DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to Amendment filed on 8/10/2026 for response of the office action
mailed on 5/13/2026. Claims 1, 6-9, 13, 18-22, and 27-30 have been amended. Claims 2-5, 14-17, and 23-26 have been canceled. Claims 31-38 have been added. Claims 1, 6-13, 18-22, 27-38 remain pending in the application.
file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 8/10/2026 has been entered.
Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in
the Non-Final Rejection mailed on 5/13/2026.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 3-9), filed on 8/10/2026, with respect to claim 1 have been fully
considered but are moot based on new ground of rejections using a newly introduced reference (Matsumura et al.) is applied in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1, 6-13, 18-22, 27-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 2023/0189238 Al, hereinafter “Zhu”) in view of Matsumura et al. (US 2025/0279869 Al, hereafter “Matsumura”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu discloses:
A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising (a method for operating a UE. Zhu: [0007]):
receiving signaling identifying a configuration for the UE to communicate with a first transmission reception point and a second transmission reception point (In a multiple TRP system depicted in FIG. 8, the UE could simultaneously receive from multiple physically non-co-located TRPs various channels/RSs such as PDCCHs and/or PDSCHs using either a single receive (RX) panel or multiple RX panels. Zhu: Fig. 8, [0082]);
receiving a single downlink control message that comprises one or more transmission configuration indicators (FIG. 10 illustrates an example of downlink control information (DCI) based unified TCI state/beam indication for a multiple TRP operation. the UE could then receive from the network a MAC CE command activating one or more TCI states from the set/pool of RRC configured TCI states. UE could be indicated by the network via dynamic DCI signaling that one or more of the MAC CE activated TCI states are active for the reception of the PDSCH(s), Zhu: Fig. 10, [0022], [0084]),
the one or more transmission configuration indicators indicating a first transmission configuration indicator state for the first transmission reception point and a second transmission configuration indicator state for the second transmission reception point (UE could be implicitly indicated by the network the association/mapping between the TCI states/beams indicated in the MAC CE command for beam indication and the TRPs in the multi-TRP system, Zhu: [0102]); and
communicating with at least one of the first transmission reception point or the second transmission reception point according to the one or more transmission configuration indicators based at least in part on receiving the single downlink control message (UE could be explicitly indicated by the network, e.g., via higher layer RRC signaling and/or MAC CE command and/or dynamic DCI signaling, the exact association/mapping between the MAC CE commands for beam indication (and therefore, the TCI states/beams indicated therein) and the TRPs in the multi-TRP system, Zhu: [0110]).
Zhu does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the single downlink control message comprises a codepoint in a field of the single downlink control message, and
wherein the codepoint indicates the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches:
wherein the single downlink control message comprises a codepoint in a field of the single downlink control message (UE receives an activation command for mapping up to eight TCI states to a codepoint of a DCI field (TCI field) in one CC/DL BWP or in one set of CCs/BWPs. single DCI, a single PDCCH, multi-TRP based on single DCI, and two TCI states in at least one TCI codepoint being activated, Matsumura: Fig. 10A &B, [0150], [0224]), and
