upon receiving the LTM preparation indication (fig. 4 and par. 0066, teaches the gNB DU 115-2 preparing the LTM configuration upon receiving the UE context setup request including one or more target cells in gNB DU 115-2).
Regarding claims 5 and 19. Chandrashekar, Chandrashekar-2, and Jia teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 15. Chandrashekar further teaches the LTM preparation indication includes information on a list of candidate cells supported by the one or more candidate DUs (fig. 4 and pars. 0061-0063, teaches the gNB CU CP 120 may transmit and the serving gNB DU 115-1 may receive LTM load information associated with neighbor DUs. Wherein, par. 0026, teaches the LTM load information may include availability or non-availability of intra-frequency and inter-frequency target cells in neighbor DUs. Furthermore, par. 0022, teaches a gNB CU CP prepare for and performs LTM (e.g., L1/L2 centric inter-cell change) with a fundamental change that includes configuration of and preparation for the LTM event. Moreover, par. 0064, teaches the serving gNB DU 115-1 determining there are no ideal or candidate intra-frequency LTM target cells within gNB DU 115-1 based on the LTM load of neighbor DUs. Therefore, the LTM preparation indication has to include information on a list of candidate cells supported by the one or more candidate DUs).
Regarding claim 6. Chandrashekar, Chandrashekar-2, and Jia teaches the method for claim 1.
However, although Chandrashekar teaches the first message (fig. 4 and pars. 0061-0063, teaches the gNB CU CP 120 may transmit and the serving gNB DU 115-1 may receive LTM load information associated with neighbor DUs), the apparatus and methods of Chandrashekar explicitly fails to disclose, the first message is a UE Context Setup Request message.
Chandrashekar-2 further teaches the first message is a UE Context Setup Request message (fig. 8a and par. 0100, teaches the CU-CP 808 transmitting 832 a UE Context Setup Request message to the target DU 806. Whereas, the UE Context Setup Request message reads as the first message due to being the first message provided to the target DU 806 from the CU-CP 808 and comprising the UE Context Setup Request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first message is a UE Context Setup Request message, as disclosed by Chandrashekar-2 with the method and apparatus of Chandrashekar. The motivations for doing so would be to improve services. (see Chandrashekar-2 par. 0003)
Regarding claim 7. Chandrashekar, Chandrashekar-2, and Jia teaches the method for claim 6.
However, although Chandrashekar teaches the first message (fig. 4 and pars. 0061-0063, teaches the gNB CU CP 120 may transmit and the serving gNB DU 115-1 may receive LTM load information associated with neighbor DUs), the apparatus and methods of Chandrashekar explicitly fails to disclose, receiving, from the one or more candidate DUs, a UE Context Setup Response message in response to the first message.
Chandrashekar-2 further teaches receiving, from the one or more candidate DUs, a UE Context Setup Response message in response to the first message (fig. 8a and pars. 0105-0107, teaches in response to receiving the UE Context Setup Request message from the CU-CP 808, the target DU 806 prepares 834 each of the at least one target cells for LTM. Then the target DU 806 transmits 836 a UE Context Setup Response message to the CU-CP 808 including the target cells prepared at the target DU 806).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize receiving, from the one or more candidate DUs, a UE Context Setup Response message in response to the first message, as disclosed by Chandrashekar-2 with the method and apparatus of Chandrashekar. The motivations for doing so would be to improve services. (see Chandrashekar-2 par. 0003)
Regarding claim 8. Chandrashekar, Chandrashekar-2, and Jia teaches the method for claim 1.
However, although Chandrashekar teaches the first message (fig. 4 and pars. 0061-0063, teaches the gNB CU CP 120 may transmit and the serving gNB DU 115-1 may receive LTM load information associated with neighbor DUs), the apparatus and methods of Chandrashekar explicitly fails to disclose, the first message does not include an LTM configuration for each one or more candidate DUs.
Chandrashekar-2 further teaches the first message does not include an LTM configuration for each one or more candidate DUs (Examiner notes the limitation is interpreted as a negative limitation that does not restrict the first message and is therefore not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully requests Applicant to positively cite the limitation to give it patentable weight. Please see MPEP § 2173.05(i). However, Chandrashekar-2 teaches in fig. 8a and par. 0100, the CU-CP 808 transmitting 832 a UE Context Setup Request message to the target DU 806. Whereas, the UE Context Setup Request message reads as the first message due to being the first message provided to the target DU 806 from the CU-CP 808)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first message does not include an LTM configuration for each one or more candidate DUs, as disclosed by Chandrashekar-2 with the method and apparatus of Chandrashekar. The motivations for doing so would be to improve services. (see Chandrashekar-2 par. 0003)
Regarding claim 9. Chandrashekar, Chandrashekar-2, and Jia teaches the method for claim 1. Chandrashekar further teaches the target DU allocates resources for the mobility of the wireless device upon receiving the third message including the LTM triggering indication (fig. 4 and par. 0066, teaches the gNB CU CP 120 may transmit to one or more target cells in a second gNB DU 115-2 a UE context setup request, and at 470, prepare the one or more target cells in gNB DU 115-2 for an inter-frequency LTM. Wherein, the language “a UE context setup request to prepare the one or more target cells in gNB DU 115-2 for an inter-frequency LTM” reads as LTM triggering indication to the target DU. Moreover, the second gNB DU 115-2 then prepares and sends a response including the target cell configuration for an inter-frequency LTM to the gNB CU CP 120, which reads as the target DU allocates resources for the mobility of the wireless device upon receiving the third message including the LTM triggering indication).