wherein the codepoint indicates the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state (TRP #1 (first TRP) may correspond to a first TCI state of two TCI states corresponding to one codepoint of a TCI field. TRP #2 (second TRP) may correspond to a second TCI state of the two TCI states corresponding to one codepoint of the TCI field, Matsumura: Fig. 10 A &B, [0227]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu in view of Matsumura in order to further modify the single downlink control message which comprises a codepoint in a field of the single downlink control message, and the codepoint which indicates the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state from the teachings of Matsumura.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because one or two TCI states are configured/indicated in each TCI codepoint ( codepoint of the TCI field, DCI codepoint) by using an RRC information element/MAC CE (for example, Enhanced TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE)/DCI (TCI field (Matsumura: [0141]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhu discloses:
A method for wireless communication at a network, comprising (wireless communication systems, Zhu: [0004]):
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), signaling identifying a configuration for the UE to communicate with a first transmission reception point and a second transmission reception point of the network (In a multiple TRP system depicted in FIG. 8, the UE could simultaneously receive from multiple physically non-co-located TRPs various channels/RSs such as PDCCHs and/or PDSCHs using either a single receive (RX) panel or multiple RX panels. Zhu: Fig. 8, [0082]);
transmitting, to the UE, a single downlink control message that comprises one or more transmission configuration indicators (FIG. 10 illustrates an example of downlink control information (DCI) based unified TCI state/beam indication for a multiple TRP operation. UE could be indicated by the network via dynamic DCI signaling that one or more of the MAC CE activated TCI states are active for the reception of the PDSCH(s), Zhu: Fig. 10, [0022], [0084]),
the one or more transmission configuration indicators indicating a first transmission configuration indicator state for the first transmission reception point and a second transmission configuration indicator state for the second transmission reception point (UE could be implicitly indicated by the network the association/mapping between the TCI states/beams indicated in the MAC CE command for beam indication and the TRPs in the multi-TRP system, Zhu: [0102]); and
communicating, from at least one of the first transmission reception point or the second transmission reception point, with the UE according to the one or more transmission configuration indicators based at least in part on transmitting the single downlink control message (UE could be explicitly indicated by the network, e.g., via higher layer RRC signaling and/or MAC CE command and/or dynamic DCI signaling, the exact association/mapping between the MAC CE commands for beam indication (and therefore, the TCI states/beams indicated therein) and the TRPs in the multi-TRP system, Zhu: [0110]).
Zhu does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the single downlink control message comprises a codepoint in a field of the single downlink control message, and
wherein the codepoint indicates the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches:
wherein the single downlink control message comprises a codepoint in a field of the single downlink control message (UE receives an activation command for mapping up to eight TCI states to a codepoint of a DCI field (TCI field) in one CC/DL BWP or in one set of CCs/BWPs. single DCI, a single PDCCH, multi-TRP based on single DCI, and two TCI states in at least one TCI codepoint being activated, Matsumura: Fig. 10A &B, [0150], [0224]), and
wherein the codepoint indicates the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state (TRP #1 (first TRP) may correspond to a first TCI state of two TCI states corresponding to one codepoint of a TCI field. TRP #2 (second TRP) may correspond to a second TCI state of the two TCI states corresponding to one codepoint of the TCI field, Matsumura: Fig. 10 A &B, [0227]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu in view of Matsumura in order to further modify the single downlink control message which comprises a codepoint in a field of the single downlink control message, and the codepoint which indicates the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state from the teachings of Matsumura.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because one or two TCI states are configured/indicated in each TCI codepoint ( codepoint of the TCI field, DCI codepoint) by using an RRC information element/MAC CE (for example, Enhanced TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE)/DCI (TCI field (Matsumura: [0141]).
Regarding claim 22, Zhu discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising (apparatuses for uplink channel and signal repetition in a wireless communication system, Zhu: Abstract):
Memory (The UE also includes a speaker 330, a processor 340, an input/output (I/O) interface (IF), an input, a display, and a memory, Zhu: [0044]);
a transceiver (UE includes antenna (s), a transceiver(s), Zhu: [0044]); and
at least one processor of a user equipment (UE), the at least one processor coupled with the memory and the transceiver, and the at least one processor configured to cause the apparatus to (The processor can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS stored in the memory in order to control the overall operation of the UE, Zhu: [0047]-[0048]):
receive, via the transceiver, signaling identifying a configuration for the UE to communicate with a first transmission reception point and a second transmission reception point (In a multiple TRP system depicted in FIG. 8, the UE could simultaneously receive from multiple physically non-co-located TRPs various channels/RSs such as PDCCHs and/or PDSCHs using either a single receive (RX) panel or multiple RX panels. Zhu: Fig. 8, [0082]);
receive, via the transceiver, a single downlink control message that comprises one or more transmission configuration indicators (FIG. 10 illustrates an example of downlink control information (DCI) based unified TCI state/beam indication for a multiple TRP operation. the UE could then receive from the network a MAC CE command activating one or more TCI states from the set/pool of RRC configured TCI states. UE could be indicated by the network via dynamic DCI signaling that one or more of the MAC CE activated TCI states are active for the reception of the PDSCH(s), Zhu: Fig. 10, [0022], [0084]),
the one or more transmission configuration indicators indicating a first transmission configuration indicator state for the first transmission reception point and a second transmission configuration indicator state for the second transmission reception point (UE could be implicitly indicated by the network the association/mapping between the TCI states/beams indicated in the MAC CE command for beam indication and the TRPs in the multi-TRP system, Zhu: [0102]); and
communicate, via the transceiver, with at least one of the first transmission reception point or the second transmission reception point according to the one or more transmission configuration indicators based at least in part on receiving the single downlink control message (UE could be explicitly indicated by the network, e.g., via higher layer RRC signaling and/or MAC CE command and/or dynamic DCI signaling, the exact association/mapping between the MAC CE commands for beam indication (and therefore, the TCI states/beams indicated therein) and the TRPs in the multi-TRP system, Zhu: [0110]).
Zhu does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the single downlink control message comprises a codepoint in a field of the single downlink control message, and
wherein the codepoint indicates the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches:
wherein the single downlink control message comprises a codepoint in a field of the single downlink control message (UE receives an activation command for mapping up to eight TCI states to a codepoint of a DCI field (TCI field) in one CC/DL BWP or in one set of CCs/BWPs. single DCI, a single PDCCH, multi-TRP based on single DCI, and two TCI states in at least one TCI codepoint being activated, Matsumura: Fig. 10A &B, [0150], [0224]), and
wherein the codepoint indicates the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state (TRP #1 (first TRP) may correspond to a first TCI state of two TCI states corresponding to one codepoint of a TCI field. TRP #2 (second TRP) may correspond to a second TCI state of the two TCI states corresponding to one codepoint of the TCI field, Matsumura: Fig. 10 A &B, [0227]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu in view of Matsumura in order to further modify the single downlink control message which comprises a codepoint in a field of the single downlink control message, and the codepoint which indicates the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state from the teachings of Matsumura.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because one or two TCI states are configured/indicated in each TCI codepoint (codepoint of the TCI field, DCI codepoint) by using an RRC information element/MAC CE (for example, Enhanced TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE)/DCI (TCI field (Matsumura: [0141]).
Regarding claim 30, Zhu discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising (apparatuses for uplink channel and signal repetition in a wireless communication system, Zhu: Abstract):
Memory (The UE also includes a speaker 330, a processor 340, an input/output (I/O) interface (IF), an input, a display, and a memory, Zhu: [0044]);
a transceiver (UE includes antenna (s), a transceiver(s), Zhu: [0044]); and
at least one processor of a network entity of a network, the at least one processor coupled with the memory and the transceiver, and the at least one processor configured to cause the apparatus to (The processor can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS stored in the memory in order to control the overall operation of the UE, Zhu: [0047]-[0048]):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) via the transceiver, signaling identifying a configuration for the UE to communicate with a first transmission reception point and a second transmission reception point of the network (In a multiple TRP system depicted in FIG. 8, the UE could simultaneously receive from multiple physically non-co-located TRPs various channels/RSs such as PDCCHs and/or PDSCHs using either a single receive (RX) panel or multiple RX panels. Zhu: Fig. 8, [0082]);
transmit, to the UE via the transceiver, a single downlink control message that comprises one or more transmission configuration indicators (FIG. 10 illustrates an example of downlink control information (DCI) based unified TCI state/beam indication for a multiple TRP operation. UE could be indicated by the network via dynamic DCI signaling that one or more of the MAC CE activated TCI states are active for the reception of the PDSCH(s), Zhu: Fig. 10, [0022], [0084]),
the one or more transmission configuration indicators indicating a first transmission configuration indicator state for the first transmission reception point and a second transmission configuration indicator state for the second transmission reception point (UE could be implicitly indicated by the network the association/mapping between the TCI states/beams indicated in the MAC CE command for beam indication and the TRPs in the multi-TRP system, Zhu: [0102]); and
communicate, from at least one of the first transmission reception point or the second transmission reception point, with the UE according to the one or more transmission configuration indicators based at least in part on transmitting the single downlink control message (UE could be explicitly indicated by the network, e.g., via higher layer RRC signaling and/or MAC CE command and/or dynamic DCI signaling, the exact association/mapping between the MAC CE commands for beam indication (and therefore, the TCI states/beams indicated therein) and the TRPs in the multi-TRP system, Zhu: [0110]).