Regarding claim 10. Chandrashekar, Chandrashekar-2, and Jia teaches the method for claim 1. Chandrashekar further teaches the configuration of the target DU included in the fourth message (fig. 4 and par. 0066, teaches the one or more target cells in gNB DU 115-2 may transmit a response including the target cell configuration to the gNB CU CP 120. Wherein, par. 0023, teaches the target cell configuration includes a target node configuration to the UE) is selected by the target DU from multiple physical channel configurations (fig. 4 and par. 0066, teaches the gNB CU CP 120 may transmit to one or more target cells in a second gNB DU 115-2, then the gNB DU 115-2 prepares the one or more target cells for an inter-frequency LTM. Finally, the one or more target cells in gNB DU 115-2 may transmit a response including the target cell configuration to the gNB CU CP 120. Furthermore, par. 0037, teaches a cell may include an area covered and/or serviced by base station transmitter having a plurality of RF channels. Wherein, the case in which the second gNB DU 115-2 (the target DU) receives multiple target cells and prepares (selects) one target cell for an inter-frequency LTM reads as the configuration of the target DU included in the fourth message is selected by the target DU from multiple physical channel configurations).
Regarding claim 11. Chandrashekar, Chandrashekar-2, and Jia teaches the method for claim 10. Chandrashekar further teaches the multiple physical channel configurations are related to a target candidate cell provided by the target for the wireless device (fig. 4 and par. 0066, teaches the gNB CU CP 120 may transmit to one or more target cells in a second gNB DU 115-2, then the gNB DU 115-2 prepares the one or more target cells for an inter-frequency LTM. Finally, the one or more target cells in gNB DU 115-2 may transmit a response including the target cell configuration to the gNB CU CP 120. Furthermore, par. 0037, teaches a cell may include an area covered and/or serviced by base station transmitter having a plurality of RF channels. Thus, the target DU for the wireless device provides a response including the target cell configuration reads as the multiple physical channel configurations are related to a target candidate cell provided by the target for the wireless device).
Regarding claim 12. Chandrashekar, Chandrashekar-2, and Jia teaches the method for claim 1. Chandrashekar further teaches the CU is a logical node hosting RRC, Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP), and/or Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) protocols of the RAN node… (par. 0036, teaches the gNB CU provides support for higher levels of 5G protocols, including but not limited to, service data adaptation protocol (SDAP), packet data convergence protocol (PDCP), radio resource control (RRC) along with L3 radio resource management (RRM) algorithms).
However, the apparatus and methods of Chandrashekar explicitly fails to disclose, the CU is a logical node hosting RRC, Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP), and/or Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) protocols of the RAN node that controls operations of the DU.
Chandrashekar-2 further teaches the CU is a logical node hosting RRC (fig. 5a and pars. 0070-0071, teaches the gNB-CU includes the control plane portion 504 and the user plane portion 506. Wherein, the control plane portion 504 can be configured to be responsible for execution of the RRC and PDCP protocols), Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP) (fig. 5a and pars. 0070-0071, teaches the gNB-CU includes the control plane portion 504 and the user plane portion 506. Furthermore, par. 0073, teaches the user plane portion 506 may include service data adaptation protocol (SDAP)), and/or Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) protocols of the RAN node that controls operations of the DU (fig. 5a and pars. 0070-0071, teaches the gNB-CU includes the control plane portion 504 and the user plane portion 506. Wherein, the control plane portion 504 can be configured to be responsible for execution of the RRC and PDCP protocols. Moreover, the control plane and user plane portions 504, 506 of the centralized unit of the gNB can be configured to be communicatively coupled to one or more distributed units (DU) 508, 510, in accordance with the higher layer split architecture. Moreover, par. 0098, teaches the CU-CP 808 in making resource control decisions, which can include deciding 824 to prepare at least one target DU cell for LTM)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the CU is a logical node hosting RRC, Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP), and/or Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) protocols of the RAN node that controls operations of the DU, as disclosed by Chandrashekar-2 with the method and apparatus of Chandrashekar. The motivations for doing so would be to improve services. (see Chandrashekar-2 par. 0003)
Regarding claim 13. Chandrashekar, Chandrashekar-2, and Jia teaches the method for claim 1. Chandrashekar further teaches a DU of the RAN node is a logical node hosting Radio Link Control (RLC), Medium Access Control (MAC), and physical (PHY) layers of the RAN node (par. 0036, teaches the gNB DU provides support for lower levels of 5G protocols, including but not limited to, radio link control (RLC), medium access control (MAC) and physical layer (PHY)).