Zhu does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the single downlink control message comprises a codepoint in a field of the single downlink control message, and
wherein the codepoint indicates the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches:
wherein the single downlink control message comprises a codepoint in a field of the single downlink control message (UE receives an activation command for mapping up to eight TCI states to a codepoint of a DCI field (TCI field) in one CC/DL BWP or in one set of CCs/BWPs. single DCI, a single PDCCH, multi-TRP based on single DCI, and two TCI states in at least one TCI codepoint being activated, Matsumura: Fig. 10A &B, [0150], [0224]), and
wherein the codepoint indicates the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state (TRP #1 (first TRP) may correspond to a first TCI state of two TCI states corresponding to one codepoint of a TCI field. TRP #2 (second TRP) may correspond to a second TCI state of the two TCI states corresponding to one codepoint of the TCI field, Matsumura: Fig. 10 A &B, [0227]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu in view of Matsumura in order to further modify the single downlink control message which comprises a codepoint in a field of the single downlink control message, and the codepoint which indicates the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state from the teachings of Matsumura.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because one or two TCI states are configured/indicated in each TCI codepoint (codepoint of the TCI field, DCI codepoint) by using an RRC information element/MAC CE (for example, Enhanced TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE)/DCI (TCI field (Matsumura: [0141]).
Regarding claims 6, 18, and 27, Zhu in view of Matsumura teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 1, 13, and 22 above.
Zhu further discloses:
wherein the field indicates two joint transmission configuration indicator states, two downlink transmission configuration indicator states, two uplink transmission configuration indicator states, or any combination thereof (UE may repeat the TB across the K consecutive slots applying the same symbol allocation in each slot, and the association of the first and second joint DL and UL TCI states or the first and second separate UL TCI states (M=2) or the first and second separate DL TCI states (N=2) or the first and second TCI states in the first combination of TCI states or the first and second TCI states in the second combination of TCI states to each slot is determined, Zhu: [0157]-[0164]):
Regarding claim 7, Zhu in view of Matsumura teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhu further discloses:
receiving a first medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) transmission indicating to activate the first transmission configuration indicator state for the first transmission reception point (UE could then receive from the network a MAC CE command activating one or more TCI states from the set/pool of RRC configured TCI states, Zhu: [0084]),
wherein communicating with the first transmission reception point is based at least in part on receiving the first MAC-CE transmission (The UE could then receive from the network one or more MAC CE activation commands/bitmaps to activate one or more TRP-specific ID/index values from the higher layer configured list/set/pool of TRP-specific ID/index values, Zhu: [0101]-[0105]); and
receiving a second MAC-CE transmission indicating to activate the second transmission configuration indicator state for the second transmission reception point (the second MAC CE command for beam indication in the list/set/pool of N>1 MAC CE commands for beam indication, Zhu: [0112]-[0113]),
wherein communicating with the second transmission reception point is based at least in part on receiving the second MAC-CE transmission (The UE could then receive from the network one or more MAC CE activation commands/bitmaps to activate one or more TRP-specific ID/index values from the higher layer configured list/set/pool of TRP-specific ID/index values, Zhu: [0101]-[0105]).
Regarding claims 8 and 29, Zhu in view of Matsumura teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 22 above.
Zhu further discloses:
receiving a single medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) indicating to activate the first transmission configuration indicator state for the first transmission reception point and the second transmission configuration indicator state for the second transmission reception point (UE could receive from the network a single MAC CE command for beam indication to indicate M>1 Rel. 17 unified TCI states/beams (e.g., M>1 joint DL and UL TCI states or M>1 separate UL TCI states) for the same PUSCH(s)/PUCCH(s) transmitted to/associated with different TRPs in the multi-TRP system, Zhu: [0097]-[0101]),
wherein communicating with the first transmission reception point and the second transmission reception point is based at least in part on receiving the MAC-CE transmission (The UE could then receive from the network one or more MAC CE activation commands/bitmaps to activate one or more TRP-specific ID/index values from the higher layer configured list/set/pool of TRP-specific ID/index values, Zhu: [0097]-[0101]):
Regarding claim 9, Zhu in view of Matsumura teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhu further discloses:
receiving radio resource control signaling or medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) signaling indicating a respective set of channels, a respective set of reference signals, or both for each of the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state (UE could be explicitly indicated by the network, e.g., via higher layer RRC signaling and/or MAC CE command and/or dynamic DCI signaling, the exact association/mapping between the TCI states/beams indicated in the MAC CE command for beam indication and the TRPs in the multi-TRP system. a beam is determined by either of: (1) a TCI state, which establishes a quasi-colocation (QCL) relationship between a source reference signal (e.g., synchronization signal/physical broadcasting channel (PBCH) block (SSB) and/or CSI-RS) and a target reference signal, Zhu: [0068], [0100]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhu in view of Matsumura teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhu further discloses:
wherein the one or more transmission configuration indicators comprise a single transmission configuration indicator (for N′>1 DCIs with each DCI indicating a single TCI state/beam, the UE could be explicitly indicated by the network, e.g., via higher layer RRC signaling and/or MAC CE command, Zhu: [0151]-[0152]),
and wherein the single transmission configuration indicator is associated with a plurality of reference signals, the method further comprising (gNB transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DMRS), Zhu: [0063]-[0064], [0068]):
determining a first set of spatial parameters, a first spatial transmit filter, or both, for the first transmission reception point based at least in part on a first of the plurality of reference signals and a second set of spatial parameters, a second spatial transmit filter, or both, for the second transmission reception point based at least in part on a second of the plurality of reference signals (The TCI state and/or the spatial relation reference RS can determine a spatial Rx filter for reception of downlink channels at the UE, or a spatial Tx filter for transmission of uplink channels from the UE, Zhu: [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding claim 11, Zhu in view of Matsumura teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhu further discloses:
determining a first reference signal associated with the first transmission configuration indicator state based at least in part on a first transmission reception point identifier associated with the first reference signal and a second reference signal associated with the second transmission configuration indicator state based at least in part on a second transmission reception point identifier associated with the second reference signal (indicating the assigned DL or UL TX beam (also termed “beam indication”), measuring at least one reference signal for calculating and performing beam reporting (also termed “beam measurement” and “beam reporting,” respectively), and receiving a DL or UL transmission via a selection of a corresponding RX beam, Zhu: [0077]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhu in view of Matsumura teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Zhu further discloses:
wherein the first transmission reception point identifier and the second transmission reception point identifier each comprise a control resource set pool identifier, a sounding reference signal resource set identifier, a close-loop index identifier, or any combination thereof (a TRP in the multi-TRP system can represent a collection of measurement antenna ports, measurement RS resources and/or control resource sets (CORESETs). when two SRS resource sets are configured in srs-ResourceSetToAddModList or srs-ResourceSetToAddModListDCI-0-2 with higher layer parameter usage in SRS-ResourceSet set to “codebook”, Zhu: [0077]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 19, Zhu in view of Matsumura teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 13 above.