Regarding claim 14. Chandrashekar, Chandrashekar-2, and Jia teaches the method for claim 1.
However, the combination of Chandrashekar and Chandrashekar-2 explicitly fails to disclose, the DU is in communication with at least one of a user equipment, a network, or an autonomous vehicle other than the wireless device.
Jia further teaches the DU is in communication with at least one of a user equipment (fig. 9 and pars. 0101-0109, teaches the serving DU’s coverage area including terminal A, B, and C. Whereas, if terminal A is the wireless device, then terminals B and C read as a user equipment other than the wireless device), a network (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), or an autonomous vehicle other than the wireless device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the DU is in communication with at least one of a user equipment…other than the wireless device, as disclosed by Jia with the combination of Chandrashekar and Chandrashekar-2. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce interruption. (see Jia par. 0044)
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandrashekar (US20240244494), in view of Chandrashekar (US20240224137 hereinafter Chandrashekar-2), in view of Jia et al. (US20250374217 hereinafter Jia), in further view of Abdul Latheef et al. (US20250274827 hereinafter Abdul, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/436,404, filed Nov. 30, 2022 which fully supports all citations made from Abdul in the rejection below).
Regarding claims 4 and 18. Chandrashekar, Chandrashekar-2, and Jia teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 15. Chandrashekar further teaches the LTM preparation indication is provided for candidate cell supported by the one or more candidate DUs (fig. 4 and pars. 0061-0063, teaches the gNB CU CP 120 may transmit and the serving gNB DU 115-1 may receive LTM load information associated with neighbor DUs. Wherein, par. 0026, teaches the LTM load information may include availability or non-availability of intra-frequency and inter-frequency target cells in neighbor DUs. Furthermore, par. 0022, teaches a gNB CU CP prepare for and performs LTM (e.g., L1/L2 centric inter-cell change) with a fundamental change that includes configuration of and preparation for the LTM event. Moreover, par. 0064, teaches the serving gNB DU 115-1 determining there are no ideal or candidate intra-frequency LTM target cells within gNB DU 115-1 based on the LTM load of neighbor DUs. Therefore, the LTM preparation indication has to include information for candidate cell supported by the one or more candidate DUs).
However, the combination of Chandrashekar, Chandrashekar-2, and Jia explicitly fails to disclose, the LTM preparation indication is provided per candidate cell supported by the one or more candidate DUs.
Abdul disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a LTM preparation indication, so Abdul is analogous to Chandrashekar. Furthermore, Abdul teaches the LTM preparation indication is provided per candidate cell supported by the one or more candidate DUs (fig. 30 and par. 0519, teaches the CU may transmit to the serving DU the RRC reconfiguration. Wherein, the RRC reconfiguration may comprise one or more LTM configurations. Each LTM configuration of the one or more LTM configurations may be associated with a respective target cell (e.g., candidate cell) and/or may comprise a respective LTM configuration parameters used by the wireless device for (or during) an LTM to the respective target cell. Furthermore, a candidate target cell associated with the candidate DU. Thus, each LTM configuration associated with a respective target cell (e.g., candidate cell) are associated with the candidate DU).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the LTM preparation indication is provided per candidate cell supported by the one or more candidate DUs, as disclosed by Abdul with the combination of Chandrashekar, Chandrashekar-2, and Jia. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce hand over latency. (see Abdul par. 0529)
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (US20250374217 hereinafter Jia) in view of Wang et al. (US20250350981 hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 32. Jia teaches the apparatus for a wireless device in a wireless communication system (fig. 24 and pars. 0387-0389, teaches terminal equipment 2400) comprising: a transceiver (fig. 24 and pars. 0387-0389, teaches terminal equipment 2400 comprises communication module 2430); a memory (fig. 24 and pars. 0387-0389, teaches terminal equipment 2400 comprises memory 2420); and a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory (fig. 24 and pars. 0387-0389, teaches terminal equipment 2400 comprises processor 2410 coupled to communication module 2430 and memory 2420), and adapted to:
receive, from a source Distributed Unit (DU) of a Radio Access Network (RAN) node, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message including a lower layer RRC configuration (fig. 11 and pars. 0129-0132, teaches forwarding the low-layer RRC configuration carrying configuration of L1/L2 inter-cell mobility to the UE from the gNB-DU source),