Zhu further discloses:
transmitting a first medium access control - control element (MAC-CE) transmission indicating to activate the first transmission configuration indicator state for the first transmission reception point (UE could then receive from the network a MAC CE command activating one or more TCI states from the set/pool of RRC configured TCI states, Zhu: [0084]),
wherein communicating from the first transmission reception point with the UE is based at least in part on transmitting the first MAC-CE transmission (The UE could then receive from the network one or more MAC CE activation commands/bitmaps to activate one or more TRP-specific ID/index values from the higher layer configured list/set/pool of TRP-specific ID/index values, Zhu: [0101]-[0105]): and
transmitting a second MAC-CE transmission indicating to activate the second transmission configuration indicator state for the second transmission reception point (the second MAC CE command for beam indication in the list/set/pool of N>1 MAC CE commands for beam indication, Zhu: [0112]-[0113]),
wherein communicating from the second transmission reception point with the UE is based at least in part on transmitting the second MAC-CE transmission (The UE could then receive from the network one or more MAC CE activation commands/bitmaps to activate one or more TRP-specific ID/index values from the higher layer configured list/set/pool of TRP-specific ID/index values, Zhu: [0101]-[0105]).
Regarding claim 20, Zhu in view of Matsumura teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 13 above.
Zhu further discloses:
transmitting a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) transmission indicating to activate the first transmission configuration indicator state for the first transmission reception point and the second transmission configuration indicator state for the second transmission reception point (UE could receive from the network a single MAC CE command for beam indication to indicate M>1 Rel. 17 unified TCI states/beams (e.g., M>1 joint DL and UL TCI states or M>1 separate UL TCI states) for the same PUSCH(s)/PUCCH(s) transmitted to/associated with different TRPs in the multi-TRP system, Zhu: [0097]-[0101]),
wherein communicating from the first transmission reception point and the second transmission reception point with the UE is based at least in part on transmitting the MAC-CE transmission (The UE could then receive from the network one or more MAC CE activation commands/bitmaps to activate one or more TRP-specific ID/index values from the higher layer configured list/set/pool of TRP-specific ID/index values, Zhu: [0097]-[0101]).
Regarding claim 21, Zhu in view of Matsumura teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 13 above.
Zhu further discloses:
transmitting radio resource control signaling or medium access control - control element (MAC-CE) signaling indicating a respective set of channels, a respective set of reference signals, or both for each of the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state (UE could be explicitly indicated by the network, e.g., via higher layer RRC signaling and/or MAC CE command and/or dynamic DCI signaling, the exact association/mapping between the TCI states/beams indicated in the MAC CE command for beam indication and the TRPs in the multi-TRP system. a beam is determined by either of: (1) a TCI state, which establishes a quasi-colocation (QCL) relationship between a source reference signal (e.g., synchronization signal/physical broadcasting channel (PBCH) block (SSB) and/or CSI-RS) and a target reference signal. The first TCI state and/or the TCI state with the lowest TCI state ID value indicated in the MAC CE command for beam indication could correspond to the first entry/TRP in the list/set/pool of TRP-specific ID/index values, the second TCI state and/or the TCI state with the second lowest TCI state ID value indicated in the MAC CE command for beam indication could correspond to the second entry/TRP in the list/set/pool of TRP-specific ID/index values, Zhu: [0068], [0100]).
Regarding claim 28, Zhu in view of Matsumura teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 22 above.
Zhu further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to (The processor can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS stored in the memory in order to control the overall operation of the UE, Zhu: [0047]-[0048]):
receive, via the transceiver, a first medium access control - control element (MAC-CE) transmission indicating to activate the first transmission configuration indicator state for the first transmission reception point (UE could then receive from the network a MAC CE command activating one or more TCI states from the set/pool of RRC configured TCI states, Zhu: [0084]),
wherein communicating with the first transmission reception point is based at least in part on receiving the first MAC-CE transmission (The UE could then receive from the network one or more MAC CE activation commands/bitmaps to activate one or more TRP-specific ID/index values from the higher layer configured list/set/pool of TRP-specific ID/index values, Zhu: [0101]-[0105]); and
receive, via the transceiver, a second MAC-CE transmission indicating to activate the second transmission configuration indicator state for the second transmission reception point (the second MAC CE command for beam indication in the list/set/pool of N>1 MAC CE commands for beam indication, Zhu: [0112]-[0113]),
wherein communicating with the second transmission reception point is based at least in part on receiving the second MAC-CE transmission (The UE could then receive from the network one or more MAC CE activation commands/bitmaps to activate one or more TRP-specific ID/index values from the higher layer configured list/set/pool of TRP-specific ID/index values, Zhu: [0101]-[0105]).
Regarding claim 31, Zhu in view of Matsumura teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 22 above.
Zhu further discloses:
receive radio resource control signaling or medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) signaling indicating a respective set of channels, a respective set of reference signals, or both for each of the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state (UE could receive from the network a single MAC CE command for beam indication to indicate M>1 Rel. 17 unified TCI states/beams (e.g., M>1 joint DL and UL TCI states or M>1 separate UL TCI states) for the same PUSCH(s)/PUCCH(s) transmitted to/associated with different TRPs in the multi-TRP system. UE could be implicitly indicated by the network the association/mapping between the TCI states/beams indicated in the MAC CE command for beam indication and the TRPs in the multi-TRP system, Zhu: [0097]-[0102]).
Regarding claim 32, Zhu in view of Matsumura teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 22 above.
Zhu further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 22, wherein the one or more transmission configuration indicators comprise a single transmission configuration indicator (for N′>1 DCIs with each DCI indicating a single TCI state/beam, the UE could be explicitly indicated by the network, e.g., via higher layer RRC signaling and/or MAC CE command, Zhu: [0151]-[0152]), and
wherein the single transmission configuration indicator is associated with a plurality of reference signals (gNB transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DMRS), Zhu: [0063]-[0064], [0068]), and
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to (The processor can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS stored in the memory in order to control the overall operation of the UE, Zhu: [0047]-[0048]):
wherein the single transmission configuration indicator is associated with a plurality of reference signals (gNB transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DMRS), Zhu: [0063]-[0064], [0068]), and
determine a first set of spatial parameters, a first spatial transmit filter, or both, for the first transmission reception point based at least in part on a first of the plurality of reference signals and a second set of spatial parameters, a second spatial transmit filter, or both, for the second transmission reception point based at least in part on a second of the plurality of reference signals (The TCI state and/or the spatial relation reference RS can determine a spatial Rx filter for reception of downlink channels at the UE, or a spatial Tx filter for transmission of uplink channels from the UE, Zhu: [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding claim 33, Zhu in view of Matsumura teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 22 above.
Zhu further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to (The processor can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS stored in the memory in order to control the overall operation of the UE, Zhu: [0047]-[0048]):
determine a first reference signal associated with the first transmission configuration indicator state based at least in part on a first transmission reception point identifier associated with the first reference signal and a second reference signal associated with the second transmission configuration indicator state based at least in part on a second transmission reception point identifier associated with the second reference signal (indicating the assigned DL or UL TX beam (also termed “beam indication”), measuring at least one reference signal for calculating and performing beam reporting (also termed “beam measurement” and “beam reporting,” respectively), and receiving a DL or UL transmission via a selection of a corresponding RX beam, Zhu: [0077]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 34, Zhu in view of Matsumura teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 33 above.
Zhu further discloses:
wherein the first transmission reception point identifier and the second transmission reception point identifier each comprise a control resource set pool identifier, a sounding reference signal resource set identifier, a close-loop index identifier, or any combination thereof (a TRP in the multi-TRP system can represent a collection of measurement antenna ports, measurement RS resources and/or control resource sets (CORESETs). when two SRS resource sets are configured in srs-ResourceSetToAddModList or srs-ResourceSetToAddModListDCI-0-2 with higher layer parameter usage in SRS-ResourceSet set to “codebook”, Zhu: [0077]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 35, Zhu in view of Matsumura teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 30 above.