wherein resources corresponding to the lower layer RRC configuration are not allocated by the source DU (fig. 11 and pars. 0126-0132, teaches the gNB-CU determining to initiate configuration of L1/L2 inter-cell mobility, transmitting a request message to a candidate gNB-DU, wherein the candidate gNB-DU determines to accept the request for configuring LTM, including low-layer RRC configuration, then the gNB-CU transmits the RRC configuration message including the configuration of L1/L2 inter-cell mobility to the source gNB-DU. Thus, the gNB-CU determines and allocates the lower layer RRC configuration and not the source gNB-DU);
transmit, to the source DU, an RRC reconfiguration complete message in response to the RRC reconfiguration message (fig. 11 and pars. 0129-0133, teaches the UE transmitting a RRC complete message to the source gNB-DU in response to the received low-layer RRC configuration carrying configuration of L1/L2 inter-cell mobility);
perform lower layer measurement based on the lower layer RRC configuration (fig. 11 and pars. 0129-0135, teaches the UE transmitting a low-layer measurement result to the source gNB-DU. Wherein, it is obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art that the UE would have to perform a low-layer measurement to obtain a low-layer measurement result. Furthermore, the step of transmitting a low-layer measurement result is directly after the confirmation of the low-layer RRC configuration carrying configuration of L1/L2 inter-cell mobility, thus it is obvious the low-layer measurement result is based on the low-layer RRC configuration carrying configuration of L1/L2 inter-cell mobility);
transmit, to the source DU, lower layer measurement report (fig. 11 and pars. 0129-0135, teaches the UE transmitting a low-layer measurement result to the source gNB-DU); and
receive, from the source DU, a cell switch command to a target DU (fig. 11 and pars. 0136-0137, teaches the UE receiving form the source gNB-DU a L1/L2-triggered mobility cell switch command to a candidate target cell. Wherein, par. 0128, teaches the candidate gNB-DU includes a target candidate cell. Wherein, the candidate gNB-DU reads as the target DU within the context of par. 0087, which teaches a candidate gNB-DU, which is also referred to as a candidate target gNB-DU or a target candidate gNB-DU),
wherein the target DU is determined by the source DU based on the lower layer measurement report (fig. 11 and pars. 0129-0137, teaches the source gNB-DU transmitting the L1/L2-triggered mobility cell switch command after receiving the low-layer measurement result).
However, although Jia teaches the target DU is determined by the source DU based on the lower layer measurement report (fig. 11 and pars. 0129-0137, teaches the source gNB-DU transmitting the L1/L2-triggered mobility cell switch command after receiving the low-layer measurement result), the apparatus and methods of Jia explicitly fails to disclose, the target DU is determined by the source DU based on the lower layer measurement report and is confirmed by a Central Unit (CU) of the RAN node
Wang disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a Central Unit (CU) of the RAN node, so Wang is analogous to Jia. Furthermore, Wang teaches the target DU is determined by the source DU based on the lower layer measurement report (fig. 4b and pars. 0147-0151, teaches upon reception of the lower-layer measurement report, the DU 151 may determine 421 a target cell (also referred as selected candidate cell) for the L1/L2 based mobility. In this way, a source DU makes decision on a target cell for L1/L2 based mobility. Wherein, the DU 152 serves as a target DU providing the target cell. Par. 0003, teaches distributed unit (DU), layer 1 (L1), and layer 2 (L2)) and is confirmed by a Central Unit (CU) of the RAN node (fig. 4b and pars. 0147-0151, teaches the DU 151, the source DU, determining the target cell (also referred as selected candidate cell) for the L1/L2 based mobility, then transmitting to the CU 141 indicating that L1/L2 based mobility is triggered for the target cell. Furthermore, pars. 0151-0154, teaches the CU 141 may transmit 425, to the DU 151 the received acknowledgement (the acknowledgement may comprise a configuration of TA for the target cell) for the triggering of the L1/L2 based mobility form the DU 152. Wherein, the “acknowledgement may comprise a configuration of TA for the target cell” reads as a confirmation by the CU 141. Moreover, fig. 1d and pars. 0072-0073, teaches the context of the present disclosure, a CU (also referred to as a gNB-CU herein), which reads as a Central Unit (CU) of the RAN node. Par. 0003, teaches central unit (CU)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the target DU is determined by the source DU based on the lower layer measurement report and is confirmed by a Central Unit (CU) of the RAN node, as disclosed by Wang with the method and apparatus of Jia. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce overhead and interruption time. (see Wang par. 0003)
Conclusion
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474