Zhu further discloses:
wherein the field indicates two joint transmission configuration indicator states, two downlink transmission configuration indicator states, two uplink transmission configuration indicator states, or any combination thereof (UE may repeat the TB across the K consecutive slots applying the same symbol allocation in each slot, and the association of the first and second joint DL and UL TCI states or the first and second separate UL TCI states (M=2) or the first and second separate DL TCI states (N=2) or the first and second TCI states in the first combination of TCI states or the first and second TCI states in the second combination of TCI states to each slot is determined, Zhu: [0157]-[0164]).
Regarding claim 36, Zhu in view of Matsumura teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 30 above.
Zhu further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to (The processor can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS stored in the memory in order to control the overall operation of the UE, Zhu: [0047]-[0048]):
transmit a first medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) transmission indicating to activate the first transmission configuration indicator state for the first transmission reception point (UE could then receive from the network a MAC CE command activating one or more TCI states from the set/pool of RRC configured TCI states, Zhu: [0084]),
wherein communicating from the first transmission reception point with the UE is based at least in part on transmitting the first MAC-CE transmission (The UE could then receive from the network one or more MAC CE activation commands/bitmaps to activate one or more TRP-specific ID/index values from the higher layer configured list/set/pool of TRP-specific ID/index values, Zhu: [0101]-[0105]); and
transmit a second MAC-CE transmission indicating to activate the second transmission configuration indicator state for the second transmission reception point (the second MAC CE command for beam indication in the list/set/pool of N>1 MAC CE commands for beam indication, Zhu: [0112]-[0113]),
wherein communicating from the second transmission reception point with the UE is based at least in part on transmitting the second MAC-CE transmission (The UE could then receive from the network one or more MAC CE activation commands/bitmaps to activate one or more TRP-specific ID/index values from the higher layer configured list/set/pool of TRP-specific ID/index values, Zhu: [0101]-[0105]).
Regarding claim 37, Zhu in view of Matsumura teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 30 above.
Zhu further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to (The processor can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS stored in the memory in order to control the overall operation of the UE, Zhu: [0047]-[0048]):
transmit a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) transmission indicating to activate the first transmission configuration indicator state for the first transmission reception point and the second transmission configuration indicator state for the second transmission reception point (UE could receive from the network a single MAC CE command for beam indication to indicate M>1 Rel. 17 unified TCI states/beams (e.g., M>1 joint DL and UL TCI states or M>1 separate UL TCI states) for the same PUSCH(s)/PUCCH(s) transmitted to/associated with different TRPs in the multi-TRP system, Zhu: [0097]-[0101]),
wherein communicating from the first transmission reception point and the second transmission reception point with the UE is based at least in part on transmitting the MAC-CE transmission (The UE could then receive from the network one or more MAC CE activation commands/bitmaps to activate one or more TRP-specific ID/index values from the higher layer configured list/set/pool of TRP-specific ID/index values, Zhu: [0097]-[0101]).
Regarding claim 38, Zhu in view of Matsumura teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 30 above.
Zhu further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to (The processor can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS stored in the memory in order to control the overall operation of the UE, Zhu: [0047]-[0048]):
transmit radio resource control signaling or medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) signaling indicating a respective set of channels, a respective set of reference signals, or both for each of the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state (UE could be explicitly indicated by the network, e.g., via higher layer RRC signaling and/or MAC CE command and/or dynamic DCI signaling, the exact association/mapping between the TCI states/beams indicated in the MAC CE command for beam indication and the TRPs in the multi-TRP system. a beam is determined by either of: (1) a TCI state, which establishes a quasi-colocation (QCL) relationship between a source reference signal (e.g., synchronization signal/physical broadcasting channel (PBCH) block (SSB) and/or CSI-RS) and a target reference signal, Zhu: [0068], [0100]),
Conclusion
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the
specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/HASSAN A PHILLIPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2467